Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 67 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 8.0
  • Location 8.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.2
Sort by

AMAR from Iraq
Business traveler
Single Room
Stayed 10 nights in April 2015
worthy and effective
clean, calm and the great location
I was enjoyed . All the staff quite professional and kind. Room service quite enough . Only the room size was smaller than expected
Reviewed May 22, 2015

Laura from United States
Solo traveler
Single Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2015
A charming place in a great location
Great location, wonderful staff, charming decor
I booked this hotel primarily for its location, and on that score it didn't disappoint. It made for a very convenient location to visit the many sites within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel itself is very charming and quite comfortable for a building of its age. I asked for a quiet room when I booked; indeed, there was almost no street noise while I was there, certainly none during late hours. Within the house, there were the usual creaks and squeaks one gets in a building of that era, but nothing that kept me up at night. The room was quite cozy with the heat on. WiFi was consistent albeit a bit slow with certain websites. The bathroom shower always had plenty of hot water and the pressure was adequate. The bed was very comfortable. Unlike some hotels of this period, this one comes with a small lift. However, my room was only accessible via steps (two up, seven down) -- no problem for me, but some people with limited mobility might have found it a challenge. Other rooms didn't have this obstacle. If this is an issue for you, consult the hotel before booking to make sure they can accommodate you. Staff were all wonderful, friendly but professional and quick to offer advice or assistance with any problems I had. That's their job of course, but they were especially welcoming. Normally I stay at cheaper hotels and save my money for other pursuits, but the discount I got through Agoda plus the location convinced me to spend a little more this time and I'm glad I did. I'd definitely consider staying there again in the future.
Reviewed April 10, 2015

Karl from Ireland
Group
Quad Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Just what was needed decent price. Great staff
Breakfast, shower
V good
Reviewed November 24, 2014

Jan from Philippines
Solo traveler
Single Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
Great food and great staff!
Staff Food Location
Great location! City centre is really nearby, just a 5 minute walk and you're there. Full irish breakfast is great! Staff were very friendly too!
Reviewed October 26, 2014

JIHYE from South Korea
Solo traveler
Single Room
Stayed one night in September 2013
lovely stay
full breakfast, location, elegant interior
Value for money! I liked the sufficient breakfast provided while staying.
Reviewed October 26, 2014

HU from China
Solo traveler
Twin Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Stay
Convenience enjoyable breakfast
The hotel is very close to O'counell street. No warm welcome to asian faces as noticed however. It's an old Hotel so the wooden floor makes my stay with full of noise, when someone moves in upper floors even in the late night. The curtain in bathroom is transparently white which looks not so safe during your shower.
Reviewed October 10, 2014

WAI from Portugal
Solo traveler
Single Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Good hotel
Good location, nice staff and nice restaurant
The stay is quite nice but the room is rather small, and furniture is little bit old.
Reviewed September 27, 2014

David from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Centrally located, in need of renovation
Location, car parking, breakfast
Castle Hotel is located close to the starting point of the Dublin tour buses and is an easy walk to good pubs for casual dining and to the main shopping streets. Internal courtyard parking was a great bonus and the breakfast, looking on to the courtyard was excellent. The Hotel restuarant we found less attractive. This is located underground down very rickety stairs. There was a well attended bar and video projection of sports for entertainment. Food was adequate but not pleasant unless we had not planned to join the "party" crowd.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

O from United Kingdom
Family with older children
Triple Room
Stayed one night in June 2014
Slightly expensive but quality acceptable
Location, Spacious
Staying in Dublin city centre, I already expected more expensive and smaller hotels. The expensive part was right but it's not that small after all. Location of this place is good, but the car park charges 10 euros per night with limited parking spaces, and a super difficult to find entrance. Everything quite standard from a 3-4 star hotel, just slightly overpriced I think.
Reviewed July 01, 2014

Miranda from Australia
Couple
Double Room
Stayed one night in May 2014
friendly and helpful staff
great location, vintage hotel with a nice feel
Generally was a good stay. They were happy to help and friendly staff is always a good thing. Responded to emails which was helpful.
Reviewed May 20, 2014


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: