Book Now: Manpukuan Eisyouji Ryokan

Exceptional
From 101 reviewsSee what guests said
9.0
Recommended by 93% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (101)
9.0
Exceptional
From 101 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities8.0
Location9.1
Room comfort and quality8.8
Service9.5
Value for money9.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Français
Español
Deutsch
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 88 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
Andrew from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March, 2017
Friendly welcome and unique place”
OK, this does have limited facilities and is cold during the off season months, but what a place to stay! We couldn't have felt more welcome, the food was excellent and the location quiet. Not for everyone, but I really enjoyed the experience of staying within temple grounds.
Reviewed April 02, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Yit from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in February, 2017
Winter stay”
The lady owner of the ryokan has taken care of us really well, her hospitality makes us feel very much at home and the food is excellent.
Reviewed February 22, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Marilyn from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in February, 2017
Wonderful hospitality”
Thoroughly agree with all the other excellent reviews. Dinner and breakfast were delightful, made with European guests in mind. The comfortable, traditional style room overlooked a lovely garden. Our hosts couldn't have been kinder or more accommodating. Very highly recommended.
Reviewed February 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Hui from China
Family with teens
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January, 2017
Wonderful host ”
Thank you host so much for all of your hospitality, you made our trip a wonderful memory! It was a quiet place with elegant Japanese style gardening, hostess was very much friendly to us, made us delicious Japanese dinner and breakfast also send us to the station in the morning, love the host love this place I wish come back again in the future
Reviewed January 31, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Vedran from Croatia
Group
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
Where else can you sleep in an old temple?”
A great stay in Magome. This ryokan was very atmospheric and part of an old temple. Clean and cozy. The lady who took care of us was very sweet and she prepared us great dinner and breakfast. Wonderful start of our Japanese trip!
Reviewed December 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Laura from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
Very nice place and owner”
This simple but honest accommodation is in the historic temple in the town of Magome and is run by very nice people who welcomed us and looked after us very well. The accommodation is not luxurious but was very clean, cosy and comfortable enough for us and offers a chance to stay in a traditional building and meet nice local people. Our room had a tatami mat bedroom with futons and a seating area with views over the lovely garden and there is a shared toilet and bathroom, though there were no other guests during our stay. The evening meal and breakfast were very good, and the owner provided vegetarian food for me and was helpful with maps and suggestions for the area. Overall a good and unusual experience if you wish to visit this pretty and historic area.
Reviewed November 24, 2016
4.0
swee from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
The amount I got charged did not match with my original booking price”
I got a bill of 101.98 pounds charged on my bill When I book it the bill was 87.90 Tel) Mr why?
Reviewed November 05, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Juliet from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Best Japanese experience in a picture perfect setting”
This place is amazing, the hosts were incredibly generous and hospitable, the meals were huge and absolutely delicious, the ryokan is set in the Buddhist temple and the grounds are gorgeous and very well kept. Magome town is gorgeous and the setting of the Kiso Valley is breathtaking. I would definitely recommend to anyone.
Reviewed November 05, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Peck from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
Peaceful, serene ryokan”
Peaceful gardens surrounding traditional Japanese room. Very spacious. Lovely hosts who went out of their way to help us with our holiday plans. We were served lovely non-vegetarian meals.
Reviewed November 03, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Jessica from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Great Experience”
Staying here was fantastic, the owner is so lovely and makes sure you are looked after. She even dressed me up in her daughter's yakuta to go out to Kubuki in the evening! Food was great and I would recommend this place to anyone.
Reviewed October 13, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Darren from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
Amazing Stay in a Temple in the Japanese Mountains”
Staying at Eisyouji Ryokan was an amazing experience for me. If you are looking to stay for 1 or 2 nights in Magome, this is the place. Beautiful, quiet and peaceful. The Dinner and Breakfast provided was simply perfect. I like my Japanese cuisine but was pleasantly surprised that even in the middle of the mountains the hosts took the time to still provide western friendly japanese dishes for those travellers who may have been a bit more fussy. Thanks for an amazing experience Eisyouji. The private garden was lovely and I was incredibly fortunate to have the whole temple to myself the first night!
Reviewed October 12, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Catherine from Canada
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Quiet pavillon in a temple”
We had a little pavillon all to ourselves in this nice quiet temple around a gorgeous garden. The host is suuuuper sweet and her food is very good. Don't miss your chance to sleep in a temple for a reason able price.
Reviewed October 09, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Tom from United Kingdom
Group
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2016
Very good”
Very welcoming, delicious food and great location. Fantastic base for walking to Tsumago (and back). The rooms are in part of an historic temple - definitely recommended..
Reviewed September 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Kim from Australia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August, 2016
Stunningly Beautiful!”
Wonderfully beautiful hostess. Very helpful. Glowingly sweet. You are literally staying in a temple. Tatami mats, futons, sculpted gardens and a graveyard or two (not in your face if that is not your style but with a famous author of the town if it is), etc... You can't get more history. I am failing miserably in explaining to you how much I loved this place. It is beautiful with an amazing view of the valley once you exit the temple walls and 1 min walking access to the Nakasendo trail. If I ever head to Magome or Tsumago again this is where I would stay. Could only be bettered if it had an onsen... But they do offer you a lift to and from one nearby. Unfortunately I had too much to see to tell you what that was like. FYI I was/am a solo female traveller if that helps.
Reviewed September 02, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Xavier from Spain
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in August, 2016
Authentic , part of a shrine and very kind people ”
Amazing Location to walk the Nakasendo Route, very close to the Magome bus station . Very kind family is waiting you and triying make you feel like at home but being in a traditional Ryokan. The inner garden is amazing and you enjoy it from the rooms. Tasty homemade breakfast and dinner. Good quality - prize
Reviewed August 21, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Anais from Spain
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August, 2016
The best ryokan in Japan ”
This gorgeous Ryokan is placed in a temple with more than 200 years. It has a beautiful garden and a peaceful lake near the rooms. The owners are a lovely couple who treat us like if we were their sons. They were super attentive and took care of us extremly well. For me, this is the best Ryokan I've stayed in, 100% recommended. Surely I'll come back again! :)
Reviewed August 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Slavomir from Czech Republic
Family with teens
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
Kindly people are there and peaceful and beautiful house ”
We are family from Czech republic and we had a trip over the Japan country. Now I have to say I Love Japan becouse these days were so beautiful. Espasily staying in Temple Eisyouji.We stayed here one day but it was our the best experience with Ryokan,excellent food ,garden. Thanks a lot for everthing and when I will in Japan next I would like stay there. My the best recommedation. Slabik
Reviewed July 15, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
HEI from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
Traditional Japanese style”
It is an amazing and unique experience to stay at a historical temple. The garden is beautiful and the room is big and comfortable. Toilet and bathroom are clean.The hosts are hospitality, very helpful. The host picked me up at the Nagiso train station and drove me to Nakatsugawa station when I left. The hostess gave me some advice for my trip in Tsumago and Magome. They perpared some gifts to me. Dinner and breakfast were also great.
Reviewed June 16, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Linda from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
Amazing experience on the Nakasendo”
We were the only guests and enjoyed everything about our stay. Helpful hosts, and simple lovely food and environment.
Reviewed June 11, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Christopher from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
Great stay”
The owner makes this place, she was so helpful and kind, giving us a couple of little gifts for our walk. Dinner and breakfast were fantastic and so much of it too. Facilities aren't high quality but perfectly adequate. Overall a lovely peaceful stay that allowed us to get a great night's sleep before our walk the next day, highly recommended.
Reviewed May 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Friedrich from Germany
Group
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Great stay”
Amazing place, friendly hosts!
Reviewed May 01, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Jackson from Singapore
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January, 2016
Very friendly couple”
hospitality
Food is provided at your stat here foc. Both owner is very friendly the stay is in the temple, so just need to pop by from the side door to enter. Vey big n spacious stay
Reviewed February 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jeremy from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December, 2015
Wonderful traditional Japanese room in a temple ”
Authentic traditional Japanese room, wonderful hospitality, lovely garden
We had a bit of difficulty finding the ryokan, there is no signage in English and we didn't know it was part of the temple! Once found it was absolutely wonderful and our host was so kind and helpful, coping with vegetarians, speaking enough English and making us so welcome. In December it is pretty cold, so bring plenty of warm clothes! (The email address bounced.)
Reviewed December 19, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Christopher from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November, 2015
Great little Ryokan in the Mountains”
Friendly staff, traditional decor and spacious rooms
I had a great stay here. The Ryokan is run by a couple and they are so friendly! The food is excellent and cooked personally for you. Great if you are doing the trail around the Magome highway!
Reviewed November 19, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Peetiporn from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November, 2015
Worth the money”
Food, location, comfort
Reviewed November 16, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Rostam from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2015
Beautiful Ryokan in a Buddist Temple”
Lovely home cooked food, wonderfully friendly owners, beautiful time forgotten gardens
We had a wonderful time staying at this Ryokan. First things first, if you're picky about having a quality shower then you won't agree with this review. But if you're visiting Japan to stay in magical places, with stunning gardens and meeting wonderful people then this Ryokan is for you. The husband and wife who run this place are so friendly. They picked us up from the bus stop and even drive us to the train station at the end of our stay. The husband, we believe, is the monk of the Temple which the Ryokan is part of. So he's sort of a big deal in Magome, despite this he walked us into town to see a play in the pouring rain and waited until it had finished. The wife, with help from her beautifully cute white dog, was the perfect host. Nothing was too big a request. She was always on hand with maps, bus times, guides and even gave us a lovely present when we left. Breakfast and dinner were provided by her at what ever time we needed. Both meals were excellent, with dinner being a wonderful feast of home made cooking. Tea was also provided to our room in the afternoon. The Ryokan itself doesn't have baths, but we weren't too bothered by this as the gardens were gourgious. The rooms and toilets were clean. Facilities were basic but suited our needs. We hope you'll enjoy your stay in Magome in this off the beaten track Ryokan that is a real gem that warrants being in any guide book.
Reviewed November 11, 2015
2.7
Maria from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2015
Don't be put off by the shared facilities”
Perfect location, quiet and quirky
The accommodation is a few min walk off the main street, set in the grounds of a temple (beautiful grounds- by the way). There are only 4 rooms and we had a very large room in almost a separate building. Food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. We walked from Nagiso Station (3hrs) to Magome (highly recommend) then walked back again in the morning after a hearty breakfast.
Reviewed November 06, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Damon from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November, 2015
Manpukuan Eisyouji Ryokan - Japanese Oasis”
The gardens and warm welcome when you arrive, the delicious dinner and location - secluded, traditional, magical
Magical!
Reviewed November 06, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Ashleigh from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2015
Beautiful temple stay”
The surroundings, food and the family are amazing here.
Absolutely great stay- recommend if you want an authentic japanese experience.
Reviewed November 06, 2015
5.7
wong from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2015
it is overrated”
it is a signature hotel, but...
i have to admit that it is the most special accommodation during my stay in japan. living in a japan temple offers u a sort of memorable experience to ur trip. but u also have to accept that it is not a general hotel that u can easily recognize it from the entrance of the hotel ( temple actually), so trust the gps when u are not so sure if u get a wrong place. it is nothing about the staff, she is kind but to be honest, the cleanness, bathroom fittings n the meals are juz acceptable but not up to the japan standard or its price.
Reviewed October 29, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Kriz from Philippines
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2015
Legit Japanese experience”
Old Japan feels + So serene and relaxing + Buddhist temple feels
The owner is very nice and her dog is very cute! :)
Reviewed October 23, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Stephanie from United States
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2015
Fantastic place to stay!”
Atmosphere, food, and service were all outstanding.
We had a wonderful stay at this ryokan. I can recommend it to anyone looking for an authentic Japanese ryokan experience. The location is great; it is attached to a temple which makes it even more interesting. It is not far from the Magome-Tsumago trail which you should definitely walk. Both Magome and Tsumago are charming and fun to explore. The couple who run the inn are awesome; the food is great and the husband even drove us to the train station (about a 20 minute drive) at the end of our stay. The ryokan is delightful and both breakfast and dinner are included in the price. What a deal! I give it a 5 out of 5.
Reviewed September 27, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Franz from Germany
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in September, 2015
Peaceful”
Garden,peace,friendlynessw
Wonderfu
Reviewed September 18, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Moa from Sweden
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2015
not the cleanest, but very nice!”
- hospitality
Reviewed September 17, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Yugo from Brazil
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July, 2015
Great”
Location, hotel atmosphere, meals
Reviewed July 29, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Gemma from Netherlands
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2015
Best Japan experience we had”
Staff, location, food
We are so glad that we have booked this Ryokan. The Ryokan is actually part of the Eisjoji Temple in Magome. That made the experience extra special (better than the temple lodging we had in Koya San). The place is beautiful, serene and perfectly located for the Tsumago-Magome trail. Our host (forgot her name) is very sweet and very helpful. She makes the experience even better. The food, breakfast and dinner, were great.
Reviewed July 25, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Karolina from Canada
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2015
Best place in the world!!!”
Owners, rooms, food
This is the best place on planet earth. The owners are the best and kindest people you will ever meet. The rooms are very clean and so are bathrooms. The food is the best you'll ever have. Best ever!!
Reviewed June 30, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Chin from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2015
A hidden charm”
Affordable, meals were simple but tasty and service was superb!
Reviewed May 05, 2015
7.7
Very good
Martin from Norway
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2015
No stress”
very Nice staff, good location Just outside main street. good food
Reviewed April 02, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
catherine from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November, 2014
Such a charming and peaceful experience”
The beauty, tranquility and hospitality
It was one of the most peaceful stays I've experienced. My room overlooked the zen garden, and in the evening the maple trees were lit up - stunning at this time of year. The food was lovely and the woman in charge was so lovely. There were no distractions and I even did some meditation with the zen priest! I would really like to go back.
Reviewed November 03, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Marcia from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August, 2014
Lovely ryokan experience”
Quiet location, privacy, great meals
We had a wonderful stay here as it was our first ryokan experience. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us, the inclusive meals excellent, the room facilities clean and we'll appointed. The spirituality added a serene dimension being attached to a temple. Unfortunately could only stay one night as the ryokan was closed on our other preferred day. Great location for walking Nakasendo trail to Tsumago.
Reviewed September 21, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Rattikarn from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in September, 2014
Amazing service and very authentic”
staff atmosphere food
Best place I ever stayed in Japan. The owner is very friendly but doesn't overdo things, he understands English well enough. Atmosphere was unique, really felt like in a traditional old Japanese inn. The only negative point was the dust, it looks like the room hasn't been used in quiet a while. Other than that it's really an amazing place and I highly recommend it.
Reviewed September 15, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Boon from Singapore
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June, 2014
My best dinner during my Japan trip”
Good Food, Peaceful environment, Great hospitality
Reviewed July 03, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Steve from United States
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2014
Quintisential Japanes graciousness.”
Staff, setting and grounds.
What a privlege to stay at this place of ancient spirituality peace and beuty.
Reviewed May 25, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Axente from Romania
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2014
I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Japan”
Amazing location! It's a beautiful temple and the room is simply gorgeous, with a paradise garden just in front of it. Very kind hosts, delicious dinner. A piece of paradise !
Reviewed May 21, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Diana from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2014
Quaint ryokan just off the main street of Magome”
Friendly people who run the place, quiet surroundings, traditional ryokan
This was a lovely place to base ourselves during out stay at Magome. Dinner and breakfast were provided with a smile. Shared facilities were clean - felt like we were staying at a local family home. I
Reviewed April 14, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Jay from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January, 2014
Wonderful stay in a unique temple ryokan”
Traditional Japanese ryokan, fantastic staff hospitality, unique local area/town, quiet and secluded
Staying at the Manpukuan Eisyouji Ryokan is a truly unique Japanese experience. A ryokan is a traditional Japanese-inn and this one also forms the Eisyouji temple. I stayed one night, having visited Magome on the first day and hiked to Tsumago on the second. The host speaks a little English, just enough to get by, however she's incredibly friendly and cooked a delicious evening meal and breakfast! The ryokan is easy to find (just off the main street leading through Magome) and has a traditional Japanese design (sliding doors, rock garden, etc.). If you're planning a visit to Magome I highly recommend spending a night there as it will definitely enhance the experience.
Reviewed January 31, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Daniella from Netherlands
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2013
Stay in beautiful old temple”
Beautiful Japanese temple buildings with garden, a traditional room with paper sliding doors to all the sides looking out on this garden, very helpful staff and delicious food.
Owner of the ryokan (Japanese inn), zen-priest and his wife who did all the cooking were very helpful. The meals were great, the bath that was prepared in the evening very warm. Just outside the village of Magome from where you can walk the Nakasendo trail to Tsumago. Or walk the streets after all the day tourists have gone.
Reviewed November 14, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Pia from Germany
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2013
Great hospitality and atmospheric temple garden”
Japanese style room with wonderful view into the Temple garden
Reviewed October 13, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Liselotte from Denmark
Couple
Japanese Style - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2013
Amazing - lovely Munk and his wife to attend to us”
very nice and helpfull munk and his wife, food very good and a beautifull place with a big japanese garden
One of the most personal and friendly places that we have stayed in Japan. The Munk and his wife was very helpfull and nice. The food was also a great surprise and very good..:o)
Reviewed May 02, 2013