The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
 The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
Lobby The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
Lobby The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
See all 39 photos
Removed from saved list
7.3
Very good
10.1% this month
/10
(805 reviews)See what guests said
See map
8.2
Excellent
Location rating score
Excellent location - Inside city center
Popular neighborhood
Parking
Available
  • Al Saqi170 m
  • St Sophia's Cathedral210 m
  • Whiteleys210 m
  • Kensington Market220 m
  • Bayswater Tube Station320 m
  • Westbourne Grove440 m
  • Cherry Jam480 m
  • Queensway Tube Station500 m
  • Shirtsmith510 m
  • AIME510 m
  • Free Wi-Fi

    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel

    23-25 Leinster Square, Hyde Park, London, United Kingdom, W2 4NE - See map
    Very good service
    7.6 rating for service
    Very good cleanliness
    7.4 rating for cleanliness
    • 330 meters to public transportation

    • Located in heart of London

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Air conditioning

    • Daily housekeeping

    This property is in high demand!

    Booked 21 times

    Property ranking|Compared to 25,478 London properties
    See all rankings
    Value for money score
    7.3/10
    Location score
    8.2/10
    Service score
    7.6/10
    Cleanliness score
    7.4/10
    Better than
    98
    %
    of London properties
    Better than
    98
    %
    of London properties
    Better than
    98
    %
    of London properties
    Better than
    98
    %
    of London properties
    Value for money7.3
    Location rating8.2
    Nearest airportLondon City Airport (LCY)
    Distance to airport16.7 km

    Rooms available at The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel

    Triple Room
    Triple Room
    ...
    • Room size: 28 m²/301 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 single bed and 1 double b...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Single Room
    Single Room
    ...
    • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
    • Balcony/terrace
    • 1 single bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Economy Double Room
    Economy Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Room
    Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Luxury Double Room
    Luxury Double Room
    ...
    • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin Room
    Twin Room
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Non-smoking
    • 2 single beds
    Enter dates to see prices
    Studio
    Studio
    ...
    • Room size: 23 m²/248 ft²
    • Shower
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin Standard
    Twin Standard
    ...
    • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
    Enter dates to see prices
    Double Standard
    Double Standard
    ...
    • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
    Enter dates to see prices
    Twin Standard
    Twin Standard
    ...
    • Room size: 15 m²/161 ft²
    Enter dates to see prices
    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel

    More about The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    What to eat nearby

    British cuisine
    British cuisine
    Hereford Road
    190 m British, European, Gluten Free
    Hobson's Fish & Chips
    340 m British, Fast food, Gluten Free
    Eden Bar & Restaurant
    440 m British
    European cuisine
    European cuisine
    Nando's - Bayswater
    120 m European, Halal, Portuguese
    De Amicis Ristorante Italiano
    530 m European, Italian, Mediterranean
    Ef's
    930 m European
    Asian cuisine
    Asian cuisine
    C & R Restaurant
    110 m Asian, Chinese, Halal
    Inaho
    160 m Asian, Japanese, Sushi
    Durbar Tandoori Restaurant
    180 m Asian, Halal, Indian

    What's nearby

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show more

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Reviews of The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel from real guests

    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    Agoda Reviews (805)Booking.com Reviews (715)
    7.3
    /
    10
    Very good
    10.1% this month
    Cleanliness7.4
    Facilities6.5
    Location8.2
    Room comfort and quality6.9
    Service7.6
    Value for money7.3
    Rating
    9+ Exceptional (74)
    8-9 Excellent (86)
    7-8 Very Good (144)
    6-7 Good (67)
    <6 Below Expectation (143)
    Time of the year
    Mar - May (198)
    Jun - Aug (142)
    Sep - Nov (78)
    Dec - Feb (96)
    All languages
    All guests (805)
    All room types

    Show reviews that mention 

    Showing 514 verified guest comments
    12345
    8.0
    Excellent
    Ahmad from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Twin Room
    Stayed 3 nights in June 2019

    Great location with alot of Halal Food”

    This place is near Bayswater station about 5-7 minutes walk. A lot of Halal Food i.e. Tinseltown, a few Lebanese, middle eastern restaurant. Plenty of groceries shops, Tesco, Waitrose and others. The room is comfortable, however, the bathroom is small. Its hard to move in the shower. Rather than using a wall mounted shower, they should consider to use a ceiling mounted shower. Just my 2 cents.

    Reviewed June 27, 2019
    6.4
    Good
    Tsz from Hong Kong
    Group
    Triple Room
    Stayed 2 nights in July 2019

    Good place to stay”

    The room is clean. Our room is at basement, the toilet is big with few handles on the wall, it look like for disable person use. From hotel to underground walk around 8-10 mins. The breakfast just have toast, tea, instant coffee, low price cheese, corns, that all.

    Reviewed July 21, 2019

    Dear Tsz, We appreciate you taking the time share your feedback. Your comments will be used to consider improvements in the future. Best wishes!

    Responded August 01, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    9.2
    Exceptional
    Mat from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    Triple Room
    Stayed 9 nights in July 2019

    Good location, near to tube stations and tourist attractions and value for money with friendly staff”

    Will definitely stay here again on the next trip.

    Reviewed July 24, 2019

    Dear Matt, Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback, we really appreciate it. I am delighted that you found your stay excellent and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes!

    Responded August 01, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    10.0
    Exceptional
    Andri from Malaysia
    Business traveler
    Double Room
    Stayed 6 nights in March 2019

    Perfect hotel at a perfect location”

    The hotel is just perfect. The staffs are super friendly, especially the guy from Greece (I forgot to ask his name) at the receptionist desk, he is particularly helpful in assisting the guest. Big room with cooking utensil, comfortable bed, three underground stations with different lines (District/Circle, Central, and Hammersmith & City) are within walking distance, so it's easy to reach the other parts of London. If you are a Muslim, it's very easy to find Halal food near Bayswater station, or along the main street beside the hotel for the fancier restaurants. Thank you Royale Chulan Hyde Park for the great stay at the great price

    Reviewed April 09, 2019
    9.2
    Exceptional
    faralinah from Malaysia
    Group
    Triple Room
    Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

    I love this hotel!”

    Everything good about this hotel, from the staff until the room, all is fine! Make u feel like u are at home! I love the mini stove and microwave that they provide. Just 7mins walking from bayswater underground station and 10mins from queensway station. Good environment, many eateries plus Halal food is everywhere and got halal supermarket too

    Reviewed March 15, 2019
    6.4
    Good
    Christine from United Kingdom
    Family with teens
    Economy Double Room
    Stayed 1 night in July 2019

    Staff”

    Was disappointed because my daughter and I arrived at 11am to check in because we were told we could . My husband phoned up to check that we could check in at that time and was told this wouldn’t be a problem. So after travelling from Grimsby to kings cross then catching tubes and walking to the hotel to be told we couldn’t check in until 2pm was disappointing .

    Reviewed July 17, 2019

    Dear Christine, Please be assured that the comfort of our guest is of utmost importance and we regret to read that we failed in providing an enjoyable stay and a smooth check-in on this occasion. Best Wishes!

    Responded August 01, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    4.0
    Linda from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Twin Room
    Stayed 1 night in July 2019

    Definitely not a 3starRooms small , hot can't open windows and noisy. Bathroom so so small. ”

    Only eight people can have breakfast at one time as dining room small, have to book time the day before. Can't open the curtains as no nets or blinds, room on the ground floor Very shabby needs a makeover On the positive side the staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for me.

    Reviewed July 13, 2019

    Dear Linda, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us following your recent stay. I am delighted that you found our staff helpful. We will use your comments about the issues you have experienced for future improvements. Best Wishes!

    Responded August 01, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    8.4
    Excellent
    ZAINAL from Malaysia
    Couple
    Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

    Excellent”

    Good location, close to Tube stn, shops & many Halal food outlets. Relatively spacious room but bathroom fittings need maintenance.

    Reviewed July 04, 2019

    Dear Zainal, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we appreciate your comments! We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes!

    Responded August 01, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    8.8
    Excellent
    Aini from Malaysia
    Couple
    Twin Room
    Stayed 3 nights in June 2019

    Excellent”

    Great location. Close to Bayswater n Queensway tube station, where enroute there are many restaurants n small shops. 5 minutes walk to the Hydepark. Great choices of shops to purchase small gifts for family n frens.

    Reviewed June 23, 2019

    Dear Aini, Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback, we really appreciate it. I am delighted that you found your stay excellent and we hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes!

    Responded July 02, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    6.8
    Good
    Kohilah from Malaysia
    Group
    Double Room
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

    Really needs upgrading works! ”

    The staff are super helpful and very attentive however the hotel is in dire need of upgrading works. The bathroom is so tiny that it feels you are showering in a telephone booth. The breakfast was absolutely pathetic and a waste of money. It is only toasted bread and boiled eggs with some cereal and coffee. For the time we visited it was on the cheaper side comparing to other hotels but i would not stay here again.

    Reviewed June 21, 2019

    Dear Kohilah, I am delighted that you found the staff to be helpful, however we are sorry to hear that the bathroom and the breakfast was not as you had expected. I will share your feedback with the leadership team. Best Wishes!

    Responded July 02, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    7.2
    Very good
    Paul from Malaysia
    Couple
    Double Room
    Stayed 3 nights in June 2019

    Quiet Location for Travel”

    If you are here for travel it will be a cleaver choice. Walking distance from Bayswater and Queensway station to get you to almost everywhere in the cities. The streets are quiet and clean too. Staffs are friendly, breakfast was simple but good if you are looking to eat quick and go. There's a lot of restaurant nearby the underground, and Tesco Express is available for you to get your grocers if you need. Rooms however are little bit small especially the bath room and shower area. But overall I'd still prefer because the ceiling is higher that makes the entire room looks larger than it actually were.

    Reviewed June 20, 2019

    Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we appreciate your comments! We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes!

    Responded July 02, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    2.8
    Heng from Singapore
    Couple
    Economy Double Room
    Stayed 3 nights in June 2019

    Choose only if you have no choice”

    Stayed double Econ room. When reached hotel, was told that they were unable to find my reservations. The gentleman told me that luckily they found a spare room and put in the basement . He kindly told us that since they lost my reservations on the 3 day, I could check out in the morning and they would upgrade me to a deluxe room. This I gladly accepted. On the 2nd night, I asked the lady receptionist if I could check out at 8 am and leave my luggage outside so they could shift it in the room as I was going sightseeing. Her reply was “did you book double Econ room? This is what u paid for, What u pay is what you get!” I don’t need an upgrade, what I really need is convenience and I certainly didn’t need to inconvenience myself by packing to shift. I asked her why she couldn’t inform me. She said it’s my responsibility to ask. I think It’s basic courtesy to inform your guest if things aren’t going to happen. I am on a vacation. I don’t need to be lectured. Btw room and toilet are tiny.

    Reviewed June 16, 2019

    Dear Heng, Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay. I am extremely sorry for your experience with our reception staff and your feedback has already been addressed with relevant parties for further discussion. Thank you once again for your comments, they will be used as a training opportunity with our team. Best Wishes!

    Responded July 02, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    4.8
    Pui from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    Triple Room
    Stayed 6 nights in May 2019

    Good location, room with kitchenette ”

    10 minutes walk from Bayswaster tube station. Easy to find international food at this area. Triple room with kitchenette very convenient for me to prepare light meal. From my personal view, some of the staffs not very friendly to chinese tourists.

    Reviewed June 03, 2019

    Dear Pui, I am delighted that you found the location and amenities in the room convenient, however we are sorry to hear that you had a poor impression of our staff. Rest assure that we do not tolerate any discrimination to any of our guests. We will use your comments about the issues you have experienced as a training opportunity. Best Wishes!

    Responded July 02, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    4.8
    chew from Malaysia
    Couple
    Economy Double Room
    Stayed 4 nights in May 2019

    Hotel needs major upgrading, helpful staff ”

    Purchased the economy room 603 (dont ever stay here if u r a light sleeper). The dining area is directly above and at 7am you can hear ppl stomping, table/chairs squeek. No quality sleep. We upgraded to the biggest room the next day. Room 304. And guess what? The air cond isnt working. Informed the staff and they brought a standing fan over as it was already 2am. Informed the counter next day and demanded to talk to the manager. They told us that they will try to fix the air cond before we got back. We got back to the room but the air cond not fixed yet but they replaced the fan with a portable cooling system. The sound was so loud and unbearable. Told the staff in charge the next mornjng and requested back for the fan. Once again mentioned that they would fix the air cond. Well they did. But not entirely. The air cond still went bonkers throughout the night also making a lot of noise. Plus,it wasnt cold enough. The only good thing would be that the staff were willing to help and come out with the solution. Shoutout to Alex. There was no show of the manager throughout my 5 days of stay A very unpleasant stay at the end of my honeymoon. To the owner, please upgrade the hotel.

    Reviewed May 28, 2019

    Dear Mr and Mrs Chew, I am sincerely grateful to you for sparing your valuable time in sharing your experience you had during your recent stay with us. We were very saddened to learn about your dissatisfaction with the stay due to the issues described, please, accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Your experience has been recorded and shared with the Senior Management of the hotel and we thought that with compensation given upon check-out, your experience was recovered. After seeing your review we understood that it was not and we are extremely sorry about it. We truly hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you the real standards of The Royale Chulan. Kind regards, Alex

    Responded July 02, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    8.0
    Excellent
    Chee from Singapore
    Couple
    Luxury Double Room
    Stayed 4 nights in December 2018

    Room was good but...”

    Location was okay. few mins walk to Bayswater station. Surrounding have quite a few bars, cafes, restaurants and convinence stores. Room wise, bed is comfortable and clean. But one of the side is beside the window which u cant walk over but to crawl over the bed to reach the window. Bathroom is super small, not recommended if u have childrens if u need to shower them together.

    Reviewed January 07, 2019
    5.6
    James from Canada
    Family with teens
    Triple Room
    Stayed 5 nights in June 2019

    Not worth the money”

    They got us a basement room that has a carpet odor and is really noisy on the first day. The room was so small and I could reach the kitchen sink from my bed. On the next day they moved us up to the second floor. The room was a lot nicer. However the bathroom was tiny ( I am a petite woman and it was even too tight for me) and the towel is likely to be dropped right into the toilet because it was hanging over the toilet. Their kitchen is not much of use and you have to buy oil etc. to cook. The bed was nice and comfortable, however, I can see it get dirty easily because people sre eating on lt (no proper table nest to it). This hotel shouldn't be three star.

    Reviewed July 01, 2019

    Dear James, We appreciate you taking the time share your feedback. Your comments about the issues experienced will be used to consider improvements in the future. Best wishes!

    Responded August 01, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    7.2
    Very good
    Chuen from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    Twin Room
    Stayed 5 nights in July 2019

    Staff attentiveness to improve ”

    Value for money but the most annoying is the temperature of the bath shower. Either too hot or freezing cold. This due to the mixer of hot and cold water.

    Reviewed July 20, 2019

    Dear Chuen, Thank you for sharing your feedback after your most recent stay. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We will use your comments about the issues you have experienced as a training opportunity with our maintenance team. Best Wishes

    Responded August 01, 2019
    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    6.8
    Good
    Seng from Malaysia
    Business traveler
    Double Room
    Stayed 6 nights in April 2019

    Location is ok, room is clean, toilet is very small, especially the shower area”

    Location is ideal, central of London with eateries and convenient stores around. Just the breakfast, I was told I will need to make an appointment to have breakfast as the breakfast area is very small, cannot accommodate more than a dozen people at a time, anyway I did not have any proper breakfast there even though I have booked for it, one of the guy staff is extremely friendly and helpful ,one is terrible, the rest are reasonably good, I will stay again if I am traveling alone as room is small and shower area is way too small, do not mind as I only shower one time a day

    Reviewed April 19, 2019
    4.8
    Kent from Singapore
    Couple
    Double Room
    Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

    Terrible experience ”

    This is our 1st time to London and we booked this hotel cos of the good location, reasonable price, has a lift and of course the more positive feedback seen on agoda. However we regretted our decision booking this hotel for the following reasons: 1. Toilet is really small and not user friendly as you can barely sit straight on the toilet bowl even though you are petite 2. We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. I don't mind if bedsheets are not changed but I was having a running nose and had placed tissue paper on the bed. But even though the bed is made by the housekeeper, the tissue paper was still left on the bed. 3. Room is not swept at all or not well as you can still see rubbish and hair lying on the floor 4. Breakfast is the same every day with very limited variety 5. No tissue paper, slippers and tablecloth are provided 6. Aircon is very noisy regardless you switched it on or off 7. Bed is hard and pillows are too soft Overall, apart from the good location, there is nothing else which is commendable. I definitely don't recommend this hotel.

    Reviewed March 21, 2019
    5.2
    Imelda from Indonesia
    Couple
    Double Room
    Stayed 6 nights in December 2018

    Good location but uncomfortable room”

    Stayed for 5 nights and a bit disappointed with the room. It's not about the size as we didn't expect a big room but the layout is just not right. There is a pantry in the corner that we think is no use and the bathroom is so small. We also found the bed sheet had stain on it. However the location is OK, not so far from the tube station, about 10 minutes walking

    Reviewed February 28, 2019
    12345
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel
    |Very good 7.3
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

    • Excellent location
    • Buckingham Palace
    • Bayswater Tube Station is within 0.32 km