Book Now: Altona Hotel

Good
From 97 reviewsSee what guests said
6.7
/
10

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (97)Booking.com Reviews (2462)
6.7
/
10
Good
From 97 reviews
Cleanliness6.7
Facilities6.1
Location7.6
Room comfort and quality6.5
Service6.8
Value for money6.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
繁體中文 (台灣)
Svenska
Deutsch
more
Room type
Double or Twin
Quadruple Room
Single
Triple
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 85 verified guest comments
5.7
YASIR from Pakistan
Solo traveler
Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2016
GOOD LOCATION”
EASY ACCESS TO METRO,near by restaurant easy, good location to go any place in paris
it was ok hotel not so good not so bad
Reviewed January 23, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Mohamad from Singapore
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Great location”
Perfect location with a lot of amenities nearby
The hotel is a walking distance from Gare Du Nord station and it is easy for those who comes to Paris via Eurostar. There is a self service laundromatte just next to the hotel making it easy for those who wants to have their clothes washed before leaving the city. There are a lot of eateries nearby and some are Halal hence making it easy for Muslims. Room is acceptable for a good night sleep. There is a balcony where it is perfect for a Parisian photo. The price I paid for is just right for a comfortable stay in an expensive city like Paris.
Reviewed September 21, 2015
7.7
Very good
Elizabeth from Australia
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Great Budget Stay”
Location, Room and Staff
The location of the hotel was good, the staff were excellent and the room was very clean. Small, but very clean and great for our budget. Highly recommend!
Reviewed August 24, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Mazrin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Nice place to stay”
I love how clean & spacious my room is, this hotel is very close to a metro so that's a plus, the breakfast is superb too!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends, the price is very affordable, Close to a metro, next to 2 restaurants and a food mart, room is very clean and spacious, hot water is there 24/7, friendly receptionist n bell boy, the lady that works in the kitchen is also nice, towel is replaced every day. The only downside was I felt that Barbes rochuchuart area had this "unsafe" vibe to it, a lot of suspicious people around, but as long as u dont do eye contacts with them, youll be fine.
Reviewed August 23, 2015
4.0
Cheng from Malaysia
Family with teens
Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
No air-cond, fan too small, whole nite cant sleep”
Location
1 nite, OK...not more than that...
Reviewed July 21, 2015
6.0
Sau from China
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
dark, old but near metro”
location, friendly starff
I live in the top floor, the elevator can't reach, so I have to climb stairs every day. If you have travel with large luggage, elder or baby, do not recommended. The corridors are so dark , the light sometimes didn't work, I live in the bottom of the corridor, it's scare me a lot. Location is good, 5 mins to metro, groceries shop are close and staffs are friendly & helpful.
Reviewed July 08, 2015
4.0
Sarah from United States
Group
Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Very French. Very much a 2 star hotel. ”
Close to metro and easy transfers to the main sites. Close walking to Montmarte area.
Man at desk was very rude each time we interacted with him. Hotel rooms were old with broken facilities and very cramped. We expected this from a two star hotel so don't expect many comforts. The breakfast was decent, however, with a very kind and hard working breakfast attendant. We probably wouldn't go back.
Reviewed July 06, 2015
6.3
Good
BENG from Singapore
Solo traveler
Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Rather small room”
Location and wifi provided
Hotel area is quite sleazy but near to Metro station and lots of restaurants nearby. Room is quite small but good connection of wifi provided.
Reviewed July 03, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Yihsin from Taiwan
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 6 nights in June 2015
friendly hotel”
good location, very friendly, good price
very friendly~!
Reviewed June 20, 2015
7.7
Very good
Ryota from Japan
Family with teens
Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015
Pretty clean,affordable price and great location”
Receptionist is flexible and helpful. Close to Metro statin and Nord station(Direct access to the airport). Clean and basic stuff are equipped.
Reviewed May 19, 2015
6.7
Good
yuyi from Taiwan
Group
Triple
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Good service”
Breakfast is good
Reviewed May 11, 2015
7.0
Very good
Anti from Indonesia
Business traveler
Quadruple Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2014
Small but Professional Hotel”
Location, Friendly, Comfort Room
For a two stars hotel in Paris, this hotel is not bad at all. Have difficulty to find this hotel since it mentioned near to Nord de Paris but in fact near to other station. So we have to go around to find this hotel. Anyway this hotel quite small but convenience with the price. The first time got to the hotel shocked because they mentioned the room finished but they said it was their mistakes and willing to change and split into two rooms without any additional charge. Also for the room not bad a all, quite convenience to sleep. So no problem for us then. The wifi needs to expand to the very edge of the room. For someone try to find the hotel with low budget in paris and in good location so altona is the best one.
Reviewed April 02, 2015
7.7
Very good
Azizul from Malaysia
Family with young children
Quadruple Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2014
nice stay”
location, staff, room
Reviewed December 28, 2014
7.0
Very good
Wing from Hong Kong
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 8 nights in November 2014
simple breakfast, doorlock & bath pump not work ”
helpful staff
Reviewed November 28, 2014
6.7
Good
Seow from Malaysia
Group
Triple
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
OK”
Near by train station. Convenience. Room ok.
No comment.
Reviewed September 30, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Hugo from Belgium
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in September 2014
Good enough”
Location, staff
Pretty decent over all, very helpful staff, Metro station close by. Deceny, except the booze shop across the street staying open till 2am and attracting loud unemployed creeps getting drunk, yelling and throwing empty bottles till 3am. Impossible to keep window open. Very safe in daytime and till 10-11pm.
Reviewed September 12, 2014
6.0
Jessica from Australia
Family with young children
Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Directed to another hotel!”
Nothing
Due to our delayed train we were late getting into the hotel. The staff told us upon arrival that the door to our room was broken and we couldn't stay. They directed us to a hotel, apparently five minutes walk away, where they had found us a room. It was 10:30pm, we had our 8 month old son with us and the other hotel turned out to be a good twenty minute walk with all our luggage. I can't believe that they didn't fix the door, but was too tired to argue. I bet they gave the room away. We did eventually find the other hotel and it was fine to stay for our one night stopover, but be wary of late arrivals you can't help at this hotel, it makes doors stop working!
Reviewed July 31, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Dirk from Belgium
Family with young children
Triple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
our first 2 day visit to Paris traveling through t”
very friendly and flexible staff. Excellent location, Free WiFi
our stay was excellent for what we paid. This hotel has most likely the best location of all of Paris being about 500m from a Metro station and being centrally located in Paris. Close to Sacre Ceour. Lots of Restaurants, Shopping and things to do in walking distance. The staff was extremely friendly being very simple and flexible. Free WiFi in the room is en even extra plus. We were very happy that they could accommodate us with a late check out without any issues and they helped us store our luggage without any hassle as our train to Belgium was only later that evening. Overall a very friendly and flexible hotel that helps their costumers without being all over complicated and things.
Reviewed March 29, 2014
5.0
Chun from Malaysia
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
A dangerous place”
Close to Gare du Nords
The room is small - okay. The room is old - okay. The surrounding is unsafe - not okay. The station Barbes-Rouchechourt and the other metro stations close to it is one of the most unsafe place in Paris. My bag nearly got snatched in metro station and the guys who tried to snatch my bag were still hunting down the other people in front of me. This area in Paris is dangerous, try to avoid it.
Reviewed March 25, 2014
6.7
Good
Huang from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Small but clean room. Helpful staff”
Staff are nice and helpful. There are lots of restaurants nearby.
Reviewed March 02, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Rahayu from Singapore
Family with teens
Triple
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Great Stay”
1. The hotel was near the Gare Nu Nord train station. Just a walking distance to the hotel.
Reviewed January 29, 2014
7.0
Very good
Kam from Malaysia
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
Reasonably clean and comfortable.”
Transport convenient, reasonably clean and comfortable for the price paid.
Satisfied with the conditions and comfort of hotel for the price paid. 5 minutes walk to Eurostar station and 2 minutes walk to nearest metro station.
Reviewed November 20, 2013
6.0
Mat from Malaysia
Family with teens
Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
I was happy and save when we walk around the hotel”
The front office staff was friendly,breakfest was nice and the hotel was quite during night
We were happy stay at this hotel because it clean and quite although DISCO around the coner.Breakfeat room was clean and the table clean every at all time.
Reviewed October 18, 2013
7.7
Very good
Chee from Singapore
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013
Will stay in this hotel if I visit Paris again”
Convenient, Clean and Value For Money
No problem at all. So much better than the previous of the same rate. Nice and helpful staff. Higher Recommended.
Reviewed September 26, 2013
5.7
Remigio from Philippines
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Our stay was just fine for a low budget hotel”
Near place to eat, convenience store and tranportation.
I can consider our stay pleasant enough for the purpose of our stay.
Reviewed September 07, 2013
3.3
Ratpawee from Thailand
Group
Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Suite for back packer hotel not the as a review”
Clean bathroom
I not happy to stay here room not clean. Bad customer service.
Reviewed July 27, 2013
6.0
Kit from Singapore
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Great location”
Close to Metro, Value for money, Close to Gare Du Nord train station
Chose the hotel for it's close proximity to Gare Du Nord train station as we took the Eurostar from London. Hotel is also close to the Metro which made travelling to the sights easy. Just a simple hotel which is within budget to rest at night.
Reviewed July 19, 2013
6.3
Good
Xiu from Singapore
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
short stay”
free wifi, friendly staff, comfortable room
Reviewed June 17, 2013
5.7
Fazal from Pakistan
Business traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
it was a pleasent stay.”
location, food, wifi
Reviewed June 17, 2013
6.7
Good
William from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Double or Twin
Stayed 1 night in June 2013
Budget hotel close to Gare du Nord”
Cheap, cheerful, friendly
I stayed one night when my plane was cancelled due to a strike. Service was efficient and friendly. My room was reasonably sized and the bed comfortable. Bathroom clean and minimal provision of soap, shampoo etc. Good free wifi connection. Standard breakfast. The area in which the hotel is situated is culturally diverse and lone travellers should take care at night.
Reviewed June 15, 2013
7.0
Very good
YAP from Malaysia
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
good location”
near to subway
The hotel facilities were rather old, so as furnishings, the bathroom are clean though. The hotel is near to Gare Du Nord railway station, and subway station, within 15 minutes and 5 minutes walk respectively. Food are easy to be found nearby, a convenient location after all, and staff were friendly.
Reviewed December 06, 2012
7.7
Very good
Kei from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
good location for traveller from London”
near Gare Du Nord
We stayed here in Nov 2012. It is a good hotel for traveller from London which is 5 mins walking distance to Gare Du Nord. The room is fine, stable hot water but room heater is not well. Map for city is provided at the reception which is a great information for us. Food is not a problem as you can find many restaurant around you.
Reviewed November 19, 2012
6.7
Good
Dawn from Canada
Group
Double or Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
Walking distance to Gare du Nord”
Well located to train and Metro
The hotel is simple and unpretentious. The room was clean and had the basic amenities. It wasn't useful to notice that the paint job was horrendous. It was fresh paint, so someone cared about freshening the walls. It was just such an incredibly inexpert job. The shower was great, lots of hot water, but had little room to maneuver in. When I asked to have the room cleaned and more towels and toilet paper added, I got prompt service. The breakfast was minimal: coffee, tea and juice, dry cereal and milk, great croissant and buns but nothing hot. A serious lack of any protein. Just to the north and east of the hotel is a large African-French community. We had a great meal in a Tunisian restaurant.
Reviewed October 06, 2012
5.3
Peter from Switzerland
Business traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
Good priced Hotel near Gare du Nord”
Price!
needed a cheap hotel near the rer station of gare du nord. hotel altona was the best offer.
Reviewed February 23, 2012
7.3
Very good
Peter from Switzerland
Business traveler
Single
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Value for Price”
i needed a hotel in paris, clean, central for my business, and with a nice service - and reasonable pricing => i found this in hotel altona
Reviewed October 12, 2011
7.7
Very good
Alphonse from Malaysia
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Hotel near Gare de Nord”
Strategic location
The hotel room that we have is quiet big. The internet is free. Basic breakfast but included in the price. The main thing that I don't like is have to left the key with the reception when go out.
Reviewed September 07, 2011
7.0
Very good
Kamarulzaman from Singapore
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in May 2011
Decent hotel near Gare Du Nord”
Location near lots of amenities and very courteous & helpful staff
Even though Altona confirmed my booking in March 2011, I was dissapointed that they couldnt provide me with any room and was only informed during my check-in time ard 2pm which is their check-in time (I came earlier ard 11am and was not informed of these arrangement). I was put up at Hotel Bervic which is in the walking distance from Altona Hotel and fortunately the staff (Robbi) at Hotel Bervic was very pleasant and helpful and my reviews are on Hotel Bervic.
Reviewed May 31, 2011
4.0
Youngdae from South Korea
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in January 2010
Worse than terrible”
Location is good
Basically everythings is to be improved except for location
Actually it was not a Altona hotel they allocated me another hotel (metrople? Hotel), because there were no available rooms there (why did they take a booking request?) in addition newly allocated hotel was the worst hotel in my life bed was uncomfortable, there was no shower curtain, and room is very small
Reviewed January 12, 2010
6.0
Kok from Malaysia
Group
Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2009
Altona Hotel”
Hotel is clean, breakfast is nice, the hotel price is cheap.
Location is not very good
When we arrived at Altona Hotel, they told us they make some mistake and have no room available for us eventhough we have make the reservation. They bring us to other hotel which is much more smaller for one night before transfer us back to Altona Hotel. Overall, the hotel is quite nice with it's cheap price.
Reviewed December 28, 2009
6.7
Good
Ideh from Australia
Family with teens
Stayed 3 nights in December 2008
Altona Hotel”
Very comfortable hotel and situated around the corner from the nearest metro station. It offered a simple yet satisfying breakfast and our room had a nice view of the surrounding streets.
The elevator was broken on our arrival so we had to carry all our suitcases up 4 flights of stairs with no assistance from staff. The quality of service was not to the highest standard, they had lost our room booking and so we had to wait an hour for our room.
The Altona hotel is everything one should expect from a less expensive hotel in Paris. It may not have great customer service, the elevator may not work and there are never enough lights but it offered everything one could need for standard accommodation. We had warm beds, a clean bathroom, a storage facility, a balcony with a nice view and breakfast every morning. The metro station was less than a two minute walk away and the area surrounding the hotel was full of shops and cafes that were much more affordable than anywhere else we visited in Paris. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who does not wish to spend too much on their accommodation in Paris.
Reviewed December 30, 2008
5.3
Valerie from France
Business traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
1 nuit danas le cadre d'une formaiton de 2 jours”
Bof
Eau chaude par intermittence avec de longues périodes a attendre avant qu'elle n'arrive ! Sans doute du fait que la chambre est située au 6 étage..... Pour le prix, il s'agit vraiment d'une chambre minuscule
Reviewed March 31, 2014
2.0
Kamran from Germany
Group
Quadruple Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
gar kein Bewertungen, es ist schade, wenn man 1 Euro hier bezahlen. ”
1- Wir haben in unserem Hotelzimmer Maus gesehen, ich hab Video aufgenommen und habe ich bei Rezeption gezeigt, Das war ganz normale sache. Danach beim Hotel Inhaber (zwei Brüder ) erzählt, sie haben uns bedroht. 2- Abwasser Leistung für Waschbecken War gestoppt, 3- ich habe Hotel mit Parkplatz gewählt, gar kein Parkplatz uns gegeben. *Es ist Schade wenn ein Stern abgeben* Weil ohne Sterne kann man nicht Bewertung übermitteln
Reviewed October 12, 2016
4.0
Sundono from Germany
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 4 nights in June 2015
Paris ist teuer, aber trotzdem.....”
Lage, Lage, Lage
1. Zimmer und Bad für das Geld zu klein, nicht sehr sauber. Möbel älter, Bett zu klein. Sie haben dann ein Extrabett kostenlos reingestellt. 2. Zimmerschlüssel bereits am ersten Tag kaputt. In den 4 Tage, die wir dort verbracht haben, waren sie nicht in der Lage, den zu reparieren. Jedesmal mussten wir jemand am Empfang bitten, uns nach oben (6. Etage) zu begleiten. 1 von denen war nicht sehr freundlich, die übrigen sehr nett. 3. Frühstück: für 2 2 Croissants, 2 härtere Brötchen, Marmelade, Butter, lauwarmer Kaffee. Hmmmm.....
Reviewed June 12, 2015
7.0
Very good
nicole from Belgium
Group
Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
gunstig gelegen hotel”
dicht bij de metro en Gare du Nord
Vriendelijke staff, kleine douche, ontbijt zeer eenvoudig. Ligging zeer gunstig, dicht bij de metro en Gare du Nord.
Reviewed December 12, 2012
5.7
Carla from Portugal
Couple
Double or Twin
Stayed 5 nights in February 2011
Boa localização, simpaticos mas pouco eficientes.”
Simpaticos e bem localozados.
O quarto era acolhedor e o hotel é muito bem localizado, perto da Gare du Nord onde havia acesso a todos os transportes. O que falhou foi o telefone do quanrto ter os fois cortados e nenhum tecnico "conseguir" arranjar.
Reviewed March 02, 2011
9.0
Exceptional
Masahiro from Japan
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 2 nights in June 2010
アルトナ”
格安で泊まれるのが魅力
典型的なヨーロッパの格安ホテル
部屋はシンプルで清潔 シャワーのお湯はちゃんと出て、水はけも良い
Reviewed June 19, 2010
4.0
KATSUYA from Japan
Solo traveler
Single
Stayed 1 night in November 2009
駅からは近いが・・・”
駅から近い。 スーパー等の施設が付近にあり、夜でも食料や日用品の調達が可能
汚い。 エレベータの音がうるさく、神経質な人にはつらい。 シャワールームが狭い。水漏れが凄く、部屋までシャワーのお湯が流れて行ってしまう。
最初にあてがわれた部屋には、いかにも他人の荷物が置いてあり、水が全くでない部屋だった。 部屋の外壁を修復しているのか、外には足場が組まれており、非常に汚い。廊下も養生されている部分があった。 鍵が非常に開きづらく、苦労した。 寝てしまえばいいのだが、神経質な人には寝られない可能性もあり。
Reviewed December 03, 2009
2.0
Vichai from Thailand
Group
Triple
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
Acceptable”
ผมจ่ายค่าห้องแล้วกับอโกด้าซึ่งมีเอกสารยืนยันการจ่ายแต่ทางรร บอกอโกด้าไม่จ่ายให้รร ซึ่งทางรร ก็เอาเอกสารให้ดูว่าไม่มีการโอนเงินจากอโกด้า ดังนั้นผมต้องจ่ายเงินซ้ำไม่อย่างนั้นจะไม่ทันขึ้นรถไฟไปอังกฤษ ซึ่งเอกสารทุกอย่างทางรร ให้มาและยังบอกด้วยว่าอโกด้ามีปัญหาบ่อยๆไม่ใช่เฉพาะเคสนี้ และยังเกิดกับรรในแถวนี้ด้วย ซึ่งในระหว่างที่มีปัญหา1ชม ครึ่ว12:00-13:30)ปมได้พยายามคิดต่อโทรหา อีกด่าฝรั่งเศส และกรุงเทพ ทั้งให้คนที่อยู่ทางไทยติดต่อ จนถึงวันนี้ยังติดต่อไม่ได้เลยเสียทั้งเวลา ค่าโทรทางไกล ซึ่งทางรร ให้เอกสารใบเสร็จ มาบอกให้ติดต่อขอเงินคืนอีกด่าเอง ซึ่งผมยังอยู่ในระหว่างการเดินทางอยู่และต้องกลับมาพักที่ฝรั่งเศสอีก(second call)20-21/10 ซึ่งระหว่างนี้ก็ติดต่อให้ทางบ้านติดต่อให้ ทั้งติดต่อทางe-mail เองก็ยังไม่มีการติดต่อเข้ามา ซึ่งถึงวันนี้19/10 ก็ยังไม่มีการติดต่อจากอโกด้าเลย ซึ่งก็ยังไม่รู้ว่าจะเป็นปัญหาแบบเดิมอีกมัย ในการพักsecond call
Reviewed October 19, 2018
7.0
Very good
Rungrat from Thailand
Group
Double or Twin
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
ทำลสถานที่อยู่ใกล้ Metroสามารถเดินทางไปไหนได้สะดวก”
ห้องพักมีขนาดกว้างและไม่แคบ
การเดินทางสะดวก เนื่องจากโรงแรมอยู่ใกล้ Metro แต่ห้องน้ำด้านล่างที่ล็อปบี้ ไม่มีการทำความสะอาด สกปรกเล็กน้อย / ลิฟท์ที่้ใช้ค่อนข้างเล็ก / ห้องพักสะอาดมาก มีแม่บ้านมาทำความสะอาดให้ทุกวัน ถ้ามีโอกาสจะกลับไปพักอีก
Reviewed March 19, 2012
8.4
Excellent
Mohd from Malaysia
Family with teens
Quadruple Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Di tengah bandar berdekatan stesen Metro dan Paris Nord ”
Sangat berbaloi dengan harga di kedudukan tengah bandar yang berdekatan dengan setesen keretapi dan Metro. Kedai kebab halal dan kedai runcit di sebelah hotel. Bilik agak sempit untuk sekeluarga 4 orang. Towel, sabun dan syampo disediakan.
Reviewed July 28, 2016