Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 149 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 7.7
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food and dining 6.6
Sort by

li from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Double
Stayed one night in October 2015
no signboard showing the hotel name
good location, clean room
The receptionist insist that I return the hair dryer after using it and cannot wait until check out. The hotel dont even have a boiler and can't request for hot water. Lots of staircase and steps to reach the room. No signboard outside the hotel gate with the hotel name.
Reviewed October 20, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

adrian from United States
Couples
Double
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
Good place to stay
location, food, clean
Reviewed September 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Jan from Australia
Solo travelers
Single
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
Facade of hotel is deceptive, but it's central
Location, location, location
When I arrived there was a blackout. No electricity in the reception area. No room card could be issued and no WIFI. In the section of the building I was staying, at least there was electricity. However, no hot water for 2 days. Air conditioner did not work at all, it just blew hot air, which was an issue due to the hot weather in Budapest this summer. Staff member was however, sympathetic, helpful and pleasant. Good part of this hotel is that it is central located close to the market, CBD, metro, spas etc.
Reviewed September 08, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Gerd from Germany
Solo travelers
Single
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
room 167
Location, some friendly staff, location
A booking for a single room with river view was made in January 2015. On 29 May 2015 I was given a little dark & with iron bars behind the windows. The view was a wall of the inner court where the staff smoked & sounds of exhausts could be heard. The room was small, dark and stuffy. The van & aircon didn't work, the telephone was useless as it crackled and no conversation could be conducted as I could not hear a thing, the tv, a very old model, didn't work properly nor did the little fridge. The blowdryer I was given on loan by the reception was hardly working. All in all room-wise the hotel was a big disappointment; this was a room for a late walk-in and not for a person who had a confirmed booking already in January. The hotel or you as booking agency could have informed me whether my request for a view could be granted or not. As I have seen another single room (with street view)in that hotel the price I paid was absolutely not justified.
Reviewed June 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Toth from Hungary
Couples
Double
Stayed one night in May 2015
City center
Location, atmosphere, friendly people
It was a littlebit short, but really great.
Reviewed June 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Gergo from Hungary
Couples
Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
over priced location is the only plus
if compared to other and actually much better hotels Matyas is way over priced. check out apartments instead at a much better value with similarly good location. the rooms are quite dull
Would not pay for it again but rather stay at an apartment....suggest you do the same....Matyas is way over priced there are much better offers at this location.
Reviewed May 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Gergo from Hungary
Groups
Double
Stayed one night in May 2015
matyas hotel
location, proximity to the event I was attending, room size
Rooms are cheap if you buy well in advance, otherwise it costs more than a 4/5 star....which is strange. Rooms were clean, service acceptable.
Reviewed May 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Anna from Hungary
Families with older children
Double
Stayed 9 nights in December 2014
a perfect stay
location, breakfasts, friendliness of staff
The hotel location is excellent. It is in the middle of the city in beautiful surrounding with the Danube river nearby. It is within a very easy reach to Metro line 3 and several bus stops. The hotel is located in an imposing old building, with rooms refurbished and an excellent restaurant attached where the breakfasts are served as well. Our room was clean and comfortable with all necessary things provided, the breakfasts excellent, the staff is very helpful and friendly. Ours was a very pleasant stay and we are waiting to go back again.
Reviewed May 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Tseghereda from Norway
Families with older children
Double
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Disappointed
in center, area
The first room was to cold internet was not working at all the room was dirty, then we complained and had to change room, bit better but not as it was announced in you web. The word is disappointed.
Reviewed January 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Rita from Sweden
Families with older children
Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Budapest in rain
Location, price, breakfast
Real good comparing to the price.
Reviewed December 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: