Good 6.7
Based on 36 reviews
Very good 7.1
Based on 2145 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 36 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Location 7.0
  • Room comfort and quality 6.4
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food and dining 6.2
Sort by

Yun from Hong Kong
Couples
Double with Shower
Stayed one night in May 2013
Nice staff and hotel
Friendly staff, near tram station, can borrow kitchen from hotel
Reviewed June 03, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Glafkos from Cyprus
Groups
If you want it only...
Breakfast is good not bad location value for money...
The bedrooms was not smoking area and the wc no paper and clean :/
Reviewed March 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Elisangela from Portugal
Groups
Pleasant
The location is amazing.
The stairs from hell
Reviewed March 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Ezuan from Malaysia
Couples
Double/Twin Room
Stayed one night in April 2013
Great Hotel, friendly staff.
can leave your luggage after check out for sight seeing, secure location and very friendly staff
Very good. definitely will go back there if back in Amsterdam.
Reviewed May 07, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Sunil from India
Couples
Double/Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Great location but small rooms
Great Locations
Very Great Location,Breakfast is ok but lot of stairs to climb. Staff is good .Internet is good.
Reviewed March 07, 2013
Did you find this review helpful?

Felipe from Brazil
Couples
Péssimo funcionário, boa localização e...
Good price and location. Breakfast free but very simple.
One of the employees that uses glasses is VERY RUDE! He stayed complaining loud about the clients. When I arrived I approached him saying "good morni..." And before i finished my sentence he...
Reviewed February 28, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Martin from Czech Republic
Couples
Very good
Excellent location, all service you need for very reasonable price.
Noise from other rooms.
Reviewed February 27, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Melissa from United Kingdom
Groups
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed one night in December 2012
budget accommodation in nice location
location quiet but not too far from the centre and right next to public transport
Paid for two with breakfast included so didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised! Its a funny place and the staff are friendly enough to help you with anything. Great for metro and trams. Definitely worth the money and would stay again for the price we paid, not much more. Great value if you're travelling within a budget!
Reviewed December 10, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Marte from Mexico
Couples
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Ok hotel for past the night
Free internet in the whole hotel and nice location.
the best thing of this hotel is the free internet all around the hotel and the nice staff in the afternoons. however, there is some details that you may consider if you one to book in this hotel. the stairs are really small, like if you were in mayas's ruins with 10cm feet long each step, there are only 2 baths for all shared rooms. so, take a early shower is advisable and more if you have to check out.. because the check out time is 10 am!!! think that the breakfast end at 10 am too!! by the was, the toilet should have some aroma ;) since they are too small and shared for many rooms the hotel however have good points too. you are close to the famous red light district as well to a nice street full of asian restaurants. you can walk to the center and see many of the sign attractions of amsterdam i like the breakfast here, cheese, ham, coffee, salami and tost is esencially the things you get
Reviewed October 25, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Anonymous from Greece
Groups
Good
The free (basic) breakfast was a pleasant surprice. The room was big,comfortable and clean Metro station about 10 mins walk
It s well communicated in the hotel's description, but be aware, the stairs are very steep. Especially the ones leading to the second floor
Reviewed February 25, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Laura from Norway
Solo travelers
Very good
The location is excelent.
One women in the staf was so wonderful, a men in the staf not simpatic but he did what I ask him, like a machine, was ok too.
Reviewed February 23, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Ki from New Zealand
Couples
Double with Shared Bathroom
Stayed one night in October 2012
Not so great
Relaxed atmosphere
I would not stay here again. The room and the hotel in general was very old and not very clean. The first thing i notice as i walk in to the hotel was the smell of marijuana. Not sure if that is the norm in many budget hotels in amsterdam, but i was surprised. Discounting that, the facilities were not very good and in general not to my liking. The staff were generally very down to earth and friendly though.
Reviewed October 18, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Rashad from Azerbaijan
Business travelers
Double with Shower
Stayed one night in September 2012
good location
location
All went fine and neatly. Booking in and out was easy and informal. The double room I had was spaceus enough and with all I could imagine. No need to mention that all and everything was tidy and clean.
Reviewed September 25, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Javier from Spain
Groups
Pleasant
Close to the city center, price. Very kind women working on afternoon shift
Very rude man working on morning shift
Reviewed February 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Anonymous from Latvia
Solo travelers
Good value for money
Great location. Quite nice for its price.
Reviewed February 16, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Maria from Canada
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Clean hotel in great location, nice atmosphere.
Clean, good simple breakfast, kitchen facilities for guests.
We were very pleased with our stay at Hortus Hotel. It was very clean; our double room had an awesome shower (although toilet was shared). We had access to a kitchen, which was awesome because we were on a pretty tight budget! The staff were very friendly. The only negative was that the doors slammed so loudly, and that woke us up throughout the night and early morning.
Reviewed June 02, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Florian from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in September 2011
Value for money hotel, great breakfast
good breakfast, friendly service
took the number 9 tram from central to this location, walking from central station will be abit far, however if dont mind taking the tram, location is save and hotel people are friendly as well, walking to red light district will take around 15-20 minutes no probloem at all if you're in holiday, all in all value for money.
Reviewed October 20, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?

Ritabarbacecna from Portugal
Families with young children
Terrible experience
breakfast really simple, no elevator, the beds had gum, one employee was really rude
Reviewed February 13, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Deandre from United States
Groups
Great Area Small Space
The location was great. My first time being outside of the Central Station area and it was great to see the neighborhoods
It was really small.
Reviewed February 13, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Ai from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in April 2011
Suitable for budget traveller
Good price
The location is great as not too noisy at night,
Reviewed April 25, 2011
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: