Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
See all 45 photos
Economy Single Room - Interior view Danubius Hotel Gellert
Economy Single Room - Interior view
See all 45 photos
Lobby Danubius Hotel Gellert
Lobby
See all 45 photos
Interior view Danubius Hotel Gellert
Interior view
See all 45 photos
Interior view Danubius Hotel Gellert
Interior view
See all 45 photos
See map Danubius Hotel Gellert
See map
Excellent
Location
8.9
See all 45 photos Danubius Hotel Gellert
See all 45 photos
Removed from saved list
What guests are saying:
Good, come again
Mikhail from United States
Solo traveler
Our stay was a pleasant experience overall, the location is excellent, very nice staff and comfortable if a bit dated rooms. we would go there again for sure.
Raymond from Ireland
Couple
Very pleasant
Noel from Australia
Family with teens
The Economy Single room is small, has no A/C and no fridge. So if you stay more than 1 night in here in summer, it might be a problem. Considering the price which includes one entrance to the Gellert SPA&pool, and good breakfast, it was still value for money.
Zhixin from China
Solo traveler
I enjoyed my stay very much, the hotel is magnificent in terms of culture and history.
Judy from Australia
Solo traveler
I highly recommend this amazing hotel that uniquely offers free entry to it's world famous bath. If you go to Budapest, don't miss it! Sensational.
Annamaria from Hungary
Business traveler
This hotel was a magnificent structure very old with all of the cultural ambiance of Hungry.
stevan from United States
Solo traveler

Danubius Hotel Gellert

Excellent location
- 310 meters from city center
- What's nearby?
Very good
From 279 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7
/
10
Very good service
7.6
Value for money7.4
Distance to city center0.5 Km
Location rating8.9
Nearest airportBudapest Liszt Ferenc International Airport (BUD) - Hungary
Distance to airport15.3 km
  • 180 meters to public transportation

  • Airport transfer

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Sauna

Room choices
Suite
Suite
...
  • Room size: 45 m²/484 ft²
  • Bathtub
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Room
Superior Room
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
  • River view
  • 1 double bed or 2 single be...
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Room
Standard Room
...
  • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
  • City view
  • 2 single beds or 1 double b...
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Single Room
Standard Single Room
...
  • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
Economy Double Room
Economy Double Room
...
  • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Economy Single Room
Economy Single Room
...
  • Room size: 11 m²/118 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe Double/Twin
Deluxe Double/Twin
...
  • Balcony/terrace
  • Bathtub
Enter dates to see prices
Double Single Use Deluxe
Double Single Use Deluxe
...
  • Balcony/terrace
  • Bathtub
Enter dates to see prices
Double Single Use Economy
Double Single Use Economy
...
  • Balcony/terrace
  • Bathtub
Enter dates to see prices
Double Single Use Standard
Double Single Use Standard
...
  • Balcony/terrace
  • Bathtub
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for Danubius Hotel Gellert?
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
More about Danubius Hotel Gellert

More about Danubius Hotel Gellert

An overview

Show more

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

What they offer

Show less

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show more

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show more

Announcements

All the indicated fares include VAT, but, in compliance with the Hungarian legislation in force, catering and hospitality services shall be invoiced with a different VAT rate from 1 January 2018.
Please note that the Gellert Spa is available for the hotel guests for a discounted price during their stay in the hotel.

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (279)Booking.com Reviews (7130)
7.7
/
10
Cleanliness7.1
Facilities7.3
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality7.2
Service7.6
Value for money7.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Svenska
日本語
Français
more
Room type
Standard Room
Standard Single Room
Superior Room
Economy Double Room
more
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 235 verified guest comments
12345
6.0
Eva from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Double
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018
Satisfactory for a 2 star hotel, no facility in the room for morning tea etc”
Very disappointed for a 4 star hotel costing me a lots of money and not enough quality only the location.
Reviewed September 15, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Claudine from United Kingdom
Group
Luxury Room - River View
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Wonderful Art Deco decadence ”
We absolutely loved our stay at the Gellert. Sadly it was only 3 nights, but we barely left the place during that time! It would be a great base from which to go sightseeing, but we already did 4 days of sightseeing staying in a different hotel so the Gellert was our time to relax. The Gellert Spa really made it feel like being on holiday - indoor thermal pools, steam rooms, sauna, outdoor pools with sun loungers and a bar & restaurant - you can easily spend a whole day there - we did 2 days! The hotel itself does a good breakfast. It also has a cafe, a brasserie/gastropub and a restaurant, all with outdoor terraces and all serving really good food. If you want to spend some time completely relaxing in Budapest then stay at the Gellert. It’s beautiful 😍
Reviewed August 18, 2018
5.6
Donna from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
It's shabby, it doesent actually have any facilities of its own.”
It's next door to a spa so the pictures that you see are of the spa which you have to pay for. You cannot just use the swimming pool you have to pay for a spa day pass every time. The corridors of the hotel make you feel.like your on a ship with no natural light. The carpets are all uneven and the rooms very outdated and shabby. There is no air conditioning so you need the window open but there are no fly screens so you end up with a bedroom full of moths and mosquitos. The cable TV is in German, no actual facilities apart from a small and very expensive bar in the evening. The breakfast is good, usual self service spread. You have to pay for fresh orange juice. It's not good value for money as a whole. Given that you have to pay every time you want to swim and it's about £8.00 you could just stay at any hotel and get a much better room and value for money, this is trading on past glamour I presume because the reality is it's shabby with little to offer.
Reviewed June 13, 2018
Dear Donna, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and with the Booking.com community. We do welcome all feedbacks does not matter of it is positive or negative either. Most of our rooms and bathrooms/showers toilets, the Spa are from the 70’s and 80’s from the time „before the wall fell”. We offer real old fashioned „RETRO” art deco style rooms, and bathrooms, - most of them not refurbished, and that’s why we have „pushed down” our rates to an affordable price! We were sorry to realize that we did not offer a room to match your taste and would like to offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you might have had during your stay with us! Danubius Hotel Gellért is one of the oldest hotels in Budapest - will be one hundred years old in September 2018! Kind regards, Mihaly Vasony Guest Relations Manager
Show more
Danubius Hotel Gellert
8.0
Excellent
janet from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Single Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Good Value for Price”
The rooms were spacious, though outdated and the mattresses (I stayed in 2 rooms) were lumpy - but they didn't stop me from a great night's sleep. Because the rooms were large and they had great Wi-Fi, amenities like minibar/refrig and robes for the spa, 50% off at the spa with easy access, and served a beautiful breakfast, it was a good value for the price I paid.
Reviewed May 28, 2018
Dear Janet, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and with the Agoda.com community. Many thanks for your kind comments on your spacious room, great WI-FI and the beautiful breakfast. We were happy to read that your stay was a positive experience for you and were happy to read: value for money was OK! Kind regards, Mihaly Vasony Guest Relations Manager
Responded July 31, 2018
Danubius Hotel Gellert
7.2
Very good
Olga from United States
Solo traveler
Economy Single Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Very good”
Beautiful building but rooms is so small and stinky, need to be renovate. Good breakfast . Excellent location, no complains.
Reviewed May 07, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Ennio from Australia
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
High class, historical, comfortable and relaxing.”
Beautiful breakfast and friendly staff....
Reviewed April 09, 2018
Dear Ennio, Thank you very much for posting your kind review, it is so nice to learn from your feedback that you enjoyed your stay at Danubius Hotel Gellért. Furthermore, we are grateful for your compliments on the lavish breakfast selection available in the mornings. Overall, we would like to thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow travellers and it would be nice to accommodate you again here, should you come back to visit Budapest again. Kind regards, Zsazsa Abonyi PR Manager
Responded May 18, 2018
Danubius Hotel Gellert
8.4
Excellent
Carl from Norway
Solo traveler
Economy Single Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Great stay”
The room was tiny, but ok. A free entrance to the Gellert spa was included as well as breakfast.
Reviewed February 01, 2018
Dear Carl, Firstly, I would like to express my thankfulness to you for sharing your experiences about your stay in our hotel. It was a great honour hosting you in our hotel. It is wonderful we were able to meet all of your expectations. I am beyond happy with the fact you enjoyed the Gellért Thermal Bath, our historical thermal bath of Budapest since 1918. It offers both health and wellness service, this is a must to do program in Budapest. Nothing better than after a long day, just lie down and relax in the Spa. Thank you for highlighting our great location and I hope you had the time to explore this beautiful city. On behalf of our entire team, we cannot wait to welcome you back. All the best, Zsazsa Abonyi PR Manager
Responded May 18, 2018
Danubius Hotel Gellert
8.0
Excellent
SUSAN from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Good- ish Hotel”
Although this hotel was good it did have it's faults. We had standard rooms and they were very tired very tired indeed. The bathrooms were 60's with shabby fittings and tiles and awful pipework. The bedroom itself was the same with very shabby furniture, carpet and curtains. On the plus side the bed was clean and comfortable the towels were changed daily the shower was hot and so was the room room. The carpets on the corridors were shabby and crumpled up and the corridors themselves were like something out of an asylum all white walls and white doors no pictures or colour anywhere. Again on the plus side there were the most beautiful stained glass windows at the end of each corridor. It needs updating not altering too much because it has great character, beautiful marble floors and walls. And from the outside it looks wonderful,lit up at night in all it's splendour and beautiful architecture. What a waste of a spectacular hotel could very easily be a 5star!!
Reviewed January 24, 2018
Dear Susan, First and foremost, we would like to thank you very much for writing down your opinion about our hotel in detail. It filled us with so much happiness that you decided to stay in our charming and historic hotel, we hope that overall you had a pleasant time here. Meanwhile, we want to say sorry for the discomfort you had, but we ask you to understand that we work really hard and do a lot of effort to improve our hotel and to maintain its high standard. It would be so nice of you if you gave us one more chance to prove our professionalsim, we will do our best to win your pleasure. All the best, Zsazsa Abonyi PR Manager
Responded May 18, 2018
Danubius Hotel Gellert
6.4
Good
tomer from Israel
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Great potential but the inside was left in the 1970s”
The hotel and thermal pools needs renovation with a potential to become a world class 5 star luxury hotel. Unfortunately, It was like going back in time to the 1970s (which I assume were its golden days). Today everything feels really old and tired. The staff are highly professional though and the building looks impressive. they should find an investor to renovate the place.
Reviewed December 12, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Barbara from United States
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017
Exceptional”
Lovely old world hotel. The first room we were given allowed smoking and although the room did not smell of smoke it was very tired looking. Also there was a movie being shot in the hotel on the way to our room which meant negotiating around all the equipment. We requested a non-smoking room which clearly had been updated and was very nice.
Reviewed December 11, 2017
7.2
Very good
Daniel from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2017
Genuine Hungarian experience”
Stay here if you want to experience local character, architecture and something old. The hotel has a lot of charm. Rooms are a bit of pot luck. Mine had a nice view but it smelt funny and had clearly only just been cleaned as the carpets were wet. So it is a bit of pot luck. My bathroom was dingy, smelt mouldy and the shower head kept falling off, almost breaking my toe. My fellow travellers' room was much nicer, cleaner and bigger. Same price. The staff are kind of helpful but rather abrupt and surly at times but this is the local flavour that doesn't bow down to us annoying tourists. I liked that. We still got what we asked for. The spa is a big selling point, very relaxing and you can walk in from your room in your dressing gown! Breakfast is just ok. The coffee machine constantly broke down but there was enough range in food to have something different each morning. The bar has a disappointing range of evening snacks but the staff are friendlier in there and it's nice to go out to the terrace in the evening. The Patisserie serves excellent coffee, worth skipping the crap at breakfast and paying for one there. It's a nice place to go in the morning to catch the sun and read - even if the baristas seem a bit put upon when you ask for something. Overall this is fairly priced, has amazing views and access to the tram (stop just outside) but if you are looking to feel pampered and spoilt by staff and comforts in your room then you'll need to drop a few more HUF and stay elsewhere. Would stay again.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Andy from Hungary
Couple
Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
An aging Beauty overlooking the mighty Danube”
Grand design with old world charm interior. Please do not renovate it! Leave it as it is! Convenient location - Easy to get around by public transport. Just walk or ride to the other side of the river and you find yourself in the heart of the city with the Central Market at the end of the bridge and Vaci Street. Convenient facilities - Just walk to the spa in your bathrobe. You don't have to leave the building for the most elegant spa experience. Beautiful stain glass and mosaic tiles. Some of the staff have been working there for over 20 years but still can crack a smile or a joke with you and help wherever they can. As it is a spa hotel we would recommend more healthy options for breakfast and better coffee. But what a way to have breakfast in the elegant breakfast room and/or on the terrace overlooking the Danube with the Liberty Bridge. No better place to start your stay in Budapest.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
7.6
Very good
Sutat from Thailand
Solo traveler
Economy Single Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Nice hotel in good location but a bit old”
Pros: - 1 free access to thermal bath and 50% discount afterwards - really good breakfast with Danube view - next to metro / tram Cons: - old hotel. I saw a bug on the floor - I got room on 5 floor which elevator is up only 4th floor. So need to climb a bit
Reviewed May 10, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Carsten from Denmark
Group
Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Hotel with charm and soul.”
Beautifull hotel with perfect location. Delicious breakfast. The adjecent Gellert Spa is a very nice experience.
Reviewed March 03, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Rebecca from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Single Room
Stayed 6 nights in February 2017
Classy old hotel adjacent to spa”
I was pleased with single room...very basic but adequate. It is older hotel and could use some update but clean and well located adjacent to spa. Superior service and excellent service and value.
Reviewed February 25, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Rebecca from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
What a great location with access to the baths and city . ”
location and friendly staff
Reviewed February 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Elionor from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Single Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Opulent, Soviet kitch hotel with splendid restaurants and unique other worldly spa”
Really good staff, facilities were great, charming old styled bathrooms, very cozy temperature, don't use the spa on ground floor because of noisy road but the one next spa which is tranquil.
Reviewed January 23, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Ekaterina from Russia
Solo traveler
Standard Room
Stayed 10 nights in January 2017
Nothing compares to great Gellert baths”
Low heating in winter period
Reviewed January 20, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Jorgen from Sweden
Family with teens
Economy Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Great atmosphere”
Classical premises, a bit run down but if you like the atmosphere of old hotels with a history you will like it here. like Good value for money.
Reviewed January 06, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Ming from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Standard Single Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Good View”
very good view with Danube River. rather small space and bed.
Reviewed November 11, 2016
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss