Book Now: Kyoto Plaza Hotel

Very good
From 400 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8
Recommended by 82% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (400)Booking.com Reviews (510)
7.8
Very good
From 400 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.9
Facilities7.6
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality7.3
Service8.3
Value for money7.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
한국어
简体中文
more
Room type
Single Room with Breakfast - Smoking
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Single Room with Breakfast - Non-Smoking
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Smoking
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 283 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
dolly from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Single Room with Breakfast - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2016
Good”
10-15 minutes walk between JR Kyoto Station. Generally good and may visit again.
Reviewed December 16, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Yew from Singapore
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2016
Value for money”
Everything is good at this hotel.The toilet is small & being Japanese standard, is more suitable for Asian travellers; but the spacious public bath @ the annex building 2nd floor is a good alternative.
Reviewed November 20, 2016
7.2
Very good
NURULHIDAYANI from Malaysia
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
Ok”
Pros,near station & aeon mall Cons, far from torist spot & a bit expensive
Reviewed November 12, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Stuart from United States
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Walking distance to Kyoto Station, Onsen, Breakfast”
This turned out to be a nice hotel. The room was fine, but we really enjoyed the hot tub in the onsen in the hotel. Breakfast was Japanese style, but quite tasty. Staff provided good service. And the Kyoto Station is about a 10 minute walk... so it's a pretty good location.
Reviewed November 04, 2016
8.4
Excellent
maria from Hong Kong
Couple
Single Room with Breakfast - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Clean staffs are nice and helpful”
Clean staffs are nice and helpful
Reviewed November 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Pattadon from Thailand
Group
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Like it”
Like it
Reviewed October 30, 2016
6.8
Good
Joycelyn from Singapore
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2016
Overall good”
The room can be cleaner. Provided free breakfast.
Reviewed October 23, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Chen from Taiwan
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
Friendly staff, excellent service. Good location as well.”
Cozy and friendly hotel.
Reviewed October 20, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Himel from Germany
Business traveler
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2016
Rooms are only small For disabled person to Enter the Toilet is a problem.”
See above
Reviewed October 16, 2016
4.8
Koh from Singapore
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2016
Not recommended ”
The place is small & has a smell. The check out time is not what agonda stated too, its 10am!!! Otherwise they would charge extra, please be aware
Reviewed October 14, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Chung from Taiwan
Family with young children
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Convenience,small clean room”
Convenience,small clean room
Reviewed October 04, 2016
7.6
Very good
Hilman from Indonesia
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2016
The smoking. room smells strong and inconvenience ”
location is good...
Reviewed September 21, 2016
6.4
Good
Dendi from Indonesia
Business traveler
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in August, 2016
Basic bussiness hotel”
Standard hotel facilities at Kyoto
Reviewed August 12, 2016
7.6
Very good
Bea from Philippines
Couple
Single Room with Breakfast - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August, 2016
Good for its price”
Room is quite small but clean. Hotel staff are very helpful.
Reviewed August 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Fanny from Singapore
Solo traveler
Single Room with Breakfast - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
Great location, need an update”
Hotel location was great. Lobby Amenities need updating. Room was comfy and clean
Reviewed August 02, 2016
6.8
Good
Castro from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Single Room with Breakfast - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
Nice experience”
Pretty close to JR Kyoto station, very convenient if wanna visit different places while living in Kyoto. Public bath is provided in the hotel
Reviewed August 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
FEI from China
Solo traveler
Single Room with Breakfast - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2016
Very nice hotel”
I will select this hotel again if I travel to Kyoto.
Reviewed July 11, 2016
8.8
Excellent
SHIH-WEI from Taiwan
Group
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2016
Good”
Good
Reviewed June 16, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Alessandro from Ireland
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in May, 2016
Value for money”
Kyoto Plaza Hotel is located closely to the train/bus station, the ideal starting point to reach the touristic attractions. Staff are friendly and the room is enjoyable. We would return.
Reviewed June 01, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Kellie from Singapore
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
friendly staff”
free breakfast
Reviewed May 20, 2016
7.6
Very good
WEI-CHUAN from Taiwan
Group
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2016
good”
good
Reviewed May 16, 2016
6.4
Good
kassra from Canada
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2016
good stay”
nothing out of ordinary, but comfortable and clean. location is about 10-15 min walk from the tokyo station, but that's the only close facility other than Toji Temple.
Reviewed May 12, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Maokeng from Taiwan
Group
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in May, 2016
Good value”
Breakfast is a good addition
Reviewed May 12, 2016
5.6
Zachary from United States
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Disappointing ”
This hotel is just OK. We stayed here for one night on a two day trip from Tokyo - I wouldn't have wanted to spend any more time than that. The building did not have a clean feel to it (pervading smell of smoke in a non-smoking floor, which isn't always the case even in other smoking Japanese hotels). Hallways felt dirty. The bathroom had black grime along all the edges of the walls and floor (best case grime, worst case black mold). Generally not up to par for what I've experienced in other hotels in this country. I would've expected a considerably lower price for what we got. On the plus side they have a decent breakfast.
Reviewed April 09, 2016
6.4
Good
Suntorn from Thailand
Family with young children
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2016
The room is too small but clean. It is just fine to me.”
The room is too small but clean. It is just fine to me.
Reviewed April 04, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Fumiko from United States
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2016
Free Breakfast was good and helpfull.”
Staff was very nice. Near the mall, so we could do some food shopping and have a dinner there.
Reviewed April 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Jennifer from Singapore
Solo traveler
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2016
Quite a Good Hotel”
In between Toji Station & Kyoto Station (within walking distance). A clean hotel with comfortable room. Nice breakfast. And Aeon mall is just opposite to the hotel & Toji Temple is not far either.
Reviewed March 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Daphyne from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Single Room with Breakfast - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2016
Fair price, free breakfast, clean room, location to subway and bus stop is near”
Friendly staff even they're not so good in english, they try to help me on my asking of the map.
Reviewed January 28, 2016
5.3
James from Japan
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December, 2015
Old&far from Kyoto Station.Steep price for 2 stars”
You get less than what you pay for
It's ok. Quite a long walk from Kyoto station. Not as well equipped as other hotels.
Reviewed December 17, 2015
7.3
Very good
Risin from Indonesia
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2015
Clean, Good Location, Nice Staff”
Clean, Good Location, Nice Staff
Clean, Good Location, Nice Staff
Reviewed October 30, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Risin from Indonesia
Group
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2015
Clean, Good Location, Nice Staff”
Clean, Good Location, Nice Staff
Clean, Good Location, Nice Staff
Reviewed October 30, 2015
4.3
Wai from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in July, 2015
Disappointed with this hotel”
1) the quality of staff
I was not satisfied with this hotel as there were lots of ants in the toilet. I need to spend so much time in killing them everyday which makes me feel bad in my trip. It ruins my mood for the whole trip. I really dont know where the ants came from. No matter how many times that I killed them. they are still there. I lived in 9th floor which is the the last room in the left hand side. I hope you can do some corrective actions to make your hotel have a better rate. Thank you.
Reviewed July 16, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
KAIYIN from Taiwan
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in June, 2015
Great location, friendly FO and HK staff”
Friendly front desk staff
It was unexpected trip for us and I made the reservation sort of rush. However , this hotel is obviously much higher than my expectations. Front office staff are friendly at all time. Housekeeping staff was working so hardly to make my room clean everyday. Thank u again 日比野 樣
Reviewed June 28, 2015
7.7
Very good
Michael from Taiwan
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2015
Fair price”
Fair price, friendly staff, free breakfast
The only drawback is the location is a bit far from station
Reviewed June 27, 2015
7.7
Very good
Allan from United Kingdom
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2015
Clean hotel quite old ”
clean not too far from train station good fire PPP
Reviewed May 17, 2015
7.0
Very good
AUNCHALEE from Thailand
Solo traveler
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
good place to stay.”
value for money.
my room was good. and the hotel is very close to the attraction site. can walk just only few minutes.
Reviewed May 05, 2015
6.0
Izzuddin from Malaysia
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2015
Location location location”
Location location location
Pleasent to stay. Nothing much to expect
Reviewed April 25, 2015
7.0
Very good
Raymond from Australia
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March, 2015
budget stay in Kyoto”
Extremely friendly staffs
The staffs are extremely helpful and friendly but the room is very tiny and dated, This is the old section of this hotel and is probably need some kind of renovation. In all, it's a OK stay but it may not worth if it does not has the friendly staffs.
Reviewed April 02, 2015
4.7
saguna from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March, 2015
stinky bathroom and rubbish breakfast”
location, pillows, wifi connection
My wife and I had been travelling around Asia for 3 months and needed a night near Kyoto station before catching a train to Tokyo the next morning. After slumming it out in some places, we decided to raise our budget and spent just for 1 night at plaza hotel. Before our experience at plaza we have had pleasant experiences at other hotels and appartments around Japan. I am sad to say that our stay here was by far the worst we had in Japan and one of the worst in Asia.  To start we were sent up the wrong building by staff with our luggage, which is the last thing you want after traveling all day with heavy bags. Staff were apologetic and eventually we were directed to the correct lift. (There is an annex building to this hotel and I believe the rooms are newer there, we were in the old building.) This was to be the first of many battles with the elevator doors, which shut sharply within seconds of openning. This is great if there is just one person departing, but not so great if there are more because they will suffer from bruised arms!  So we finally made it to our floor and we were greeted by the smell of smoke stained carpets and walls, we were grateful that our room was non smoking. On first glance the room looked basic and tidy. The air in the room was quite stale and dusty which resulted in some coughing and sneezing. Unfortunately the bathroom was the real problem here. It gave out an odour comparable only to a male public toilet. The walls and ceilings were damp with condensation from the last occupant so there was a serious ventilation problem. There were mould spores growing around the walls and ceilings which are a telltale sign of an ongoing problem. As I was having a shower I noticed the vent on the ceiling was completely clogged up with mould. On our way out to dinner we mentioned the problem to reception staff. Later that evening a member of staff came to vacuum the vent which made little difference, he was very apologetic however.
Reviewed March 28, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Leonard from United States
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2015
good value”
location, price, staff
Excellent
Reviewed March 09, 2015
7.3
Very good
Shery from Philippines
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2015
Good hotel. Includes breakfast”
Good location, value for money, clean room
Great.
Reviewed February 20, 2015
6.7
Good
Catlin from United States
Solo traveler
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November, 2014
Plaza Hotel”
helpful staff, clean rooms, quite area
It was what you would expect from a two star hotel. The staff was nice, the rooms neat and everything was average. It is a good value your your money, and I had no problems while I stayed.
Reviewed January 13, 2015
7.7
Very good
shawn from Singapore
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2014
Value for money”
Location, clean, accessible
Pleasant experience. Will go back in future!
Reviewed January 07, 2015
6.7
Good
Lee from Hong Kong
Group
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2014
Good condition but wifi need to be upgrade”
Clean, tidy, convenience
Good condition but wifi not fully cover with limited support (need to be upgrade)
Reviewed December 17, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Lena from Norway
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December, 2014
Clean and comfortable ”
Cleanliness, comfort, staff
We had a very comfortable and nice stay at this hotel. We walked from Kyoto station, and though it took a little while longer than expected, the hotel was easy to spot on the road and the staff were very nice. The room was nice, and comfortable.
Reviewed December 09, 2014
5.7
Aiyarin from Thailand
Group
Single Room with Breakfast - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in December, 2014
good location but old room and facilities”
location, breakfast
I booked 2 rooms for 5 nights. Both rooms bathtub leaked so we have to change room. Asking for discount but received just a small gift. Smell is not good (from bathroom).
Reviewed December 07, 2014
6.0
Hoon from Malaysia
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2014
Shopping and Sight Seeing”
Good breakfast and friendly staff
Hotel was Ok but far from main shopping areas and sight seeing spots.
Reviewed December 02, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Pornpun from Thailand
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in November, 2014
Excellent service”
Staff, location and price
It was excellent. I forgot my cap in the dining room and the staff keep it for me. Totally recommend this hotel.
Reviewed November 29, 2014
5.0
Jane from Philippines
Couple
Semi Double Room with Breakfast Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
quite ok..”
near kyoto station
The room got smell..the breakfast is not too good..
Reviewed October 28, 2014
7.3
Very good
Siu from Hong Kong
Couple
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
Friendly staffs and good for short trip”
Good service, good english, convenient
Pretty small but with reasonable price
Reviewed October 23, 2014