Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 860 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 5.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Room comfort and quality 7.4
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food and dining 6.5
Sort by

Per from Norway
Solo travelers
Superior Twin
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Quite avarage hotel
Staff were very nice and professional.
i was really happy i booked one of the better rooms with windows. i can' imagine myself in one of the windowless rooms that represent the majority of the accommodation offered to travelers at this hotel. but that said, my room was great. it even had a fish pond on the balcony. there was no view of the mekong, just other houses, a sport field etc. and the balcony fits only one person at a time... this hotel is sort of a "cheap boutique hotel". was not as nice as the pictures on the agoda web page. if you want a quiet location, its ok, excellent breakfast.
Reviewed December 19, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Brian from United States
Families with older children
Superior Double
Stayed one night in December 2012
Nice clean place
Good, Convenient hotel for a one night stay
Good place to stay for visa renewal. I enjoyed the breakfast there. My family thought it was a good place to stay but preferred the Malinamphu Hotel better. But, this was a nice place for the money.
Reviewed December 19, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Marilyn from Canada
Couples
Superior Double
Stayed 23 nights in November 2012
Nice hotel & friendly service...
free wifi & breakfasts, nice place...
The hotel was clean. The staff were helpful & courteous. The service was good. The central location worked well for us. We chose a smaller room accommodation, which worked well for us. Free wifi & breakfasts in their restaurant on the lower level. Pleasant experience.
Reviewed December 17, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Khen from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Good location
Good location
Great staff, allowed my girlfriend and I to hang around the lobby when we got back from Luang Prabang so as to catch our flight back home from Vientiane. The staff remembered that we stay in the hotel before heading to Luang Prabang and let us stay in the hotel lobby without hesitation, despite not checking into their room.
Reviewed December 14, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Alison from United States
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in November 2012
Good central location with good staff
very polite and helpful staff; large bathroom; central location; safe
We stayed at the Family Hotel while searching for a house in Vientiane. The staff was incredibly polite and efficient, everyone always smiled at us, even the maids. We had laptops with us and never worried that they would be touched. The bathroom was huge and once we understood that more pressure in the shower also increased the temperature the shower was great. Comfortable bed with very clean white sheets. Maids would have cleaned every day but luckily we were working online in the rooms so we could save our towels and sheets for a few days. Wifi generally good. Breakfast was included but there are so many good places to eat in the morning that we usually went out. Only drawback was the steep stairs up to the hotel.
Reviewed December 14, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Nicholas from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in December 2012
Great value and Service
Location. Service. Room Comfort.
My first time in Lao. Bit of a hassle getting there what with the visa and the number of transport legs I had to take getting there. So the warm welcome I received at Family Hotel made the journey worth it. Can't fault the hotel in every way but I must warn people getting a taxi from Friendship Bridge to Vientiane. They are thieving robbing crooks. Advertised fare is 300 Baht (the only good thing is they take Thai currency so no need to change money) Five minutes into the journey the driver tells me it is now 600 Baht to centre. I said "no you said 300" He said no 300 and get out now or 600 to centre. I stuck to my guns. He got really aggressive shouting at me to get out but I didn't. Ok I'm brave or stupid however you look at it but I'm concerned other people will be ripped off or kicked out in the middle of nowhere. Get a bus - they are frequent and stupidly cheap - I learnt later. Back to the hotel - comfortable, central, lovely decor, good breakfast and very helpful staff.
Reviewed December 12, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Rory from Canada
Couples
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Very clean
good location
The room was pleasant and the whole hotel was exceptionally clean. The location is a bit away from the main clump of guesthouses, but still central. Wifi was included but quite temperamental in the room itself. It was a 5 minute walk to the museum and under 10 to get to the main area. It is less than 10 minutes to walk to Lao Kitchen for excellent Laotian food.
Reviewed December 03, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Jeremy from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in July 2012
Nice Place
View On Street Side Room
This hotel room was nice, clean and the street side rooms have good views and wide sliding open windows. Will probably stay here again.
Reviewed November 30, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

Colin from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
Disappointing
Comfortable bed
Had booked 3 rooms for 2 nights months before stay. Arrived to be told full and one person would have to be moved to another hotel for one night. 2 of the rooms were dirty. Basin not clean, dirty towels and bath mat. We called in cleaner to one room but they just wiped around, not properly clean. On way out we told one of desk staff who said he would go and sort out. When came back hours later he said he had not had time. Breakfast very limited and some items not available. On day we left we arrived back an hour before checkout, our room was being cleaned. We showered and used towels, etc. guess the next guests were showed in with it in that state. Poor customer service and admin.
Reviewed November 28, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?

LIA from Romania
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2012
Good location but very small room
Good location
I booked a singles room: too small, one window heading towards the hallway. Good only for one night stay sleep, from my point of view. Not very clean. Too expensive!
Reviewed November 27, 2012
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: