Hotel Reviews of De Sea Almond Hotel Chumphon Thailand - Page 1
Book Now: De Sea Almond Hotel

Very good
From 198 reviewsSee what guests said
7.8

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (198)Booking.com Reviews (266)
7.8
Very good
From 198 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.7
Facilities6.8
Location8.0
Room comfort and quality8.2
Service8.3
Value for money7.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
ภาษาไทย
English
Français
简体中文
more
Room type
Standard with Mountain View
Standard Family Room
Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 159 verified guest comments
8.8
Excellent
Sittinut from Thailand
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Staffs were friendly and helpful.”
The staffs were impressively friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but very very good. In the room, the shower room are separated from other parts of the bathroom. So, we could keep the floor dry. The problems we faced were that the curtain was too skinny so the rom was flood-light in daytime (We checked in at noon and took some rest but could not close our eyes because the room was too bright.) and cable TV did not function properly 'till the staff came and told us some trick to use it. In overall, we recommend this hotel for both Thai and foreign travellers. .
Reviewed May 24, 2016
4.8
savarose from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe Family Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Very quiet place”
My parents went to stay there for one night, it is not good for senior people to stay there if you got a third floor and the door doesn't look safe or strong. There is some very old unit next to the hotel and it's not impressed my parents at all!!
Reviewed May 15, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Asanee from United States
Family with young children
Premium Family Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
This is a little diamond in the rough...the property is very creatively designed, next to the beach, seafood and the owner and staffs are just lovely!!”
My 4 year old enjoyed the whole adventure in the room with the loft design, gigantic (5-10 person) circular tub, the little wooden/rope swing set in the front watching the sea and of course the beach and the warm sea water full with sea creatures...very nice..we will go back. Just need a bit more circulation in the bathroom (fan was not working) and careful of the sharp shells in the water.
Reviewed May 08, 2016
5.6
CAROLUS from Netherlands
Family with young children
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Tiny room ”
Room has a double bed which takes up almost all te space. It has a small shower. For this money you can do much better. I had to upgrade to have a bigger rooms which cost me 600 baht after discount more. Very disappointing when expecting a hotel scoring 8. Not much to do around. No swimming pool only a beach. 6.3 would be my score.
Reviewed April 22, 2016
4.8
Woravit from Thailand
Family with young children
Deluxe Family Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
Not value for money”
Somehow we paid quite expensive for the facilities and services. Staff are ok but room was very hot when we checked in at 11:00pm. Tv was not working. Wifi signal very weak. Overall we should pay half price of what we paid for. This might be agoda overcharged.
Reviewed April 13, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Hakan from Sweden
Family with teens
Deluxe Family Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Niece hotel by the sea”
The hotel are veryfresh the staff great,close to the beach bit not so many facilitets in the area 35 km to the city, i wil come back one day.
Reviewed April 07, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Sarah from United States
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
So charming”
Location, design, clean
This was an awesomely quirky hotel. Extremely clean and charming. Only complaint would be the front desk girl who was not very friendly at all. She called Lomprayah for us to schedule a pick-up. We went to the front desk at 5:50 but it was closed up. Front doors were shut and had a sign that the doors are closed from 10pm to 6am. We let ourselves out and it was all good, just strange she didn't mention anything about that. Even though she was unfriendly we wish we would have booked a couple nights here, rather then passing through, as it was just so cool!
Reviewed March 27, 2016
6.7
Good
Garrick from United States
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Good service”
Service, Close to ocean, comfy room
Good
Reviewed January 26, 2016
7.0
Very good
Arthur from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Comfortable stay but rooms are so-so”
Location, opposite the beach, nice food downstairs
Got disturbed by the maid at 8am in the morning but apart from this problem, the hotel was tolerable. Facing opposite the beach, it offered a nice sea view. Rooms are way average to our standards but it was a quick stop off in Chumphon, so can't really complain too much.
Reviewed January 05, 2016
6.3
Good
Kiatiphong from Thailand
Couple
Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Near chumporn sanctitysea view facilites are limit”
Near chumporn sanctitysea view facilites are limit
Near chumporn sanctity,sea view, facilites are limit, No wardrobe
Reviewed January 05, 2016
7.3
Very good
HOCK from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Comfy friendly hotel with nice room deco”
Friendly staff.nice n clean n spacious room plus great seaview
Nice n warm
Reviewed December 29, 2015
6.3
Good
Ondrej from Czech Republic
Family with young children
Deluxe Family Room with Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Few days in Chumphon”
friendly staff
First to say - staff was very friendly and helpful in everything we needed. However we were not very pleased with the design and state of the hotel. This is especially valid for our family room, which was very dark and a bit depressive. Definitely not worth the price when comparing to our other experience. Breakfast was very basic.
Reviewed December 26, 2015
4.7
markf from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Family Room with Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Left early”
Breakfast was ok, room was clean and staff tried.
We booked three nights, left after the first night and forfeited the money, so it wasn't the right place for us. Rooms were ok but dogs barking/fighting in street made it hard to sleep. Bathroom needs updating and smells of mold. Hotel had an odd layout and lacked a few basic things for us and had very limited facilities nearby. In the morning we saw the beach was unusable with trash scattered everywhere so we left. We had Thai friends with us so it wasn't just a language gap, but if you can not speak Thai, this hotel could be even more challenging. Many better options 10-20 kilos north.
Reviewed December 15, 2015
8.3
Excellent
PLOYRAVI from Thailand
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
Surely come back ”
Very beautiful scenary, beautiful hotel decoration and clean room
I arrived the hotel quite late at night. Hotel main gate close at 11pm and open on 6 am. The hotel is renovated from around 10 blocks of commercial shop lot but everything is perfect. I love hotel decoration. Opposite to the hotel is the beach. They provide beach chairs for you, unfortunately that day too many mosquitoes. You'd rather bring mosquitoes repellant yourself. Hotel also provides bicycle. Chilling out there whole day.
Reviewed December 13, 2015
8.0
Excellent
John from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Quirk interesting hotel opposite beach ”
Clean, staff were so friendly, nothing was too much for them, good location for us as we had a car.
We enjoyed our time here though it is 20km approximately from the town. The area near the national park is beautiful but you need a car. The staff were lovely. Our room was spacious but rather hard and low on comfort.
Reviewed November 21, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Wattanapong from Thailand
Group
Standard Family Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
The owner of hotel, was very nice ”
1 staffs 2 breakfast 3 room facilities
I was applied as a group, so the room was for 3-4 peoples...we were arrived at the hotel so late due to the bad road construction...but the staff was very nice...
Reviewed October 31, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Tubsree from Thailand
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
The owner is very friendly.”
It has private car park, very clean room and relax area on the third floor.
Overall is very good.The weakening is too narrow bed.
Reviewed October 19, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Monthira from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Family Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Good decoration ”
Decoration, friendly staff, sea view
Good location, real relaxation But there is no cupboard in the room.
Reviewed October 08, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Gadi from Israel
Family with young children
Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Relaxing stop between the islands and Hua Hin”
Serene location, staff, free bicycles
At first we were a bit concerned because we did not know how to get out of this suburb of Chumphon to Hua Hin easily, and the staff did not know either (but otherwise were excellent). Eventually we found the easiest way by far - Lomprayah bus from the pier (2km / 200 baht taxi ride away), and the rest was fun and relaxation. We stayed in 2 rooms, Princess is great, Santorini (more expensive) was not to our taste. We had a 500 meter stretch of beach all to ourselves, nice change after Ko Phangan, plus a lovely islet just in front of the hotel with good snorkeling, despite the waste on its otherwise beautiful beach.
Reviewed August 21, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Marco from Netherlands
Family with young children
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
nice place, great but underrated location”
Great location, quiet and beautiful surroundings
Perfect. The girl who welcomed us was very Nice and helpful. The day we left the mother of the owner (?) gave us Some rambutan and fingerfood for the kids for the boat trip. In my opinion is the location underrated and offers beach and location more possibilities. Unfortunately chumphon is for many travellers a short pass through.
Reviewed August 07, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Visit from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Peace, calm and relaxation.”
1. Peaceful place
Reviewed July 14, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Peeradej from Thailand
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
good place”
good location clean friendly staffs
Reviewed May 25, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Karuna from Thailand
Business traveler
Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Lovely staff, cute room ”
The staff was really friendly. Location wise was fine. Rooms . It was very good stay for my family
Reviewed May 09, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Clive from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
The cutest , sweetest hotel , lovely views , bijou”
The owners greeting ...style of rooms ...everything was cute
Absolutely fabulous , staff were fantastic , the hotel design was fabulous and comfortable , and with the cutest designs ,
Reviewed April 19, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
WINAI from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Very nice hotel. Friendly hotel staffs.”
Place, room and staffs.
It was very good stay for my family. I recommend to stay at this hotel. It's very clean and nice room. The staffs are also friendly. Plus, it's not expensive. I'll come back here again krub.
Reviewed March 24, 2015
6.3
Good
Lyon from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Friendly staff, nice and cosy rooms”
Great staff performance
The staff was really friendly. Location wise was fine. Rooms are pretty alright and cosy
Reviewed March 05, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Srangkun from Thailand
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
best price its quality”
best price, close to pier, very clean
the hotel is really new, clean, well maintenance, this is probably the best hotel under $30USD !!!! it's better than most of hotels in Japan that I would have paid $100 USD. next to the beach, 1 of the closest hotel to the pier. we would definitely visit this hotel again.
Reviewed February 16, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Joel from Switzerland
Couple
Premium Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Great find”
View, Quality of rooms, staff friendliness
Reviewed January 12, 2015
6.0
Gordon from Australia
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
3 star”
clean and organic food
The hotel is located quite a long way from any services and convinience shops, the room was very small with leaking shower and no mountain view from the mountain view room. The family running the hotel were nice and the general decor was excelent but not 4 star as stated as rhere are no pool, gym, sauna, or out door area with loungers.
Reviewed January 07, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Michael from South Africa
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Great hotel in quiet location”
The hotel is decorated incredibly well, very clean and very friendly staff... Each room is themed differently, interiors looked great!!
We had a great stay, used it as a stopping point before catching the ferry to Kho Tao.. The owner is very friendly and very helpful! Used the hotel bicycles to explore the little that is around in Chumphon.. Great hotel!! Just a very quiet location..
Reviewed January 04, 2015
3.7
Kelly from Netherlands
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Don't come when the sun isn't shining. ”
The design of the hotel and the rooms.
We were on a trip from Bangkok to Koh Tao and decided to stay a few nights in Chumphon. With hand signs we made clear to a childrens bus driver we needed to go the same way as he was going and he decided to drop us off at the Novotel in 'roughly' the same area. At novotel they didn't know where it was either. Finally we came there and the women in charge was the mother of the owner of the hotel. We found out by her handing us the phone to check our reservation becaue nobody did speal any english. Really not a word.. We were led up to our rooms wich were rather nice; every room has a theme and we hit the theme "mono". The bed was comfy. the bathroom was stunning io sufficient. However there where some handy things missing that you actually take for granted most of the times, such as light switches next to the bed or even a night light at all. It was litteraly all or nothing and that wasn't very romantic in mostly a concrete room. Then the tv only had Thai channels and wifi is not available in your room (if even it would be working since it was unable to connect in the lobby either). Now the most important part, if you look through the pictures, they say. "keep calm and enjoy the beach", sadly when we stayed. There was no beach. There were no people around the little village, everything was closed and shut down. You had to eat at an other resort down the road because simply, you couldn't stay in the hotel either because it had no food and the only thing that worked was the bed. In their defense we were there when it was stormy so the whole part of "keep calm and enjoy tge beach"was impossible because there was no beach at all. So is this a place you should visit? Yes. If you want to stay in an upgraded concrete cell with nothing to do for about a day or two and tell your friends at home you slept in a "designer hotel" after you came from a much nicer place or on your way to a breathtaking island.
Reviewed December 30, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Sivadon from Thailand
Family with teens
Premium Family Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
pretty good”
friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed/sofa
Reviewed December 29, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Nicha from Thailand
Group
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Lovely staff, cute room”
Staff, room, location
All is good except hair dryer is not provided.
Reviewed December 28, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
CHOO from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Very helpful hotel staff”
Hotel Staff, hotel design, pretty lady boss :p
If you are the one who looking for a luxurious hotel then De Sea Almond hotel might not suit your needs, but for the people who looking a place that have "home feeling" this is it!
Reviewed December 11, 2014
7.7
Very good
Kevin from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
quirky hotel with unusual designs in rooms”
quirky rooms
This is a rather quirky hotel with unusual designs in rooms. Nevertheless it is a very nice family run hotel.It is perhaps a little on the expensive side given that its location is somewhat out of the way but we enjoyed our stay. Friendly service.
Reviewed December 10, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Juerg from Switzerland
Solo traveler
Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
nice, romantic, personal ”
breakfast with fresh vegetables of own garden, view to beach, choosing the room
a small, nice hotel at beach and very helpful staff
Reviewed November 12, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
dirk from Belgium
Couple
Premium Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2014
Original concept of the hotel, easy life...”
hotel is high comfort for reasonable price. no nightlife and good seafood.
The stay was 1 of my highlights during traveling 5 years traveling in Asia. Outside the town, a quiet beach, some good thai restaurants for seafood. The hotel has a orginal concept, respecting the thai architecture with a high standard comfort. Each room has his own theme, every detail looks well. The family own hotel is close to the guests when needed. They have free bikes . A thai bus goes during the day to town for 30 bath. Nice beach near the national Park. Easy to do 1 day tour to the islands. You like good restaurant but no nightlife? That is the place to stay a few nights.
Reviewed November 10, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Prasert from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Family Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
New and Charmy hotel”
Good service mind staff with charmy decoration style
We're very happy to stay here. Friendly and good service of staff. Small but lovely hotel in quiet beach area. Good for the one who loves to stay in relax environment at reasonable price.
Reviewed October 25, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
warakorn from Thailand
Family with teens
Standard Family Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Nice place, the hotel is wonderful”
Service is good
Comfortable
Reviewed October 24, 2014
3.7
Theewin from Thailand
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Similar a renovated apartment”
Nearby sea, wonderful color & room type, service mind
It's great location nearby the sea, various room style, owner is kindness. But, it look like apartment, tiny room and poor breakfast. I will not rest here again. It is waste my money when comparing what we got.
Reviewed October 22, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Ee from Singapore
Family with young children
Premium Family Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
They treat you like their family.”
very friendly place. natural surrounding. creative layout of the rooms
The owner will treat their guest like a part of their family. The beach in front of the hotel offers a natural yet breath taking view of the sunrise in the morning. Rooms are cheap now cause the restaurant is still under renovations. A hidden gem in chumpon. Come and experience it... highly recommended.
Reviewed August 06, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Hu from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
clean .friendly.near port.”
nice place for traveling koh tao
Reviewed July 13, 2014
9.6
Exceptional
christian from France
Couple
Premium Family Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in February 2017
Exceptional”
Hotel surprenant par l'aménagement original des chambres. Très bien, au calme face à la grande plage
Reviewed April 15, 2017
8.0
Excellent
olivier from France
Family with teens
Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
hotel atypique dans un endroit préservé”
l hotel a une superbe déco en béton ciré avec différents thémes selon les chambres.A l écart de la ville dans une magnifique baie, un endroit magique préservé du tourisme avec des petits restaurants de poisson. le personnel est très intentionné, seul le petit dejeuner décoit
Reviewed September 02, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
agnes from France
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2015
Un hôtel original, à découvrir”
Décoration originale des chambres / Emplacement / Calme
Nous avons été séduits par le style de l'hôtel et des chambres, chacune ayant un thème différent et une décoration personnalisée. Excellent choix pour profiter du bord de mer.
Reviewed January 14, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
frederic from France
Family with young children
Standard Family Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
Une super petit hotel qui merite d'y rester plus ”
propre, emplacement calme, personnel attentionné
Franchement pour ce prix la cette hotel est vraiment sympa !! On y est juste passer avant de prendre le Lomprayah et franchement ca méritait d'y rester un peu !! Petite structure au calme avec acces a la plage direct en traversant la route. Les chambres sont propres et refaite avec gout meme si on peut être surpris que le matelas soit a meme le sol :-) On a tres bien dormis !! le personnel est très sympa et on sent bien qu'ils ont envies de nous faire plaisir et qu'on soit content !!! On avait vu montagne mais la vue mer doit être très sympa. Un bon endroit pour faire une halte detente & calme si on a un peu de temps !!
Reviewed March 09, 2015
6.0
Kristina from Germany
Family with young children
Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Vacance”
calme, belle vue, super design des chambres
tout c est bien passé
Reviewed January 20, 2015
8.4
Excellent
Sabine from Germany
Couple
Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
ganz nett”
Als Zwischenstation gut geeingnet. Ein wenig "verrückt" doch hat es was. Ansonsten wie beschrieben.
Reviewed May 29, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Andreas from Germany
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Tolles Hotel”
Zimmer, Service, Lage
Wir haben auf der Durchreise nach Koh Tao eine Nach in den Hotel verbracht und waren begeistert. Das Hotel ist fast neu und die Zimmer sind sehr liebevoll gestaltet.Es liegt etwas abseits aber dafür sehr ruhig und direkt am Strand. Die junge Besitzerin ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Wir hatten um 6 Uhr morgens eine Abholung zur Fähre gebucht. Die Inhaberin des Hotels ist extra für uns aufgestanden um sicherzustellen das auch alles klappt.
Reviewed February 11, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Wolfgang from Germany
Couple
Standard with Mountain View
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
tolles Hotel an einem mäßigem Strand ”
sehr gepflegt, wunderschön gestaltet , wirklich freundliche Hotelfamilie
Essen=Frühstück ! Es gibt nur ein Frühstück (mit frischem Salat aus Papas Gewächshaus hinterm Haus) das ausreichend ist und gute Qualität hat. Außer dem Strand gibt es nichts zu beanstanden. Die Hotelinhaberin ist sehr bemüht ihren Teilabschnitt sauber zu halten. Wer Ruhe sucht ist hier absolut richtig. Ein gutes Lokal in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft. Ein Lob an Apple ( Tochter) für ihr Händchen der Gestaltung und Pflege. Keine muffligen Zimmer ! Fühlten uns sehr sehr wohl.
Reviewed February 05, 2015