Book Now: Kyoto Guesthouse Lantern Gion

Excellent
From 207 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
Recommended by 95% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (207)Booking.com Reviews (586)
8.7
Excellent
From 207 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.8
Facilities8.1
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality8.5
Service9.0
Value for money8.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
繁體中文 (台灣)
English
한국어
简体中文
more
Room type
4Bed Female Dormitory
Japanese Room with Bathroom (Small)
Loft Room
Japanese Style with Shared Bathroom (Single Use)
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 149 verified guest comments
7.0
Very good
Jingyi from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Room with Bathroom (Small)
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2016
Budget inn in the heart of Gion”
Location, decent space if you have a private ensuite
We had a private ensuite. Room does not come with towels, you'll need to pay for them. The toilet is tiny though. More suitable for backpackers than for couples.
Reviewed March 29, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Chang from Taiwan
Solo traveler
4Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in January, 2016
Good”
Good
Reviewed January 18, 2016
6.7
Good
Fu from Malaysia
Group
4Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in December, 2015
value for money”
friendly staff, clean toilet,cozy rooms.
They provided good,comfort and value for money rooms. But,I found its a bit hard to find the hotel location. Even the taxi drivers refused to take us there,as they have no idea where the address locate. The staff can speak English well. It's suitable for backpackers, youngster groups and solo traveler.
Reviewed January 06, 2016
7.7
Very good
Vairavan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in December, 2015
Overnight stay”
Value for money, location, cleanliness
This was a great place to crash for the night. Extremely clean inc toilet, shower and comon areas. Located in Gion - a little difficult to find initially but turned out to be a great location to explore kyoto. Night staff ( Yo, i think) was very friendly and helpful
Reviewed December 07, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Huey from Malaysia
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in November, 2015
Like the japanese style home and very convenient.”
Location, cleaniness
Was a great stay and with simple but full equipped facilities
Reviewed November 24, 2015
6.7
Good
Rajata from Thailand
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2015
Nice location, but the bed setting could be better”
Location, Staff and Price
The bed is not so comfortable. There should have been more privacy which could be done easily via bed curtain and stronger bed light. Current setting (No bed curtain and weak bed light) makes it very hard to do you own things in the time where light is closed which is long (11pm-9am) which make it hard for me since I tend to leave the place early and without the setting, that's quite hard.
Reviewed November 24, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Muhammad from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2015
Truly best Kyoto experience”
Location, interior, staff friendliness (Yo)
It was perfect. My bed was ready and Yo was more than willing to help me throughout my stay with the places where I wanted to go or have breakfast at. I love the interior. Definitely will come back if I return to Kyoto.
Reviewed November 12, 2015
5.3
josh from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October, 2015
Decent enough for what it is.,,”
The old fashioned house, the location
Beautiful old building, was glad I got a look inside. Sound travelled very very very well, people didn't always respect this so spent the hours 2200 to 0000 listening to some dumb conversation in the next room from my bed.
Reviewed November 02, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Phivan from United States
Solo traveler
4Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2015
Gion Hostel”
Location, cleanliness, and room comfort
It would be great if I could stay in facility all day long if I have to. They close from 11AM to 4PM. No one allows to be in the facility due to cleaning. If I know this ahead of time I wouldn't choose it.
Reviewed September 29, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Lim from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September, 2015
Kind staff”
Kind staff/ Clean house/ Communication possible
Thumbs up! Recommended
Reviewed September 14, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Patrick from Belgium
Solo traveler
Stayed 6 nights in May, 2015
Nice, simple and clean”
Location, staff, services (bycicle, advice...)
I used the dormitory room, clean, simple and effective. The owner is jolly, helpfull, and maintains his guest house to an impeccable clean state. He is keen to help you organise trips and on top he can rent you (electric) bikes, which is essential if you want to move efficiently through Kyoto.
Reviewed May 17, 2015
4.0
Chiaming from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in April, 2015
The boss makes me feel disgusting!!!”
Everything in this hostel is fine. But the boss (manager) of this new hostel is totally within a bad/ unprofessional service attitude. The guest cannot use the kitchen is also another wierd thing for a hostel. Anyway, the hostel wrote "Prepare your smile, otherwise you cannot come inside." After the process of discrimination and inappropriate behavior of the boss, it looks so sarcasm and aukard of this new hostel anyway. I would not recommend Asia backpackers for this hostel.
Reviewed April 29, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Wipaporn from Thailand
Solo traveler
4Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2015
lovely guet house”
Good place,clean,staff freinly
Like stay at home. Clean and near the shopping center. Short distance by walk to the major attraction.
Reviewed April 20, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Rania from France
Solo traveler
4Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2015
Fantastic for all aspects!!!! ”
Amazing place, fantastic atmosphere and great staff
fantastic! Best ever!
Reviewed April 18, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Niklas from Sweden
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2015
Cozy place with an awesome host! :) ”
Good price, new, great host
I travelled together with a friend and had no place to stay in Kyoto. Luckily we found a guesthouse through this site which made our stay in the city so much better! The guesthouse was so new they didn't even have a proper sign outside, but that "problem" is no more. When we entered inside (a few hours early) our host Takeshi-san met us up with a bright smile. With my not so overly amazing skills in japanese I made myself understood and we could leave our luggage and come back later and walk around in Gion while waiting to check in. When we got back we had a small tour in the house and met a lot of interesting people! The host can speak and understand english, but it was more fun trying to speak with him and some of the others in japanese. Tl;dr - Great guesthouse!
Reviewed April 13, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
JIHO from South Korea
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Shared Bathroom (Single Use)
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2015
Good place”
Clean room, low prices, kind owner
Reviewed April 08, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
MARCOS from Spain
Couple
Japanese Style with Shared Bathroom (Single Use)
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2015
Un ryokan excelente en una ubicación perfecta”
Excelente ubicación, limpieza absoluta, personal amable
El hospedaje en este ryokan ha sido excelente. El personal es muy amable y atento, dispuesto a ayudarte en todo lo necesario. Las instalaciones son nuevas y con una limpieza total. Tienes aire acondicionado en las habitaciones, aseos y duchas equipados... Es un lugar muy cómodo y recomendable para la estancia en Kyoto.
Reviewed April 17, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
naomi from Japan
Solo traveler
4Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in April, 2017
とても素晴らしい!”
家屋が趣きがありスタッフ?家主様?の人柄も対応も丁寧で親切です。 旅に来た感が高まります。
Reviewed April 20, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Kenichi from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2016
Good location”
何と言ってもロケーションが最高の場所にあります。 下り道を抜ければ直ぐに花見小路に入り、酔っ払って帰っても何とか帰れるだろうと、滞在期間中は浴びるほど飲みました。笑 そして毎日無事に帰ることが出来ました。 8人用のドミトリーに泊まったのですが、特に問題はなく過ごせました。ただ、貴重品入れれるような小型のロッカーは完備していただくともっと安心出来るなと思いました。 水場が清潔にされているので、気持ち良く過ごせると思います。
Reviewed September 12, 2016
5.6
Ji-Wei from Taiwan
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
顆顆”
顆顆
Reviewed July 07, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Takuya from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November, 2015
有名寺社から近くて立地も良くとても、泊まりやすい宿でした!”
スタッフの感じが良い、綺麗、立地が良い
ドミトリーでも、そこまでオープンではなく、和の感じも出ていて、清潔でオシャレ、スタッフの感じが本当にとっても良く、泊まりやすい宿でした、京都に行く際は、また使いたいです!
Reviewed November 23, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Endo from Japan
Solo traveler
4Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in November, 2015
トイレもバスもきれいでした。”
トイレも洋式できれい。シャワーもきれいだったが、脱衣場の敷物が気になった。洗面所もきれいでした。スタッフさんも気さくで良い人でした。自転車もお借りできて混雑した京都を快適に回れました。ドミトリーでしたが、個室感があってそれほど気になりませんでした。日本人のほうが少ないゲストハウスでした。
水場がきれいでとても心地よく過ごせました。立地もよく、呑んで帰れてよかったです。清水寺も南禅寺も祇園も近く、早朝の参拝に適していると思います。
Reviewed November 22, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
TSUYOSHI from Japan
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in September, 2015
アットホーム”
居心地いい
わかりにくい場所ではあったがすごく居心地いい宿でした。
Reviewed September 06, 2015
8.0
Excellent
pinchanok from Thailand
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2016
สถานที่สวยงาม พักผ่อนสบายสะอาด ใกล้แหล่งท่องเที่ยว มีกลิ่นบุหรี่บ่อยๆ ”
ที่พักสไตล์เกียวโต สิ่งอำนวยความสะดวกครบครันและเพียงพอ ใกล้กิออน มีร้านสะดวกซื้ออยู่ไม่ไกล เจ้าของเป็นกันเอง ช่วยเหลืออย่างดี แต่เหม็นบุหรี่เป็นบางครั้ง
Reviewed November 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
CHUNTA from China
Family with teens
Private Room for 4
Stayed 3 nights in July, 2017
值得一再推薦的住宿”
感謝杜哥這幾天的照顧,讓我們有不一樣的旅程與收穫
Reviewed July 11, 2017
8.4
Excellent
wan from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Room with Bathroom (Small)
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2017
房東很好!很親切”
很好的體驗,位置很好,房間比想像中舒服。
Reviewed May 28, 2017
8.8
Excellent
On from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
Stayed 4 nights in November, 2016
臺灣大哥風趣有內涵”
語言相通令初次到日本的我帶來方便
Reviewed November 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Yen from Taiwan
Family with teens
Standard Japanese Style Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2016
很有特色的旅館,交通方便,屋內乾淨整齊,絕對是京都住宿的首選!”
民宿很有京都古城的味道,屋內設施提供完善,舒服到會爬不起來XD
Reviewed September 16, 2016
7.6
Very good
Sze from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
4Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 4 nights in August, 2016
日式裝潢很別緻”
旅館主人很好,會介紹行程。旅館附近就有便利店跟巴士站,離火車站地鐵站大概十五分鐘路程。走十分鐘左右能到衹園商店街,再走十分鐘可以到四条河原町。
Reviewed August 25, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Wai from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Shared Bathroom (Single Use)
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2016
到衹園不錯的選擇”
整間旅店不大但十分整潔,店主大好人,也很細心。位置在內街,沒太多街外雜音,牆身較薄,如怕隔離嘈吵可自備耳塞或在店內購買。店主還會介紹附的景店餐廳,超親切。很多地方只需步行便可到達,十分便利。下次再到衹園會再選這裡。實際環保我覺得比相片還好
Reviewed June 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
POON from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Room with Bathroom (Small)
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
好relax”
地點非常好,附近又有便利店。隨處走走個人好relax....而且性價比高。再去京都都會考慮這間民宿。
Reviewed May 30, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
OI from China
Solo traveler
4Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in January, 2016
很好的HOSTEL”
民宿很漂亮, 整潔, 地點方便, 老闆親切友善!
很漂亮有特色的民宿, 房間整潔, 客廳有暖爐, 電視, 很有家的感覺 茶水間有杯,碟,煲,電磁爐...etc 可使用 梳洗間, 厠所, 浴室分開, 很喜歡這種設計, 這樣住客不用堆在一起使用洗手間 需自備牙膏牙刷,浴巾100yen借用, 有洗髮水沐浴露提供 11時關燈, 每張床有獨立燈 老闆會說中文, 日文, 英文, 親切健談, 會為旅客介紹景點 老闆建議我搭巴士到東福寺的通天橋逛逛, 然後可從東福寺步行到伏見稻荷大社! 新增的這個旅程很順利, thank you ! 老闆很高興認識你 ^_^
Reviewed January 27, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Chang from Taiwan
Solo traveler
4Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in January, 2016
地點很方便!老闆娘台灣人”
公車站、超市就在附近。到衹園跟清水寺也很方便。
Reviewed January 18, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
WAI from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in November, 2015
可以再去”
地點旺中帶靜,交通方便,整潔
Reviewed November 15, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
BYUNGWOO from South Korea
Family with young children
Bunk Twin Bed with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December, 2017
좋았어요”
친절하고. 좋았어요
Reviewed January 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
YOONJUNG from South Korea
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Shared Bathroom (Single Use)
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2017
집이 진짜 이뻐요!”
여기서 3박을 했는데 비수기라 그런가 숙박객이 적어서 주인 아주머니랑 이야기 많이 해서 좋았어요~ 좋은 친구도 사귀고 재미있는 시간이었어요! 키우시는 강아지도 너무 귀엽습니다ㅎㅎㅎ 다음에 다시 묵고 싶은 곳이에요~~^_^
Reviewed January 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
ye from South Korea
Group
Standard Japanese Style Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January, 2017
가족여행 숙소”
가족여행 숙소로 다녀왔어요. 일단 로손편의점이 보도 3분(제 걸음기준)정도 위치해서 아침은 간단하게 편의점정식으로 먹었습니다. 이동할 때 큰길가 앞에 왠만한 버스는 다 와서 이동도 편리했음. 한적한 주택가라 조용했구요 특히 주인아저씨가 굉장히 유쾌하시고 재미나셨음. 숙소는 아기자기하고 예뻤습니다. 1월에 묵었던 것이어서 복도가 살짝 서늘했는데 여름엔 괜찮을거 같아요. 다음 가도 재방문 하려구용ㅎㅎㅎ
Reviewed December 12, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
eunjin from South Korea
Group
Bunk Twin Bed with Private Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2017
겨울에는 한기가 올라와서 좀 추울 것 같소...”
12월 초에 갔는데 그렇게 날씨가 춥진 않아서 문제는 없었지만 겨울에 추위 많이 타시는 분이라면 따순데로 가세요. 그렇지만 가격대비 참 좋아요. 아침에 산넨자카, 니넨자가 걷는것도 좋았구요. 청수사 아래까지 가볍게 산책하는데 관광객도 적고 좋더라구요. 숙소 근처에 퍼센트 커피가있는데 꼭 아침에 가셔서 샌드위치랑 커피 사서 드셔보세요. 바게트빵의 신세계 였어요. 커피는 평범했지만 꽤 괜찮은 편이였구요.
Reviewed December 11, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
WONHWI from South Korea
Group
Bunk Twin Bed with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in July, 2017
친절 끝판왕”
진짜 재밌고 친절하시고 다 좋은데, 이불에 진드기 같은게 사는지 자는 도중에 따끔따끔거리다가 일어나보니 벌레물린 자국이 있더라구요 저만 그런게 아니라, 저희 가족 전부 다 그래도 진짜 재밌게 즐기고 온 숙소였습니다
Reviewed October 15, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
상우 from South Korea
Group
Standard Japanese Style Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
너무나 친절한 사장님”
우선 지하철 역에서 거리는 조금 있지만 이 숙소가 위치한 인근의 골목골목이 너무 아름답습니다. 아버지와 아들이 운영하는듯 했는데 그 중 아들분과 많은 대화를 나누었습니다. 정말 친절합니다. 교토에 간다면 다시 이용하고싶습니다.
Reviewed October 13, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Hyeongju from South Korea
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Shared Bathroom (Single Use)
Stayed 1 night in July, 2017
꿀잠잤음!!”
첮아가는데 넘나 힘들었지만 ㅋㅋㅋㅋ 진짜 너무 꿀잠잤던 숙소!! 호스트도 넘나 유쾌하신분! 굿
Reviewed July 11, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
JIEUN from South Korea
Couple
Double Room Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2017
위치 최고 ”
가와라마치역과 기요미즈데라 중간에 위치하고 있어서 두 곳 모두 도보 이동이 가능합니다. 시설도 깨끗하고 너무 친절하셨어요 ^^
Reviewed March 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
EUNGYEONG from South Korea
Group
Standard Japanese Style Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
직원분들도 친절하고 깔끔한 일본가옥 느낌”
단점은 겨울에는 온풍기로 난방을 하는데 춥다..
