Book Now: Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa

Exceptional
From 703 reviewsSee what guests said
9.2
97% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (703)
9.2
Exceptional
From 703 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness9.3
Facilities8.6
Location9.4
Room comfort and quality9.2
Service9.4
Value for money9.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
日本語
한국어
Français
more
Room type
Superior Room
Deluxe Window
Junior Suite
Family Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 639 verified guest comments
10.0
David from United States
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Great service in an excellent location
Noteworthy service that is comparable to the best anywhere.
Reviewed January 08, 2018
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Julie from Canada
Family with young children
Family Premier
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Friendly staff, central location
Pros - Good location in the heart of Old Quarter. Friendly staff. Good buffet breakfast but there are a lot of coffee shops, bun, pho, banh mi places around the hotel you can try too. Cons - a little bit of noise on weekend when bar street is crowded.
Reviewed January 04, 2018
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
MABS from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Gem in Hanoi
The hotel has been renovated and merged with another next door of their own. It is simply the friendliest place. They made Hanoi less overpowering. The Guest Relation lead staff was simply brilliant. English impeccable.....to the point ....transparent and listed to our needs before suggesting solutions. Booked all day trip through him. Also booked cycle tour for the day through him. Susan at front desk was eager and effective....happy and kind and solution minded. Simon ...night manager....was a star when I had pain in my foot. He got me ice bucket and meds and cared enough to worry about my needs. We had to relocate to another room as AC failed. The move was made smooth and cheerfully. We did not mind it at all even though I was hobbling with bad foot the eve. The staff is the secret weapon here. the hotel is located in a dense place but then in Hanoi everything is located in a dense place. We never opened the front door ever. Doorman was ever present and ready. Impressed
Reviewed December 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Wong from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
The best hotel in my trip
Staff are super nice and helpful. I stayed in this hotel for the first and last night of my trip, when I returned to the hotel in the last night, they already recognized me and prepared the luggage and room for me already. The location is very good, walking distance to all the places I wanna go in old quarter. Although there is a bar opposite to the hotel but I can't hear the noise in the room. Also, there is an ATM right on front of the hotel and western union opposite to the hotel. And convenience store is just ar round the corner. Btw, the chicken noodle (seems only open in the morning) next to the hotel is really good for breakfast if you didn't book the breakfast in the hotel. Will definitely stay here again and try their spa next time!
Reviewed December 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
2.0
Wong from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Good choice
Staff are super nice and helpful. Location is good too, walking distance to all the places around the old quarter. Although there is a bar/pub opposite to the hotel but can't really hear the noise in the room.
Reviewed December 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Madeline from Malaysia
Group
Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Services is AWESOME!
Upon arrival & checked in, we’re guided by the staff about what is happening nearby hotel. They present you a map. For those whose has problem in sleeping, do take note the room facing the street where " night life street " with music is banging your ears. You may have sleepless night. I told the staff that I required a quiet room - they are so kind to bring me to the room & show they have invested 2 layers glass doors for all the rooms facing street. But for those whose are lite sleeper, do take a note Do try out their SPA or MASSAGE - it was cheap & nice! The staff services are excellent where they speak good English. THUMBS UP for them. The location of the hotel is great where you can try lots of street foods. There is a street food stall (morning) next to hotel has delicious & tasty chicken noodle soup. Beware when you called a uber as they can't wait long as the street is so narrow.
Reviewed December 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Umatharan from Malaysia
Business traveler
Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Great location in Old Quarters
Love the welcome fruit that actually replenished on daily basis. Complimentary wine also given on Junior Suite. Extremely easy to walk around the Old Quarter to Lake.
Reviewed December 16, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Melissa from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
If your looking for a more luxurious hotel with excellent customer service this is the place to be!
We were impressed with the quality of this hotel and felt very welcome from the moment we stepped out of the taxi from the airport. Very good location in old quarter lots to do very busy and lots of travellers young and old so very good place to be. The welcome tea and being shown to our room on arrival was a special touch. Additionally for tips of the best local restaurants speak to Tony he speaks very good English and was always happy to help. We ended up booking for an additional 2 nights after our trip to Halong Bay. Would highly recommend!
Reviewed November 30, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Vidya from India
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good Value for money, good rooms and good breakfast
I would highly recommend this hotel . Clean rooms , very much in the center of all the restaurants and bar . Breakfast was exceptional .
Reviewed November 26, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
yolanda from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
very recommended
location best , but weekend closed for motorcycle so if you arrive night flight , you must walk to the hotel (but very near , don't worry). staff hotel very helpful and nice. if I go back to Hanoi , I will stay again
Reviewed November 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Shane from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Just beautiful and beyond expectation
First impression of the room was outstanding. We booked a junior suite with a view and we're welcomed with rose petals on the bed and a selection of fruit and local sweets as well as a bottle of wine. The room was as described and the amenities were excellent. Service and help from the staff was fantastic. We will be staying here again in the future.
Reviewed November 07, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
10.0
Iwona from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Excellent hotel
The hotel has been recommended to us by a colleague and we are very glad that we followed her recommendation and are now happy to recommend it to other, even fussy, travellers). We landed at 5am (very tired) on a night flight from London to Hanoi and we were offered a room on arrival!!! The hotel is very clean, tastefully decorated and central (we walked everywhere). The bed and the pillows were very comfy. All the staff was extremely polite and helpful, especially Christine. The breakfast buffet was varied and delicious so as the evening menu in Essence Restaurant (our favourite was chicken rice Hoi An style). We visited a few restaurants in Hanoi on the basis of the Trip Advisor’s reviews but this one was our favourite and less expensive). We used the hotel’s SPA during a happy hour and the treatments were perfect. All in all we had a great stay.
Reviewed November 04, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
PANGCHIEW from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Very good
My room on third floor reeks kitchen and cooking smell permeating from kitchen on lower floor. Air freshener and spray is useless . Other than that, breakfast and staff very good. Location is super convenient for shoppers.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Robyn from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Best location
If you're looking for a hotel right in the middle of the action then this is fabulous. Amazing staff also who go out of their way to be helpful. Highly recommended.
Reviewed September 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Quang from Germany
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Excellent Staff and good location
Staff readily going the extra mile to help with any issue which may occur on a journey. Location is right next to beer corner, however I didn't notice any noise from the streets. Will come back again!
Reviewed August 22, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Angela from United States
Group
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Love them!
Everything from the staff to the welcome to the building were great. In particular, the service was exceptional - as soon as we arrived, an awesome woman (unfortunately I forget her name) produced a map of the area and proceeded to circle the best places for everything we wanted to do. They then offered to call our next destination to confirm that we had all the right details and to store our luggage for a day trip. The best hotel we stayed at the whole trip! Highly recommend for the people and the location is pretty prime too to catch a lot of great parts of Hanoi.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Benjamin from South Korea
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
Very well managed hotel and located in the most happening part of the old quarter
The hotel has the best location, within walking distance of Hoan Kiem Lake and around all the food (2 of the best reasons to come to Hanoi). Also shopping. Hotel's menu of services are pricey when compared to lesser rated services just around the hotel. We tried the massage and it didn't seem that great of a value when compared to the many other hotels advertising comparable services. 2 things stood out the most about this hotel: first, the staff were really attentive and the English service to breakdown our reservation, explain about the area was really well done by smiling, young professionals who were working hard while on summer break. Their attentiveness and friendliness was really refreshing. Second, the breakfast service was really delicious, fresh, and well inspired to make for a buffet that could either be a light morning snack, or an all out meal. The menu was a little limited but the stock was heavy with fresh items constantly coming out to replace empty spots.
Reviewed August 04, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
GILLES from France
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
best hotel in the old quarter
Amazing location, wonderful people, very nice hotel
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
NG from Singapore
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Friendly staff
Staff service was good. Take the trouble to explain the surrounding place with a map. Recommend us places of interest, even where to have the best beef noodle nearby
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Cody from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Exceptional
Recommended
Reviewed June 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Laura from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Super nice staff, hotel is an oasis of calm in the heart of the frenetic and fun Old Quarter
Top floor was quiet, room was clean and comfortable, staff was friendly and prices reasonable. Only con was breakfast a la carte not really an option, but for $10 the. Buffet breakfast was reasonable if you came with a big appetite
Reviewed May 29, 2017
Dear Ms Laura, Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our Essence Hanoi hotel & spa recently. Gently be reminded that you can opt to book our breakfast online, it's cheaper than to book room only and add breakfast later upon your check in. Our team wish you all the best and look forward to being of service to you in near future! Warmest Regards, Essence Hanoi hotel & spa Team
Show more
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Teck from Malaysia
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Nice and clean hotel. thanks
Very clean and friendly hotel. Close to bars and food stores every where around. We liked the hotel so much. We will be back.... thanks
Reviewed May 26, 2017
Dear Teck, It is our great pleasure to have a chance to serve you at our hotel recently. Thank you very much for being with us and thank you more for your generous compliments for our hotel. Yes, we are friendly hotel staff who love taking care of nice people like you. We wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you again soon in Hanoi! Best Regards, Essence Hanoi hotel & spa Team
Responded June 05, 2017
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Gerard from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2017
Excellent
The only thing to be aware of is that the position in the old town means that some of the rooms overlooking the road are going to be noisy - and the rooms at the back are not going to have much of a view, if any. In all other respects this was fine.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Leigh from Australia
Family with teens
Suite with Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
Excellent old quarter base for a family holiday
We had a great family stay her for 3 days visting Hanoi - the location was central, the room clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful
Reviewed April 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
john from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Exceptional
The staff are exceptional ... went the extra mile to help us out when Lyn became ill, assistance with transport, taxis, luggage etc etc. A great place to retreat from the hectic old quarter streets.
Reviewed April 16, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Eddy from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Super convenient location
Located steps to Beer Corner at Hanoi Old Quarters. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended
Reviewed March 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.4
joanna from Philippines
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013
great location
very central location. walking distance to anywhere. friendly staff
Reviewed March 16, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Irwin from United States
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 5 nights in February 2017
Great location if you like to be in the center
The Essence Hotel is a a very nice hotel in the incredibly busy and hectic Old Quarter of Hanoi. It is just a few steps (literally) from what is probably the busiest corner in the Old Corner - popularly known as "beer corner." That said, the hotel is a wonderful respite in the middle of all the hubhub. The staff was excellent - giving us advice about where to go each day, and even helped set up a nice day trip to Ninh Binh. They were attentive to everything we needed. Our room was adequate - clean and well-appointed, if not fancy, although we did face right into the large windowed kitchen of the building next door. Although the street is noisy (particularly Thursday through Sunday evenings), there is sound-proof glass which is very effective. We ate in the hotel one evening and the food was very good, as well. This is a solid 4-star hotel in a terrific location, so long as you don't mind being in the very center of the active Old Quarter.
Reviewed March 07, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Andrew from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Great hotel
We loved our stay here. The staff are the perfect combination of polite and helpful without being uncomfortably friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed March 07, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Rebecca from New Zealand
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Good stay
On arrival staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, they provided us with a map and explained how to get around. Room was clean, no window though. We had a meal in the restaurant and wait staff were lovely. Location was great, very central to Old Quarter with plenty to see and do in the area
Reviewed February 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Jennifer from Australia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017
A great place to stay
A good location- over the weekend the streets outside are traffic free so beer Hoi and restaurants spread outside the hotel. The restaurant here is very good. We didn't have breakfast included but it was about US $10 for the buffet and $4.90 for a simple three part breakfast, we had tea/ eggs/ toast and - a creme caramel! Staff good. Shower was over the bath so people with mobility issues may have difficulty getting in and out of the bath. Room was quiet and the hotel very security conscious. A pharmacy opposite, close to general shops and all that you need. Busy but easy to move around. We used their airport transfers- efficient and a comparable price
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Sarah from Canada
Family with teens
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Thanks Kwon!
Great location, clean rooms, amazing breakfast and incredibly friendly staff (thanks Kwon for all your advice!). Pay the extra for the breakfast when you book, it's worth it. This hotel is right by the corner with all the best evening plastic-chair action! We'd stay again.
Reviewed February 01, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Xian from Singapore
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Great service, awesome location
Good sized rooms with full amenities including a laptop and wifi. Great service to assist for anything from making restaurants reservations to airport transfers etc. Restaurant serves excellent food at wallet friendly prices
Reviewed February 01, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Michelle from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe Window
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Comfortable hotel right in the centre of the old town
Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely hotel.
Reviewed January 29, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
rokiah from Australia
Family with teens
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Very good- deserving of their ratings
Very good
Reviewed January 27, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Emilie from United States
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Amazing birthday in Hanoi!
We had the pleasure of staying at the essence hotel in Hanoi over my birthday. I can't say enough about the wonderful service we had from all of the staff, from the doormen, to the incredibly helpful and informative receptionists and also the spa staff. The accommodations were gorgeous and a great value. I accidentally broke a fold out mirror and let the staff know immediately and they were so gracious! Also, they surprised me with a birthday cake in our room after a night out of celebrating. The downstairs bar/restaurant is a wonderful oasis from the delightful chaos of Hanoi. We loved how sweet and accommodating everyone was at the hotel. We would recommend it to anyone looking for affordable luxury in Hanoi and hope to return!!
Reviewed January 20, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Yen from Malaysia
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Excellent stay
We arrived around 10am (check-in time is 2pm) but because the room was available, they allowed us to check in earlier! Unlike some hotels that may be required to play by the rule book, Essence Hanoi Hotel and Spa gave us that convenience and comfort. Location is superb. Right smack in Tien Ha Beer Street which is very lively during our weekend stay. Food is all around. So no issue with trying to locate food. Staffs were very friendly and helpful. They helped us with any queries we had, like where to get pho (yumzzz) and helped arrange airport transfer, booked ground tour for us to Halong Bay. Even helped us with dinner reservations. Especially helpful when they can communicate in English! We stayed in Junior Suite. Worth every penny. Spacious and clean. Even gave us complimentary wine.
Reviewed January 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Louise from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Great hotel
Good breakfast, great location in the old quarter, rooms modern and clean. Definitely recommend and would stay here again.
Reviewed January 03, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Nouchine from Luxembourg
Family with young children
Deluxe Window
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
lovely hotel and most helpful staff
Short version: pleasantly surprised with the (IMHO 5 star) prof personalised service and lovely baby friendly hotel even though we expected that. We truly feel like guests instead of just another clients. Long version: First time travelling with a 3months infant and we were pampered by the hotel's staff. The whole staff operates on a high level of service. As we extended our stay we got to try the room on the 3rd and 7th floor, and both were quiet. The rooms were very clean and the beds comf and not too soft. Room service food was great and they prepare it quiet quickly (within 10 min). And breakfast variety is great too, with excellent service. The Wifi however can be slow at times. All in all highly recommended and we would totally go back there when back in Hannoi.
Reviewed December 14, 2016
2 travelers found this review helpful. Did you?|
9.2
Sandra from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great location, very helpful staff
The staff was super helpful! Location is perfect as in the middle of all the buzz.
Reviewed December 08, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
2.4
Samia from Canada
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Excellent service and great food!
We loved the central location and the staff were just amazing! They catered to all our needs and helped with our travel related questions. The breakfa st buffet was superb and presentation was fabulous!
Reviewed December 05, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
sashena from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Great hotel in Old Quarter!
Room was good, staff was very helpful. Breakfast was average!
Reviewed November 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Niraj from Sri Lanka
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Very good location.
This is an excellent hotel and a good price in the middle of old quarters. I used one of their trips and it was excellent too. Will use this hotel again.
Reviewed November 22, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
GILLES from France
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Extremely nice people and hotel perfectly located in the heart of old town
Very nice hotel, very nice people, so kind, location is perfect
Reviewed November 13, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
10.0
Hope from United States
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Loved Essenes Hotel!
Wonderful, helpful staff welcaimed us after long flight. Very good breakfast each day. Including several hot options - omlettes, pancakes, French toast - and delicious buffet. Location perfect if you would like to be in Old Quarter with lots going on. Essence Restaurant is very good. We had a wonderful dinner there. They were amazing in responding to our need for gluten free options. Highly recommend, would go back with enthusiasm!
Reviewed October 12, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
9.2
Nina from Netherlands
Group
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Last night in Hanoi
Me and my friend stayed here on her last night in Hanoi. Upon arrival received a very warm welcome of the staff. Because it was our last night in Hanoi we got a free upgrade! Room was very nice, spacious and clean. The bed was amazing, very big and comfortable, and the bathroom was very neat as well. Lovely stay at this hotel, would also highly recommend eating at their restaurant on the ground floor. The only downside was that breakfast was not included in the roomprice and cost $10 per person if added.
Reviewed October 10, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
RODERICK from Philippines
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Excellent service! Great staff!
Great location... staff are very warm, helpful and friendly
Reviewed October 08, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
9.6
Brian from United States
Couple
Deluxe Window
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
Highly recommended
Great location Great staff Great food Nice room
Reviewed September 26, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
10.0
Samuel from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe Window
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
excellent hotel with very good staff.. good location.. clean rooms..
very good staff, responsive, pro-active.. excellent concierge
Reviewed September 16, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Yoot from Australia
Couple
Junior Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Staff
all good. Roy is fantastic. Recommended a eating place, local food and local price. He always had good intentions for us
Reviewed September 07, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|