Book Now: Express Inn - Cebu

Very good
From 1240 reviewsSee what guests said
7.0

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1240)Booking.com Reviews (409)
7.0
Very good
From 1240 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness6.8
Facilities6.1
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality6.6
Service7.1
Value for money7.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
한국어
日本語
more
Room type
Superior Twin
Superior Double
Family Room
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 889 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
COLLIN from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Close to SM”
Easy walking distance to SM. Frequent taxi's going past. Friendly staff. Clean. Very economical restaurant.
Reviewed May 09, 2018
7.6
Very good
EMMANUEL from United States
Business traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Very good”
You should upgrade your internet... Its always not working and when it works its very very slow
Reviewed May 08, 2018
7.2
Very good
John from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Pretty good!”
Affordable, walking distance to mall, access to taxis and bikes easy! And closer to airport :) good wifi hot showers I’d be back 😍
Reviewed May 07, 2018
7.6
Very good
Liezl from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Room is okay, Facilities - No-no”
Weak Wifi Signal inside the room Room Size is okay No TV remote - had to ask the staff twice and was given remote that is super worn out; no cover on the battery pack, button labels are faded out, unreadable.
Reviewed May 07, 2018
7.6
Very good
Kurt from United States
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Very good”
Breakfast was awful, had stomach cramps from it the whole time I was there, skip it and go out.
Reviewed May 05, 2018
6.0
Paul from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Just about worth the money. ”
I didn't think I was going to be able to sleep here because it was on a busy road, but in fact I could sleep. There was a lack of space in the room and nowhere to hang clothes. However I had a nice view from the 8th floor which is the top one. The staff were very pleasant and polite at all times. You must make sure that you ask to have your room cleaned or it won't get cleaned. I noticed a few ants in the room and the basin sink tap always ran cold. The shower worked well and was always hot. I didn't like the flooring much though, it looked like it needed a carpet or tiles on it. The air conditioning wasn't particularly cold but it was good enough. I couldn't get any English speaking news channels although I asked for help to get them, and the remote control didn't work very well. It was nicely situated close to the City SM Mall and convenience stores. It also had a convenient restaurant.
Reviewed May 04, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Mark from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Near streetfood joints, church and mall”
Stayed here several times. Simple place good for sleepover. Not nuch facilities but have several street food joints literally at the doorstep. Convenient for hailing a cab outside the hotel
Reviewed April 30, 2018
6.0
raymond from Canada
Couple
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Not bad”
Massage next door,and sm mall very close too
Reviewed April 29, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Rhoel from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
nice”
everything is fabolous love to stay here
Reviewed April 27, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
CARLOS from United States
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Exceptional”
Great location. Pharmacies and a fast food (BBQ chicken) restaurant were next door. The hotel's restaurant had reasonable prices. It was walking distance to SM City Mall and a Church. Elevator access was a plus. Wish it had a mini fridge and an electric kettle for coffee.
Reviewed April 25, 2018
6.8
Good
Au from Singapore
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
The wifi cannot make it. ”
The staff keep telling us to call them if unable to connect. They will then restart router. In the end give up.
Reviewed April 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
mark from Philippines
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
This was the fastest internet I saw in my Cebu travels (6 hotels total)”
Internet is terrible in the Phils, right? I ran constant speed tests during my trips, this hotel averaged 10 MBPS down and 8 up, while other hotels had download speeds of about .5, 1.5, 1 .75 and 0 (out of service) MBPS. BTW, the Express Inn on Mactan Island is one of these slow speeds, so I am just recommending THIS location, NOT the Mactan location. Other than that, the hotel was a slight grade above the others generally, but this was the only budget type hotel I found that seemed to understand the importance of investing in a decent connection for the modern traveler. Very close to Cebu SM Mall, though I liked APM Mall better for low prices, across from SM Mall. Tried a $3 all you can eat next to the APM Mall, (up the escalator, you will see NY Pizza downstairs in the same complex), which runs that low price from about 2:45 til 5, very good. Street in front of the hotel is quite noisy late at night from the hollering jeepney touts. Aircon was fine, breakfast was okay.
Reviewed April 20, 2018
4.0
Norinn from Philippines
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2018
Acceptable”
Bad stafg
Reviewed April 19, 2018
4.4
Julbert from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Acceptable”
Weak connection of wifi. No soap. Poor facilities maintenance.
Reviewed April 17, 2018
2.4
Jose from Philippines
Family with teens
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Poor”
This hotel is only good for back packers, parking is so difficult.
Reviewed April 16, 2018
4.8
Girlie from Philippines
Group
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Will not check in there again”
The room is ok, the location is near some establishments like 24/ 7 convenience store and fast food chains. It is also beside the high way. However, front desk was not prepared when we arrived. We waited couple of minutes for our room to be prepared though we checked it at 11 pm. Remote was not working so we have to call housekeeping. Bathroom is not that clean. Overall, it was ok but I would not stay there again.
Reviewed April 16, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Merlie from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Very good”
Excellent place
Reviewed April 15, 2018
4.8
Pui from Hong Kong
Couple
Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Cleanliness is a problem”
We stay two nights with another couples in another room. Both room are the same that there are many small cockroaches. In our room, we kill at least ten. The single bed in the family room is not steadily placed, can rock little bit from side to side. Yes, the cost is cheap but cleanliness should be basic. The location is good, just about 3-5 minutes walk to SM city. Breakfast is basic menu type.
Reviewed April 11, 2018
5.2
Pui from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Lots of small cockroaches”
We stay two nights with another couples in another room. Both room are the same that there are many small cockroaches. In our room, we kill at least ten. The single bed in the family room is not steadily placed, can rock little bit from side to side. Yes, the cost is cheap but cleanliness should be basic. The location is good, just about 3-5 minutes walk to SM city. Breakfast is basic menu type.
Reviewed April 11, 2018
7.2
Very good
Katherine from Philippines
Group
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Convenient ”
A simple and affortable hotel. Beside Andoks you cam eat there. Atm and convinient store are also nearby especially the North Bus Terminal.
Reviewed April 09, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Merlie from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Extremely good !”
Nearest foods stall,pharmacy,church,shopping mall an any convenience store!
Reviewed April 09, 2018
7.2
Very good
melissa from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
very good location”
we were looking for a place to stay that was near sm and other tourist spots like magellens cross and fort san pedro.this place was it! walking distance to sm and few minutes to time square.where you can find wide range of restaurants.also paid less than a hundred peso to go to the basilica etc.
Reviewed April 07, 2018
7.6
Very good
Paulo from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
3rd room here”
The staff was always nice as usual. Everything was about the same except this time, the room was on the seventh floor. It was considerably smaller than the room I got on the fourth floor but it was still nice and clean. Wifi was notably weaker. I logged in then suddenly got kicked out of the network. I wasn't able to reconnect until a couple of hours after. I got spam for breakfast which were sliced thinner than ham, haha. I didn't really expect much from the free breakfast. Had a pleasant stay all in all. Thanks
Reviewed April 06, 2018
7.6
Very good
Paulo from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
You get what you pay for”
Checked in this hotel for a night. Upon arrival, I was greeted by the nice staff. All of them from the guards to the ones at the reception area were smiling and welcoming. I was booked in a room at the fourth floor of the hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The toilet and bathroom had a good flow of water. I got hungry so I checked the food at their restaurant. I didn't really see anything interesting so I instead went to the nearby SM mall which is a 5-10 minute walk. I had a nice and quiet sleep when I got back. The free breakfast I had the next day was maybe a little bit less than average quality and quantity wise. I stayed alone in a room so I ate breakfast for two people but still felt hungry after that. Maybe I just eat a lot. Anyway, all in all it was a pleasant stay.
Reviewed April 06, 2018
4.4
Yuk from Hong Kong
Group
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Acceptable”
many small & difference type cockroachssss.... all package & bag must zipped up all the time, lighting very dim, feeling not good. One of the Best is very nearby SM mall.
Reviewed April 06, 2018
7.6
Very good
ANGEL from Philippines
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Nice One!”
Great location! Will recommend this!
Reviewed April 06, 2018
6.4
Good
Risen from Philippines
Family with young children
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
it was okay! ”
you get what you paid for. it was clean, near the malls and other stores.
Reviewed April 04, 2018
5.6
Venus from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
room looks different in actual”
We thought room looks the same in the pic but it was so small and the housekeeping forgot to wipe the floor after cleaning. the liquid soap/detergent is still on the floor when we came. soap and shampoo were not replenished. tv remote is not working even after being replaced. Slipper easily gets wet and cannot be ware anymore.
Reviewed April 02, 2018
6.4
Good
Charles from Philippines
Group
Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Not very clean”
Pro: Near malls, cheap Cons: there are cockroach
Reviewed March 28, 2018
6.4
Good
christee from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
meh”
cheap but its on a busy road, room looks so different from the one in the photos. breakfast was ok and a nice extra but i doubt i would wanna stay here again.
Reviewed March 23, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Cherrymin from United States
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Great value for your money”
Very affordable
Reviewed March 22, 2018
2.0
Ma from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Noisy”
hardly slept because of the noise of jeepney conductors shouting outside. plus weird sounds coming from the ceiling woke us up in the morning.
Reviewed March 20, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Ib from Denmark
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Very good”
Great value for the money. Ònly sad that they would not allow me to put my insulin in a fridge because it needs to be kept cold. They gold me that I could rent a fridge for 300 pesos a day. It was only meant for my medicine.
Reviewed March 16, 2018
6.4
Good
raymond from Canada
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Not bad hotel small but comfy bed”
Next door to super cheap great massage too
Reviewed March 11, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Kathleen from Singapore
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Near SM City”
We stayed twice in this hotel now. It's conviniently a walking distance from SM which is great considering the growing traffic in cebu. If you arrive earlier than check-in, you can leave your luggae at the counter for free. The rooms are ok. There's a pharmacy/convinient store and restaurant downstairs and a lot of other small shops just around the block.
Reviewed March 06, 2018
5.2
Virginia from United States
Group
Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Mosquitoes inside room. Bathroom overflows to the toilet area”
Aircon limited coldness Hot inside room even with aircon on
Reviewed March 03, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Ng from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Great”
Pro: nearby am city mall in walking distance. Working AC
Reviewed March 01, 2018
7.6
Very good
Ate from Philippines
Business traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
nice nd comfortable experience”
worth your money😄😊
Reviewed February 27, 2018
6.0
Pinky from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Not what I had in mind”
I thought it was close to the mall, but it's not and it's in kind of a dicey spot for catching a taxi.
Reviewed February 19, 2018
4.8
ronalyn from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
recommended but please fix the curtain”
EXPRESS INN - FOOD IS NORMAL. NO DELIVERY OF BREAKFAST ON THE ROOM. ROOM IS OK FOR THE PRICE. ONE ISSUE IS THE BROKEN CURTAIN. people can see u outside the window. travel date feb 14-15
Reviewed February 18, 2018
7.2
Very good
Enny from Germany
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 5 nights in February 2018
Very good”
The pictures of the hotel on here don't match how the hotel actually looks like. I was a bit disappointed at how unkept the place looked in reality. Wifi connection kept getting interrupted and we had to call the reception twice so that they could provide us with a working remote control for the TV. Additionaly, the choices for breakfast were limited to 3 options daily. It was pretty boring.
Reviewed February 17, 2018
7.2
Very good
Sheena from Philippines
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Good location”
Good location. Near sm mabolo. Only issue is its wifi. Its so slow, also the choice for breakfast is the same everyday.
Reviewed February 15, 2018
6.8
Good
Michelle from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Value for Money”
If you are just looking for a place to stay on a budget this is good enough. Though breakfast is free they should improve the taste and selection,. The bathroom was horrible that when you shower the water will literally make a pool inside. They should maybe provide a shower curtain atleast? Everything extra you have to pay even for the extra pillows and blankets, etc. But still I cannot complain though for the price I've paid. Over-all I could still recommend this Express inn if you are just staying for a few days in the city on a budget.
Reviewed February 15, 2018
2.0
Clarissa from Singapore
Family with teens
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Acceptable”
Old building, Madilim sa hallway and sa room at madumi. Not worth the price. May hotel na may buffet breakfast at masmalinis tapos same price lang.
Reviewed February 14, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Japle from Philippines
Group
Family Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Excellent Location”
Very near SM City Cebu. Convenient with lots of shops and ATMs nearby. With pharmacy in the hotel building. Very accessible.
Reviewed February 12, 2018
7.6
Very good
Vanessa from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior Twin
Stayed 5 nights in October 2017
Very good”
The service of the canteen staff are good. With regard to cleaning, no one asks for cleaning schedule for the 4days stay. Our room just cleaned for 1day
Reviewed February 07, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Tatsuhiko from Japan
Solo traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Good location, good price!”
SM city mall is walking distance. Andock's is there next to the hotel!
Reviewed February 06, 2018
4.4
Robert from United States
Business traveler
Superior Double
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
One night! Thank God!”
The staff was friendly. However, the hotel lacked cleanliness, the hallway reeked like dead fish or sewer, the WIFI NEVER worked. There was a chart on the wall stating how much we would be charged for stained sheets and towels. REALLY??? Shady! No towel rug in bathroom, TV remote was broken. The room was horrible. The free breakfast was not good. So all in all, DON'T stay at this hotel if you can avoid it. Its too bad because the front desk people were really nice, but that alone wont get me to go back. One and Out!
Reviewed February 05, 2018
3.6
Patrick from Belgium
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
very bad location”
very bad location,difficult to get a taxi.breakfast was terrible
Reviewed February 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Pia from Philippines
Couple
Superior Double
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
good”
Great
Reviewed February 01, 2018