Excellent 8.1
Based on 69 reviews
Excellent 8.6
Based on 4737 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 69 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 10.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Room comfort and quality 8.2
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food and dining 6.9
Sort by

Badge from Philippines
Couples
Double Room
Stayed one night in July 2013
unique room, modern design, complete experience
great room, hightech facilities and friendly staff
Citizen M was a unique experience. Hotel was not in the city center but transportation via tram to the city and train to the airport was nearby. I will definitely recommend this to all my friends. Citizen M is the best boutique hotel i have ever stayed in. Value for.money, excellent staff and very modern design.
Reviewed August 01, 2013

Adam from Australia
Solo travelers
Perfect traveller digs.
Love the concept. Small rooms, big public area. Encouraged you out of your room and down stairs where the staff are friendly and global citizens. Had a great time talking to people. And great ...
Yeah the pod style bathroom and shower is a little weird but you adjust to it. A little far from centre but completely doable. Being a little picky :)
Reviewed March 01, 2016

Sofia from Netherlands
Solo travelers
Perfect for a short stay
The location was very convenient, just a few meters to metro station or tram stop with direct connection to the centre and Schiphol airport. The hotel is perfect for a short stay, the room is a bit ...
One of the towels wasn't clean at all, which made me wonder about the overall cleanliness. Everything else was very good.
Reviewed February 29, 2016

Rohan from India
Business travelers
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Small Rooms
Clean, Internet, Easy access to airport
The rooms were very small. They were very exotically designed but the size was not impressive. The internet was good & the breakfast was OK. There's a direct train which takes you to the airport in 10 minutes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Darren from South Africa
Solo travelers
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Great hotel for a short stay
1) The originality & uniqueness 2) The staff 3) It's fun
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the manager, Andrew.This hotel is extremely modern, unique and fun.It is however not close to the city centre.You need to take a tram (which is directly outside the hotel) for ± 15 mins to get into Dam square.We arrived at 11h40.The first staff member wanted to charge us extra to check into our room earlier than 14h00.Another staff member was then kind enough to allow us to check in earlier at no extra charge.The rooms are unique and everything works off remote control.This system, however stopped working from Friday afternoon to Sunday morning.We discussed this issue with the manager,Andrew, who was extremely apologetic and was kind enough to offer us a free night stay next time we are in Amsterdam.I would not recommend more than 1 person staying in the room, as cool as it is, it is extremely small.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Anthony from United States
Couples
Great place to stay.
Clean close to transport.
Nothing it all was good
Reviewed February 29, 2016

Robert from United States
Solo travelers
Exceptional
King bed, comfortable environment, friendly and service-oriented staff
Would be nice to have complimentary coffee
Reviewed February 28, 2016

martijn from Netherlands
Solo travelers
Double Room
Stayed one night in June 2013
great staff, bad room technical state
staff, location, design
First and foremost: brilliant design, very clever idea behind the concept and in general you have wonderfully friendly and enthusiastic staff. I have been in hotel business for over 20 years and I would hire 90% of them with out any qualms. Even the housekeepers on the floor (although not speaking much Dutch or English) were all smiles and their genuine "good morning" was a great way to start our day. Upon arrival in the afternoon my reservation could not be found. After I gave my reservation number we were checked in swiftly but received no introduction whatsoever. The only information we received was on our onward travel and where to find the lift. The staff at the canteen were all brilliant. Friendly, cool and laid back and how refreshing to see that they seemed to enjoy their work. The Caribbean or perhaps African looking young lady there produced barista quality cappuccinos that were simply dynamite. When we returned from our concert, we found three members of staff on duty and we had drinks at the bar. Later, the young man at reception received a complaint via telephone and I picked up "water" and "we have only two on duty tonight so I cannot come up." This was a prelude to our own bad experiences, in hindsight. The next morning I could not get the shower to work. Only after I forced the shower doors closed quite violently, I managed to get the water to flow. My mother could not use the shower at all and could not read the numbers on the in room phone to call someone. Very sad that the design had won from practicality here. A problem I find so very often in hotels trying to be clever. Bravo for the design and idea behind your hotel, but epic fail in execution I am sorry to say. In her many years of traveling, this was the first time my mother stayed in a hotel where she left without having had a shower. The fact that no instructions were posted in Dutch anywhere is unacceptable in a hotel in Amsterdam.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Xinhao from Singapore
Couples
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2013
Great hotel, excellent service
Nice design, modern, clean
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Joseph from United States
Couples
Looking forward to staying again
Staff was fun and incredibly helpful. The facilities were great.
The toilet pod thing was a little odd for a shared space.
Reviewed February 28, 2016

Nick from Netherlands
Couples
Superb
Extra big bed, the design of the hotel, bar, lobby area.
We had issues with housekeeping several times. Rooms were clean, however the housekeeping service was not what we would have expected.
Reviewed February 26, 2016

LEE from Indonesia
Groups
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Great stay
Location to train station,proximitybto airport, breakfast
The stay was pleasant, asnwith the proximity to airport and train station, it makesnitveasier to travel to other cities by train, such as den haag. The hotel however is bit further out from city centre, but tram no 5 will take you pass all the main attractions.
Reviewed June 09, 2013

LEE from Indonesia
Groups
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Great sty for a short time in amsterdam
Closeness to airport, breakfast, room design
Reviewed June 09, 2013

Rick from Netherlands
Solo travelers
Great stay like always.
Great bed. Good shower. In short all what travelers need.
Reviewed February 24, 2016

Rick from Belgium
Solo travelers
Good
- modern rooms - easy check in
- location vs city center, although ideal to reach the highway or stay in Zuid
Reviewed February 23, 2016

LEE from Indonesia
Groups
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Great hotel
Breakfast concept price
Reviewed June 09, 2013

Sharifah from Malaysia
Couples
Double Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
Wonderful stay with great staff
Friendly helpful staff, 24 hours front desk, cool design
i had a wonderful stay in a really cool room design with a comfortable big bed. I spent 2 weeks around europe and my stay at citizenM was the best as the staff was the nicest compared to other hotels. so very helpful and attentive.the Tram station is right outside the hotel.
Reviewed June 03, 2013

John from Ireland
Couples
Funky hotel very friendly staff
Staff were very helpful and our overall stay was an enjoyable one
Rooms were small but we knew beforehand they would be
Reviewed February 23, 2016

Robert from Ireland
Couples
Exceptional
Amazing rooms
Reviewed February 23, 2016

Lily from New Zealand
Couples
Double Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Very modern hotel
Location to public transport, really modern room and helpful staff
The rooms are really modern, a real experience and we had heaps of fun checking out the different buttons. Free movies was great, we wish we had more time to stay in the hotel but we spent most of the time exploring the area. Location is great, only a few minutes from metro station and a tram stop right outside the hotel.
Reviewed May 27, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: