Max Brown Museum Square

40-46 Jan Luijkenstraat, Oud Zuid, Amsterdam, Netherlands, 1071 CR
Max Brown Museum Square
HD Image
Small Double Max Brown Museum Square
Lobby Max Brown Museum Square
Interior view Max Brown Museum Square
See all 42 photos
Removed from saved list
8.2
Excellent
/10
(2316 reviews)See what guests said
See map
9.1
Exceptional
Location rating score
Exceptional location - 200 meters from city center
Popular neighborhood
  • Rijksmuseum Amsterdam50 m
  • Van Gogh Museum230 m
  • Heineken Experience680 m
  • Vondelpark1.16 km
  • The Jordaan1.55 km
  • Dam Square1.63 km
  • The Rembrandt House Museum1.66 km
  • Anne Frank House1.66 km
  • Artis Zoo2.19 km
  • Resistance Museum2.24 km
  • Highlights and ratings

    3-star Hotel
    Free Wi-Fi
    "The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable, location was perfect and the breakfast was awesome!"
    Chenoa - 13 July 2018
    Exceptional reputation
    Recommended by 89% of guests
    Excellent service
    8.8 rating for service
    Excellent cleanliness
    8.5 rating for cleanliness
    Very good comfort
    7.7 room quality and comfort
    • 930 meters to public transportation

    • Located in heart of Amsterdam

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Daily housekeeping

    • Bar

    Cheaper than 98% of all properties in Amsterdam in the last 24 hoursCompared to 3,585 Amsterdam properties at Agoda for various dates
    Value for money7.9
    Location rating9.1
    Nearest airportAmsterdam Airport Schiphol (AMS)
    Distance to airport9.8 km

    Rooms available at Max Brown Museum Square

    7.7
    Very good
    Room comfort & quality
    Superior Twin
    Superior Twin
    ...
    • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds and 1 sofa be...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Loft
    Loft
    ...
    • Room size: 29 m²/312 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Superior
    Superior
    ...
    • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed and 1 sofa bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Small Twin Room
    Small Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 single bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Small Double
    Small Double
    ...
    • Room size: 13 m²/140 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Comfort - Double Room
    Comfort - Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    DOUBLE + EXTRA BED MEDIUM
    DOUBLE + EXTRA BED MEDIUM
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      LOFT 4 ADULTS STANDARD
      LOFT 4 ADULTS STANDARD
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Standard Double Room (double bed)
        Standard Double Room (double bed)
        ...
        • Shower
        Enter dates to see prices
        Medium Double Room (Max 2 Persons)
        Medium Double Room (Max 2 Persons)
        ...
        • Shower
        Enter dates to see prices

        What people love about Max Brown Museum Square

        • 9.2
          Exceptional
          Location

          "Great location for us as city centre easy to access."

          sophie

          |

          12 March 2017

        • 9.6
          Exceptional

          "Loved everything about our loft room!!"

          Sherri

          |

          27 July 2017

        • 9.2
          Exceptional
          Staff 

          "Staff are very friendly and helpful."

          Arweekarn

          |

          14 January 2019

        Property ranking|Compared to 3,585 Amsterdam properties
        See all rankings
        Location score
        9.1/10
        Service score
        8.8/10
        Room comfort score
        7.7/10
        Cheapest price score
        Better than
        98
        %
        of Amsterdam properties
        Better than
        98
        %
        of Amsterdam properties
        Better than
        98
        %
        of Amsterdam properties
        Better than
        98
        %
        of Amsterdam properties
        Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

        Prices drop the moment you sign in!

        Sign in now
        More about Max Brown Museum Square

        More about Max Brown Museum Square

        8.8
        Excellent

        "The location was fantastic and the hospitality was excellant..."

        Edina

        |

        27 December 2018

        Description

        Show less

        Most talked about facilities

        Breakfast
        8 mentions
        Housekeeping
        2 mentions

        What they offer

        9.6
        Exceptional
        Staff 

        "The staff are very helpful and accommodating."

        bhong

        |

        23 January 2018

        View all reviews
        Show less

        Nearest essentials

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show less

        Food and dining

        Breakfast options

        Continental

        Nearby restaurants

        Dutch cuisine
        Dutch cuisine
        Brasserie Boven
        180 m Dutch, European, French
        The Four Pillars
        290 m Dutch, European
        Players Food & Drinks
        350 m Dutch, European, Grill
        Indian cuisine
        Indian cuisine
        Maurya Indian Restaurant
        520 m Indian
        Guru of India
        540 m Indian
        Akbar Indian Restaurant
        570 m Indian
        European cuisine
        European cuisine
        Le Rendez Vous
        300 m European, French
        The Seafood Bar
        330 m European, Gluten Free, Seafood
        Cafe Restaurant In de Buurt
        350 m European, International

        What's nearby

        Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
        Show less

        Property's guest policies

        Show less

        Some helpful facts

        Show less

        Reviews of Max Brown Museum Square from real guests

        Overall rating
        8.2
        Excellent
        From 2316 reviews
        Provided by verified guests of
        Agoda Reviews (96)Booking.com Reviews (2220)
        Rating via Agoda8.3
        /
        10
        Cleanliness8.5
        Facilities7.6
        Location9.1
        Room comfort and quality7.7
        Service8.8
        Value for money7.9
        High score for Amsterdam
        Rating
        9+ Exceptional (18)
        8-9 Excellent (10)
        7-8 Very Good (6)
        6-7 Good (3)
        <6 Below Expectation (7)
        Time of the year
        Mar - May (9)
        Jun - Aug (14)
        Sep - Nov (11)
        Dec - Feb (10)
        All guests (96)
        All room types
        All languages
        Showing 44 verified guest comments
        123
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Leah from United States
        Family with teens
        Superior
        Stayed 2 nights in November, 2019

        We will return!”

        Great friendly staff. Excellent location near museums and bus/tram stops (and well outside of the red light district!). Nice walk to Ann Frank House. The breakfast was fantastic! Room was very clean. The typically small European room still easily accommodated three. If we return to Amsterdam, I will plan to stay at Max Brown again.

        Reviewed December 01, 2019

        Dear Leah, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us thanks to our amazing staff, superb location and delicious breakfast. We would love to welcome you back during your next trip to Amsterdam. Warm regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded December 09, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Audrey from United States
        Couple
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 3 nights in September, 2019

        Great hotel for Art Lovers”

        Great location for all the museums and other attractions. Great staff, fun design concepts and breakfast was included.

        Reviewed September 16, 2019
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Joanne from Canada
        Couple
        Small Double
        Stayed 2 nights in September, 2019

        Charming boutique style hotel”

        Great little hotel, would highly recommend it.

        Reviewed September 09, 2019
        8.0
        Excellent
        Tal from Israel
        Couple
        Small Double
        Stayed 4 nights in August, 2019

        Very good”

        The hotel is very nice, clean and friendly stuff The location is nice next to the museum square. There is bus station one minute walk. The rooms are very small

        Reviewed September 05, 2019
        7.2
        Very good
        Jacqui from South Africa
        Family with teens
        Small Twin Room
        Stayed 1 night in June, 2019

        Small, cramped and expensive”

        The situation of the hotel is fabulous, in walking distance to everything we wanted to see but the bedrooms and bathroom are very small and cramped. The shower also worked sporadically which was annoying and the water pressure was terrible. The toilet also did not function properly. Very steep, narrow steps to and within the hotel and the lift was a nightmare. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was very good.

        Reviewed June 22, 2019

        Dear Jacqui, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. We are very glad to hear that you were satisfied with the location, breakfast en comfortable beds. We are, however, dissapointed to read you had some disturbances in the room. Did you inform our reception staff about this? We are always more than happy to assist in finding you a room that is up to your expectations. We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam to the fullest. With kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded July 10, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        8.8
        Excellent
        David from United States
        Couple
        Small Double
        Stayed 7 nights in May, 2019

        Nice place. Perfect for museum goers but downtown Amsterdam readily accessible.”

        Dining room in basement could be bigger. Big crowds at morning breakfast on weekends. But good food. Great coffee machine! Nice bar area too on ground floor.

        Reviewed June 06, 2019

        Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to read that you were satisfied with our location and bar. We would love to welcome you back someday. With warm regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded June 12, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Katie from United Kingdom
        Group
        Loft
        Stayed 2 nights in May, 2019

        Lovely stay”

        Booked for a group. Everyone loved it and said they would love to come back here if revisiting Amsterdam. Beautiful decor. Lovely staff.

        Reviewed June 04, 2019

        Dear Katie, Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review. We are very happy to hear that everyone of your party enjoyed their stay and is thinking of coming back to us. We would love to welcome you all back and please feel free to contact us if you do. We will make sure to make your stay even more memorable. With warm regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded June 12, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        5.2
        Phillippa
        Couple
        Small Double
        Stayed 3 nights in May, 2019

        Above average”

        Great location, overpriced. Extremely small room even though this was advertised as small we could hardly walk around the bed. Hot shower cut out twice whilst I was in the middle of showering. At breakfast we were awaiting clean cups. plates and bowls as they always seemed to be 'in the washer'. No replenishing of coffees and teas within the room when room cleaned. When asked for some gesture to be made to recognise the difficulties we were met with a blank stare and told can't do anything, it took 20mins of discussion to get 22 Euros of the bill. Apologies would have helped. Almost all the staff were friendly but there seemed to be a staff shortage as all were always really busy, so not fault of their own.

        Reviewed May 14, 2019

        Dear Phillippa, How unfortunate to read that you experience did not live up to your expectations. I can imagine you would like to start your day with a fresh shower and than being interrupted by the shower cut is very inconvenient. We are very sorry for that and would like to apologize for any inconvenience it may caused you during your time with us. We do list the room sizes on all our booking websites so that our future guests are not surprised when they enter the room. We would like for our guest to experience Amsterdam as a local. Our rooms are set up efficiently so you can create more space. I feel that we’ve lost you as a fan of Max Brown. If you ever consider booking with us again, please contact us directly so that we can do our utmost best to create a wonderful stay. Please check our website for any special offers. Kind regards, Telka Knapen – Hotel Manager

        Show more
        Max Brown Museum Square
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Rizalina from Philippines
        Family with teens
        Superior Twin
        Stayed 3 nights in March, 2019

        Highly recommended”

        The location is fantastic, 2-3 minutes walk to Rijksmuseum and about 6-8 minutes to Van Gogh museum. Very near tram station too. The room is small but the lay out is good. The bathroom is just the right size, clean and well lit. The best thing about the room are the beds as they are really comfy. Staff are really friendly and helpful.

        Reviewed April 22, 2019

        Dear Rizalina, Thank you for the kind words in regards of your stay. I'm glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that the staff gave a lot of great tips to explore Amsterdam to the fullest. Kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded May 24, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        6.8
        Good
        Anne from Norway
        Couple
        Small Twin Room
        Stayed 3 nights in March, 2019

        Good”

        Travelled with friends. Cool hotel.

        Reviewed April 05, 2019

        Dear Anne, I hope you had a great time with your friends and hopefully we will see you soon! Kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded May 24, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        8.8
        Excellent
        Linda from United States
        Couple
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 3 nights in August, 2018

        Very good!”

        We’re seniors and we had a fun time here. We stayed on the main floor. Short walk to markets , shops, museums, restaurants, hop on hop off buses and more! Narrow stair case down to the breakfast area. Very nice breakfast choices.

        Reviewed February 13, 2019
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Sara from United Kingdom
        Group
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 2 nights in January, 2019

        Exceptional”

        Weekend with friends, lovely place very well located

        Reviewed January 22, 2019
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Arweekarn from Thailand
        Solo traveler
        Small Twin Room
        Stayed 3 nights in September, 2018

        Exceptional”

        This is a small hotel in wonderful location - close to shops, restaurants and tram lines. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I even received a small surprised (snacks, beer and welcome back car) in my room for my 2nd visit which was about a year later. Breakfast is very good too!!

        Reviewed January 14, 2019
        8.8
        Excellent
        Edina from Singapore
        Family with young children
        Small Double
        Stayed 3 nights in December, 2018

        Excellent”

        The location was fantastic and the hospitality was excellant. But the stairs to the reception and building was a pain.

        Reviewed December 27, 2018
        9.6
        Exceptional
        Isai from Mexico
        Couple
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 1 night in December, 2018

        Great place, great location”

        Very close to Van Gogh Museum

        Reviewed December 17, 2018
        5.6
        Roland from Philippines
        Solo traveler
        Small Twin Room
        Stayed 1 night in December, 2018

        Location is so close to great museums”

        Good location but the hotel is very noisy. Bed is not comfortable as well. However, breakfast is okay.

        Reviewed December 05, 2018

        Dear Roland, It is disappointing to read that the room you stayed in did not live up to your expectations. We aim for our guests to have a quiet and comfortable night in our rooms. We would have loved to talked to you during your stay, so we could have helped you out. If you feel disturbed during the night, please let our staff know so that we can do something to help you. I’m still happy to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast. I do hope that you explored Amsterdam to the fullest and that our beautiful city gave you a nice memory. With kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded December 13, 2018
        Max Brown Museum Square
        6.8
        Good
        Larissa from United Kingdom
        Couple
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 5 nights in July, 2018

        Great location, but hotel itself not there just yet”

        Really needs airconditioning particularly in case of heat waves in summer as South facing room was hotter than it was outside or in corridors and needs more variety at breakfast time. Five nights too much in these conditions.

        Reviewed August 02, 2018

        Dear Larissa, We appreciate you took the time to write this review in regards of your stay. We can understand that the heat was unbareable during the past exceptional summer. We do clearly state on our website that we don't have AC. To make it more comfortable for our guests, we do provide fans in our room. Luckily, the Dutch summer are normally short-lived, but this doesn't reduce the impact that it clearly had on your stay. We do hope that you still enjoyed our beautiful city and that we can welcome you back. With kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded December 07, 2018
        Max Brown Museum Square
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Chenoa from United States
        Couple
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 4 nights in June, 2018

        Exceptional”

        Max Brown was amazing! The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable, location was perfect and the breakfast was awesome! Thank you!

        Reviewed July 13, 2018

        Dear Chenoa, Thank you for the nice review in regards of your stay. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that Amsterdam gave you a nice memory. With kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded December 07, 2018
        Max Brown Museum Square
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Keziah from United Kingdom
        Group
        Small Double
        Stayed 2 nights in June, 2018

        Wonderful stay!”

        This hotel was perfect. The location was superb and the staff was welcoming and very friendly. The room was neat and well arranged. The bed was very comfortable too! I particularly enjoyed breakfast and all the vegetarian and vegan options available. Excellent hotel!

        Reviewed June 25, 2018
        8.8
        Excellent
        Nick from United Kingdom
        Family with young children
        Small Twin Room
        Stayed 2 nights in April, 2018

        Great little hotel - but no secure luggage storage”

        It's a lovely little hotel. The rooms are snug (and the beds are narrow!) but it's done really nicely, the staff are super helpful and the bar area is cosy with loads of games and books. NOTE THOUGH: There's no secure luggage storage, just a rack in a corridor –- and one of our bags went missing. I reckon it was picked up by mistake by another guest (it was a shopping bag with a couple of coats in). I'd stay there again - but I'd take a luggage lock next time...

        Reviewed April 24, 2018
        123

        Reviews of Max Brown Museum Square from real guests

        Overall rating
        8.2
        Excellent
        From 2316 reviews
        Provided by verified guests of
        Agoda Reviews (96)Booking.com Reviews (2220)
        Rating via Agoda8.3
        /
        10
        Cleanliness8.5
        Facilities7.6
        Location9.1
        Room comfort and quality7.7
        Service8.8
        Value for money7.9
        High score for Amsterdam
        Rating
        9+ Exceptional (18)
        8-9 Excellent (10)
        7-8 Very Good (6)
        6-7 Good (3)
        <6 Below Expectation (7)
        Time of the year
        Mar - May (9)
        Jun - Aug (14)
        Sep - Nov (11)
        Dec - Feb (10)
        All guests (96)
        All room types
        All languages
        Showing 44 verified guest comments
        123
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Leah from United States
        Family with teens
        Superior
        Stayed 2 nights in November, 2019

        We will return!”

        Great friendly staff. Excellent location near museums and bus/tram stops (and well outside of the red light district!). Nice walk to Ann Frank House. The breakfast was fantastic! Room was very clean. The typically small European room still easily accommodated three. If we return to Amsterdam, I will plan to stay at Max Brown again.

        Reviewed December 01, 2019

        Dear Leah, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us thanks to our amazing staff, superb location and delicious breakfast. We would love to welcome you back during your next trip to Amsterdam. Warm regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded December 09, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Audrey from United States
        Couple
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 3 nights in September, 2019

        Great hotel for Art Lovers”

        Great location for all the museums and other attractions. Great staff, fun design concepts and breakfast was included.

        Reviewed September 16, 2019
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Joanne from Canada
        Couple
        Small Double
        Stayed 2 nights in September, 2019

        Charming boutique style hotel”

        Great little hotel, would highly recommend it.

        Reviewed September 09, 2019
        8.0
        Excellent
        Tal from Israel
        Couple
        Small Double
        Stayed 4 nights in August, 2019

        Very good”

        The hotel is very nice, clean and friendly stuff The location is nice next to the museum square. There is bus station one minute walk. The rooms are very small

        Reviewed September 05, 2019
        7.2
        Very good
        Jacqui from South Africa
        Family with teens
        Small Twin Room
        Stayed 1 night in June, 2019

        Small, cramped and expensive”

        The situation of the hotel is fabulous, in walking distance to everything we wanted to see but the bedrooms and bathroom are very small and cramped. The shower also worked sporadically which was annoying and the water pressure was terrible. The toilet also did not function properly. Very steep, narrow steps to and within the hotel and the lift was a nightmare. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was very good.

        Reviewed June 22, 2019

        Dear Jacqui, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. We are very glad to hear that you were satisfied with the location, breakfast en comfortable beds. We are, however, dissapointed to read you had some disturbances in the room. Did you inform our reception staff about this? We are always more than happy to assist in finding you a room that is up to your expectations. We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam to the fullest. With kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded July 10, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        8.8
        Excellent
        David from United States
        Couple
        Small Double
        Stayed 7 nights in May, 2019

        Nice place. Perfect for museum goers but downtown Amsterdam readily accessible.”

        Dining room in basement could be bigger. Big crowds at morning breakfast on weekends. But good food. Great coffee machine! Nice bar area too on ground floor.

        Reviewed June 06, 2019

        Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy to read that you were satisfied with our location and bar. We would love to welcome you back someday. With warm regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded June 12, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Katie from United Kingdom
        Group
        Loft
        Stayed 2 nights in May, 2019

        Lovely stay”

        Booked for a group. Everyone loved it and said they would love to come back here if revisiting Amsterdam. Beautiful decor. Lovely staff.

        Reviewed June 04, 2019

        Dear Katie, Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review. We are very happy to hear that everyone of your party enjoyed their stay and is thinking of coming back to us. We would love to welcome you all back and please feel free to contact us if you do. We will make sure to make your stay even more memorable. With warm regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded June 12, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        5.2
        Phillippa
        Couple
        Small Double
        Stayed 3 nights in May, 2019

        Above average”

        Great location, overpriced. Extremely small room even though this was advertised as small we could hardly walk around the bed. Hot shower cut out twice whilst I was in the middle of showering. At breakfast we were awaiting clean cups. plates and bowls as they always seemed to be 'in the washer'. No replenishing of coffees and teas within the room when room cleaned. When asked for some gesture to be made to recognise the difficulties we were met with a blank stare and told can't do anything, it took 20mins of discussion to get 22 Euros of the bill. Apologies would have helped. Almost all the staff were friendly but there seemed to be a staff shortage as all were always really busy, so not fault of their own.

        Reviewed May 14, 2019

        Dear Phillippa, How unfortunate to read that you experience did not live up to your expectations. I can imagine you would like to start your day with a fresh shower and than being interrupted by the shower cut is very inconvenient. We are very sorry for that and would like to apologize for any inconvenience it may caused you during your time with us. We do list the room sizes on all our booking websites so that our future guests are not surprised when they enter the room. We would like for our guest to experience Amsterdam as a local. Our rooms are set up efficiently so you can create more space. I feel that we’ve lost you as a fan of Max Brown. If you ever consider booking with us again, please contact us directly so that we can do our utmost best to create a wonderful stay. Please check our website for any special offers. Kind regards, Telka Knapen – Hotel Manager

        Show more
        Max Brown Museum Square
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Rizalina from Philippines
        Family with teens
        Superior Twin
        Stayed 3 nights in March, 2019

        Highly recommended”

        The location is fantastic, 2-3 minutes walk to Rijksmuseum and about 6-8 minutes to Van Gogh museum. Very near tram station too. The room is small but the lay out is good. The bathroom is just the right size, clean and well lit. The best thing about the room are the beds as they are really comfy. Staff are really friendly and helpful.

        Reviewed April 22, 2019

        Dear Rizalina, Thank you for the kind words in regards of your stay. I'm glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that the staff gave a lot of great tips to explore Amsterdam to the fullest. Kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded May 24, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        6.8
        Good
        Anne from Norway
        Couple
        Small Twin Room
        Stayed 3 nights in March, 2019

        Good”

        Travelled with friends. Cool hotel.

        Reviewed April 05, 2019

        Dear Anne, I hope you had a great time with your friends and hopefully we will see you soon! Kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded May 24, 2019
        Max Brown Museum Square
        8.8
        Excellent
        Linda from United States
        Couple
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 3 nights in August, 2018

        Very good!”

        We’re seniors and we had a fun time here. We stayed on the main floor. Short walk to markets , shops, museums, restaurants, hop on hop off buses and more! Narrow stair case down to the breakfast area. Very nice breakfast choices.

        Reviewed February 13, 2019
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Sara from United Kingdom
        Group
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 2 nights in January, 2019

        Exceptional”

        Weekend with friends, lovely place very well located

        Reviewed January 22, 2019
        9.2
        Exceptional
        Arweekarn from Thailand
        Solo traveler
        Small Twin Room
        Stayed 3 nights in September, 2018

        Exceptional”

        This is a small hotel in wonderful location - close to shops, restaurants and tram lines. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I even received a small surprised (snacks, beer and welcome back car) in my room for my 2nd visit which was about a year later. Breakfast is very good too!!

        Reviewed January 14, 2019
        8.8
        Excellent
        Edina from Singapore
        Family with young children
        Small Double
        Stayed 3 nights in December, 2018

        Excellent”

        The location was fantastic and the hospitality was excellant. But the stairs to the reception and building was a pain.

        Reviewed December 27, 2018
        9.6
        Exceptional
        Isai from Mexico
        Couple
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 1 night in December, 2018

        Great place, great location”

        Very close to Van Gogh Museum

        Reviewed December 17, 2018
        5.6
        Roland from Philippines
        Solo traveler
        Small Twin Room
        Stayed 1 night in December, 2018

        Location is so close to great museums”

        Good location but the hotel is very noisy. Bed is not comfortable as well. However, breakfast is okay.

        Reviewed December 05, 2018

        Dear Roland, It is disappointing to read that the room you stayed in did not live up to your expectations. We aim for our guests to have a quiet and comfortable night in our rooms. We would have loved to talked to you during your stay, so we could have helped you out. If you feel disturbed during the night, please let our staff know so that we can do something to help you. I’m still happy to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast. I do hope that you explored Amsterdam to the fullest and that our beautiful city gave you a nice memory. With kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded December 13, 2018
        Max Brown Museum Square
        6.8
        Good
        Larissa from United Kingdom
        Couple
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 5 nights in July, 2018

        Great location, but hotel itself not there just yet”

        Really needs airconditioning particularly in case of heat waves in summer as South facing room was hotter than it was outside or in corridors and needs more variety at breakfast time. Five nights too much in these conditions.

        Reviewed August 02, 2018

        Dear Larissa, We appreciate you took the time to write this review in regards of your stay. We can understand that the heat was unbareable during the past exceptional summer. We do clearly state on our website that we don't have AC. To make it more comfortable for our guests, we do provide fans in our room. Luckily, the Dutch summer are normally short-lived, but this doesn't reduce the impact that it clearly had on your stay. We do hope that you still enjoyed our beautiful city and that we can welcome you back. With kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded December 07, 2018
        Max Brown Museum Square
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Chenoa from United States
        Couple
        Comfort - Double Room
        Stayed 4 nights in June, 2018

        Exceptional”

        Max Brown was amazing! The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable, location was perfect and the breakfast was awesome! Thank you!

        Reviewed July 13, 2018

        Dear Chenoa, Thank you for the nice review in regards of your stay. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that Amsterdam gave you a nice memory. With kind regards, Telka Knapen - Hotel Manager

        Responded December 07, 2018
        Max Brown Museum Square
        10.0
        Exceptional
        Keziah from United Kingdom
        Group
        Small Double
        Stayed 2 nights in June, 2018

        Wonderful stay!”

        This hotel was perfect. The location was superb and the staff was welcoming and very friendly. The room was neat and well arranged. The bed was very comfortable too! I particularly enjoyed breakfast and all the vegetarian and vegan options available. Excellent hotel!

        Reviewed June 25, 2018
        8.8
        Excellent
        Nick from United Kingdom
        Family with young children
        Small Twin Room
        Stayed 2 nights in April, 2018

        Great little hotel - but no secure luggage storage”

        It's a lovely little hotel. The rooms are snug (and the beds are narrow!) but it's done really nicely, the staff are super helpful and the bar area is cosy with loads of games and books. NOTE THOUGH: There's no secure luggage storage, just a rack in a corridor –- and one of our bags went missing. I reckon it was picked up by mistake by another guest (it was a shopping bag with a couple of coats in). I'd stay there again - but I'd take a luggage lock next time...

        Reviewed April 24, 2018
        123
        This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

        Back to search results

        Back to room choices

        |

        Dismiss

        Max Brown Museum Square
        |Excellent 8.3
        ×
        Check in. Step out.
        Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

        • Exceptional location
        • Rijksmuseum Amsterdam
        • Cornelis Schuytstraat Tram Station is within 0.93 km