Exceptional 9.3
Based on 554 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type

based on 554 reviews
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Room comfort and quality 9.2
  • Service 9.4
  • Value for money 9.2
  • Food and dining 8.8
Sort by

Paul from Australia
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
Good Value for Money
Location, staff friendliness, cleanliness
Stayed 4 nights, no problems for late check out. Staff were very courteous. Good place if you want to stay in Old Quarter of Hanoi.
Reviewed November 16, 2015

Cecilia from Sweden
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Great location and staff
The location in the middle of the old quarter, the very helpful staff and the great food
Reviewed November 08, 2015

Andrew from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Excellent Hotel
Staff, Location, Rooms
This is an excellent hotel. The staff speak very good English and are very helpful. It is located right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the old town but is very quiet and tranquil inside. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. A bit more expensive than many of the hotels in the area but well worth it, you get value for money.
Reviewed October 29, 2015

Chin from Malaysia
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
Great Hotel with Friendly Staff
Friendly staff, good restaurant, convenient location
Essence Hotel is a wonderful place to stay in because of the friendly staff. We stayed 1 night at Essence Hanoi and 3 nights at the next door Essence D'Orient Hotel, as we were curious to know the difference. D'Orient hotel is actually an extension of Essence Hotel who bought over their next door building. So, they are essentially the same hotel, however having stayed at both hotels, our advice is to stay at Essence Hotel if you can, the difference in the hotel room price is a few bucks. The original hotel has a nicer reception area, electronic key card lock vs normal key, and the rooms do look a bit better and cleaner although facilities are the same. That being said, if you can overlook that, both wings of the hotel are great because they are manned by the same friendly staff!
Reviewed October 27, 2015

Rainier from Indonesia
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2015
great hotel!
Friendly and informative staff, strategic location,
Reviewed October 26, 2015

Yee from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Window
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
Super value for money
Room, food, location
This hotel is great, room is awesome, food is delicious, staff is friendly, location is good, super worth the money! Definitely will choose the same hotel if come back to Hanoi!
Reviewed October 25, 2015

Alexandre from Belgium
Deluxe Window
Stayed 4 nights in September 2015
Outstanding service!
Caring staff, tasty breakfast, nice bathroom
Were were warmly welcomed by a drink in this perfectly located hotel. Jack, the Manager, was specially caring when I was feeling sick. He opened 2 options of rooms for us once we arrived, and offered a hot ginger honey tea to me in the room and showed sincere apology for the presence of 2 cockroaches in our 1st room by offering us a free private car back to the airport on the last day. We were so pleased to have pho every morning as breakfast too. Definitely a very good hotel in Hanoi!
Reviewed October 08, 2015

Cheng from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Good Hotel & Service
good staff, good service and good location...
I enjoy it...
Reviewed September 18, 2015

Quang from Germany
Deluxe Window
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015
Wonderful Hotel
Great location, very kind and helpful staff, proactive friendly service
We had a very good time and the hotel offered transport w/o charge due to a booking mistake which happened on our side. We warmly recommend this hotel!
Reviewed September 17, 2015

Kristen from United States
Solo traveler
Junior Suite
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Charming boutique in middle of Old Quarter
great staff, excellent location, good food!
I only stayed here one night, so I do not have a lot to say. However, my airport transfer was very nice, in a spotless Toyota SUV. Check-in was completed quickly. The hotel is right in the middle of Hanoi's bustling Old Quarter and only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. Great location!!! My room was very comfortable (Junior Suite) and had a soft bed, clean bathrooms (fully stocked with amenities), and speedy WiFi. I ate dinner at the restaurant on-site, and the food was excellent. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. Extremely affordable--a great value! I wish I had stayed there longer, and wish I had returned to it rather than staying at a different hotel in Hanoi after I returned from my Halong Bay cruise.
Reviewed September 07, 2015


Select loyalty program

Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.


Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.


Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: