Book Now: Peace House Sakura

Very good
From 192 reviewsSee what guests said
7.1
Recommended by 80% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (192)Booking.com Reviews (599)
7.1
Very good
From 192 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.8
Facilities6.8
Location7.6
Room comfort and quality6.4
Service7.9
Value for money7.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
한국어
简体中文
more
Room type
Japanese Style Twin
Japanese Style Triple
Mixed Dormitory A
Mixed Dormitory
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 171 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Rui from Singapore
Group
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
Close to station”
The place was a little difficult to find as it is located on the 2nd floor and instructions were only provided on the very same day that we were supposed to arrive but the area was relatively clean and easy to get around
Reviewed October 08, 2016
7.6
Very good
Lw from Malaysia
Family with teens
Japanese Style Triple
Stayed 1 night in August, 2016
Helpful reception ”
Good
Reviewed August 07, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Douglas from Canada
Group
Japanese Style Triple
Stayed 4 nights in July, 2016
Great service, friendly staff, good location.”
Had a great stay. Staff were really understanding of our situation and really helped us out a lot. Shower on the second floor is really strong, which I loved. Nice common area to hang out, kitchen was very clean and usable as well. Will stay again!
Reviewed July 12, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Fandy from Indonesia
Couple
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2016
Backpacker ? choose this one..!”
Hi backpacker, if looking for great value and sharing information with another backpacker choose this one.. we always sharing in living room with many tourist from entire world :) whilst snacking and tea time :D
Reviewed May 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Felix from Canada
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 7 nights in April, 2016
Nice staff”
All the staff were nice, common area was lively, i emjoyed my stay.
Reviewed April 25, 2016
5.6
Grace from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2016
Friendly staff, not in a good location, very noisy at night”
If you're looking for a low budget place to live, this is the place. Otherwise that's it. Staff was friendly, had a nice conversation with them. The place was clean. However, those three points are the only pros I could say about this place. Wifi was cut off at some times, very slow. Location was not in a good place, it was not near a bus stop or subway. It is only near the Keihan train station (10 minute walk away). We had trouble getting around the sight seeing spots around Kyoto. Room was small, acceptable. Walls were thin, you can hear everything at night, people walking outside in the hallway, people in the other room. Our room was on the second floor, 2C, and when we opened the window we could hear everything going on in the living room downstairs (people talk until late at night, 1AM-2AM). Somehow 2 rooms away from the shower, we could still hear it turn on and off! I'm serious, if I didn't have ear plugs to help me sleep at night, I would've given it lower stars. Bottom line: If you're looking for a good sleep and a good location to live in, this is not the place to live.
Reviewed April 20, 2016
4.0
Kirsten from Germany
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Triple
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2016
central but simple”
Friendly staff, cheap rental bikes, good location
The hostel had a good locstion and cheap rental bikes. The staff was friendly but not of too much help with information about Kyoto. The room was very simple, only three beds /mats on the floor. The toilet/shower/ sinks were a bit dirty, there was a lot of hair! But it was fine for a couple of days.
Reviewed March 30, 2016
5.7
Junyoung from South Korea
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in March, 2016
It was ok.”
Location was close from the kiyomisudera temple so I went there ealry time when less people visit there.
It was ok just for a night. Staffs were very helpful, friendly and kind. If you want to meet new people, it might be a good choice. But the room was very cold at night. Except it, it was a fine stay. The rate was cheap so I don't complain about the facilities.
Reviewed March 28, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Hsin from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 1 night in March, 2016
host verry kindly”
1.kindly host 2.convenient location 3 good price
Reviewed March 27, 2016
6.3
Good
LING from Malaysia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2016
Loacton near to Gion street”
Friendly staff, location
Reviewed March 01, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Ee from Taiwan
Group
Japanese Style Triple
Stayed 2 nights in January, 2016
Nice”
Clean,nice,comfortable
Reviewed January 23, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Ben from United Kingdom
Couple
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2016
Great place to explore tokyo”
Price, Bryce, bikes
Really nice place to stay. Traditional Japanese rooms. Fairly central and very close to Gion and Kiyomizu temple. They have rental bikes available which we used to explore the city. The staff were very helpful. The walls are thin so if you are a very light sleeper then ambient noise may be a problem. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay here. Reasonably priced and easy to get around.
Reviewed January 12, 2016
6.7
Good
LIM from Malaysia
Group
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2015
BUDGET”
LOW PRICE,LOCATION,CLEAN
Reviewed December 05, 2015
5.7
Kin from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2015
Peace House Sakura”
Clean toilet, clean room, friendly
Great stay, friendly staff and clean place. The only thing that need to be attended is the bath room and also the kitchen. Its a bit run down. Other then that we had a great stay.
Reviewed December 04, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Suhari from Indonesia
Group
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 1 night in November, 2015
Nice place to stay”
Low price, great location, good wifi
The room is good but toilet and shower room Are just okay.
Reviewed November 22, 2015
7.0
Very good
lea from Japan
Couple
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2015
Simple, but quite ok. Good location.”
good location, rental bikes, equipped kitchen
Reviewed November 16, 2015
5.7
Edouard from United States
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 1 night in November, 2015
Eh, not worth price”
15 min walking distance away from good areas, clean rooms, kitchen
Walls are like paper, i don't consider myself a light sleeper, but I was constantly awakened by children running, people talking, doors closing, etc. Kitchen is usable and well supplied, but common space is tiny and suffocating. To be fair, I loved the tatami room. I just wished the walls weren't so thin.
Reviewed November 13, 2015
6.0
Lindsay from Canada
Couple
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 1 night in May, 2015
Booking error”
accessible
This hostel was amongst one of our last in a line of 13 others during our stay in Japan. All other experiences were fantastic and I have rated them all 5 stars. The Peace House Sakura distinguished itself from them right from the start. Upon arrival, we were given a room in a grimy basement that looked like a prison cell. After double checking with my Agoda reservations, we noticed we'd been given something completely different then what we'd actually payed for ahead of time. This was the first time one of our bookings had been mistaken since being in Japan. My significant other went to see the management and we were given the right room thereafter (which was much better than the basement dungeons). During the evening we quickly came to realize that we were going to have rough night. I always sleep with ear plugs in during my trips to ensure good night's sleep and even with them in, I could hear the next door toilet all night. There also seemed to be someone directly downstairs stomping on the ground or banging something with a hammer. Two rowdy drunk girls made a ruckus in the hallway around midnight as they sloppy-drunked their way to their room (S.O. had to open the door to tell them to be mindful of other guests). The light in the toilet room was set on a timer for about 10 or 15 seconds. This meant that as soon as you sat on the toilet and stopped moving, the light would go off and you'd have to flail your arms to get it to come back on again. What the hell? This will be the only negative review we write from our month long stay in Japan which consisted of 13 other hostels, guesthouses and ryokans in which we stayed. Perhaps we were simply unlucky in our stay at the Peace House Sakura. One thing's for certain, we don't recommend this place to anyone!
Reviewed November 13, 2015
7.0
Very good
Kien from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2015
Good location”
Staff, location
Reviewed November 03, 2015
8.0
Excellent
ricard from Spain
Couple
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 1 night in August, 2015
Good value for money, near the temple zone”
Clean, goog room and price
Reviewed August 24, 2015
2.7
Oriol from Spain
Couple
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August, 2015
Horrible”
Location
I'd never go back to this "hotel". The room stinks, the bathrooms are dirty, the staff is unfriendly and the walls were very thin and we could hear our neighboors breathing. In general we felt unwelcome there.
Reviewed August 18, 2015
3.3
David from Spain
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 3 nights in July, 2015
i have been in better places for less money.”
it was the only place I could find
Nothing special
Reviewed July 28, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Katja from Slovenia
Couple
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 1 night in June, 2015
Ok.”
Friendly staff, good wifi.
We spent only a short amount of time there. The staff was friendly and helpful. The mixed dorm is on underground level so the room is very dark and quite damp. They are trying to solve it but you can feel it. The value is not the best I've seen in Kyoto.
Reviewed June 22, 2015
3.0
Adhwa from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 1 night in May, 2015
Uncomfortable”
Location
The facilities provided weren't taken care of. There are no rubbish bin in the room and the pictures shown in the site were not at all the same as the actual one.
Reviewed May 16, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Carsten from Germany
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 1 night in April, 2015
Good Choice to Stay”
Location Staff Cleaness
The Peace House Sakura provides all what you expect - the location is great for get going to see Kyoto, the staff is really nice and the rooms are clean and give an overall good impression.
Reviewed April 23, 2015
2.0
Ebish from Philippines
Couple
Japanese Style Triple
Stayed 1 night in April, 2015
Not really Japanese style at all”
Unwelcoming, Uncomfortable, Inconvenient, Disappointing... heater does not work so you sleep very cold at night. The sheets were used and not clean. You can still see hairs and can smell the previous user, We had to ask for the sheets to be changed. The only Japanese style in this hotel is there is no bed frame and you sleep on the floor. Oh! They have a picture of a Japanese bed pinned on the door, to help you fool your mind to imagine that it is Japanese style. The rest, just forget about it. I don't know what to say. I have been to many backpackers Inn and hostels around and I can say that this is one of the bad ones. If you want to enjoy Kyoto, stay away from this place. you cannot check in until 6:30 PM and check out is 11 AM, receptionist only available from 6:30 PM to 10 PM, it claims tj be Japanese style but is not. It is not even Japanese operated. Very far.
Reviewed April 16, 2015
6.7
Good
tal from Israel
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2015
Not bad ”
3 things .... I'm not sure that was 3 things
Reviewed March 29, 2015
7.0
Very good
Chananya from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2015
Good location, home-like hostel”
good location, friendly staff, cozy
The hostel was easy to find, near Gojosaka bus stop which is just opposite the entrance to kiyomizu-dera and it was near 7-11 convenience store. It is a small hostel. with small living room…. so it is for small groups of travelers. There is shower,toilet, hair-dryer, and microwave in every floor. The building was quite old but the room is clean and cozy. The room we booked was japanese style so it was quite spacious for two, moreover 3 persons per room. The working hour of staff was quite different from other hostel, please read the conditions first.
Reviewed February 07, 2015
6.7
Good
KRIDSANAPAN from Thailand
Group
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 1 night in January, 2015
-”
-
It's OK.
Reviewed January 07, 2015
5.3
Marco from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 4 nights in December, 2014
Peace House Sakurar”
1) The staff will occupy the space of your room. (No privacy at all) 2) Checking in time not so really in proper manner. Only 6.30 p.m. to 9.30 a.m., if you reach earlier in the hotel, you cant check in but you can take bath, using wifi etc. Not so really professional in serving guest. 3) Location is not so really convenient. 4) I stayed there for 5 days 4 nights, No access to the main door at all. How come? I remembered a morning I reached around 7 a.m. to the front entrance, I cant go into the guest house until somebody walked out to the washroom which I knocked the main door to alert him to open the door for me. I have been waiting outside around 30 minutes long.
Reviewed December 23, 2014
5.3
Shuk from China
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 1 night in November, 2014
Ok ”
-
Reviewed December 09, 2014
3.3
Timothy from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2014
Bad Place to begin our japan trip...”
Westerner management (well spoken english)
*spend more than 30mins to find the place (missed our planned tour) *1st 2 nights was miserable as we could hear the staff chatting non stop throughout the whole night. *Room was without any heater, which was bad for cold weather. *No greetings from any staff, from entering to leaving. If you're looking for JAPANESE hospitality, please dont come here.
Reviewed November 22, 2014
7.0
Very good
Tin from Hong Kong
Group
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2014
Good location but not so clean ”
Good location, staffs are good
Good location, easily access to different places for visit like 清水寺, 祇園 Staffs are good, can drop down the luggage first, so we can go out visit But little dirty, and the hostel mates are quite lousy and noisy sometimes
Reviewed October 18, 2014
8.7
Excellent
FUNG from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 1 night in July, 2014
comfortable japanese private room”
staff, comfortable, japanese style room
Reviewed July 18, 2014
7.0
Very good
Kit from Malaysia
Family with teens
Japanese Style Triple
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2014
It was comfortable and alright.”
close to the bus station and attractions, has a kitchen.
It was okay as we were provided a small kitchen. Probably the common are and kitchen was together, it has a bit of smells. The glass of the main door was broken and accidentally cut myself a little. Be careful when you open the door. The stairs are small and narrow, not recommended for people who has difficulties in climbing stairs. Room was just nice for three and the air conditioner was very cold. The room is hot during afternoon (summer) as it is located at the top floor.
Reviewed June 11, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Wing from Hong Kong
Group
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 1 night in April, 2014
Nice memory”
Cleaniness, centrally located, friendly staff
Reviewed May 03, 2014
6.8
Good
sergio from Spain
Couple
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2016
buena gente”
Los empleados muy amables
Reviewed September 27, 2016
2.4
Miguel from Spain
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in February, 2016
Horroroso”
Apestaba a humedad. El colchón estaba roto y lo tapaban con dos sabanas por que tenían una de la medida del colchón. Las tuberías goteaban y se escuchaba el ruido toda la noche y cuando alguienbse duchaba o usaba el baño se escuchaba en todo el edificio. No volveré.
Reviewed February 16, 2016
7.7
Very good
Lola from Spain
Family with young children
Japanese Style Triple
Stayed 3 nights in August, 2015
Excelente ubicacion”
Ubicacion ideal en barrio de Gion y cerca del templo mas importante, Kiyomizudera. Parada d bus Gojozaka a 5' a pie del alojamiento on el numero 100 y 206.
El alojamiento tiene ya unos años y se aprecia en las instalaciones, pero para dormir no se necesita mucho mas. Nosotros encontramos el lugar limpio. El personal es atento y siempre dispuesto a ayudar. Desde la estación de Tokio se encuentra a unos 15-20' en bus en el bus 100 o 206 que se coge en la parada D1 o D2 respectivamente. En la parada Gojozak a 5'' a pie paran los autobuses que te llevan a los diferentes templos: dorado, plateado...
Reviewed August 11, 2015
7.6
Very good
Thibault from France
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Triple
Stayed 1 night in August, 2017
Very good”
Parfait pour backpackers
Reviewed August 28, 2017
3.7
Sophie from France
Couple
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2015
sale”
emplacement, plaques au gaz
Check-in à 18h avec impossibilité de déposer ses bagages avant et sans accueil soigné. L'auberge est très sale et très humide. Les draps heureusement, sentent la lessive ! Réfrigérateur et plaques de cuisson disponibles mais encore une fois en mauvais état. Le personnel ne connaît pas l'auberge car le roulement est très élevé (moins d'un mois, ou d'une semaine).
Reviewed November 14, 2015
5.6
Tolga from Germany
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2018
(Doppelzimmer) Matratze dreckig--- Lage gut”
(Doppelzimmer) Leider lagen auf der Matratze jede Menge haare. Hinter der Tapete war Schimmel. Toiletten sauber. Lage war gut.
Reviewed April 05, 2018
7.7
Very good
luciano from Italy
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2015
vacanza culturale”
pulizia camera gentilezza staff vicino al centro
Reviewed July 29, 2015
4.0
Yoko from Japan
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
1人で宿泊”
ユースホステル的な宿に泊まるのは滅多にないので覚悟はしていたが、寝る部屋の匂いが良くない。あと、ベットにカーテンがないので、周りから丸見えなのはちょっと。スタッフはいい人だったが、日本語は喋れない様子だった。
Reviewed April 04, 2016
6.3
Good
katsumi from Japan
Business traveler
Japanese Style Triple
Stayed 1 night in November, 2015
深夜でもスムーズにチェックイン”
立地・深夜・素泊まりは楽
Reviewed November 16, 2015
3.7
uei from Japan
Family with teens
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 1 night in September, 2015
悲しい”
場所、価格、親切
車で行ったのですが、駐車場アリと書かれていたのに、ありませんでした。
Reviewed September 20, 2015
7.7
Very good
TAKASHI from Japan
Business traveler
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 1 night in August, 2015
宿泊費が安い”
宿泊費が安く抑えられますし、暑い京都で部屋にはエアコンがあり助かりました。シャワーも利用することが出来て満足しています。
Reviewed August 13, 2015
5.0
TADASHI from Japan
Business traveler
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 1 night in December, 2014
得になし”
とくにな得になし
Reviewed December 15, 2014
7.0
Very good
mitsunobu from Japan
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory A
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
深夜着”
夜11時着で、フロントの人もいない代わりに玄関に自分宛てのメッセージ入りの張り紙がおかれてあり、朝8時頃チェックアウトしたのでスタッフには、会わなかったが部屋も快適でよかった、清水寺にも近く
駐車場有りと表示されてあるが、無料駐車場かと思ってたが、そんなのなく、コインパーキングがあるだけで結局朝まで2000円もとられ腹立った。
Reviewed October 09, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
JIN from China
Solo traveler
Japanese Style Twin
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2014
サービスがいい”
環境がいい、サービスがいい、場所がいい
Reviewed September 08, 2014