Book Now: Fihalhohi Island Resort

Excellent
From 471 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
/
10
Recommended by 93% of guests

Reviews of Fihalhohi Island Resort Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (471)Booking.com Reviews (390)
8.4
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.5
Facilities8.3
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality8.0
Service8.1
Value for money8.5
All languages
All guests (471)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 383 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Deborah from Thailand
Solo traveler
Comfort Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

This resort was amazing. Great house reef, very helpful staff, and the buffet had a wide choice of food. We went out on two excursions and the crew was great. We saw many varieties of seal life and had a wonderful time. My only complaint was the toilet seat which slipped every time you sat down, sort of funny.

Reviewed April 21, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Amjad from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Premium Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Exceptional”

Great resort. Amazing views on the island and the beaches are nice and clean and very suitable for swimming. The rooms are very nice and close to the water. The service is excellent. The food at the restaurant is fine and provides enough variety. The prices are also reasonabe in comparison to other resorts. I would recommend this resort.

Reviewed April 05, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Andrea from United Kingdom
Couple
Premium Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

Exceptional”

House reef is really amazing with live coral and lots of fishes. Premium rooms are very comfortable and face the best part of the beach/house reef on the island. Food has a good variety and quality, the all inclusive package does not include cocktails but there is quite a long list of spirits, beers and wine included. The island is beautiful and very quiet, the staff is very attentive and friendly.

Reviewed March 30, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Gillian from United Kingdom
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2019

Excellent”

Loved the beautiful quiet location, beach lovely and clean and house reef was excellent; staff gave good advice re best places on island for safe snorkelling. Rooms very clean and serviced daily with clean bath and beach towels when requested. Staff polite, friendly and helpful in all areas of the islands. Buffet restaurant had excellent choices for all meals and food was generally of a good standard. All inclusive option included most drinks but did not include fresh juices or cocktails. Felt the resort represented value for money in comparison with other Maldivian resorts. Would recommend this resort to others.

Reviewed March 23, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Joan from Philippines
Group
Comfort Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Fantastic Experience”

The hotel is excellent at pampering guests. Answering promptly all questions asked, provides remedies to situations and delightfully delivers positive options to any needs. The jetty port is such an awesome view, more so the amenities of the resort. Personnel are very attentive to details, buffet food is good and rooms are spacious & tidy. The resort has so many good spots for pictorial and the water villa is just so gorgeous. Allows private speedboat transfer which is a great plus factor is you are into wise budgeting. Value for money. Perfect for a relaxing holiday.

Reviewed November 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Christine from Singapore
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018

Love love love this resort! Super homey, no frills and house reef is amazing!”

Very good value for money especially if you take the full board. If you love snorkeling, this is one of the better resorts to stay at. Everything feels like home. It's simple, no pool but the white sandy beach wouldn't make you look for one. Just note to bring your own first aid kit as these medicines are not for free in the resort. I don't know if that's normal.

Reviewed July 12, 2018
8.8
Excellent
CHIEN from Taiwan
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 6 nights in March 2018

here all very good”

beautiful island and clear seawater,very good snorkeling lots of fish ,Resort quite and comfortable,👍👍food very fresh and very delicious , staff service is ok,my next time to maldives stay here again,I recommend here Fihalhohi Island Resort!😂😅

Reviewed May 05, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
hsu from Myanmar
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017

It was a paradise ”

Going to Maldives for honeymoon was my dream. But it is usually way too expensive. We found this resort and the price is reasonable. 1) room facilities We stayed in classic room for 3nights. The room was spacious for us except there is no slippers to wear in the room and they don’t provide a toothbrush and toothpaste. So, better prepare your own if u r going to stay there. There is no TV as well but it is ok for us since we love to swim and snorkel for the whole day and we spent little time in the room. 2) cleanliness The whole island is very clean and there are two times room service per day. Our room was always clean and the staff will decorate your bed by folding the blankets into different patterns such as fish, shell, etc.. 3) Staff All the staff are friendly and willing to help u at all time. 4) Dining Since we bought all inclusive package, we can have buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. The taste is ok and vaThere also have snack time. Drink is unlimited for the whole day. They have three restaurants.

Reviewed November 26, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Richard from Philippines
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Value for money”

Our room was upgraded. We loved the food at their restaurant. We were on a full board deal and we were never hungry.Their dive shop offers very affordable services and excursions. Great value for money. We will be back!

Reviewed November 06, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Jennalyn from Philippines
Group
Premium Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Unforgettable Stay”

Its one of the best so far! I think its one of the cheapest water villa accommodation you can get around maldives. Plus the transport is big saving as they allow us to arrange our own transfer. The water villa was also good though the current is quiet strong during our stay so its not advisable to swim around the villa. The buffet from bfast to dinner plus the unlimited drinks are superb!. Its an experience we can never forget.

Reviewed October 17, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Franz from Philippines
Group
Comfort Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

Family-oriented resort”

beach, food, bungalows

This resort island is very good for families. We were with a number of European guests with children. Food was great -- wide variety (from Asian to Italian to Mediterranean). Garden villas need an upgrade. Water bungalows look superb! One of the closes resort islands to a local island with a reasonable price.

Reviewed September 30, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Alisher from Uzbekistan
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014

island with a great home reef!”

Reef, service and dolphins

Hotel service, snorkeling, weather were excellent. Manager offered us free upgrade to premium room. Room was nice. Room service was perfect - cleaned twice a day! All our requests were fulfilled and management here is flexible. Arrival and departure was arranged right on time in accordance with our flight! Staff at water activities booth were nicest! I would come again here! The only weird rule was the dining table arrangement in accordance with geographical proximity (eg. West side - west europeans (germans, brits, french, etc)+ANZUS (australians, us, kiwi), middle - east europeans (Russians and other slavians), and set side were for asians).

Reviewed July 28, 2014
8.0
Excellent
noni from United States
Family with young children
Classic Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014

dream vacation come true”

sumptuos buffet, great snorkeling, lovely accomodation

Fihalhohi island resort was a dream vacation come true. We booked the classic room and was surprised to see how spacious and lovely the room was. It has a patio with seats and a line to dry wet clothes. The bed was firm and spacious for 2 adults and a baby in the middle. The resort offers a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner with excellent choices and sumptuous dishes. The house reef/wall is very close to the beach, and is rich with exotic fishes big and small. The highlight with of our snorkeling experience is swimming with the turtle. It is truly out of this world. The beach is also frequented by a ray and reef sharks. After dinner, we walk to the jetty and watch eels, ray, crab and other exotic fishes sometimes a bunch of them just hanging around. The staff are also very friendly. We can't wait to come back!

Reviewed May 12, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Jose from Philippines
Group
Classic Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014

Great stay, amazing reef”

House reef, rooms and food

The highlight of the Hotel is its amazing house reef, we spent hours snorkelling, the rooms are big and clean, the food was ok-ish, there were no ice cream at the dessert bar otherwise it would have been perfect. Price of water is a bit steep plus the charge 18% gov't tax and service charge at everything. Overall, it is value for the money and would be coming back if ever I come back to Maldives.

Reviewed May 05, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
DAI from China
Family with teens
Classic Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

Nice stay in this island resort”

water bungalow, beautiful house reef and nice food

Luckily I managed to stay for 2 nights in water bungalow. It is very nice and has a good value for money. The house reef around the island has been reserved very well. Can see many beautiful fishes even near to the beach. Food is good enough even though not too much variety for breakfast. Overall, the stay is very good and would like to come back if got chance.

Reviewed January 06, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
DAI from China
Family with teens
Classic Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014

Very relaxing holiday in this hotel”

water bungalow, beautiful house reef and nice food

Luckily I managed to stay for 2 nights in water bungalow. It is very nice and has a good value for money. The house reef around the island has been reserved very well. Can see many beautiful fishes even near to the beach. Food is good enough even though not too much variety for breakfast. Overall, the stay is very good and would like to come back if got chance.

