Hotel Reviews of Union Square Plaza Hotel San Francisco (CA) United States - Page 1
Book Now: Union Square Plaza Hotel

Good
From 321 reviewsSee what guests said
6.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (322)Booking.com Reviews (1360)
6.8
Good
From 322 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.3
Facilities6.1
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality6.6
Service6.6
Value for money7.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
Deutsch
ภาษาไทย
more
Room type
Double Room with One Double Bed
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Queen Room
Queen Deluxe Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 306 verified guest comments
5.2
Jennifer from Philippines
Solo traveler
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
best location and helpful staff”
nice jump off to anywhere. very helpful staff. found my way around through his assistance. even did the web check-in for me
Reviewed October 31, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Gerald from United States
Solo traveler
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Great location”
No air conditioning had to leave the windows open lots of noise
Reviewed October 14, 2016
8.8
Excellent
WEI from Brunei Darussalam
Solo traveler
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
Great location, value for $”
no air con- only ok for aitum n winter season
Reviewed October 10, 2016
6.0
Tan from Indonesia
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in August, 2016
Hotel with good location ”
Location is very good but hotel room small, No Air Conditioner,
Reviewed August 18, 2016
8.0
Excellent
William from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
Good value for location”
Friendly staff, clean room.
Reviewed July 18, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Brenda from United States
Couple
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in July, 2016
Old School Charm!”
It's an older building, and it shows. The windows don't have safety mechanisms to keep it from opening all the way. The elevator is tiny and slow. We had a hard time opening our hotel room door, and it used a real key instead of a key card. And frankly... I loved it. It's quiet, has a good location near some good bars, and it felt like staying in San Francisco would have been even fifty years ago. I'd absolutely come back to this location.
Reviewed July 11, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Milagros from United States
Group
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
Like”
I enjoyed our stay and the location, awesome!!
Reviewed June 02, 2016
8.8
Excellent
William from New Zealand
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2016
Close to so many things.”
Very close to so much buses and transport. Also is very close to many sight seeing spots. Excellent help from staff to organise or check transport.
Reviewed May 12, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Yazid from Singapore
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2016
Awesome stay and location”
This hotel is just beside Union Square. Eateries are just at your doorsteps and places to shop are just 5-10mins away
Reviewed April 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Diana from Philippines
Group
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in January, 2016
Great location!”
good location, friendly staff, downtown area
Reviewed March 22, 2016
5.3
Kristel from Philippines
Family with teens
Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in September, 2015
Great location!”
Location, allows to keep luggages after check-out
Stay was okay although I was put off by the one who checked us in giving us a key to a room which was already occupied. Had that guest not locked their doors, I would've walked in a room with someone in it. There was also a couple who mistakenly was trying to open our room by the key they are holding. With these experiences, it makes me question the security of our things in the room and the chance of other people walking in on me. Location though is great. It was near everywhere in Union Square district where your shopping will happen. So it's very convenient. Aside from that, nothing special really.
Reviewed September 25, 2015
7.3
Very good
Suzanne from United States
Business traveler
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in June, 2015
San Francisco Trip”
Close to shopping and restaurants; next to cable cars and Union Square
I had a nice stay. The room was small but clean; quiet
Reviewed June 26, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
john from Australia
Couple
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April, 2015
location location ”
location price and restuarants
so close to everything macys, china town, Westfield shopping Centre so so huge,the tram ,trains and hop on off bus stops are 5 minute walk to the corner ,really nice cheap Thai restaurant next door, lots of restaurant's around though , staff friendly and helpful, comfortable beds will stay here again for sure location was awesome
Reviewed June 24, 2015
5.3
AMAR from Iraq
Business traveler
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 8 nights in May, 2015
Just ok...enough for sleeping..”
location good.. price reasonable. .. and clean
Reviewed May 14, 2015
7.7
Very good
Jeffry from Indonesia
Family with teens
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in February, 2015
Good location”
Good location, good for value,
The Union Square Plaza hotel is a ok hotel and have a very good location, it's near Union Square at down town of San Francisco.
Reviewed March 06, 2015
2.0
Miguel from Colombia
Couple
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December, 2014
Very Bad and Dirty Hotel”
the old guy at the reception was nice.
The rooms were all so dirty that we had to go outside to the market to buy cleaning agents in order to clean our room and bathroom. We changed three times our room and all were horrible and dirty. The bad smell could be noticed all around the hotel corridors and elevator. The only good thing was the old man at the reception (not always there) who was very nice and tried to improve our visit (with no success). I do not recommend this hotel to anyone, it is so expensive and horrible.
Reviewed January 03, 2015
2.3
Wen from Singapore
Couple
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December, 2014
Run down hotel with weird smell”
It was bad. There is no hot water in rooms. there is a tiny lift. Rooms are old and have a weird smell. During the check in, the staff attitude was bad and unfriendly.
Reviewed December 30, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Reny from Indonesia
Couple
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2014
Perfect stay for a budget hotel”
Clean, great customer service, perfect location
Old, but clean. Staffs also are very friendly and helpful. We arrived very early and they let us to do an early check in. The location is perfect, surrounded by good restaurants. Overall was a pleasant stay.
Reviewed November 27, 2014
5.7
Gary from United States
Couple
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in November, 2014
Disapointment”
Location,
I was Disappointed with the people at the desk.Gave very little information, I looked for an Ice machine and there was not one that I could find on our floor.If there was one the desk people did not let us know if there was one available, The toiler did not flush all the way and the worst thing that really bothered the both of us was the cock roach that slept with us and made an appearance when we were leaving. I would not recommend A stay at the union Plaza Hotel, There was a parking garage behind the Hotel and when I went to pay for the parking I could have saved some money if the desk clerk would have given us a stamp and a bill before we left.
Reviewed November 19, 2014
6.3
Good
wesley from Australia
Solo traveler
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in November, 2014
The best thing is the location”
location,location,location
What else can i say,location,(next to Union square )is it's only redeeming quality.As we were made to feel as welcome as an uninvited guest,showing-up at a strangers door.Disappointing.
Reviewed November 08, 2014
6.7
Good
Gabriel from Brazil
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
Very central”
Standard Central Cheap
It is a quite good priced hotel, not anything special about it. It is very central.
Reviewed October 29, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Alaina from United States
Group
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October, 2014
Great value and location”
The hotel is a block away from Union Square. The price was very reasonable and the staff was very friendly.
Everything was great. The hotel is a bit dated, but is great if you're just staying to sleep. There wasn't any air conditioning in our room, but the windows can open (even on the seventh floor). The location was perfect and in the middle of everything and is half a block away from the Mason O'Farrell parking garage. The staff was really friendly and helpful, too.
Reviewed October 21, 2014
7.0
Very good
kim from United Kingdom
Group
Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in October, 2014
Celebration visit to San Franscisco”
Location, price, cleanliness
Having just travelled from a 5* hotel in Las Vegas, our initial view of this hotel was disappointing as it was in need of updating but in our 5 days there we found the location ideal being a short walk from union sq, the cleanliness amazing as sheets and towels were changed every day when room was cleaned so apart from noise from traffic it was fine for the price.
Reviewed October 18, 2014
7.7
Very good
Kathleen from United States
Couple
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 7 nights in September, 2014
San Francisco Vacation”
Location, staff helpfulness and cleanliness
The Union Square Plaza hotel was very convenient to all the San Francisco sights and activities, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean. The only downside of the location was two busy theaters right across the streets, which were very noisy late into the late.
Reviewed September 21, 2014
6.7
Good
LONGLONG from China
Group
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 1 night in December, 2013
great location but old furnishing”
location
Reviewed August 19, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Stephanie from Australia
Couple
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2014
Great Location ”
Location, Price, Public Transport
3rd time staying here. Great value for money. Its not the Four Seasons so you get what you paid for. Room is clean and staff are friendly. For the price and location you really can't beat this deal.
Reviewed August 12, 2014
2.7
Esther from Philippines
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in August, 2014
hotel near shops and tourist spots but room is old”
the hotel is just beside restaurants and mall. walking distance to union square.
The room is so basic and the smell is not so good. There are insects flying. Not so clean.
Reviewed August 06, 2014
7.0
Very good
Kai from Finland
Family with teens
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 4 nights in July, 2014
SF”
Location, neaby restarants, location
Nice little hotel with great and helpful staff. Never have had soooooooo slow wifi in my life.
Reviewed August 04, 2014
5.7
TraMy from Vietnam
Family with teens
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 4 nights in July, 2014
Good location, small hotel”
Good location, next to well-known Restaurants, near shopping mall
I booked double beds room to stay with my 2 teenage kids, the room was rather small with very simple facility. My room faces a busy and noisy street, even at night time Wifi was free but very slow, no dining and laundry service Next door is a famous Japanese restaurant, Macy, H&M, Forever 21 shopping mall, Union square park are in walking distance. Union Square park is a nice place for breakfast with free wifi and art fair
Reviewed July 23, 2014
6.7
Good
Tran from Vietnam
Family with young children
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June, 2014
Cheap and pleasant.”
Nice location. Very clean toilet. A lot of restaurant around the area.
It was centerly located, hotel is just a bit old, but the room was ok. There are lot of homeless on the street around the area though.
Reviewed July 03, 2014
6.0
Mauricio from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in June, 2014
Value and location good. no shampoo or iron inroom”
Value, location, Starbucks and Jack in the Box next door
Stay was as expected for price. Should point out that lobby locks at night but can be opened by staff
Reviewed July 01, 2014
6.0
POON from China
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in March, 2014
It's located at city centre and very convenient., ”
convenient and lots of restaurants which open till 11pm but its really not good environment in room.
good for backpacker.
Reviewed June 28, 2014
6.7
Good
christopher from New Zealand
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in June, 2014
excellent location”
Location was superb, handy to transport and shopping
Hotel very dated and cramped room, good value for money, as long as you don't expect quality
Reviewed June 27, 2014
6.0
Manit from Thailand
Family with teens
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June, 2014
Good value for visitors with limited services.”
Convenience, reasonable rate and friendly.
It is okayed except that the free Wifi is too slow and there is no air conditioned.
Reviewed June 25, 2014
3.3
JARINYAPORN from Thailand
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 6 nights in June, 2014
Bad time to book this hotel.”
Near the shopping center.
Poor services, very noisy in midnight, room cant keep a noise.
Reviewed June 18, 2014
6.0
Meilyawati from Indonesia
Couple
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in June, 2014
The hotel with best location”
Good locations Nice staffs Reasonable price
An old hotel with lost of old furnitures, no complain since the hotel has a good location. Easy to access
Reviewed June 05, 2014
6.3
Good
Jose from Spain
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2014
The Hotel it is just ok but excellent location”
location, location and location.
Reviewed June 02, 2014
5.7
Mary from Australia
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 10 nights in May, 2014
Had a great time shopping and sightseeing.”
Central location.
The hotel is clean, centrally located near Union Square and is cheap. It is noisy due to its location and due to the age of the hotel the rooms are small. The hotel has no facilities, but the staff tried hard and it was value for money.
Reviewed May 25, 2014
4.3
Rikard from Sweden
Couple
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2014
Small, bad air, dirty room”
Central location
Not that nice. Worn down hotel, bad smell in elevator. Very small room, cold in bathroom. Bad cleaning, but clean bedlinnen and towels. The location was very good. But i would recommended to try another hotell or spend some more money.
Reviewed May 22, 2014
7.0
Very good
MD from Malaysia
Family with teens
Double Room with Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in May, 2014
good location”
location
pleasant stay. Small hotel but room was clean.
Reviewed May 15, 2014
3.7
Anna from Sweden
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2014
SF was great! This hotel was not. ”
Location (The only good thing)
Extremely dirty windows, dirty floors, dirty walls (!), smells wierd inside hotel. The bed was ok. Location perfect. Would pick another hotel next time!
Reviewed May 07, 2014
7.0
Very good
Nopjaras from Thailand
Group
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in April, 2014
good location”
location, budget
small hotel in the central of the city
Reviewed May 06, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Stephanie from Australia
Couple
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 3 nights in February, 2014
Great location for the price”
Location, price and size
Stayed here once before 3 years ago. Such a good location considering the price. Rooms are clean and big. Free wi fi. great location! 5 min walk from Powell station. 2 min walk to all the shops! (i mean everything). Starbucks right next door. Stayed here again at the end of our trip and will stay again.
Reviewed April 08, 2014
2.7
Marianna from Greece
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2014
terrible. this hotel was a huge disappointment.”
location
this hotel is just terrible. our room was disgusting, too old and neglected, dirty and noisy, and the spaces were totally inconvenient. there was no hot water during the two days we stayed there. the staff simply doesn't care, they barely answer the phone. if the photos on the listing were not such misleading we would have never booked a room there. don't go there, there are other hotel business who do care about their customers and the services they are providing.
Reviewed March 21, 2014
7.7
Very good
Hong from Malaysia
Couple
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in February, 2014
Centrally located hotel with reasonably price.”
Clean bathroom, accessible to public transport, good restaurants around.
This hotel is aged but has a very clean bathroom which is the most important to me, building is kinda old and is not an issue. If you are looking to minimize your accommodation cost and spend more on sightseeing this hotel is a good choice, walk a few blocks you could reach market street and take public transport to pier 39, fisherman's wharf with just 2USD. I will pick this hotel again the next time i go back San Francisco.
Reviewed March 10, 2014
4.7
Cathy from Canada
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February, 2014
Great city...great history ”
Good location....close to public transportation..easy access to sightseeing
It's too bad this hotel is so run down. It has great potential. With more attention to detail and a thorough renovation and clean it could be good. Very easy to find and good access to sightseeing and public transportation.
Reviewed March 03, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Guy from United States
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in February, 2014
Convenient, clean, basic”
Location, clean, economical
The hotel and room were very clean, although it's an older hotel. The location to Union Square was excellent.
Reviewed February 23, 2014
8.0
Excellent
xiaoying from China
Solo traveler
Double Room with One Double Bed
Stayed 1 night in February, 2014
affordable in central area”
location, location, location
It was generally a pleasant stay. The location is good, near union square, a few steps away from Moscone center. The staff is friend. There are a lot of shopping malls and shops. The hotel itself is old but clean, in a way of budget hotel, but the location makes up everything. For this money probably it is the cheapest one you could find in union square. It is convenient to eat if you are hungry in the evening cause there is one 24-hr restaurant nearby.
Reviewed February 23, 2014
7.7
Very good
seyoon from South Korea
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in January, 2014
good location”
good location, clean, good price
good location and good price and clean but little noisy.
Reviewed February 19, 2014
6.3
Good
Ronen from Israel
Business traveler
Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in February, 2014
Good place to sleep only. No breakfast!”
close to city center, low price, very slow internet.
Reviewed February 17, 2014