Book Now: Yamagishi Ryokan

Excellent
From 256 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
Recommended by 84% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (256)Booking.com Reviews (313)
8.2
Excellent
From 256 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities7.9
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service8.2
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
ภาษาไทย
繁體中文 (香港)
繁體中文 (台灣)
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 167 verified guest comments
7.2
Very good
T from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2017
Living like the Japanese.”
Good location, easy access to places, as the bus stops are nearby. Staffs speak little English but very accommodative. Overall, good stay.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
6.0
Wei from Malaysia
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April, 2017
Dissapointed as staffs were not helpful”
We booked the date of our stay wrongly to one day after, and only found out when we arrived at the ryokan around 7pm from Tokyo. As the ryokan is full and could not accomodate us, the staff gave us a map with a list of ryokan and their contacts in Japanese. As we could not read Japanese, we repeatedly asked for the help to contact any nearby hotel for a cheaper room but the staff refused to help us and said we can check with 2 ryokans next door (we did and found those are very expensive). We eventually made a last minute booking with agoda online. Furthermore we were given a room at 6th floor which we have to take stairs from the 5th floor. Considering we were leaving at 5am the next morning with our bulky luggages and to avoid noise during check out, we requested a room with easier access but was rejected. The staff also refused to send us to the station in the morning, reason being there will be only 1 guy at the front desk at that time. He informed there is no taxi available at that time too and we had to walk. We had dinner at the ryokan, it was nice but small portion. The onsen was nice too.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
5.2
Lai from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in March, 2017
Above average”
The bedroom was very small, hardly any walking space after the tatami was laid out. There was cigarette smell in the room though we asked for a non-smoking room. It got worst in the night, probably someone was smoking in a room nearby and the smoked might have gotten into my room bec of the aircon circulation system? The window faced the lake & we had a good view at night. I am particularly about cleanliness and I really felt uncomfortable in the room, seeing dust in some open areas and the furniture looking old. It was just me, because it didn't bother my Husband. The dinner & breakfast were nice. The onsen was great! In fact, I was all alone in the onsen in the morning. It was the best thing of the hotel stay for me. The staff tried to be helpful, but because we couldn't speak Japanese, we could not get much information from them.
Reviewed April 02, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Chun from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Comfortable stay with nice breakfast”
The room was in traditional japanese style. It was clean and comfortable. We didn't take their dinner but their breakfast was quite nice.
Reviewed March 03, 2017
8.4
Excellent
kam from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Great location”
Great location, near the lake and mountain
Reviewed February 19, 2017
7.2
Very good
arunrach from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
great location”
great location , near family mart
Reviewed February 01, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Richard from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in February, 2016
Lovely”
Perfect stay by the lake in Kawaguchiko
Reviewed January 19, 2017
8.4
Excellent
WEI from China
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in January, 2017
Good location”
Staff are very friendly!
Reviewed January 15, 2017
8.4
Excellent
TOUCHDAO from Thailand
Family with young children
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Very good location”
Near Lawson, Lake view in front of hotel, Near fujiyama cookie, Near cable car to see fuji mt. View
Reviewed January 06, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Pei from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Yamagishi Ryrokan review”
Nice Fuji mountain view and friendly staff services
Reviewed January 05, 2017
7.2
Very good
Wing from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in December, 2016
Ok”
Good
Reviewed December 18, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Gina from United States
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Great location and service!”
We stayed at Yamagishi for a birthday trip, and to see the Autumn leaves. Located right on the southeastern corner of Lake Kawaguchi, it was really in a perfect location. From the hotel, you can't see Mt Fuji, but you will get a spectacular view of the lake. The onsen is large and comfortable . There is also a small outdoor onsen that allows you to look over the lake as well. I highly recommend using the onsen during your stay! It seems that for foreign travellers, tattoos are acceptable. The breakfast set is lovely, as well. If you have dietary restrictions, make sure to call ahead after you've made the reservation, and to speak with someone who speaks English at check-in as well. We'll definitely go there again.
Reviewed November 25, 2016
8.0
Excellent
WengKit from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
I had a great stay here”
I like the dinner and breakfast offered by this hotel.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Catrin from Sweden
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2016
Comfy place with excellent location”
We loved our lake-view japanese-style room, the roof-top bath and the genuine breakfast.
Reviewed November 22, 2016
6.4
Good
Alan from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
Spacious room, located next to Kawaguchiko lake”
Located next to Kawaguchiko Lake, beautiful place. Spacious and there is a Lawson store next to the hotel.
Reviewed November 15, 2016
7.6
Very good
Jasper from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Nice, Clean hotel with a nice lake view”
overall its a good place to stay, nice view when you step out of you hotel, and most of the places here are by walking distance. A little bit expensive for its downside
Reviewed November 12, 2016
7.6
Very good
MAN from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in November, 2016
A memorable experience in Kwaguchiko”
Overall was satisfactory. Location was good where near the bus station. Hot spring was great too. Just a bit disappointed in room cleanliness but response from the hotel staff was rapid.
Reviewed November 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
William from United States
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
Hotel with a lake view”
Good location overlooking the lake. Lawson's convenience store right next door. Room was good size. Staff very accommodating. Helped park our car after checkin. Some english spoken. Enough to communicate. Onsen has 1 pool inside and 2 furo wooden baths outside.
Reviewed October 21, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Deborah from Australia
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in October, 2016
10 out of 10”
Treat yourself to a stay at this wonderful stay. Delicious meals and great location on the lake.
Reviewed October 20, 2016
8.4
Excellent
CHIOU from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in October, 2016
great location, great experience in Japanese style room. ”
rather pricey for a pretty old hotel, but everything was functional and clean. the Japanese style room was huge and overlooking the lake. absolutely love the hot bath.
Reviewed October 18, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Kai from Malaysia
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in September, 2016
Happy to stay Here!”
We are happy to stay here...The staff are very helpful. The room is traditional style..We love it very much.
Reviewed October 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Boon from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
Great bath”
Very good bath, with a view of the lake. Ten minute walk from the train station over to the hotel.
Reviewed October 01, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Ka from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in September, 2016
Good location and nice view”
Very close to public transport. Good view with the lake but not the mountain. Average food options though. Overall a nice stay!
Reviewed September 23, 2016
7.6
Very good
Nicola from United States
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in September, 2016
A little disappointing ”
Nothing special at all
Reviewed September 12, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Tsz from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in August, 2016
good location and view”
superior view of the lake and good location for both bus,JR station (<10 min), cable car station, lake sightseeing boat and convenience store. Meals are very nice but is not hot enough if you choose the last section. I suggest travelers to choose the earliest time slot. Moreover, the hot spring are only satisfactory for this range of price. Last but the most vital point, a late night walk along the lake is highly recommended, (p.s. around 12 midnight) silent environment with a lot of stars!
Reviewed August 31, 2016
6.0
Puunchaya from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
Their dinner”
Dinner is so nice
Reviewed August 17, 2016
5.6
Aji from Oman
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
International traveller”
It was disappointing for an international traveller
Reviewed July 30, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Ling from Hong Kong
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
Nice stay”
Helpful staff
Reviewed July 22, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Lok from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
nice place to stay @ lake kawaguchiko”
very good looking building and nice staff perfect location the rooms are fine but looks a bit outdated comparing to its lobby and corridor
Reviewed July 15, 2016
7.2
Very good
Ka from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in July, 2016
Hot spring hotel”
It's good to stay and relax
Reviewed July 06, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Maya from Indonesia
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in June, 2016
We were satified”
We would stay there sometime in the future
Reviewed June 27, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Piyapat from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
Great location and nice room”
Great hotel location with Kawaguchiko lake view, there is Lawson shop next to the hotel, really nice. The food also superb! Here you can enjoy Onsen with the lake view both inside and outside. The room is clean and good condition with all facilities needed. I will go back again for sure.
Reviewed June 22, 2016
8.8
Excellent
sin from Taiwan
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in November, 2015
Classical Japan style hotel”
Classical Japan style hotel,very valuable to live there. But the room cleanliness should be more improved
Reviewed June 15, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
yap from Malaysia
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2016
Awesome Ryokan value for money”
Onsen is nice and clean
Reviewed June 05, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
yap from Malaysia
Family with young children
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in May, 2016
Nice and clean place to relax”
My kids enjoyed the stay here. The onsen facility was awesome
Reviewed June 02, 2016
5.6
Cheng from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
Overall is ok but ....... ”
Overall is good but the shower head was bad. Water splash too wide. Also the the check out time 10am is too early.
Reviewed May 29, 2016
7.6
Very good
Mei from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
Very good! Will come back”
The staff are nice and helpful Clean and tidy room The hot spring is small but acceptable
Reviewed May 24, 2016
8.0
Excellent
CHIEN from Taiwan
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
I truly had a good stay in there”
The view from there is quite great and breakfast suits my taste. The hot spring is good for to release me
Reviewed May 12, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Jarat from Thailand
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
Good view ”
The hotel is very good location near the Kawagushiko lake. The Onsen out door is good atmosphere. The room has more dust in the morning after they kept the futon.
Reviewed May 10, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Pui from Hong Kong
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in May, 2016
Highly recommended hotel”
Staff is very good, hotel spring is good, meal is nice. Highly recommended!
Reviewed May 08, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Yean from Malaysia
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Excellent stay”
Clean, spacious and comfortable rooms
Reviewed April 30, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Jacqueline from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Decent ryokan for the price”
Worth a visit for a traditional experience. Faces the lake and the dinner and breakfast was good too.
Reviewed April 30, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Eng from Malaysia
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2016
Good unpretentious Japanese inn”
This ryokan is located right on Kawaguchiko lakeside, next to the cable car station. It's surrounded by many restaurants and souvenir shops, and next door to Lawson's. Shuttle service to and from the train station is convenient, although if you get the local 2-day sight-seeing bus pass, one of the stop is right in front of the hotel. Very helpful to introduce me to one of the restaurant famous with the locals. Breakfast is Japanese good and dinner is fair for 3,500yen.
Reviewed April 30, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Gabriel from Singapore
Solo traveler
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
First Class Hotel!!!”
Had a room overlooking lake Kawaguchiko, which was absolutely spectacular! Excellent in-room facilities and a huge room by Japanese standards. The staff spoke sufficient english to converse and when that failed, there was someone there with the ability to converse in mandarin.
Reviewed April 26, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Hertiara from Indonesia
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Traditional feeling and delicious classic dinner”
The location are nice, nearby to kawaguchiko station, and it is located right in front of the lake. There are nearby convenience store. This ryokan also provide a shuttle bus to kawaguchiko station by prior request. The staff are very helpful, although their english are not fluent. The dinner is kaiseki style, a traditional japanese foods with lots of seasonal dish. as they do not provide other menu, if you're not into japanese foods then you might want to eat outside/prepare your own foods. The indoor onsen for female is beautiful, but the outside onsen is rather tiny.
Reviewed April 26, 2016
4.8
Paisan from Thailand
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Reasonable price but bad location”
We can't see mount Fuji by the hotel area. We should traveling to other area of Kawaguchiko lake
Reviewed April 25, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Kanokrat from Thailand
Group
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Wonderful lakeview”
The hotel is in good location overlooking Kawaguchi Lake and nearby Kachi Kachi ropeway by 5 mins walk. The room is spacious with large window facing the lake but the toilet is smelly plus the shiwer room is very tiny. The onsen is a bit small. However, the Keiseki dinner and breakfast were wonderful.
Reviewed April 22, 2016
7.6
Very good
PIMJAI from Thailand
Family with teens
Japanese Style
Stayed 1 night in April, 2016
Beautiful views, convenient location, good staff , good service .”
Breakfast is not worth the price
Reviewed April 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Maarten from Netherlands
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in April, 2016
Friendly and nice expierence”
xx
Reviewed April 08, 2016
6.8
Good
Eiko from Singapore
Couple
Japanese Style
Stayed 2 nights in March, 2016
Beautiful location ”
This is quite a quaint hotel with beautiful view of kawaguchi-ko. Parking was free and the service was quite good. I called beforehand to book a car space and to inform them of dietary requirements. They were quite happy to oblige and were quite careful. However, they did forget for one of the breakfast, so I encourage you to double check before eating. Dinner and breakfast was quite good. Pretty average ryokan food. The onsen was quite small. Staff performance was quite good. Most of them spoke only Japanese and one could speak poor English (at the reception). They also hired a few Chinese (at the dining area) for the many Chinese tourist there. The room was however very small and the futon had to be placed head-to-toe and not side-by-side. The old lady and old man who cleans the room were very friendly and nice. There was free internet in the room. This hotel was not near any train station. It would be better to drive.
Reviewed April 07, 2016