Reviewed January 02, 2017
6.8
Good
Woojung from South Korea
Family with teens
4Bed Female Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2016
좋지도 나쁘지도.. 하지만 또가고싶진 않네요”
11시부터 16시까지는 출입이 완전 통제돼서 불편합니다. 또한 너무너무 추워요. 11시 이후 드라이기 주방등 사용이 금지되는데 조용하게 유지되는 것은 좋으나 방에선 와이파이도 안터지는데 밖에 혼자 앉아있지도 못하게 하셔서 밤에는 인터넷 사용도 어려웠습니다 ㅠㅠ 코다츠도 있고 예뻐서 일본스러운 것이 좋았지만 그다지 재방문 의사은 없습니다. 거실 화장실 욕실 등 방을 제외한 모든 곳이 너무 추웠어요.
Reviewed January 02, 2017
5.6
minsoo from South Korea
Solo traveler
Loft Room
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2016
위치는 정말 좋았지만..”
11-4시까지는 아예 게하 문이 잠겨있어 중간에 짐을 두고 온다던가 숙소에서 쉴수 있는게 전혀 안됩니다. 저는 12월 중순에 갔었는데 일단 입돌아가게 추웠고요 방음이나.. 발걸음도 조심스러워 화장실 가기도 너무 힘들었어요. 온풍기를 한시간은 틀어놔야 겨우 몸이 녹을 정도로 따뜻해 지는 수준입니다. 12월은 아무래도 비수기인지 사람이 많지는 않았는데.. 친구 두명이랑 갔는데 차라리 도미토리로 싸게 갔었더라면 하는 생각이 들었어요. 개인실의 장점이 별로 필요가 없는 시설이었어요. 한번 경험했으면 되었지 두번은 안갈 그런 곳입니다. 청수사나 기온거리 신사이바시등 도보로 다들 10분-15분으로 왔다갔다할 수 있어 그것만은 좋았습니다. 위치를 고려한다면 개인실 말고 도미토리로 잡으시는것이 훨씬 저렴하고 만만하게 이용할 수 있을듯요.
Reviewed December 14, 2016
7.6
Very good
BOKYUNG from South Korea
Group
Loft Room
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
여름에가면정말좋을듯”
ㅜㅜ목조주택?이라그런지 살짝추웟어요 그치만 집 너무이쁘고 주인아저씨 굉장히친절하셧고 또오고싶네요 쿄에츠기온본점이랑 굉장히가까워서 여기이용하시는분들께 추천해요
Reviewed November 05, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Kim from South Korea
Solo traveler
Japanese Style with Shared Bathroom (Single Use)
Stayed 1 night in August, 2016
개인맞춤형”
개인이 여행하고 머물기 딱 좋습니다. 다음에 교토에 가면 반드시 재방문 할 예정입니다.
Reviewed August 22, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
GYUCHEOL from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 5 nights in August, 2016
숙소위치 청결상태 등등 만족스러움”
숙소위치 청결상태 등등 만족스러움
Reviewed August 21, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Jayeon from South Korea
Solo traveler
Japanese Economy Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
깨끗한 가정집 분위기”
기요미즈데라랑 가까운 곳에 위치하고 있어 좋습니다. 일본 전통적인 집이라 깨끗한 가정집 분위기가 나서 좋았어요~
Reviewed July 08, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
EunHo from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
다시간다면 꼭 여기에”
내부 외부 시설이 깔끔하고 예뻤습니다 일하는 스텝분도 붙임성이 있어서 재밌었구요 다시가고싶은 곳 1위 게스트하우스입니다ㅎㅎ
Reviewed June 25, 2016