Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 149 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 7.7
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.8
  • Food and dining 6.6
Sort by

li from Malaysia
Solo travelers
Double
Stayed one night in October 2015
no signboard showing the hotel name
good location, clean room
The receptionist insist that I return the hair dryer after using it and cannot wait until check out. The hotel dont even have a boiler and can't request for hot water. Lots of staircase and steps to reach the room. No signboard outside the hotel gate with the hotel name.
Reviewed October 20, 2015

adrian from United States
Couples
Double
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
Good place to stay
location, food, clean
Reviewed September 08, 2015

Jan from Australia
Solo travelers
Single
Stayed 5 nights in August 2015
Facade of hotel is deceptive, but it's central
Location, location, location
When I arrived there was a blackout. No electricity in the reception area. No room card could be issued and no WIFI. In the section of the building I was staying, at least there was electricity. However, no hot water for 2 days. Air conditioner did not work at all, it just blew hot air, which was an issue due to the hot weather in Budapest this summer. Staff member was however, sympathetic, helpful and pleasant. Good part of this hotel is that it is central located close to the market, CBD, metro, spas etc.
Reviewed September 08, 2015

Gerd from Germany
Solo travelers
Single
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
room 167
Location, some friendly staff, location
A booking for a single room with river view was made in January 2015. On 29 May 2015 I was given a little dark & with iron bars behind the windows. The view was a wall of the inner court where the staff smoked & sounds of exhausts could be heard. The room was small, dark and stuffy. The van & aircon didn't work, the telephone was useless as it crackled and no conversation could be conducted as I could not hear a thing, the tv, a very old model, didn't work properly nor did the little fridge. The blowdryer I was given on loan by the reception was hardly working. All in all room-wise the hotel was a big disappointment; this was a room for a late walk-in and not for a person who had a confirmed booking already in January. The hotel or you as booking agency could have informed me whether my request for a view could be granted or not. As I have seen another single room (with street view)in that hotel the price I paid was absolutely not justified.
Reviewed June 01, 2015

Toth from Hungary
Couples
Double
Stayed one night in May 2015
City center
Location, atmosphere, friendly people
It was a littlebit short, but really great.
Reviewed June 01, 2015

Gergo from Hungary
Couples
Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
over priced location is the only plus
if compared to other and actually much better hotels Matyas is way over priced. check out apartments instead at a much better value with similarly good location. the rooms are quite dull
Would not pay for it again but rather stay at an apartment....suggest you do the same....Matyas is way over priced there are much better offers at this location.
Reviewed May 21, 2015

Gergo from Hungary
Groups
Double
Stayed one night in May 2015
matyas hotel
location, proximity to the event I was attending, room size
Rooms are cheap if you buy well in advance, otherwise it costs more than a 4/5 star....which is strange. Rooms were clean, service acceptable.
Reviewed May 19, 2015

Anna from Hungary
Families with older children
Double
Stayed 9 nights in December 2014
a perfect stay
location, breakfasts, friendliness of staff
The hotel location is excellent. It is in the middle of the city in beautiful surrounding with the Danube river nearby. It is within a very easy reach to Metro line 3 and several bus stops. The hotel is located in an imposing old building, with rooms refurbished and an excellent restaurant attached where the breakfasts are served as well. Our room was clean and comfortable with all necessary things provided, the breakfasts excellent, the staff is very helpful and friendly. Ours was a very pleasant stay and we are waiting to go back again.
Reviewed May 10, 2015

Tseghereda from Norway
Families with older children
Double
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Disappointed
in center, area
The first room was to cold internet was not working at all the room was dirty, then we complained and had to change room, bit better but not as it was announced in you web. The word is disappointed.
Reviewed January 02, 2015

Rita from Sweden
Families with older children
Double
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Budapest in rain
Location, price, breakfast
Real good comparing to the price.
Reviewed December 04, 2014


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: