Very good 7.7
Based on 5357 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 5357 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.0
Sort by

Ting from Singapore
Family with older children
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Comfy room but inconvenience location
Room Size, View and Ambience
1st time visiting Penang with my teenage daughter. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful, especially the door man. Booked a Deluxe Sea Facing room. Room was spacious w nice sea view. Hotel Ambience was nice. There was a variety of eateries nearby but Hotel was not near to public bus stop, at least 10mins walk to Gurney Plaza, Gurney Hawker Centre and the Hip-On-Hop-Off bus stops. Not suitable for travellers who is not incline to walk far.
Reviewed December 07, 2014

Donovan from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Short getaway for wedding
Location, big rooms, location
it was pleasant.
Reviewed December 06, 2014

WAI from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed one night in November 2014
Strategically located
Location, facilities and value for money
So far so good, the staff a bit unfriendly
Reviewed December 05, 2014

Imbert from Singapore
Couple
Superior City View
Stayed one night in November 2014
5 star hotel for a 3 star price
The room, The location, The staff
Pleasantly surprised. The superior room was spacious and even the city facing view from 17th floor was good. The location along gurney drive is excellent for shopping (St Jo's) and all the local flair along the road. If rain, plenty of cabs to take back for RM10 per trip. The hotel staff were very nice, had extra coupon for in hour spa (room service) and the concierge and drivers were also very friendly. The morning breakfast buffet was understaffed as we had to get our own coffee (have not done this for a long while, usually there were roving waitress to serve us, but guess the brewed coffee takes time and that was good and worth the wait...)
Reviewed December 04, 2014

Mun from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
so so experience
Room view was good
Parking was full all the time in our 2 days stay. Had to go all the way up to level 5 and down to find a lot. Long lines to just exit the hotel. Many functions happening at the same time which made our stay not very pleasant or peaceful. Was expecting better environment and peace. Room was without towels when we checked in too.
Reviewed December 04, 2014

Eugenie from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior City View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Good location, painful experience
Location, view
Drama after drama. I tried to check in at 1.30pm on the day I arrived. Despite having only 1 person in front of me, the wait was over 15mins long. When I got there, they could not find my Agoda reservation which I made the day before, citing "it's the weekend, our reservation department is not working". The manager had to be called in to give me a room. When I got to the room, it was filled with the stench of fresh cigarette smoke. I went downstairs to demand a room change but I was given the excuse "but it's a non-smoking floor!" which apparently does not prevent people from smoking in the room. I continued to demand a room change, but the similar room was only available an hour later. When I came back, the room was ready, though "without towels". When I got back that night, they had only provided 1 towel, and I had to call for the 2nd towel to be delivered. Day 2... NO towels. Called for 2 towels, guy came up with 1 towel. I asked him for another, and he looked at me as if it was my fault and asked me to check the bathroom for towels. I said there were none which is why I called in the first place. He finally came back with the 2nd towel. Meanwhile, the lounge below had a very off-key band playing to absolutely no one (I can see why). Overall, the location was in a great location along Gurney Drive, but the service was excruciating. Didn't eat there so I cannot comment about the food.
Reviewed December 04, 2014

HOCK from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior City View
Stayed one night in November 2014
nice
nice place
nice place to stay... but abit expensive...
Reviewed December 04, 2014

Azydee from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Everything is perfect till the checkout time
nice room, nice housekeeping.
Checkout time took about 30min. that is crazily long. there are 2 counters. one is entertaining some who is buying a mattress. can it be done some other time or different counters. there are only 2 persons who are checking in front of me. and yet taking so long coz only go to 1 counter. to make matter worst the foreigner is arguing about some payment.
Reviewed December 03, 2014

Mohd from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Great Location
Location, Food & Cleanliness
Greate experience except for bad service when we hv to wait for 4 hours to get towel!!!!!!!
Reviewed December 03, 2014

roland from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014
Great room with great sea view
Friendly staffs, nice morning buffet, good location
My son love the room so much, enough space for him to run around. Love the sea view. :)
Reviewed December 03, 2014


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: