Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
See all 45 photos
Twin with Shared Bathroom - Room plan Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Twin with Shared Bathroom - Room plan
See all 45 photos
Lobby Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Lobby
See all 45 photos
Lobby Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Lobby
See all 45 photos
Interior view Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Interior view
See all 45 photos
See map Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
See map
Very good
Location
7.4
See all 45 photos Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
See all 45 photos
Removed from saved list

Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Very good location
- 1.86 kilometers from city center
- What's nearby?
Very good
From 550 reviewsSee what guests said
7.4
/
10
Excellent value for money
8.0
Value for money8.0
Distance to city center3.5 km
Location rating7.4
Nearest airportBerlin-Tegel Airport (TXL)
Distance to airport11.8 km
  • 90 meters to public transportation

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Bar

  • Garden

Room choices
This property is in high demand!Last booked 3 hours ago | 16 travelers are looking at this property right now
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 25 m²/269 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 single bed and 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory with Private Bathroom
1 Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory with Private Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 21 m²/226 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Quadruple Room
Quadruple Room
...
  • Room size: 21 m²/226 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 4 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
1 Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
1 Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 single bed and 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Twin Room
Twin Room
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Single Room
Single Room
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 single bed
Enter dates to see prices
Quad with Shared Bathroom
Quad with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 21 m²/226 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Triple Room
Triple Room
...
  • Room size: 21 m²/226 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 3 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Twin with Shared Bathroom
Twin with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 8 m²/86 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 21 m²/226 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 2 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg?
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
More about Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

More about Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

An overview

Show more

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

What to eat nearby

German cuisine
German cuisine
MIX Espresso Gourmet Cafe
70 m German, International
Englers Unikat
1.4 km German
Steakhouse San Diego
1.6 km German, Steakhouse
European cuisine
European cuisine
Pizzeria Metro
40 m European, Italian, Mediterranean
Ristorante Oscar's
110 m European, German, Italian
Saporito Berlin
900 m European, Italian, Mediterranean
Italian cuisine
Italian cuisine
bar - pizzeria italiano
70 m Italian, Mediterranean
Pomodorino
900 m Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza
IL Tinello
1.4 km Italian, Mediterranean

What they offer

Show less

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show more

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show more

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (550)Booking.com Reviews (6653)
7.4
/
10
Cleanliness7.2
Facilities6.8
Location7.4
Room comfort and quality6.6
Service7.6
Value for money8.0
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
한국어
Español
more
Room type
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
1 Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
1 Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory with Private Bathroom
Single Room
more
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 313 verified guest comments
12345
8.8
Excellent
Frendy from Indonesia
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Nice Hostel”
To Reach here you have to take S-Bahn 42 / 41 and you can get off in Landberger Alee station and you directly can see the building , and just walk around 50Meter you reach the accomodation , This is very clean , nice , and good hostel Really much reccomended
Reviewed October 13, 2018
4.8
Kazem from Australia
Couple
Twin with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
Not what I expected ”
We booked a room with two beds, there is no table in the room and the wardrobe was locked. We had to pay 4 Euroa to get new towel. The room was cold, the heating system wasn't working. The breakfast was OK. The checkin is exactly after 2pm so can't checkin early
Reviewed October 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Anastasia from Canada
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Right at the metro station ”
Big hostel suitable for large groups. Many high school students staying there. Grocery shop nearby and a s-banh station. Convenient and cheap. You need to take public transportation to reach all touristic places and clubs (about 3 stops).
Reviewed October 07, 2018
Dear Anastasia - Thank you for your great feedback! I am thrilled to reads that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. All the best from Berlin - Amy, Reception
Responded October 12, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
7.6
Very good
ishwar
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
outside of city centre 1 hour 26 min walk”
too big hostel. no get together program. not suitable for solo traveller.
Reviewed October 02, 2018
Dear Ishwar, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to read that your stay wasn't as expected, maybe next time take the tram into the city which takes 10 minuites from right outside. We hope to see you again - Amy, Reception
Responded October 12, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
2.0
Gerald from United States
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018
Was robbed, staff didn't care. Dirty place. Complete junk”
Had a known local come in and take some stuff of mine. I knew within 5 minutes of when she took it. Staff didn't care even though it was all caught on video tape. Bathrooms are dirty. You almost have to body check some of the doors to open them, having to work that hard to open a bathroom door at 2am is too much. 2 hours to check in is ridiculous. Only 2 people were working and about 30 people in line. Stayed 3 days and saw every day at 2-4ish. Nothing around, staff not helpful at all. Out of the couple hundred hostels I've stayed at, this is definitely one of the worst.
Reviewed September 30, 2018
Dear Gerald, thank you for your feedback! I am so sorry to hear that some of your things went missing. It sounds like it went missing from your room and unfortunately for legal reasons our cctv only covers the public areas. I can assure you that in such cases we follow a strict protocol which involves making a police statement. Regarding the long line at check-in, with nearly 900 guests at full capacity I'm afraid sometimes a wait cannot be avoided. I hope that despite these issues you still enjoyed your time in Berlin and we hope to see you again - Amy, Reception
Responded October 12, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
2.0
CHEN from Malaysia
Family with teens
1 Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Very Very Very bad experience and my stuff got stolen!!!”
toilet is awful!! dirty and doesn't well maintained. my backpack was STOLEN during check out time in Lobby! security is bad and camera has many blind spots. PLEASE AVOID this hostel by all means. very unpleasant stay and awful experience! We had very bad experience and will definitely not coming back for this hostel! please avoid this despite the attractive room rate!
Reviewed September 23, 2018
Dear Chen - Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Generator. I am so sorry to read that your backback was stolen, I can assure you that we do not tolerate this kind of behaviour and as you know we really did all we can to help in this situation. I hope that dispite this happening you still managed to enjoy your time in Berlin. Amy, Reception
Responded September 25, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
4.8
DAVID from Malaysia
Couple
Twin with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
Worst night ever in a hostel because of a group of about 100 - 200 German students”
(Full review on Google) ...On the second day, after we finished sightseeing and came back to the hostel around 8 pm, a group of 100 - 200 German students (ages 13 - 16) from a school had checked in that morning. They were incredibly noisy and loud. We had about 50 of them on our floor and right next to our bedroom. It was a nightmare. From that time (8 pm) onwards (following day at 9am) kept going in and out of the rooms, banging doors, calling out names, talking, fooling around, playing music... We didn’t sleep the whole night. I had serious arguments with the two groups next to me at 12 am because they were going mental. I complained to the staff at the reception and they were kind and understanding. They tried to help and deal with the situation but they were overwhelmed. It is the worst night-experience in a hostel I can recall. The staff were very nice to us the whole time, but they dealed with that situation softly and poorly. This hostel is fine for teenagers or solo travellers.
Reviewed September 21, 2018
Dear David, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Generator. I am extemley sorry to read that you had some trouble sleeping. As you correctly identified, the reception staff do all they can to help. We have a strict curfew of 11pm when everything needs to be quiet, our security guard patrols the corridors the entire night to ensure our guests get a good night sleep - I am sorry that this didn't exactly work our during your stay. I hope that dispite this you still enjoyed your time in Berlin - Amy, Reception
Responded September 25, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
6.0
Tatyana
Couple
Bed In Shared Room Capacity 4
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
Above average”
Very poor.
Reviewed September 19, 2018
Dear Tatyana - thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read that your stay with us wasn't as expected. We would love it if you came back and gave us another try - Amy, Reception
Responded September 25, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
5.6
Ar from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Above average”
There is small wash sink in the room.The showers and toilets outside were flooded and toilets were full of shit,they did not bother to clear the drainage as it seems blocked
Reviewed September 18, 2018
Dear Ar - thank yop for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that your time at Generator wasn't as expected, I will pass your comments onto our management team. Amy- Reception
Responded September 25, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
3.2
Calvin from Canada
Solo traveler
Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Filthy and understaffed. Far from the city centre.”
One elevator was not working, and the one that did felt like it needed maintenance. There is one bathroom per floor per sex. It may be a problem when this place is booked because there are over 30 rooms per floor. I tried to find a nice bathroom but the men's were a complete mess on every floor except the 7th. The rest were some combination of smelly, flooded, litter on the floors or a door that needed to be shoved open. Mine on the 2nd floor was also missing a light with the wires wrapped sloppily in duct tape and smelled smoky. Many sinks have separate hot and cold faucets making them hard to use. The showerheads were old and splash water everywhere. I checked the cleaning sheets on each of the bathrooms and found the last cleaning entry up to 16 days in the past! The room was acceptable, but the outlets were loose and far from the beds. In my case it was 3 outlets for 4 beds. There were no reading lights in my room. There was a sink, but with separate cold and hot. A window in my room was also missing a screw on the hinge that limits how wide it can open which also prevented people from closing it. I slotted it back in place but it will not last. The beds were a bit creaky. It is not possible to sit up on the bottom bunk and there weren't any chairs in my room. The storage is cages on wheels under the beds. It can fit about 2 carry ons. My standard combination lock was a bit hard to thread through the chain. Some cages looked like their wheels were about to come off. There wasn't a lot of room to roll them out too. Check in queue took a while but otherwise ok. The food and drink are expensive as usual, but there is a supermarket nearby. There is no kitchen for guests and outside food / alcohol are not allowed. The living room is decently sized with some coin operated arcade games. There is also a patio behind the building. If you must stay here, find a place to shower like a public swimming pool and perhaps it will be okay.
Reviewed September 17, 2018
Dear Calvin, First of all I want to thank you for taking your time to review your stay. It is by continuous dialogue with our guests that we can develop and improve our guests experience in our premises. Having said that, I am sorry to hear about your over-all unsatisfactory visit you have paid to our hostel. We have fixed the elevator and notified our cleaning personnel regarding the bathroom on all floors and therefore it should be better in the future. I would love to see you again next time you are in Berlin, hoping you will find the hostel more enjoyable. All the best, Guilad.
Responded September 19, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
4.0
shaolong from Singapore
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Acceptable”
Was bitten by some unknown bugs on the bed with lots of bite rashes with itchiness lasting for few days. Toilet wasn’t cleaned as well, smells and looks really bad
Reviewed September 14, 2018
Dear Shaolong, I am both sorry and surprised to hear about your unfortunate encounter with unknown bugs, for it is the first time I hear about it. Besides that we are always trying to improve and we will make sure the toilets are clean and tidy in the future. Hope to see you again next time you are in Berlin, Guilad
Responded September 19, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
8.0
Excellent
Alfredo from Colombia
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Has all the basics”
Its far from city center but it is easy to take transport.
Reviewed September 12, 2018
Hi Alfredo, Thank you for your review, i'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hostel. While Berlin doesn't have one city center per-se, if you consider Alexanderplatz as the center it actually takes around 15 minutes to reach by public transportation. Hope you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again, Guilad
Responded September 19, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
6.0
Swee from Malaysia
Group
Twin with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
Above average”
The train/tram is nearby. There’s a grocery shop rewe and it opens from 7am-10pm. Room has no fan, the toilet is dirty, and the check in q is very long.
Reviewed September 09, 2018
4.4
OO from Malaysia
Group
1 Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory with Private Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Just simple..Nothing special”
Long Q for check in, small lift and dirty shared toilet
Reviewed September 04, 2018
Dear OO - thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that your time at Generator wasn't as expected, I hope that dispite this you would consider staying with us in the future. Amy, Reception
Responded September 25, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
6.0
Wei from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Above average”
Didn't check in
Reviewed August 31, 2018
Hi Wei - Thank you for taking the time to let us kow. Maybe next time :) best wishes - Amy, Reception
Responded August 31, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
9.2
Exceptional
Sabrina from Germany
Couple
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Great stay”
We had a twin room. For us perfect, because we just slept there. The shower is a little bit small. It was clean and a really comfy bed. There is a bar on the ground floor. It was loud and busy somtimes until 4 am. It is not for a person who cant sleep with that. Otherwise it was a great hostel and I would stay again.
Reviewed August 26, 2018
Hi Sabrina - Thank you for your great review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon :) best wishes from Berlin - Amy, Reception
Responded August 30, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
4.0
Abigail from United States
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Only appropriate as a last resort. ”
Slow and tiny elevator that doesnt fit more than three people, extremely long check ins, hotel is massively understaffed and all of them look miserable like they hate their jobs and are generally very rude. Try to order food and bartender says “are you sure you want to order, it will be an hour wait, a big group just ordered” trying to deter people from ordering food, even though you are not allowed to bring outside food to the hostel - I say yes and get my food in 20 minutes. Loud construction starting at 6am, rooms are extremely hot, with a bunch of loud and inconsiderate college aged kids. Most of the guys will make a pass at you and follow you around if you are a solo female traveler. I couldn’t sleep more than 4 hours because the beds were uncomfortable, the construction, noisy drunk people, and the heat. Graffiti on the walls written in dust, dirty bathrooms. I did not even attempt to shower here. Awful awful awful. Worst hostel stay in Berlin yet. This place is a tourist trap.
Reviewed August 24, 2018
Dear Abigail - Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am so sorry to read that you had some issues during your stay, I will follow up your comments with the corresponding departments. I hope that you had a wonderful time in Berlin and hope to see you again - Amy, Reception
Responded August 30, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
6.0
Wei from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Bed in 8-Bed Dormitory with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
No show”
I didn't check in
Reviewed August 21, 2018
Maybe next time Wei :) Amy, Reception
Responded August 24, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
3.6
Suet from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Hostel with thief ”
I went to the hostel at 11 and the receptionist told me that I can’t check in until 2pm. So I went to do my laundry and when I went to take all my clothes from the dryer. I realise that someone stole my underwear and bra!!! The toilets are really dirty and the shower drainage was blocked!! I was having shower in a pond of water.
Reviewed August 17, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Rose from United Kingdom
Group
Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
not bad but when its busy too hectic”
waited long to check in due to lots of guests not enough staff but facilities were good and room was decent . Couldnt get hairdryer because even at night it was busy .not bad for the price and clean
Reviewed August 08, 2018
Dear Rose, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that you had to wait so long - Unfortunately. in summer the long queues cannot be avaoided. I hope this did not affect your time in Berlin too much and you still had a great time - Amy, Reception
Responded August 24, 2018
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss