Book Now: Pearl Hotel Ryogoku

Very good
From 552 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (552)Booking.com Reviews (589)
7.7
Very good
From 552 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities6.9
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.2
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
ภาษาไทย
日本語
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Single Room Smoking
Studio Twin Smoking
Twin Smoking
Twin Non-Smoking
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 516 verified guest comments
3.7
YIH from Australia
Solo traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 7 nights in May, 2015
Close to JR station”
Location, Room Comfort, Value for Money
This trip is at least my fifth times staying in this hotel. The hotel is still one of my favourite when travelling to Tokyo, due to the location, and value of money. It is close to JR station, and I am definitely going to stay again when I visit Tokyo next time.
Reviewed June 08, 2015
6.3
Good
KANE from Singapore
Couple
Twin Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in April, 2015
pricey”
location, free bicycle rental, daily house-keeping.
Generally fine. For the price, could find better options. Transportation wise, only JR is advisable. Metro is too far away...
Reviewed April 28, 2015
6.7
Good
Venetia from Singapore
Couple
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in April, 2015
Near train station”
Near the JR line, convenience stores and restaurants nearby
The JR line is a lot more convenient if you are traveling with luggage. Although the hotel is near the JR & metro lines, it is a bit inconvenient if you are planning to spend a lot of your time in West Tokyo. It is a good location for visiting Asakusa, Tokyo Sky Tree, Tsukiji or Akihabara. Traveling to Haneda airport is quite easy (2 changes if you are taking the JR line). I got a room facing the train station so it was a bit noisy (when I had to open the windows for cool air as there was only heating in the room during my time there). All in all, it is a typical business hotel with all the usual amenities that come with it. Not too bad a stay but I'm sure there are better value for money hotels out there.
Reviewed April 12, 2015
6.0
Jaturon from Thailand
Couple
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in September, 2012
Good hotel”
location
feel good
Reviewed March 14, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
justine from Philippines
Couple
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 1 night in February, 2015
super close to ryogoku train station...convenient!”
perfect location..affordable..clean..
Satisfied couples(3couples all first timers in japan).sumo wrestlers are just in the corner walking with you(we were lucky to walk with them and they kept singing otso2 and spaghetti pababa)those sumos were featured in rated k. hotel rooms were not that big but the comfort u need after a days sightseeing will be felt.free breakfast was also good.everyday the rooms were made up even you dont request them to clean.recommended!
Reviewed February 28, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Chun from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 7 nights in February, 2015
good”
廁所ok
very good
Reviewed February 18, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Kevin from United Kingdom
Couple
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December, 2014
Great value for money”
Convenient location made travel to station, Solamachi and Edo museum easy. Rooms basic but quiet. Staff seemingly unflappable.
The hotel doesn't promise much on first viewing (the reception has a very ullitarian feel to it, and the upper floor corridors are a trip back a few decades), but the room itself was a wells-maintained, honest and economical place to use as a secure and quiet base. Although the hotel is sandwiched between a railway line and a couple of main roads, the room seemed well-insulated from internal and external noise. Old-fashioned air conditioning seemed to work well, the beds were fresh and supportive, and the clean bathroom was the very model of the modular unit found in virtually every business hotel around the country. No surprises, just great value for money (and a marvellous view of the Skytree).
Reviewed December 31, 2014
6.7
Good
Maria from Philippines
Couple
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2014
Hotel near the train station”
Location, nearby establishments and room cleanliness
It is strategic to stay in this hotel because the train station, food establishments and sumo wrestling stadium are nearby. The hotel provides a room that is complete in set up. However, the room has very limited space. The bed is small-scale for tall people.
Reviewed October 19, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Amnard from Thailand
Solo traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July, 2014
I have a pleasant stay at the hotel”
good price, good location, good service
Reviewed July 15, 2014
8.3
Excellent
A from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2014
Great location. Little noisy at night , trains.”
Great location for food. Very near to train station and Akihabara. Edo Tokyo Museum and Sumo hall across the street.
Pleasant but little noisy at night due to train station nearby.
Reviewed May 15, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Alex from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2014
Comfortable city hotel with easy transport access.”
Close to public transport, close to local restaurants, close to shopping districts
Well placed hotel allowing easy access to shopping and sightseeing spots. Location slightly off in Google maps, but easy enough to find as it's only 2 mins from the train station. No fuss check-in and out, and comfortable room.
Reviewed April 20, 2014
8.0
Excellent
JONATHAN from New Zealand
Business traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in January, 2014
Convenient location ”
Friendly, Cheap, Centally located
The hotel was very easy to find as it was just outside JR Sobu Line, which is one stop away fro m the renowned otaku land - Akihabara. This hotel did not disappoint me in their unique rooms as well, they were little compartment that contained every pieces of essential furnitures. Overall, a very very enjoyable stay.
Reviewed April 18, 2014
8.0
Excellent
JONATHAN from New Zealand
Business traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January, 2014
Convenient location ”
Friendly, Cheap, Good location
The hotel was very easy to find as it was just outside JR Sobu Line, which is one stop away fro m the renowned otaku land - Akihabara. This hotel did not disappoint me in their unique rooms as well, they were little compartment that contained every pieces of essential furnitures. Overall, a very very enjoyable stay.
Reviewed April 18, 2014
8.0
Excellent
JONATHAN from New Zealand
Business traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January, 2014
Convenient location ”
Friendly, Cheap, Centrally located
The hotel was very easy to find as it was just outside JR Sobu Line, which is one stop away fro m the renowned otaku land - Akihabara. This hotel did not disappoint me in their unique rooms as well, they were little compartment that contained every pieces of essential furnitures. Overall, a very very enjoyable stay.
Reviewed April 18, 2014
6.0
JONATHAN from New Zealand
Business traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January, 2014
Conveniently located ”
Friendly, Cheap, Easy to find
The hotel was very easy to find as it was just outside JR Sobu Line, which is one stop away fro m the renowned otaku land - Akihabara. This hotel did not disappoint me in their unique rooms as well, they were little compartment that contained every pieces of essential furnitures. Overall, a very very enjoyable stay.
Reviewed April 18, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Ruecha from Thailand
Solo traveler
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 6 nights in April, 2014
Good location for transportation.”
location, cleanliness, good service
The hotel location is center of tokyo. it near JR station which is easy for transportation. Room rate is valueable, not expensive. Room is quite clean. Good service.
Reviewed April 17, 2014
6.3
Good
Woong-Hwan from Canada
Solo traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March, 2014
Confortable and convenient”
Location, staff, comfort
Overall very nice. Located very close to Sumo Hall where I saw an event and super close to the train station so I was able to be on my way the next day. Something interesting was that my room was located in what seemed to be the hallway of my floor. That is it was located in a hallway that was obviously not as well-maintained as the other parts of my floor. My room was fine though. Only real downside was that the wifi in this hotel was terrible. Couldn't get a decent signal for my phone or tablet so business travellers be aware of that or bring your own LAN line.
Reviewed March 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Oliver from Philippines
Business traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in February, 2014
Near the JR station. Recommendable.”
near restaurants, accessible, value for money
I recommend this hotel. But I want to stay next time in other rooms. It was clean but I prefer a newer (newly renovated) one.
Reviewed March 04, 2014
7.7
Very good
Normah from Malaysia
Family with teens
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 7 nights in December, 2012
Pleasant”
close to subway, clean and comfortable
We stayed at the hotel for about a week last December. Everything about the hotel was good mostly because it is close to the subway station (opposite hotel). The downside of it was the staff, they barely can speak English so it was a challenge for us to communicate with them. Out of 5 receptionist there, only 1 person knows a bit of English.
Reviewed November 30, 2013
6.3
Good
William from Singapore
Business traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November, 2013
standard hotel”
clean, cheap and easy access to train station
clean, cheap, easy access to train station and a lot of local food surrounding hotel
Reviewed November 23, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Pamela from Singapore
Solo traveler
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2013
Easy access to public transport ”
Opposite train station, Meuseum, there is a hair salon and a massgae palour.
Pillow is too soft. Overall is good as there is a Mandarin speaker staff. Staff is helpful. Bad that no one is able to advise where to get the airport limousine bus ticket.
Reviewed September 12, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Matthew from United States
Business traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August, 2013
Good price, decent location”
good price, clean, good location
Good price for one night, only cost me like $60. Hotel is right across the street from the station that is 2 stops from Akihabara, so you have easy access to the Yamanote line which can get you to all the major parts of Tokyo very easily. Staff is good, room is very clean. Only two issues which were not that big of a deal was that the air conditioner was a little noisy, but not that bad. Also, couldn't figure out internet. I guess you need to bring your own cable to plug into the outlit if you want internet. Room is small, but typical of Japanese hotels, especially for $50-$60 a night for one person. Nice simple hotel, clean, good location.
Reviewed August 05, 2013
7.0
Very good
Ernest from United States
Family with young children
Twin Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2013
Average”
Location, Staff,
Stay was average for the price. Not impressed with the rooms but the staff was awesome. A/C was warm at best, toilet and tub leaked water everywhere. Also had to pay 3,400 Yen for two days of parking at the hotel. I would stay here again only if we neededto be in that area. We did go to the WWE in the Sumo Arena right across the street which was conventient.
Reviewed July 11, 2013
3.3
DO from South Korea
Business traveler
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in June, 2012
Poor facility”
Internet access, Location, nice view
Reviewed June 19, 2013
6.3
Good
Wei from Singapore
Group
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June, 2013
Basic room”
Convenient location
Room was really small which is a norm for hotels in Japan. To be careful if you do not want a cigarette smelling room.
Reviewed June 17, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Gerard from Philippines
Solo traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2013
Good accomodation”
It was very close to the train station and just a few minutes walk away from where they hold the Sumo Wrestling Events
Reviewed June 01, 2013
7.0
Very good
Maria from Philippines
Group
Twin Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June, 2012
nice”
accommodating and friendly staff
Reviewed May 20, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
michelle from Canada
Solo traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2012
pleasant”
friendly, clean, convenient
Reviewed May 08, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Zebedee from Singapore
Solo traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2013
Satisfied as ever”
Great location, well kept, Near to train station
It's a great place if you are looking for affordability and convenience
Reviewed April 27, 2013
7.3
Very good
marius from Lithuania
Couple
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 7 nights in April, 2013
Average place, average location, average- room ”
Near to JR 1 minute walk, near to Subway 6-7 minutes walk.
The hotel is located 2 stations from Akihabara (electronic city) and 17 minutes ride with JR to main Tokyo attractions areas. From the same JR station you can continue to Narita Airport with one change to Keisei line ( total cost 1010 Yen, 1 hour ) but if you have JR pass you must go to Ueno station (2 changes) then to Narita. Room was very tiny, acctualy we saw that it was a room for 1 person, they just put another bed near (twin ecomy room was ordered). Since the hotel is 1 minute from JR station, you can hear the trains but not a big issue with double windows at least for us, we got the side of rails room. Breakfast: we took it without breakfast included but we saw it - selfselservice which include sauceges , tea/coffee, other nice things. Worth the 10$ per room
Reviewed April 19, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Andrew from Canada
Group
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March, 2012
Good Price, Good Location, Comfortable,”
Location, Convenience, Price.
To make things easier on everyone I will put everything in point form. -Comfortable -Shower + Bathtub -Close to JR station (Ryogoku Station 1-min walk) -Close to Akihabara -Decent amount of room / Beds -Clean
Reviewed April 03, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Chapman from Singapore
Business traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March, 2013
Great like always!”
Location is convenient, affordable and good service.
Reviewed March 17, 2013
6.3
Good
Nathicha from Thailand
Group
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in March, 2013
Nice room, a little bit tiny but comfortable”
easy access to railway station, clean room, good service
Reviewed March 14, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Christina from United States
Solo traveler
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in June, 2012
Great location and breakfast but small rooms”
Breakfast, location, clean
The biggest cons of this hotel were the tiny rooms, the subway noise if the window is open, and the tour groups that routinely take over the hotel (though we did pick up some ideas for places to visit from them, so it was not all bad). The bathrooms were great, internet fairly fast in the lobby, and the staff were very helpful. Because of the low price and location, I'd definitely stay here again!
Reviewed February 10, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Martin from Australia
Solo traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January, 2013
Clean and all good”
Hard to swing a dead cat around in your room
Very good and extremely convenient if you are going to the Sumo Tournaments. Nice location, rail station across the road, Macca's across the road too. Next to the river and close to Tokyo Skytree. Rooms small, but no different to other rooms.
Reviewed February 02, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Agung from Indonesia
Family with young children
Twin Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in December, 2012
Basic hotel with access to Ryogoku subway station”
Location is across the street from Ryogoku Tokugikan (sumo stadium)
Stayed here with my wife and 4 year old son. Location wise is OK due to short walk to Ryogoku station, although I would not consider Ryogoku is one of the major stations in Tokyo. You'll need to change trains a couple of times to final tourist destinations. Asakusa and Tokyo Sky Tree tower are located about 3-4 stations away, so that was a plus. Room was clean and basic with LAN access (no wi-fi). We liked the deluxe twin room with a couch, but space was still limited. Breakfast was included in the rate that we got, so it should be quite convenient for travelers with kids. Some reviewers mentioned that they can hear train noises from the street, which is somewhat true, but it was so subtle we wasn't bothered with it.
Reviewed January 09, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
linda from Philippines
Family with young children
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2012
Great location very near ryogoku station”
near mcdo
weve stayed 2nights its great very near to sobu line ryogoku ,front of the hotel , near mcdonald, rooms is clean, breakfast was so good different menu everyday overall its ok
Reviewed January 05, 2013
8.7
Excellent
YIH from Australia
Solo traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in December, 2012
Great location but small rooms”
close to train stations
Third time staying in this hotel, which among all still the best for me. It is close to train stations which is handy for me. Hotel staff is very helpful and friendly.
Reviewed January 02, 2013
7.3
Very good
Thitiporn from Thailand
Family with teens
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in December, 2012
Good breakfast and clean room”
facility in room
very near JR station, clean room, but no wifi in room, only have at lobby but it's acceptable. Great breakfast
Reviewed December 25, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Anthony from United States
Group
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November, 2012
Cheap and Good Quality Hotel”
Cheap price, comfortable beds, clean rooms
I had a very pleasant experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room is a nice price and the rooms are basic, but comfortable. The location of the hotel is a short taxi ride away from Akihabara, which is really nice because most hotels in Akihabara are usually fully booked. So if you want to spend a weekend in Akihabara and need a cheap place to stay I would recommend Pearl Hotel in Ryogoku.
Reviewed December 21, 2012
4.7
Nina from Singapore
Family with teens
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December, 2012
Smoker Hotel”
Hotel near train station - easy to find, in the location where sumo is trained
nothing memorable. room and toilet are really small. the toilet looks like a portable toilet. it should not be graded as 3-star hotel, more of a 2-star hotel.
Reviewed December 20, 2012
4.7
Nina from Singapore
Family with teens
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December, 2012
Smoker Hotel”
Hotel near train station - easy to find, in the location where sumo is trained
Nothing memorable. Room and toilet are really small. Hotel still use CTV model instead of LCD type. Nothing you can enjoy if you stay in the hotel except sleeping.
Reviewed December 20, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Matthew from United States
Solo traveler
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December, 2012
Nice hotel at a great price”
Very affordable, comfortable, decent location, convenient
i ended up paying yen for a night when i booked it a week in advance. that was about $ u.s. dollars, which is a decent price for a private single room in tokyo for a night. located like 2 stops from akihabara which is on the yamanote line, so very convenient. the bathroom fan was noisy, but the front desk fixed it in a second. room was clean. small because it's japan, but i just needed a place to crash and it was very nice for just a one night crash. anything cheaper and you're going to be in a love hotel or capsule hotel (men only). nice place!
Reviewed December 18, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Siree from Thailand
Group
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 6 nights in December, 2012
good location”
clean room near JR
far from Toei, not have metro line but near close-JR clean room
Reviewed December 13, 2012
7.0
Very good
Theerachai from Thailand
Couple
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in December, 2012
Good for location, just opposite Ryokogo station”
Location
The hotel is in the good location. If you use any JR pass, it will a glace place to stay since Ryokogo is a JR station. For the room, it is a bit old but acceptable if you want a good budget hotel.
Reviewed December 12, 2012
7.3
Very good
Yoke from Malaysia
Family with teens
Twin Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2012
Great Location with Ryogoku Station just opposite!”
The breakfast has quite a variety of food, worth it when booking comes with it
The location is great as the Ryogoku JR Station is just right opposite and there are plenty of restaurants around the hotel. It is easy to go to all the shopping areas by taking the JR train. From our room window we can see the Sky Tree, the latest Broadcasting Station in Tokyo.
Reviewed December 06, 2012
6.0
Yoke from Malaysia
Family with teens
Single Room Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2012
Great Location & small but comfortable room”
Love my room which can see SkyTree from my window!
My single room was small by comfortable just enough to put all my things there. Breakfast is worth it when you book your room with it. This hotel is facing the Ryogoku JR Station which is very convenient for me to go to shop in Akihabara where I can find all my anime items. Plenty of cheap restaurants to choose from near the hotel.
Reviewed December 06, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Roselyn from Malaysia
Couple
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in September, 2012
Hotel with a smile”
Just across the road from Ryogoku train station
We were given 2 beds, although we requested for a queen bed but it was OK or else the bed would be too small for 2 adults
Reviewed November 29, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
KAM from Malaysia
Couple
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in June, 2012
Small rooms but it is nice. Good Location ”
Near to Train Station, Many food shop can be find near to hotel
1. near to train station. actually just opposite only. 2. many food store is nearby. ( 7-11 shop, mcdonald). normally i will have my dinner at there. 3. staff is very helpful and friendly. some of them might know mandarin and english. they provide many useful and helpful to me when i'm asked for help on direction. 4. internet provided. 5. breakfast is very nice. i very like their breakfast.
Reviewed November 28, 2012
6.0
Kwarta from Indonesia
Business traveler
Studio Twin Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2012
Small rooms”
Near ryogoku station
The hotel is located in the great location near ryogoku station and very quite area. The room is small but quite clean. The restaurant is very small with limited seat and food. The taste of food is average. Many restaurants are around the hotel.
Reviewed November 27, 2012