Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 43 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Room comfort and quality 7.6
  • Service 7.8
  • Value for money 8.2
  • Food and dining 6.8
Sort by

Joseph from United States
Family with young children
Two Double Beds
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Great location, good room, lacking in amenities
Location only one-half a block from Central Park, and great for children right inside the park is a very nice playground. Great location for families as it is quieter, and the shops and restaurants along Columbia and Amsterdam avenues were great. Also, right next door is the Natural History Museum, and two blocks away is the Children's Museum
Overall, the stay was great. The hotel had a lot of character and was comfortable. Great location. However, the room didn't have a refrigerator, requiring us to rent one for $30 a night. The room also didn't have free Wi-Fi; and the room didn't even have a hot water boiler for tea, coffee or infant formula, forcing us to go to the hotel bar for it every evening.
Reviewed February 04, 2013

Kenneth from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed one night in January 2013
Lovely hotel and warm and not expensive
Hotel was charming, busy bar and restaurant
The Hotel Excelsior was well located on the upper west side, by Central Park. The Hotel was charming with an active lobby with bar and an elegant restaurant. The room was lovely, due to making me wait, they upgraded me free to a suite. I would revisit again.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

karen from United Kingdom
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Great location
Location,pleasant staff
we had a wonderful time,staff efficient & helpful. great area,fantastical value,the only negative point would be lack of heating in bathroom.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Gil from Israel
Couple
Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
great location nice rooms
great location nice rooms
Amenities are lacking: refrigirator in the room cofee machine in room ordering taxi from front desk
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Justin from Canada
Group
Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great Location, well worth the money
Very Close to Central Park, great location
For all its worth in New York, the price of the hotel was affordable. Though the staff were not familiar with agoda, and there were some problems trying to check-in, once all standards were done and over with, the trip was a smooth one. With attractions within walking distance, this hotel was well worth the visit.
Reviewed December 04, 2012

Patricia from United States
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed one night in October 2012
Very accommodating and welcoming
Wonderful location with nicely furnished rooms and friendly staff
I had a very good experience overall and would stay there again. The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable with modern updates.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lynn from Singapore
Solo traveler
Queen Room
Stayed one night in June 2012
Central Park is nearby
Early check-in granted and room looks exactly like the pictures posted
Having wanted to catch a play in Central Park, I stayed one night at the hotel and am glad they granted me an early check-in at 11. Room is comfortable and shampoo,conditioner and soap are provided. American Museum of Natural History is directly opposite the hotel, and Shake Shack is just 5 minutes walk away. However, wifi is not complimentary as stated on the agoda page and it's $10 per day. As other travellers have noted, service staff are not impolite but rather curt.
Reviewed July 05, 2012

Christina from United Kingdom
Family with older children
Two Double Beds
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Great location and lovely room
Next to a pretty park. Close to bars and restaurants
great location, close to central park. room was very pleasant with a balcony. beds were comfortable. breakfast was pricey ( dollars) so we didn't have it, just bought coffee to take back to the room. there are lots of places nearby including a starbucks. hotel staff were helpful. we would stay there again.
Reviewed July 04, 2012

Jeffrey from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2010
An older style hotel with much charm
Upper West Side location, reasonable price, clean, near park
no in room fridge or microwave
a lovely old style hotel that has been updated. the suite in which i stayed was charming with beautiful decor. it reminded me of my late aunt's apartment in the city and brought back good memories. keep the windows closed however - the city noise and odors make their way into the room. very reasonable place and one of the few in the upper west side.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

James from United States
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010
Really great hotel in a good location
Clean good sized rooms for New York
Needs new heating system in room
I always enjoy staying at the Excelsior. I like the neighborhood and the easy transportation access from the hotel. The rooms are good sized for New York and this is a very clean hotel with a European feel.
Reviewed December 11, 2010


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: