Book Now: The Deer Park Inn

Excellent
From 154 reviewsSee what guests said
8.8
Recommended by 91% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (154)Booking.com Reviews (1002)
8.8
Excellent
From 154 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.0
Facilities8.4
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality8.9
Service9.4
Value for money9.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
繁體中文 (台灣)
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Female Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Twin Non-Smoking with Shared Bathroom
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 122 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Raymond from Singapore
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
2-night Stay in The Deer Park Inn”
In the midst of nature, surrounded by trees and deers. Wooden interiors, so creaking floorboards in our room was understandable. Stay here if you visit to hike up Mount Wakakusa!
Reviewed December 11, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Kuan from Malaysia
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Awesome stay!”
Recommended! Nice and peaceful stay. Staffs are helpful and friendly. I will stay at here again if visit Nara again.
Reviewed November 26, 2016
7.6
Very good
Sharen from Malaysia
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Affordable Price”
Pros: The price is affordable. It is within Nara Park with many deer around you. Staff are friendly. Cons: The hostel is too far from the city centre. The road back from the city is very dark if you come back after sunset. The toilets are not clean when there are too many guests. Rubbish bin was full. There is no sound proof for the rooms. You need to wear ear plugs to have a good sleep.
Reviewed November 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
eunice from Singapore
Solo traveler
Female Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
Great place to mingle!”
Its situated inside nara park itself so after exploring nara park you can rest for the night there. The staff are both English and Japanese speaking and are very helpful to show me around with a map I can keep. The dinning area is where we can eat and chat and mingle with other travelers and sharing each other's stories.
Reviewed November 09, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Zachery from United States
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Just what we needed”
Clean and comfortable, with everything you need and nothing you don't. Great location for evening/morning strolls with the deer.
Reviewed October 28, 2016
7.6
Very good
Poh from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Non-Smoking with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 5 nights in October, 2016
Stayed in the UNESCO Heritage Site”
One in a lifetime opportunity, but just make sure you have a very strong legs. Here is far away from everything, but good for the peace.
Reviewed October 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
amy from United Kingdom
Couple
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Fantastic”
Very clean, beds so comfy. Definately recommend
Reviewed October 23, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Shing from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Female Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
Amazing View”
Great view, great staff, can't recommend more
Reviewed October 15, 2016
7.6
Very good
Li from Taiwan
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in October, 2015
in the deer park”
You can see the deer in front of the window. they have a kitchen, suite for backpackers without big luggage
Reviewed September 23, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Paul from United States
Solo traveler
Female Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in August, 2016
Hard to find, but worth the effort. The friendly staff made my stay excellent. ”
I highly recommend the bike rental -- great way to see the sights (the staff to give you the inside scoop on what to see). Don't forget to hike the hill.
Reviewed September 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
MingYu from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in August, 2016
Perfect and silence environment, all sights around.”
Although I doesn't stay there long time for visiting, but I have meet the summer ceremony nd joint
Reviewed August 20, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Tong from China
Solo traveler
Twin Non-Smoking with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
Conveniently located in Nara”
Conveniently located in Nara, you can walk to Todaji and Kasuga-Taisha Shrine. The only negative problem is all the eating places closed after 4:30pm. But you can buy instant noodles from hotel and cook it yourself. I like the cosy living room and you can chat with other travelers all over the world.
Reviewed August 12, 2016
8.8
Excellent
ignasi from Spain
Group
Quadruple with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August, 2016
Nice hostel nice staff quite far of the center”
The hostel is magnificent, very clean and with a very nice staff. It is located next to the temples but far from the center and the restaurants to have diner. Even though it is recommendable.
Reviewed August 09, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Amanda from United States
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
Great spot to explore the park”
The location was not easy but doable. From Nara Kitsetsu station head straight east for about 30 minutes past the bridge and on your left you will see a stairway with 3 flights of stairs. It is situated north of the shrine and south east of the big Buddha temple. Hope this helps a bit! The location is perfect for exploring early in the morning and later at night to escape the tourists. It was great to see what the locals do before and after hours. Enjoy!
Reviewed August 06, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Andy from United States
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
Clean and quiet place”
This place is located in the heart of Deer Park. Location is great if you have transportation, if not, public transportation comes every half an hour. Staff are all extremely friendly, the place is really clean, and you can even see the roaming deer from your room.
Reviewed July 23, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Andrew from Australia
Solo traveler
Female Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 3 nights in July, 2016
A unique location...”
The location is the thing that really makes this hostel stand out. Being inside Nara Park itself rather than in town, it's very quiet, and it feels like you have the whole back area of the park to yourself outside the tourist times. Yes it's a hike to get there (about 20 mins with a slight uphill gradient towards the hostel) but it's worth it. The walk to town isn't a bother because it's such a lovely walk. The hostel itself is of good standard, wrap around curtains on the hostel beds give full privacy. Kept very clean. Has a fridge and freezer to store food and drinks. Good fast wifi. My only gripe was when I first arrived after an overnight flight, I arrived 2 hours before check in (just wanted to leave my bag), and asked for some water, but was told it couldn't be provided due to the place being cleaned, but I could get it across the street in the vending machine. Unfortunately I only had 10000 yen notes, so I stayed very thirsty until I could get to the shop in town! However this was the lowlight, and the rest of my stay was excellent.
Reviewed July 19, 2016
8.4
Excellent
CHOO from Singapore
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
Summer in Nara”
This is possibly the most interesting place to stay in Nara! It is located right inside the world heritage grounds of the deer park and is also a stone's throw from the Kasuga shrine, another heritage site. For a reasonable price and a chance to stay in a minsu (inn) with deer greeting you in the morning and a primeval forest walk amongst stone lanterns - what else can you ask for in Japan! The inn is actually a converted community hall and has rooms partitioned up. There are double decker beds and double occupancy rooms. The noise insulation is a little weak and the toilets/bathrooms are common. There is a communal dining area with free coffee and tea, and light instant meals at a small charge. One can leave the luggage after the 11 am check out but you are discouraged from remaining in the premises while cleaning is taking place. The park is quiet at night and you should take your meals early before 6 pm or you will need to walk a good 20 minutes to the town centre for meals. Nara is a tranquil place unlike Kyoto - so this place reflects the mood and spirit of this ancient city.
Reviewed June 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Brock from United States
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
Amazing place and staff was amazing”
Deer Park Inn was great, Chisanto explained everything very well, she was amazing, and was all around a fanstastic experience at Deer Park Inn.Given the location, was very simple to walk around to exceptional places at night.
Reviewed June 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Chutimon from Thailand
Solo traveler
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
Very nice place for vacation ”
Very nice place! you can take taxi from Nara station about 10 mins. The location is in the park and close to many famous place. You can walk around the park enjoy the peaceful. The staffs are very nice and kind! I would love to go back there again!
Reviewed May 27, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jund from Philippines
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
Fabulous place in Nara Park”
The Deer Park is situated in Nara Park, a little less than 20-minute walk from the city center. It is quiet and comfortable. The staff are helpful and friendly. It is really worth staying in.
Reviewed May 04, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
olivier from France
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
wonderful stay ”
Very nice clean in the middle of the park. Only one thing some people woke us up 5 30 am taking shower...
Reviewed May 01, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Anni from China
Solo traveler
Female Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Satisfied and cosy stay in Nara”
The location is a bit far from JR station but the place itself is really nice and cosy. Stuffs are friendly and could give great advices on activitites in Nara, really appreciate the great experience! Hope to come again
Reviewed April 20, 2016
6.8
Good
Isabelle from Belgium
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Overall OK”
Kitchen isn't very cosy
Reviewed April 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Ling from China
Group
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in March, 2016
Recommend ”
Good staff, nice room
Reviewed March 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Siew from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Female Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in December, 2015
Quiet. Cosy. Friendly staff ”
Quiet- far from city center. Very comfortable place. Staffs are really friendly.
Staffs are friendly. I didn't do much research before going to Nara and the staff introduced the Nara, with map. And I got to try the local sake. Which is a must try sake in Nara. Surprise to have such staff here in Asia as I only experienced such helpful staff when I was traveling in nz. There is a cosy living room where you can meet and chat with the other travelers. Love this place. You can see many Deers out of this inn.
Reviewed December 26, 2015
8.3
Excellent
DYESEBEL from Philippines
Solo traveler
Female Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 3 nights in November, 2015
You get the best value for your money. ”
The staff, the location & the service. They provide you free coffee and tea.
The staff were very helpful & friendly. I love the home-like ambience.
Reviewed November 22, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Nam from Singapore
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2015
Nice quiet place right in the park”
Location
The Deer Park Inn offers a nice quiet stay right in the middle of the Nara park. You can walk to Todaji and Kasuga-Taisha Shrine. In the morning, there are deers wondering around the inn. In the evening, Nigatsudo is just a short walk away -- excellent location for watching the sunset. The main problem is all the shops and eating places around it are closed after 4:30pm. So it's inconvenient for dinner -- the inn can help you order some food or you can buy instant noodles from them and cook it yourself. There are no buses at night. But it's not really a problem if you were in the city area till late as it's just about 10 min walk from the Todaiji bus stop served by the city loop bus (#1 & #2). It was a very interesting experience staying right in the Nara Park.
Reviewed October 26, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
YUXIN from China
Solo traveler
Female Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in September, 2015
Strongly recommend ”
Clean, big and nice staff
I Like this hostel. It's in the Nara park,
Reviewed October 01, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Yong from Malaysia
Group
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in August, 2015
great hotel”
nice view
is a great place, just a bit far from city. Need to walk quite far.
Reviewed September 02, 2015
8.3
Excellent
louis-renaud from France
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in August, 2015
I would have given 5 stars if....”
location, shower, quiet
Overall it was good. I just did not appreciate that when I (solo traveller) came to check in, a group of travellers arrived after me and the girl at the reception put me on the side and did the check in for this group of travellers before me, so I had to wait all those travellers to check in before me while I arrived before them. I think it was not very pro.. and I wasted my time wating for those 6 guys to check in. Therefore for this only reason and I wont give 5 stars. Apart from that the hotel is nice if you like something quiet in the nature in the middle of the temples.
Reviewed August 16, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Joshua from Singapore
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2015
So cosy, homely”
Fully equipped kitchen, amazing staff, very clean inn
It was amazing, the place was so clean, homely and the bed was comfy. Towel was provided free which was so thoughtful. The kitchen had everything I needed. There was garlic, sauces and cooking oil. Plenty of plates, bowls and cups, a pot and a pan. The staying experience was very complete. Staff were so friendly and helpful. The place is a far walk from the station, buses run till late afternoon but it's still a wonderful place. It's set right in the park and great for catching sunrises and sunsets.
Reviewed June 30, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Asger from Denmark
Couple
Twin Non-Smoking with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2015
The Best in slow”
staff location beds
super, lovely place in a lovely town, located in the spot. Calm atmosphere and surrounded by nice people. Silent at night. Walking distance to everything. Enjoy.
Reviewed April 05, 2015
8.8
Excellent
HIROSHI from Japan
Couple
Twin Non-Smoking with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December, 2017
不憫であるから素晴らしい宿”
奈良公園を堪能したいのであればこの宿だと思います。スタッフさんはとても親切で色々と 見どころを説明していただきましたし、ベットも快適でした。ただ利便性は悪く、トイレ・キッチン共用でプライベートや交通アクセスを重視する方には不向きかもしれません。
Reviewed December 05, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
naoko from Japan
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
良かったです”
奈良マラソンで利用しました。特に不自由と思うこともなく、 スタッフの方もとても親切で、丁寧に説明してくださいました。台所共有スペースでは、お茶とかコーヒー無料で飲めます。また利用したいです。
Reviewed December 12, 2016
7.6
Very good
YONEYAMA from Japan
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
一人旅にはもってこい”
場所も若草山に近く、他にも東大寺や見所あるとこにすぐ行けます。 また、ふらりといきたいです
Reviewed June 06, 2016
8.7
Excellent
TAKAHIRO from Japan
Couple
Twin Non-Smoking with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in January, 2016
立地も抜群で、対応もよい”
立地、接客、適度な距離感
春日大社の目の前、二月堂には10分ほどの場所にある立地が抜群のホテル。ホテルというよりは、ユースホステルのイメージです。利用者は外国人が多いようで、私がチェックインしたときも外国人の方が先にいらしていました。車での訪問だったのですが、駐車場がないことは事前に分かっていたのでコインパーキングを利用しようとしていましたが、すぐ目の前の商店の駐車場を利用できるよう交渉していただき、無事そちらを利用することができ、大変助かりました。 ツインの部屋を利用しましたが、寝るには全く問題もありません。エアコンもあるので快適でした。安く奈良で宿泊したい人には最適だと思います。また外国人とお話しをしたい人にもオススメです。
Reviewed January 04, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Shigeru from Japan
Business traveler
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in December, 2015
Nice staff and quiete environment”
1.staff is very kind and polite with hospitality 2.staff speaks fluent Japanese and English 3.living dining room,sleeping room and bath room with bath towel are all clean.
長くなるので、ここからは日本語にしましょう。スタッフのパウェルさんは、ポーランド出身だそうですが、私も70年代に同国のクラクフに留学したことがあり、短時間で意気投合しました。日本人のこと日本文化のことなど話し、国際交流に役立ったことは、有益な滞在だったと思います。他の滞在者とは挨拶する程度で、話ができなかったのは残念ですが、寛げるLDKがあるので、皆さん食事時やお茶コヒー時に精々利用して、ビジネスホテルなどにはない雰囲気を楽しまれては如何でしょうか?ついでながら、国際交流の一環として、囲碁セットなどをおいて下さると、和気藹々と日本文化に触れられてよろしいかと思います。
Reviewed December 07, 2015
9.2
Exceptional
XIUFANG from China
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in October, 2017
推薦”
位於奈良公園內,環境方便舒適,員工熱情,設施好,雖然是公共衛浴但超級乾淨舒服,值得推薦
Reviewed October 11, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Tsai from Taiwan
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in September, 2017
CP值高,推開窗可見小鹿”
接待人員英日語流利,溝通無礙,地點偏遠些但距若草山和春日大社僅咫尺之遙。房間無電視,鼓勵常至公共區域休憩。比較無法接受的部分是房間及走道木地板走起來有異音,需小心翼翼行走以免干擾到其他客人。
Reviewed October 05, 2017
7.2
Very good
PIK from China
Group
Twin Non-Smoking with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in May, 2017
Very good”
位置很難找,近春日大社,而且泊車要付1000,燈光昏暗,但房間整潔,廚房設備齊全,可自己煮食,工作員態度親切,並附送貨地圖,介紹附近的景點
Reviewed June 06, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
yibin from China
Solo traveler
Triple Room with Shared Bathroom - Non-Smoking
Stayed 1 night in May, 2017
棒棒棒”
鹿園說是酒店不如說是青旅,非常乾淨,而且店員小哥哥小姐姐都特別的貼心,空間也很大 位置非常好离各種景點都很近,而且在奈良公園裡面,前面就有觀光巴士,非常方便 唯一不好的就是,在一個上坡的地方,拿著大行李不太方便,其他的都超棒
Reviewed May 08, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Kwai from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Quadruple with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
好”
Reviewed December 16, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Hui-Ling from Taiwan
Group
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
安靜舒適”
公共空間很棒,起床就看到鹿超可愛
Reviewed July 27, 2016
8.8
Excellent
hoi from Hong Kong
Couple
Twin Non-Smoking with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
與朋友旅行”
地方很好,在奈良公園裏面,只是沖涼熱水唔夠
Reviewed July 18, 2016
6.7
Good
Tak from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin Non-Smoking with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October, 2015
性價比高”
員工很友善,房間頗大和很乾淨,有多個廁所和浴室,不怕要排隊
雖然距離近鐵有些遠,但沿路走來很舒適
Reviewed November 09, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Chin from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 3 nights in August, 2015
BEST”
出色得難以想像!位置處於奈良公園裡跟小鹿很親近,不時會有紅色巴士能到達酒店前(若草山站),即使用走的從春日大社出發也只是十分鐘的路程。內部空間寬敞、裝潢有格調,給人家一般的悠閒舒服感,而且老闆亦十分友善近人,就像朋友似的。衛生狀況極佳,設備齊全,即使沒有從外買食物回來,也能跟老闆用低廉的價格買一些簡單食物。總的來說是遠超過這價錢的質素,離開時甚至令人不捨,下次再來關西必定會回訪!
Reviewed August 07, 2015
8.4
Excellent
KIM from South Korea
Solo traveler
Female Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
직원이 친절하네요 ”
깨끗하고 좋은데 위치가 사슴공원 끝쪽이라 긴테츠역에서 걸어갈려면 30분걸리고 오후5시면 버스가 끊기니 역앞에서 이전에 도착해서 버스타는걸추천.
Reviewed November 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
GYEONGMUK from South Korea
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory (Price Per Bed)
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
괜찮음..”
나라파크 에서 산쪽으로 쫌 들어가는것 말고는 땡큐
Reviewed April 20, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Weijia from China
Group
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in March, 2018
很好,第二次住他们家了。”
很好,第二次住他们家了。酒店就在若草山旁边,出门就有小鹿,很舒服。
Reviewed March 20, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
HUASHAN from China
Couple
Double - Non-Smoking - Shared Bath
Stayed 1 night in February, 2018
奈良公园里边,交通不是很便利。”
建议来奈良玩的不要住奈良,当天往返直接住大阪就好,这个旅馆比较老旧,一开门窗户就会响。这个找吃的不容易,可以让前台帮忙定,但是不到1500日元要加收外卖费,并且好像10点以后就不送了。前台的小哥英语不错,沟通无障碍;离周边景点都非常近。
Reviewed February 12, 2018