Book Now: Riverside Takase

Very good
From 358 reviewsSee what guests said
7.1
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (358)Booking.com Reviews (240)
7.1
Very good
From 358 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.4
Facilities7.1
Location7.4
Room comfort and quality6.9
Service6.9
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
简体中文
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Single - Non-Smoking
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 329 verified guest comments
4.3
Nikom from Thailand
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2014
Terrible, worst experience”
Nightmare. The owner lives next door if you need something, you have to call from the intercom. Room's a bit dirty. The linen was very thin. I wasn't sure how often they clean the quite cover. No information around this area, there is a handwritten map but it wasn't useful at all. Didn't get any information about the facilities; whose soap, shampoo or towels? or where to get it. Our room was next to the stair, we always bumped into somebody who's using the internet on a tiny hallways. Their was a noise "Ting Tong" coming from outside whole night - until around 10pm. It's a noise from public toilet nearby. Please avoide
Reviewed December 09, 2014
7.3
Very good
chong from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2014
Simple and Cheap”
Traditional tatami mat room, Cheap
Reviewed December 08, 2014
5.7
Chui from Hong Kong
Group
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2014
Old and Tradition Guest House”
Location, Surroundings, Easy access to transport
The hostel is in a quiet neighborhood by a small riverside. As we have printed out the address in Japanese, so its easy for taxi driver to get to the place from Kyoto Station costed 660 yen. There is no front desk and staff assisting guests. I got the key next door when we arrived and the lady seemed not welcoming guests and even not greeted in the morning, so don't expect much. The steep and narrow staircase at the entrance is not convenient for big luggage, fortunately there was a guy, hostel guest helping us with this. Our room size is just fine in Japanese standard, facing the small river. I just wondered our room smelled of cigarette but this is supposed to be non-smoking room. The cleanliness was just fair, I was bitten by small insects in the bedding. Floor creaks when people are passing through the corridor between the dated bathroom and toilets. Its annoying. The location is the advantage of this hostel, its easy to get around the city by walk or riding buses. A bus day pass costed only 500 yen is superb which even includes bus routing from Kyoto Station to Arashiyama, and you may take a connecting bus route to Kyoto Station near the hostel just a minutes away. I won't choose this hostel again as I stayed others just 300 meters away with same price level during my stay in Kyoto. The other one's staff are kind and helpful and they provide simple breakfast for free, it really gave me a pleasant stay.
Reviewed December 03, 2014
5.3
Oi from China
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in November, 2014
not recommended ”
spacious
The owner isn't really welcoming to start with, I arrived at 7ish and apparently the owner was having dinner with his family he didn't explain a thing and left me explore everything by myself. The room was spacious, with a small table, futon bed, and a PAY tv (which totally annoys me, I'd rather not have it in my room if it costs me money to watch tv). The toilet lock doesn't work, and the bathroom is covered with mold. There is no bed sheets for the blankets and therefore I didn't dare to use them, I turned up the heated instead. The price is no doubt very attractive, but I think you have better choices out there.
Reviewed November 22, 2014
7.0
Very good
Yee from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2014
nice style”
good location, clean, big room
Reviewed October 16, 2014
5.0
Jennifer from United States
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2014
Acceptable, but not very hospitable and low value”
Along the river, tatami style, relatively spacious room
I had to book at the last minute because most other places in Kyoto were full. The tatami style room appealed to me, and because I had already spent some days in central Kyoto, I enjoyed being in this quieter neighborhood along the river. However, it isn't near any subway station, and the closest 24-hour convenience store (Family Mart) is a few blocks away, which might be important since the guesthouse provides no soap, shampoo, or even tissues. These inexpensive provisions would have made the stay more comfortable. There are two toilets and one shower for six rooms, and the hours you can use the shower and kitchen facilities are limited -- no showering after 10 a.m. or 11:30 p.m.! It was also only lukewarm, and the bathroom has some mold on the grout, and the plastic flooring is cracked. Nothing terrible but less pristine than I'd expect in Japan (I live in China so I'm not too easily grossed out). The bedroom was quite large but smelled musty and like mothballs, and the walls/doors were so thin I could hear everything of the other guests, especially as I had the room adjacent to the toilets. Wifi was an additional 100 yen. However, the worst part was the staff barged into my rooms both mornings I stayed there at 9:30 a.m. while I was still in bed! To be fair they knocked first but the walls are so thin I thought they were knocking on another door. And when I wasn't out of my room by exactly 10 a.m. there was a lot of knocking and reminding me it's checkout time. No grace period at all, apparently. This is not like a ryokan where the hosts make you feel at home, so I think this place has a bit of an identity problem. It wasn't an awful experience, but I think you can find a lot better for the price if you don't wait until the last minute. However, there is an excellent bike rental shop (24 hours for 500 yen) just around the corner on Kawaramachi St., Yamaha You Shop. That's the only really positive experience I had related to this guesthouse!
Reviewed September 29, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Jonas from Sweden
Group
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in July, 2014
All in all a good choice”
Cheap, clean and comfortable
It was a pleasant place to stay, me and my friend lived there for three or four days. Clean and comfortable rooms with everything you can expect at such a reasonable price. Nothing to complain about really, though we did find (and kill!) a cockroach in the kitchen one night. At any rate, we had a great time there and I'd recommend this place to anyone.
Reviewed September 24, 2014
7.7
Very good
Dale from Australia
Family with teens
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in August, 2014
quiet hideaway in the city”
close to buses and trains; comfortable futons and light doonas for summer; access to basic cooking facilities and utensils
We enjoyed the traditional tatami mat room in the city location.
Reviewed September 03, 2014
6.3
Good
KUOCHAN from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in February, 2014
normal accommodation”
closed to MRT station and high CP
Reviewed August 19, 2014
8.0
Excellent
kokseng from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 6 nights in July, 2014
Just a budget hostel”
Location (near to 清水五条subway station and within walking distance to Kyoto Station - about 15-20mins)
Reviewed August 04, 2014
7.0
Very good
Lemuel from United States
Solo traveler
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in June, 2014
Great staff and conveniently located . Enjoyed!”
Location Quiet neighborhood Helpful staff
Excellent experience and great location and helpful staff and quiet neighborhood .
Reviewed June 30, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Simon from Australia
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2014
Great location in a great city!”
Location, quiet surroundings, comfortable rooms
Really enjoyed staying here. It's a short walk from the train station, but also in a quiet area. Comfortable futons for sleeping, and a nice traditional feeling to the place.
Reviewed June 12, 2014
7.7
Very good
Brian from Australia
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2014
Good budget hotel in a quiet area”
Location, quiet environment, clean
The hotel is located by a small stream. the road alongside this stream will take you all the way down to the restaurant strip. The best idea is to rent a pushbike, there are a few rental shops along the way from the J.R. station. Much more of Kyoto can be explored this way. The hotel itself is traditional style but you have your own T.V. It is a nice, clean, quiet place.
Reviewed June 03, 2014
6.0
Godfrey from United Kingdom
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2014
A very tranquil location. Short walk to temples”
Quiet. Location. Homely Feel
Very pleasant. Owner helpful. Very clean and wireless (100y). Short walk from mailine station and close to main temples for visits.
Reviewed May 31, 2014
7.3
Very good
MUI from Malaysia
Group
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2014
Good stay”
Comfortable room, ok location, kitchen
The location is ok. Though it is about 1.5km to JR station , it was easy for us to find our way to the station. The room was clean and comfortable. We could use kitchen facilities.
Reviewed May 27, 2014
6.0
Sravan from India
Business traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2014
A very reasonably priced place in a quiet area”
Price, tranquility and closeness to river
The room was small but comfortable. For a non-native person would be bit difficult locate initially. Walkable distance to the train station as well as to the city center. Bathrooms are not so great but functional. Highly recommended for those on a budget.
Reviewed May 07, 2014
6.0
GOH from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2014
Ryokan style hotel”
Quite, clean & comfortable
20 to 25 mins walk to Kyoto station. 15 to 20 mins walk to convenience store. No breakfast & toiletries are provided. Need to pay 100 yen to use WiFi. To watch TV channels need to pay as well. Good thing is kitchen have every facility you need to use. Pay 300 yen for laundry & clothes drier. Price of room is reasonable.
Reviewed May 01, 2014
7.0
Very good
LEE from Hong Kong
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March, 2014
Nice staff, tidy room and high accessibility.”
Nice staff, tidy room and high accessibility.
The hotel is centrally located and you can access there easity by public transport. A good accomodation experience with neat & tidy room.
Reviewed April 07, 2014
6.0
PATAWEE from Thailand
Group
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March, 2014
Okay for short stay”
affordable, close to subway, quiet
Room is okay for the price you pay. A bit difficult to find. Quite close to subway.
Reviewed March 24, 2014
6.0
Serge from Canada
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in September, 2013
Good stay”
comfort, location, good price
Good location in kyoto, not too far from Kyoto train station. quiet place. good price. didnt meet anybody. it was like in my own house
Reviewed March 21, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Hon from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in February, 2014
superb value and comfort”
comfortable and quiet surroundings
Very nice budget hotel. Clean, big room but no lift. Bed very comfortable
Reviewed February 14, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Ekta from India
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in January, 2014
Clean large room and easy to find”
Easy to find, clean and large ryokan style room
My partner and I really love Kyoto and both live Ryokan style room. Room was clean, comfortable bed. Kitchen, toilet and shower really clean too. For internet access during our stay we had to pay extra ¥100 but that isn't expensive at all for a fast access internet. Quiet surrounding. Easy to walk to Kyoto Station.
Reviewed January 22, 2014
6.0
hock from Malaysia
Family with young children
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in November, 2013
amazing stay in a ryokan”
clean, large room and friendly staff
i enjoy the stay at ryokan. even tough it is a budget hotel but we have a wonderful stay with a small kid. it is definitely one of the best ryokan.
Reviewed December 15, 2013
5.0
sudaduang from Thailand
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2013
Better than expected. All needed are provided.”
Cheap, private room, shared kitchen
Reviewed November 13, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Jirayu from Thailand
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in October, 2013
Home Ryokan located on the bank of a river (canel)”
Typical Japanese house called Ryokan, self-service laundry and kitchen.
The environment of the hotel is very nice and peaceful, unbelievable that it is not very far from the city and Kyoto train station (only about 3-5 stops to the station. I recommend that Kyoto is a very nice place to stay but we stay only 1 night which was too short. The owner was not at the place but he/she left a useful note that there was no problem for us to take care of ourselves by checking in and out ... just walked into our room and left since we already paid via Agoda.
Reviewed November 11, 2013
6.0
Chiew from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2013
Quiet surrounding and close to public transport”
quiet, kitchen facilities, close to few attractions eg Kiyamizudera
Overall is ok, but my room was next to the toilet and always disturbance by people using the toilet. Internet is not free but only 100Yen during the stay but sometimes the connection is not good in the room.
Reviewed October 26, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Anna from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in October, 2013
simple place to stay on budget”
clean comfortable room. clean bathroom. use of a kitchen anud washing machine
Guesthouse is in quiet location near train station. Convenience stores, international telephone nearby. Goodish bar 3 doors away You pay 100 yen for wifi but that is for the whole of youroj stay. Easy walk long river to Gion and oither interesting areas
Reviewed October 17, 2013
7.3
Very good
Laura from Australia
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in August, 2013
Beautiful room”
simple, quiet and lovely
We stayed in the room at the front overlooking the river for a week. It was a lovely, relaxing place to stay. The owners are never there so if you depend on hotel staff to book things for you/give information then this wouldn't be ideal for you. I didn't care, it felt like our own house.
Reviewed August 27, 2013
5.7
Ang from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in August, 2013
Everything need extra pay even using wifi”
comfortable room and river view, serve tea in room
The host is not so polite to foreigners. They provided wifi service with 100 yen paid. Lots of mosquitoes and it was not so easy to find. I will only stay there for once. I think it was quite ideal for backpackers.
Reviewed August 11, 2013
7.3
Very good
Tan from Malaysia
Group
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in July, 2013
Clean, worth of money, peacefully, relax”
Clean, worth of money, peacefully, relax
Clean, worth of money, peacefully, relax, but only one shower room in a house (6 rooms to share a shower room), need to queue up for shower...
Reviewed July 19, 2013
7.0
Very good
Matthew from United States
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in July, 2013
Completely worth the price”
Price, Location, Ease of Access
The Riverside Takase is a back-packers hotel, and as such it is very low in amenities (the shared shower didn't even have shampoo, which I was a little shocked about...). However, it was very easy to find, very easy to get in and out, and very close to Kyoto's shopping district, so I feel that it was well worth the price! I would recommend it to a friend looking for a cheap, easy place to stay.
Reviewed July 10, 2013
3.0
Chiann from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in May, 2013
Pretty average budget Ryokan”
Price, Ryokan Experience
Reviewed June 13, 2013
6.3
Good
Virachada from Thailand
Group
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in November, 2012
budget hotel”
Near Kyoto Station , value money , Japan Style room
For the first time this is quite rare to find hotel. But after that it will get easier .... Rooms are medium size the Japanese floor style.Toilet separate from bathroom,... not comfort to use because there are many rooms. But only one bathroom ... toilet has 5 rooms ... in winter it’s too cold to use the bathroom and toilet ....check in at side building of the hotel ...walk to bus stop 5 minutes walk from the metro station ... 15 minutes. 5 minutes from bus to Kyoto Station.
Reviewed June 12, 2013
5.3
paul from China
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2013
bad location ”
bad location
Reviewed May 31, 2013
7.7
Very good
NATDANAI from Thailand
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2013
Worth paying”
Peacefulness, Convenience and
Reviewed May 16, 2013
7.7
Very good
Robert from Germany
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2013
Centrally located rooms, good value for money”
Location, private rooms, price
Central location, only about 20 mins walk from Kyoto train station. Rooms are excellent value for money.
Reviewed April 23, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Robert from Germany
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2013
Centrally located budget private rooms”
Central location, private rooms, price
Central location, only about 20 mins walk from Kyoto train station. Rooms are excellent value for money.
Reviewed April 23, 2013
6.3
Good
CHI from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in April, 2013
Comfort Room”
Clean, Comfort, Kitchen Provided
Fair services, need extra payment for WiFi & TV, no shampoo/body soap provided.
Reviewed April 16, 2013
6.3
Good
sujitra from Thailand
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March, 2013
Clean Ryokan”
Clean Ryokan, nice atmosphere
5 minutes walk from Kawaramachi Shomen bus station, 10 minutes by bus from Kyoto Train station. close to small river, nice atmosphere.
Reviewed April 09, 2013
7.0
Very good
Easton from United States
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March, 2013
Comfortable, quaint”
Simple place, homely, charming
Riverside Takese is a funky, B&B place with only one B. Don't expect much interaction -- in fact, we let ourselves into the place because the owners were out and left a note. But fit our needs perfectly, and quite comfortable!
Reviewed April 06, 2013
4.3
Yu from China
Solo traveler
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in March, 2013
A little bit over-priced”
We are allowed to check in at 9am which is good. The guesthouse provide laundry service and a pantry where we can cook simple meal.
Reviewed April 05, 2013
7.0
Very good
hyunkyung from South Korea
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in February, 2013
Riverside Takase ”
cheap and warm room
when I arrived there was no host so I waited for about 1 hour. The heater made room warm so I slept well. Room was neat also. it is little hard to find the guest house but there was small river and it is beautiful.
Reviewed February 18, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Yi-Hsuan from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 5 nights in January, 2013
A lovely and clean guest house”
Convenient location
the location is very very great. it is very close to a bus stop(kawaramachi shomen: 河原町正面) in the main street (河原町通), thus it is very convevient and won't take you more than 10 minutes by bus (route 205, 4, 17) to get to the kyoto station or the prosperous section, shijo kawaramachi (四条河原町). there is a nice, clean and equipped kitchen, a clean shared bath room and two clean shared toilets. they provide free hair dryer and the pay drying apparatus, and it will only cost you 100 yen to access wifi during your entire saty. next to the guest house, there is even a public house of hot spring, you can pay yen to enjoy it. though the heating may not work in the winter, i still enjoy my stay in this lovely, clean and convenient guest house.
Reviewed February 02, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Chun from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in December, 2012
Japanese-style accomodation of good value”
room size larger than expected, clean, low price
Basically you won't be able to see the staff except when you check in. The facilities are a bit old and the computer in the common area is not functioning well. It takes 15 to 20 minutes to walk from the Kyoto station. The toilets are small too. Nevertheless, the value is good if you don't demand much service and you don't mind walking a long way. One good point is that every day some boiled water is prepared for you.
Reviewed January 12, 2013
8.0
Excellent
wong from Hong Kong
Group
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 4 nights in January, 2013
Warm guesthouse”
nice ppl
nice people. and it s very close to the main station, but it is a bit far from the city center and that will cos a bit more transportation fee. For the first time to visit, very difficult to find.But we have reli good experience there.
Reviewed January 09, 2013
6.7
Good
Alan from United States
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2012
Nice location but hard to find”
Good value for the $
Finding this place is not easy. We were with a Japanese man who was born in Kyoto and he had a very hard time finding this place. It took maybe 30 minutes and involved 3 or 4 phone calls to ask for additional directions. as a side attraction, the place is located next door to a building that our Japanese friend said was owned by Yakuza. The yakuza building is built like a fortress and it was kind of fun to watch the chauffeured cars with tinted windows coming and going. The owners seemed friendly and were easy to deal with.
Reviewed December 21, 2012
7.3
Very good
Songmei from China
Solo traveler
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in December, 2012
Relatively big and cheap Japanese style room. ”
Quiet riverside with walkable distance to downtown
The counter is in another house beside the hostel building so there is almost no staff service except cleaning. It was cold in the morning and evening in December and the aircon made little difference. Better prepare warming facilities if you go in winter. Shared shower room and kitchen, free wifi&computer so it's basically what backpackers need. Cheapest in Kyoto!
Reviewed December 15, 2012
6.3
Good
Chui from Malaysia
Group
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2012
Quaint Hotel”
Location
This hotel is located in an alley and has a river running parallel to it. The area is quite nice and quaint and is surrounded by trees. This hotel is walking distance to subway, eateries and convenience store. There's only 5 rooms in the hotel, 2 shared toilets and 1 shared bathroom. We didn't mind as we only had to wait a little while to use the bath. The beds in the room are actually tatami mats style and we liked it and had a good sleep. Overall, this hotel feels homey and is good for a short stay.
Reviewed November 30, 2012
7.3
Very good
Dauchung from United States
Couple
Twin Shared Bath- Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2012
Taste of Kyoto at a Low Cost”
By the Beautiful, Quiet Takase River
I stayed at this small Japanese inn in 1986, 2000 and 2012. Not much has changed in the quiet neighborhood by the Takase-kawa build in the Meiji period. The big Fuyu (public baths) next door is still there. Within 2 minute walk is the bus stop with 3 bus lines running from Kyoto RR station to different places in town. Limited dining choices in the immediate neighborhood. But you are only within 10 min walk to Kawabara-Sijo, the commercial heart of Kyoto.
Reviewed October 31, 2012
8.0
Excellent
massimiliano from Italy
Solo traveler
Single - Non-Smoking
Stayed 2 nights in September, 2012
Quiet and small hotel!”
different place than usual, rooms differents than the usual hotels
This hotel have been a real surprise for me! First of all, it's really small and quiet! It seems to be to a private house! The room sizes are average (for Japanese standards), but the room, and the entire hotel is very clean! I really liked to try to sleep on the futon! It have been a different experience. The place is really quiet, and it's not so far from the train station (only 10 minutes by walk) and really close to the nearest bus stop. Not so far there is also a nice shopping street, so at all, this hotel is really good!
Reviewed October 08, 2012