Very good 7.7
Based on 5361 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 5361 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Room comfort and quality 7.8
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food and dining 7.0
Sort by

Linda from Singapore
Couples
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Though this hotel is not new it is well maintained
1. The bed 2. Laurel Cafe 3. Room rate.
The stay was pleasant except the air conditioning in the room cannot be adjusted though the thermostat is installed in the room. Rooms are huge and mini bar is free, excellent especially in this hot weather. Location is great as it is near eateries.
Reviewed July 01, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Pauline from Singapore
Groups
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Penang Stay @ Evergreen Laurel
Huge bed, fruit basket
First I was met with rude front desk staff who was the Manager but didn't behave like one. She was rude and expected me to know why I should give her my credit card and sign the check-in forms without properly explaining to me. I immediately wrote in my feedback form but no one during my stay responded to my feedback! The only saving grace was the sea-facing room and the huge king size bed. I didn't eat in the hotel so I couldn't comment on the food quality. However I feel the hotel is too far from Gurney hawkers and malls. The walk to these places was long and sweaty as weather was really hot in Penang.
Reviewed June 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Graham from United Kingdom
Couples
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Looking a little tired these days.
Clean room, free soft drinks in minibar, complimentary morning newspaper
I have stayed here many times as I visit Penang regularly and like to get value for money. But I have recently changed to another hotel in a similar price bracket that I now prefer. But I returned to the Evergreen Laurel because my first preference was fully booked. The room is certainly clean and there is reasonable speed WiFi and everything works. But the carpet was worn, the furniture dated and the lifts are so slow. I don't eat there because I think the Western food in the cafe is poor quality but my local friend thought the Malay Buka Puasa buffet was OK. The bar/lounge is a reasonably pleasant spot as the Filipino band is not too bad - the guitarist plays a mean rendition of Carlos Santana's Black Magic Woman. Car parking s free for guests and plentiful - which is good as the hotel is basically in the middle of nowhere on Gurney Drive so you need transport to go to any shopping centre or nightlife - unless you fancy a 15 minute walk to Gurney Paragon. Its OK, but not really 5-star any more.
Reviewed June 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Shek from Malaysia
Couples
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 3 nights in January 2015
Good Stay
spacious room, location, value for money
The hotel location is good, I booked a room facing the sea, quite a nice view, room is spacious, but the fittings inside the room just seems old but well maintained. Didn't have any food inside the hotel so rated 3. (Penang has lots of food!) Overall, I would give it a 4/5 rating
Reviewed June 27, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Lye from Singapore
Families with young children
Superior City View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Enjoyable stay
The hotel is clean, big and staffs service was excellent.
Hotel to select for a short holiday
Reviewed June 25, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

kok from Malaysia
Business travelers
Superior City View
Stayed one night in June 2015
Good Choice!!!!
location, value for money and excellent staff
Though it's just a one night stay it's excellent. Nice location and great service from the reception. Very polite!!!!
Reviewed June 25, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Kean from Malaysia
Couples
Superior City View
Stayed one night in June 2015
Good location, reasonable price
Good location, confortable room, reasonable price
I got upgraded to a bigger room because they had run out of standard double bed rooms, which was great. Room was clean and ok. The location is good and nearby places like burmese/siamese temple and Gurney Plaza. And all things considered, the price of the room is reasonable given its good location.
Reviewed June 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Elizabeth from Malaysia
Families with older children
Deluxe Sea Facing
Stayed 3 nights in June 2015
Fantastic stay. Customer service was excellent
Customer service from reception to housekeeping to doorman - it was a wow!
It was superb!
Reviewed June 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

chin from Malaysia
Couples
Superior City View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Good hotel n the staff is funny... Bad thing is At
Location ok if got buggy car send to gurney mall is more good
Tidy n clean is better than before working people is polite
Reviewed June 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Kam from Malaysia
Business travelers
Superior City View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
location is excellent.
Location, clean and car park
Reviewed June 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: