Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
See all 45 photos
Bed Generator Hostel London
Bed
See all 45 photos
Lobby Generator Hostel London
Lobby
See all 45 photos
Interior view Generator Hostel London
Interior view
See all 45 photos
Interior view Generator Hostel London
Interior view
See all 45 photos
See map Generator Hostel London
See map
Excellent
Location
8.5
See all 45 photos Generator Hostel London
See all 45 photos
Removed from saved list
2018

Generator Hostel London

Excellent location
- Inside city center
- What's nearby?
Very good
From 1720 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7
/
10
Very good value for money
7.8
Value for money7.8
Distance to city center00 km
Location rating8.5
Nearest airportLondon City Airport (LCY)
Distance to airport12.5 km
  • 330 meters to public transportation

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Bar

  • Nightclub

Room choices
This property is in high demand!Last booked 6 hours ago | 11 travelers are looking at this property right now
6 Bed Private
6 Bed Private
...
  • Room size: 17 m²/183 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Quad
Quad
...
  • Room size: 9 m²/97 ft²
  • City view
  • 2 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
Single Room
Single Room
...
  • Room size: 9 m²/97 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 sofa bed
Enter dates to see prices
Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 9 m²/97 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • Room size: 29 m²/312 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Triple
Triple
...
  • Room size: 9 m²/97 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 single bed and 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Twin Room
Twin Room
...
  • Room size: 9 m²/97 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Shared Dorm
1 Bed in a 4-Bed Mixed Shared Dorm
...
  • Room size: 9 m²/97 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
6 Bed Private
6 Bed Private
...
  • Room size: 16 m²/172 ft²
  • 6 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • Room size: 29 m²/312 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for Generator Hostel London?
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
More about Generator Hostel London

More about Generator Hostel London

An overview

Show more

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

What to eat nearby

British cuisine
British cuisine
Fork Deli Patisserie
60 m British, Cafe, Gluten Free
Bloomsbury Coffee House
140 m British, Cafe, Gluten Free
49 Cafe
150 m British, Cafe
European cuisine
European cuisine
Woburn Place
380 m European
Albertini
440 m European, Italian
Carluccio's - St Pancras
490 m European, Gluten Free, Italian
Asian cuisine
Asian cuisine
Tavistock Tandoori
40 m Asian, Bangladeshi, Halal
Chilli Cool
70 m Asian, Chinese
Vegetarian's Paradise
100 m Asian, Indian, Vegan

What they offer

Show less

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show more

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show more

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1720)Booking.com Reviews (5318)
7.7
/
10
Cleanliness7.6
Facilities7.2
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality7.2
Service7.8
Value for money7.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
繁體中文 (台灣)
繁體中文 (香港)
more
Room type
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
6 Bed Private
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
more
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1188 verified guest comments
12345
6.8
Good
Ebrahim from United Arab Emirates
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 9 nights in September 2018
Good”
15 min walking to nearest underground kings cross. Very small rooms. Very good for solo travelers.
Reviewed October 08, 2018
Dear , Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel after your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. At Generator we always aim to deliver an awesome experience with great service and hospitality, making our guest feel at home. Generator London is a very old building that was originally a police training barracks. Unfortunately with it being a listed building, the opportunity for us to change the shape and size of the rooms is not there. We have arranged the rooms in the best possible way to accommodate our guests comfortably and safely and I am sorry you feel we haven’t achieved that. If you would like to provide us with your room number, we could have a look and see if there is anything else we could do to make it better. Next time you visit any of our hostels, please do not hesitate to visit our reception team who would be more than happy to try and find a solution for you. Regards, Guest Relations Team
Show more
Generator Hostel London
4.4
Alex from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Not too bad ”
Pretty much what you expect. Was alright - don't expect much. Toilets kind of smelled & showers looked really unclean. Was hard to charge phone given positioning of wall sockets.
Reviewed September 28, 2018
Hi there, we are disappointed by your feedback but thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our housekeeping manager will be informed.
Responded September 29, 2018
Generator Hostel London
8.8
Excellent
GWANGHEE from South Korea
Solo traveler
1 Bed in a 8-Bed Mixed Shared Dorm
Stayed 4 nights in September 2018
Good place to stay”
Good!!
Reviewed September 22, 2018
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to give us this lovely feedback! We are so happy to know you had such an incredible stay with us and we would love to see you again very soon! Regards, Reception team
Responded September 22, 2018
Generator Hostel London
6.4
Good
Seong from Malaysia
Couple
Shared Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Everything thing have to pay”
I don't expect you have to pay for basic amenities like towel, hair dryer etc. The locker is without pad lock, you havr to buy one for your own.
Reviewed September 21, 2018
Dear Seong, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel after your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. At Generator we always aim to deliver an awesome experience with great service and hospitality. It really saddens me when I read that a guest did not enjoy our offering nor did they find it good value for money. We do not include all of those extras into your booking so we can keep the bed price low and make it affordable for everyone, we do value any feedback and are always open to suggestions. We hope to have you staying with us again soon. Kind Regards Guest Relations Team
Responded September 21, 2018
Generator Hostel London
5.2
William from United Kingdom
Couple
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018
Above average”
Hot rooms in summer. Lots of bathroom facilities were out of order.
Reviewed September 13, 2018
Dear William, Thank you for your review and for the fair comments you have made. I apologise for the heat. We have been having a bit of heat wave in London recently and this has affected the temperature in the rooms. We do provide fans “free of charge” from reception that is open 24/7. Maintenance is one of our top priorities and our maintenance crew work long and hard to maintain standards and it looks like, on this occasion, that we missed the mark. I will relay your feedback to our department manager who will retrain their team to ensure our standards don’t drop. Next time please let us know immediately at reception if you have any concerns, we want all our guests to enjoy a fun stay in a clean a comfortable house. I hope you enjoyed other elements of your stay and that you will visit us again when you are next in London. Regards Guest Relations Team
Show more
Generator Hostel London
9.2
Exceptional
Yuliia
Solo traveler
6 Bed Private
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Good hostel for youth! Active day&night”
Good place to stay near St.Pancras, London Euston, and King's Kross. The stuff isvery firendly, room is clean, breakfast is good (7-8pounds, you can choose anything you want). It's possible to buy sleeping mask etc at the lobby for a comfortable stay. Wi-Fi was working, but it was impossible to make a call, so not so fast. It's very active day&night, so I suppose it's more youth place. Also a few good bookshops nearby:)
Reviewed September 06, 2018
Dear Yuliia, thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback. We are so happy to know you had such an incredible time with us and we would love to see you again very soon! Regards, Reception team
Responded September 07, 2018
Generator Hostel London
8.0
Excellent
ABIGAIL from Philippines
Group
Quad
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018
Very strategic and nice place to stay.”
The place was very close to the attractions. It is very near to convenient stores.
Reviewed September 04, 2018
Dear Abigail, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel after your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. At Generator we always aim to deliver an awesome experience with great service and hospitality, making people feel like they are “home away from home”. It is great to read you enjoyed your time in our hostel. We hope to have you staying with us again soon Kind Regards Guest Relations Team
Responded September 04, 2018
Generator Hostel London
5.6
chung from Singapore
Couple
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Above average”
overall is good, just the toilet a bit creepy very dark.
Reviewed August 14, 2018
Dear chung, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel after your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. At Generator we always aim to deliver an awesome experience with great service and hospitality, making our guest feel at home. It really saddens me when I read that a guest found aspects of the hostel not to be to their expectations. I do hope that our reception team that is there for our guests 24/7 were able to help you with some of the points you have raised. We have an on-site maintenance team so please do inform us at the time of any issues and we will always try our best to resolve them right away. Once again, we are very sorry for your experience and we hope that you give us another chance to show you what a great place Generator is! Kind Regards, Guest Relations Team
Show more
Generator Hostel London
4.4
magali from South Africa
Family with young children
Shared Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
terrible hostel ”
Hundreds of rooms and very few showers and toilets. You have to pay for everything, including luggage left behing and charging points for your phone. Loud and expensive. But yes, the staff is friendly - still one of the worst value for money hostels I have ever been in. Stay somewhere else.
Reviewed August 13, 2018
Dear magali, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hostel after your stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. At Generator we always aim to deliver an awesome experience with great service and hospitality, including full bellies of delicious food. It really saddens me when I read that a guest did not enjoy our offering nor did they find it good value for money. We have a team of great team who works really hard to please all. We would have loved to have had the opportunity to address these issues during your stay if you bought them to our attention. Our team is there to help 24/7 and it is unfortunate that we missed this opportunity. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we get the opportunity to show you how great Generator can be. Kind Regards, Guest Relations Team
Show more
Generator Hostel London
8.4
Excellent
Yeong from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Room temperature is killing”
I visited this place during summer and the room works like a heating oven !
Reviewed August 13, 2018
Dea Yeong, Thank you for your feedback and I am really sorry for your troubles. We don't have air con in our hostel as we would need it very very rarely thanks to gloomy London weather. Of course we do understand the heat can be annoying when it comes so suddenly, so we do offer fans for "free rental" to make it better for our guests on those rare hot days. Next time you visit Generator, please pop down to reception any time of day or night and where our team would be happy to assist you with your queries or requests. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in our beautiful city and hopefully you will visit Generator again. Regards, Guest Relations Team
Responded August 14, 2018
Generator Hostel London
9.6
Exceptional
Paul from Ireland
Solo traveler
Shared Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2018
Excellent location”
Staff were very helpful and very friendly at reception. Location is close to West end.
Reviewed August 07, 2018
Dear Guest, Generator hostels would like to thank you for taking the time to review us! It is great to read you found our staff helpful and friendly :) We can only hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Guest Relations Team
Responded August 07, 2018
Generator Hostel London
6.4
Good
hye from South Korea
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 5 nights in July 2018
It was good”
But the breakfast ticket couldnt refund so i think they should mention it.
Reviewed August 01, 2018
Dear Hye, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback! We hope to see you again soon, keep the breakfast ticket for next time! Regards, Reception team
Responded August 02, 2018
Generator Hostel London
5.6
Nen from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Very hot in a room”
No aircon or fan in a room, very hot in summer
Reviewed July 22, 2018
Hello Nen, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you found your room to be too hot. We do our best to share room fans amongst as many guests as possible. Kind regards, Customer relations team
Responded July 22, 2018
Generator Hostel London
4.8
Catarina from Portugal
Family with teens
Quad
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018
Bad for the money. No towels and basic comodities”
Lift out of order for 4 days... you pay even to keep your luggage
Reviewed July 15, 2018
6.8
Good
Carmelita from Brazil
Solo traveler
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 5 nights in July 2018
Fancy only where you have to pay more”
The locations is good and the place is very fancy only outside the bedrooms. Inside the bedrooms there weren't basic thinks: there are not fan to everybody, plugs and the beds are not comfortable. I was able to charged my phone because one guy lend us one extension, otherwise I would stay 5 days without phone or I would have to stay stand up on the Tunes for long waiting my phone charge instead enjoy the city. The fans only work if you sleep on the back bed. Everybody in my room was complain about the hit. I was missing take care about consumers needs. I recommend you find a airbnb or another place near because only the location is good.
Reviewed July 10, 2018
Hi there, our reception is available 24hours a day and can provide fans for the rooms if required. There are plugs in one location in each room but we also have plug under each seat in our café and chill out areas.
Responded July 13, 2018
Generator Hostel London
7.2
Very good
danny from South Korea
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
Not bad”
I paid almost $120cad for 3nights cheap but room was so small literally i had no space to move even on my bed also its really hot everyroom they dont have any airconditionors not good in the summer
Reviewed July 06, 2018
Hello there, thanks for your feedback. Our reception team is available 24hours a day and can try moving to another room if required.
Responded July 13, 2018
Generator Hostel London
10.0
Exceptional
medyna from Indonesia
Family with teens
Quad
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Great”
Great hostel, but too bad one of our group bring a very heavy suitcase and we had to take the stairs. Think they had wheelchairs access but maybe it was to hassle to ring the employee to help us. Good place to watch world cup match.
Reviewed July 05, 2018
Hello Medyna, Thank you for taking time to review our hostel. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and found our public facilities enjoyable for the world cup. Our wheelchair access is limited to those in wheelchairs only. Kind regards, Customer relations team
Responded July 06, 2018
Generator Hostel London
8.4
Excellent
THATOE from Myanmar
Business traveler
Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Excellent”
On the noisy road So many activities Great location Value for money
Reviewed June 29, 2018
Dear Thatoe, Thank you for reviewing our hostel, we really appreciate our guests' feedbacks, as we always try to improve the service we provide. We hope you will come to visit us again on your future trips, Regards, Guest Relations Team
Responded June 29, 2018
Generator Hostel London
6.8
Good
David from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
1 Person in 4-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Slept like a log”
Great dorm room with just enough space for myself. Staff friendly and easy to approach. All day dining availble from 7am to 9pm in the cafe
Reviewed June 14, 2018
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking your time to review our hostel.
Responded June 15, 2018
Generator Hostel London
6.0
Bianca from Australia
Couple
Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018
Overall I would recommend even though we had a few hiccups ”
Great location, walking distance to attractions. The vibe was great and the cafe staff were awesome. Check in staff barely understood English which was difficult and they were borderline rude for no reason. We got bunk beds even though I paid for a double bed and they had to rooms to change and refused to refund anything. Shared showers are ok except the water floods within seconds and you feel like you're standing in your neighbours shower water which is a little gross. The rooms were so hot it was unbearable so we had to leave the windows opened all day and night and even that didn't help. You have to pay to leave your bag in a locker for a late checkout which I think is ridiculous. Pretty expensive for the standard you get and for a hostel but all of London is pricey and you're left with no choice if you're travelling on a budget. Overall I would recommend if you're happy with the above issues happening to you too, we were happy in the end but I probably wouldn't stay here again.
Reviewed June 14, 2018
Dear Bianca, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback! We are really sorry to know you didn't enjoy your stay, I wish we could have done more for you. It really saddens us knowing that reception team didn't make you happy, but unfortunately we only have a few rooms with the double beds and I'm sure they tried their best to give you one of those rooms. I'm sorry if this didn't happen. I wish you could give us the chance to do better next time. Regards, Reception team
Responded June 15, 2018
Generator Hostel London
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss