Book Now: Hotel New Station

Excellent
From 142 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (142)Booking.com Reviews (551)
8.4
Excellent
From 142 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities8.3
Location9.3
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service8.6
Value for money8.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
ภาษาไทย
繁體中文 (香港)
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Room type
Standard Single Non-Smoking
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Deluxe Twin
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 112 verified guest comments
8.7
Excellent
Mee from Malaysia
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December, 2015
Friendly staff, good location”
1) the staff is very friendly 2) free parking available 3) attraction ticket available at the hotel with discounted price eg: Matsumoto Castle entrance ticket
great experience with the hotel as staff is friendly,there is hot tub facility which is good after a long day out
Reviewed January 12, 2016
7.7
Very good
Yann from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in December, 2015
Good location”
Staff hospitality, location, onsen (hot bath)
The deluxe room has smoke smell, didnt bother to change room. Location is good, only 5 min away from Matsumoto train station, 10 min away from Matsumoto bus station.
Reviewed January 04, 2016
7.3
Very good
Yann from Malaysia
Family with teens
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December, 2015
Very small room”
Location, onsen (hot bath), staff hospitality
The staff are very friendly. It's about 5 min walk from Matsumoto train station, 10 min walk from Matsumoto bus station. The bed is very small for two people. Free onsen (hot bath) is good.
Reviewed January 04, 2016
7.0
Very good
pornrote from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2015
Good location local life ”
Location food and sightseeing
Hotel is in Apa chain old but still ok Close to state just walk on left side 5 mins Food is nice and easy to go out for sight seeing Onsen is provide FOC on 7th floor
Reviewed November 29, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Joanna from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in September, 2015
Great budget option with fantastic onsen bath”
Location, onsen, cleanliness
This is a good place to stay if you are looking for a budget option in Matsumoto. The room is typical Japanese business hotel style - small but clean with everything in its place. Yukatas and slippers are provided. I absolutely loved the indoor onsen bath, so refreshing after a rainy day. I didn't eat there so can't comment on the food. The staff were lovely and helpful and spoke English. I would choose this again if I go back.
Reviewed September 29, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Marie from United States
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June, 2015
Amazingly easy location. Very comfortable. ”
Great staff, great location.
We only stayed one night here, but the location cannot be beat if you're coming in from the train station. Literally a 2 minute walk. As is the norm in Japan, the staff were so welcoming and accommodating. English is decent enough but try some Japanese pleasantries, they will love it. Affordable laundry on the 4th floor (we washed and dried our clothes for about 2$ US). If you're stopping in Matsumoto on the way to the mountains, definitely stay here for a night!
Reviewed July 28, 2015
7.3
Very good
Stephanie from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in June, 2015
Basic hotel near the train station”
location, value, public bath
pleasant stay
Reviewed June 24, 2015
8.0
Excellent
HuiIng from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June, 2015
Good Location”
Close to train station, easy access to the castle
It was good that the hotel very close to the station, easy to find.
Reviewed June 08, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
KRITSANA from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May, 2015
Valuable”
Location, Service and Onsen
It's located at the good location. It's just 2-3 minutes walk from Matsumoto station. Hotel's staff is very kind and polite. Hotel room is clean and comfortable. The room size is same as Japanese standard. Onsen is quite small.
Reviewed May 06, 2015
7.3
Very good
Eve from Malaysia
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2015
One night stay only”
Location, reasonable price
The hotel is located within 5 to 7 mins walk from the station. The room is very small, does not have space to open 2 large size luggage. However, clean and decent for a short stay.
Reviewed May 05, 2015
6.0
Chuan from Malaysia
Business traveler
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in March, 2015
Convenient hotel”
Convenient location, fast wifi, polite staff
Very convenient location nearby to Matsumoto station, lots of eateries nearby and nightlife. My room was situated near to the wifi router so the internet speed was tremendously fast. The staff was very polite despite their broken english.
Reviewed March 29, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Maria from Philippines
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
Good, convenient, great location”
Clean, convenient location
Good stay, clean and comfortable stay right next to the trains station.
Reviewed November 27, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Rick from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2014
Top Spot”
Location, Staff, Ease of Access
Great hotel, easy to find, not the Hilton but I'm not Paris either. Very helpful staff on the desk, a top bunch of people!
Reviewed September 24, 2014
5.7
Damien from Australia
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2014
tiny room, bad value, nice staff & baths”
service, location, sauna
Dissapointing, the room was absurdly small with the toilet door right next to the bed. VERY hard mattress and ridiculously small bath cabinet (doesn't deserve to be called a room). Good location and nice to use public baths and sauna. Staff were nice & helpful and gave us a smaller pillow as the first supplied was too large for my girlfriend. Tiny room size not worth the exhorbitant price. I do not recommend staying here.
Reviewed September 16, 2014
7.3
Very good
Josephine from Philippines
Solo traveler
Standard Single Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August, 2014
very near matsumoto bus or train station”
location, staffs are friendly, lots of restaurants
before going to kamikochi, i stayed in this hotel. walking distance and very near matsumoto bus or train station. room is comfortable w/ friendly staff. there are lots of restaurants out side the hotel
Reviewed August 30, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Lucita from Philippines
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2014
The 1st hotel who offered me a free 3-hr extension”
1) Location 2) Hotel Staff 3) Service
The place is pretty old but well-maintained. The staffs are excellent, very polite and helpful. They really see to their customers' needs. And the location is simply perfect.
Reviewed July 25, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Nathapol from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Single Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2014
Very close JR station”
Near public transportion, comfortable, and nice services
The location is quite near the JR Matsumoto station, just walk less than 5 minutes from the station. It's very comfortable,and served any necessary equipment. Even it's a tiny bathroom in guest room but there is a spa,onsen, and suana on the top floor.
Reviewed June 08, 2014
6.7
Good
Annie from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2014
Fantastic”
Best location, convenient and value of money
Great! Easy to access to everywhere from hotel location.
Reviewed June 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Craig from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2013
good”
price,location and food
good
Reviewed May 29, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
pavit from Thailand
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2014
comfortable hotel , few steps from Train station”
Close to station, Spas, and close to restaurants
the room is quite small for the hotel in small city like this, but is clean and comfortable, unbeatable location, the hotel located few minutes away from station. nice Spa, and close to great restaurant
Reviewed May 17, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
pavit from Thailand
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2014
few steps from Train station”
Close to station, quiet, hot spa on top floor
the hotel is few steps away from the JR station, and 15 minutes walk from matsumoto castle, and also close to shopping area and supermarket. quiet hotel, the room is quite small but clean and tidy, attentive staff, and I also like the Onsen (Japanese bath) on the top floor of the hotel, very relaxing after the long day of Trekking
Reviewed May 17, 2014
8.3
Excellent
li from China
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in May, 2014
Excellent place for historical experience ”
Good serviceGood facilityGood location
Japanese bathing Relaxing and helpful on baggage compartment
Reviewed May 08, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Lalita from Thailand
Group
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2014
Excellent staff”
Location, staff, facility
Very impressive.
Reviewed May 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
James from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April, 2014
Small but everything you need in a good location”
Location, onsen, breakfast
Reviewed April 25, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Burt from Australia
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2014
Great location with small but comfortable rooms”
Hotel is a very short walk from train station and close to restaurants. Onsen was relaxing at the end of a busy day.
Easy walk to visit the Castle and other tourist highlights. Restaurants and shops close by and the staff were able to give good tourist hints.
Reviewed March 25, 2014
6.7
Good
Shirley from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2013
Convenient, easy access to transport and food”
Friend and helpful staff, convenience to train station and restaurants and walking distance to sights
Had a good stay even though the room, although small, has a comfortable bed. The bath on the 7th floor is quite useful to soak the tired body and legs especially after a long day of walking. Best thing about this hotel is the location, 2 mins from JR train station and great choice of eateries nearby. The bus terminal is just across the JR train station. Although the hotel does not offer any frills - no breakfast, free coffee, etc, I would still recommend it for the location.
Reviewed October 29, 2013
8.0
Excellent
CHEONGSHING from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September, 2013
the hotel provides yukata.”
Very close to JR station and bus terminal. Close to restaurants and the castle is in walking distance.
The room has smoking smell and small in size. However, the location is convinient and the price is inexpensive.
Reviewed October 01, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
YOUKWAN from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in August, 2013
I didn't expect the good room with that price.”
Reasonable price, clean room, kind staffs
Good bed and restroom Reasonable price for nice room
Reviewed August 26, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Kenneth from Canada
Solo traveler
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in August, 2013
Comfortable Hotel 2 minutes stroll to station.”
Pleasant small but comfortable room. Very nice onsen. Easy walk to many restaurants. Excellent base for Japanese Alps.
This was my second stay after 5 ayears. The hotel was as nice as ever. While the single room was very small it was comfortable. Weather was hot and humid so the quiet air- con was appreciated. I find most oriental beds too hard so I travel with a light inflatable camping mattress. I would stay at this hotel again. I would reccomend the Utsukushigahara Open Air Sculpture Museum , sister to the Museum in Hakone. Also the Dai Ichi Wasabi theme park. And the Tatayama-Kurobe Alpine Route is not to be missed. It also would be a good base to see the sights of Nagano.
Reviewed August 25, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Craig from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August, 2013
Within a minute of the train station”
Location, cleanliness, staff
I stayed at the hotel for one night on my way into the Japanese Alps for a hiking trip. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. The location was excellent due to close proximity to the train station which meant an early start was made that much easier. Although the room wasn't spacious, it was very clean and perfect for one night. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something clean, quiet and close to the train station.
Reviewed August 11, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Jutinan from Thailand
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2013
Good choice for a stop over in Matsumoto”
Great location, Free Onsen, Comfortable Bed
We stayed at the Hotel New Station for 1 night. It's very convenient in terms of location - close to the station and a walkable distance to Matsumoto castle. The staff is good at English and very professional. There are plenty of restaurants very nearby. The room itself is a bit old and particularly small. Please try onsen (public bath) upstair it is very good one and free of charge.
Reviewed July 22, 2013
5.7
Manh from Vietnam
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in July, 2013
VALUE FOR MONEY”
Good location, friendly staff
My second time at Hotel New Station. Room is rather small and lack of manythings in room. Extremely small room and so the bath tub. But the room is clean and at good location. 3 mins walk from the Matsumoto station.
Reviewed July 16, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Mary from United States
Family with young children
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June, 2013
Great Location, Near Station”
Location, Location, Location
Obviously, the location is great! It's just a short walk from the train station and easy access to the town of Matsumoto and the Castle.
Reviewed July 11, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Sean from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Single Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July, 2013
Good hotel”
Hi speed internet, Onsen, close to transport
Good, I don't have much to say, I was in the hotel to sleep for 1 night then I left
Reviewed July 10, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Phuong-Ha from Germany
Group
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June, 2013
Very central stay with extremely friendly staff”
Central location, extremely friendly staff, staff has very good English skills
There is nothing bad we can say about Hotel New Station's staff. Even though we changed our plans and inquiry three times (and even I have to admit some of them sounded kinda complicated), they always stayed not only polite but very friendly. Our inquiries were via email and the hotel's responder was very proficient in English (something that can not be taken for granted in Japan). We also met at least three staff members at the hotel, who we could communicate with in English without any problems (unfortunately nobody in our little group is proficient in Japanese). We stayed in a three bed Twin Deluxe room for our first night. A very spacy and comfortable room in which we were able to leave our luggage open. It also had a very nice view over the city (although the window glasses had a wire weave embedded, which wasn't optimal for taking pictures). For our second night all we had to do was pack our stuff and go for sightseeing. When we returned, the hotel's staff had already moved our luggage to our small double room. The second room was admittedly a little small and had the typical Business hotel size: 1.2m bed, small table and a small bathroom with shower and (western half-size, maybe Japanese standard?) bathtub. But since we only needed a clean place to stay, it was more than sufficient. Both rooms were very clean, and even though we made a mistake by booking a smoker's room for the first night, the room itself barely smelled of cigarettes. As the name suggests, the hotel's location is very near the city's main station (Matsumoto station) in a walking distance of less than 5 minutes, located in a friendly open neighborhood. There are quite a number of bars and restaurants nearby, as well a few konbini and at least one fast-food restaurant. We can recommend the hotel for any travellers on a budget, who only need a clean and central place to stay at.
Reviewed July 05, 2013
7.7
Very good
Ruth from Australia
Group
Stayed 1 night in June, 2013
good location, nice small onsen, tiny room and bed”
location, nice onsen with good beauty products and views, very cheap hotel
Downside was a very tiny room and an even smaller semi-double bed.
Reviewed June 20, 2013
6.3
Good
Madeleine from Australia
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2013
Friendly staff, close to train station, small room”
Friendly staff, free bicycle, clean bath house
Reviewed June 05, 2013
7.7
Very good
Chuan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2013
nice hotel with onsen”
onsen on the top level. walking distance to train station and bus terminal making it good for day trips. walking distance to restaurants.
Reviewed April 30, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Phoebe from Singapore
Group
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in August, 2012
Great location but tiny room”
Onsite onsen, friendly staff
3 min walk from the station, really good location. Train station is near shopping centre with a supermarket, convenience stores and eateries. Hotel staff are very friendly. Room is very small, and the bathroom even smaller. Feels a little claustrophic inside the bathroom.
Reviewed August 13, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Arindam from India
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May, 2012
Great location but small rooms”
Very Near to the station
Nice hotel with friendly staffs, always smiling. They even had a Wifi.
Reviewed May 06, 2012
7.3
Very good
Jin from Malaysia
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2011
New Station Hotel@Matsumoto: Review”
Good front desk service
Location is excellent, near Matsumoto station. Front desk service is also very good; got recommended by a kind lady recep where to go when we arrived at around 2.30 pm, in the middle of the day. Value for money i.e. cheap. Other than the above, the rest are cons: -room: very small (took a semi-double) -bed: very bouncy; didn't sleep well at all -cleanliness: so-so -no public telephone! couldn't contact my friends... -door: no auto-lock. Remember to manually lock the door after leaving your room! -no sento or public bath Not recommended.
Reviewed June 17, 2011
7.3
Very good
Sue from Australia
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2011
Friendly hotel to English-speaking travellers.”
Friendly and helpful, and a good location near the station.
We were disappointed that the izakaya was closed on Sunday nights, but the staff told us about a very good place to eat. The breakfast for 800 Yen was good. The Double Room was very small, but the location was good. We were given (without having to pay a deposit) an Internet connecion kit.
Reviewed May 12, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
geoffrey from France
Solo traveler
Standard Single Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July, 2012
Hôtel très bien situé”
Proche de la gare et du centre ville
Hôtel moderne facile à trouver. Proche de la gare (à peine deux minutes à pied), du centre ville (où trouver bon nombre de restaurants) et du château (à une vingtaine de minutes de marche). Personnel parlant bien anglais. Chambre impeccable et calme (malgré la proximité des voies de chemin de fer).
Reviewed August 28, 2012
8.0
Excellent
VANACKERE from France
Family with teens
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2012
Chambres lilliputiennes mais hôtel très agréable”
Hôtel à deux pas de la gare. Grands bains au dernier étage, vue sur la ville avec le soleil !
Matsumoto est une ville à découvrir, très agréable et point de départ de belles excursions. De l'hôtel New Station vous êtes à 5 min à pied des gares routières et ferroviaires. Le soir, vous êtes à 2 min du quartier des restaurants avec un choix sympathiques. Pour vous reposer, les chambres sont certes toutes petites mais confortables et les bains communs, au coucher du soleil, sont vraiment vraiment agréables.
Reviewed July 31, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Bernhard from Germany
Couple
Stayed 1 night in April, 2014
Gut und einfach”
Lage, Preis, Heizung
Das Hotel würden wir bei einem nochmaligen Aufenthalt wieder wählen, da das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis top ist.
Reviewed April 23, 2014
7.7
Very good
Stefan from Germany
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in May, 2012
Sehr gutes Hotel nur 1 Min. vom Bahnhof mit Onsen”
Onsen, große Fenster mit tollem Blick, dunkles Parkett
Reviewed April 20, 2013
8.4
Excellent
Flavia from Belgium
Couple
Budget Double Room - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2018
Good deal”
Hotel with good location and friendly staff. Clean room with many amenities.
Reviewed May 10, 2018
8.7
Excellent
Jun from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December, 2014
フレンドリーなスタッフ”
駅にすぐ近く、スタッフもとても気さくで暖かく気持ちよかったです。価格も安く、大浴場がある分CP高いです。建物は古いけどね
Reviewed February 08, 2015
8.7
Excellent
ATSUSHI from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December, 2012
駅前”
サウナ有。駅から徒歩すぐ。
長野県松本駅前のホテル。松本での忘年会の宿として利用。駅か徒歩すぐで場所も分かりやすい。大きな荷物を持っていても徒歩で行けると思います。部屋はシングルで利用。少し狭めですが清潔感があり、一人で利用する分には十分快適でした。風呂はサウナがあり利用させていただきました。サウナ好きにはたまらないですね。ついでに水風呂もあれば最高だったのですが。。。
Reviewed January 03, 2013
8.0
Excellent
SAKAI from Japan
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in August, 2011
サービスの良いホテルでした”
駅から近いところ
長時間の移動のため、少し体調を崩していたため、だめもとで風邪薬はないか確認したところ快く風邪薬をいただくことができた。また、氷まくらも準備していると言われてとても嬉しかった。
Reviewed August 08, 2011