Reviewed January 06, 2014
8.7
Excellent
DETCHANA from Thailand
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013

Fantastic room ,Fantastic landscape”

Room is superb,Nice beach and outstanding ambience

I upgraded from comfort room to water bangalow , that was worth paying for.The room is so nice , wide area with good ocean view.Unfortunately, the air con was not cool to the stuff has tried to fix it.I enjoyed the beach and diving ,this not disappointed me at all.Every meal there is fine.

Reviewed August 27, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Katie from Ireland
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013

Island Paradise”

Beach, snorkelling, sunrise

We have been lucky enough to stay in 4 different resorts in the Maldives all of varying budgets. This was our favourite. We spent a huge amount of our time in the water and the snorkelling straight from the beach is fantastic.

Reviewed August 04, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Ruud from Netherlands
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013

Very nice resort”

Location, reasonable price, friendly staff

It was very nice, we were asked to upgrade to the water bungalow for USD100++ a night, which is very much worth the upgrade price (they don't sell these rooms on Agoda). Also speedboat transfer is reasonably priced at 110++ per person roundtrip, it's about an hour to the airport. Food in the restaurant is nothing to worry about, it's good. The other guests are mainly from Europe and well behaved, there's a few Russians and Chinese, but not of the obnoxious type. We would go back to this place anytime.

Reviewed August 01, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Gordon from Canada
Solo traveler
Comfort Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013

good house reef and good value”

house reek was good and close to shore and resort was good value and pretty good quality

i stayed here 2 days attracted by the house reef being listed as one of the 10 or so Maldives top (number 1 rated ) house reefs and that the resort was half to a third cheaper than other resorts with number 1 rated reefs. The reef was very good overall (very close to the island and easily accesible, good visability, fish variety including turtles, ok coral); but it was not the "very best reef ever " i was hoping for compared to Indonesian (Bunaken) and Australia (GBR) experiences. The boat snorkle trips went to reefs of comprable standard. The resort was great value for expensive Maldives with a good and certainly acceptable but not great standard for the AC room i had. Good hot water shower and cheap laundry. My comparison point was 2 nights in water villa at Sheraton (where i got upgraded and used cash & points as an SPG platinum member) and paid about the same overall per day (around $250 to $300 including drinks , snorkling etc). For the snorkling go to Fihalhohi; for a wow resort go to Sherton if you get the deal i did. Fihalhohi has a great sunset bar and very affordable beer ($5) bar food ($10 piza) and the half board option gave you a good breakfast and even better diner (prices by memory). My only complaint at Fihalhohi was staff training and responsiveness. Again this is compared to Sheraton. My transfer from Sheraton to Fihalhohi with Sheraton dropping me back at the MLE airport and Fihalhohi picking me up was totally organized by Sheraton contacting Fihalhohi as Fihalhohi did not respond to me emails. Organazing the snorkle boat trips at Fihalhohi was disorganized and confusing and i only got to go on one (3 stop safari) not the additional manta ray trip a asked about. The guides on the snorkle trip did not give you the same sense of attentiveness as compared to Sheraton trip -- a potential real issue when one is snorkling on your own at a reef in the middle of the ocean. I recommend Fihalholi, but keep in mind the caveats above.

Reviewed February 13, 2013
8.3
Excellent
EMY from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Classic Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012

Great escape for a new experience in Maldives”

The island itself

it was my solo travelling in maldives for few days, i stayed here for 5days and 4nights and total overall the location wise was nice and good for long-term stay. room & half-board lovely - no television but good for people who want to disconnect from outer world. the reception was unfriendly , at first i was almost get double charged for bringing my mother on the third day and after a few explaination of my booking,they do not charged. no free access to the email as i have to pay the password on my own to show again my voucher. no password recovery once you lost it! excellent view and the water sports are people are friendly. please bring your own fin & goggles for full-satisfaction. room was clean twice daily. would go again one day.

Reviewed September 25, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Pertti from Finland
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 18 nights in August 2018

Nice place, good value for money”

Second time Fihalhohi. Absolutely nice place to stay. Clean and beautiful. Surrounding reef is still quite good condition. Very sad to hear that year 2016 El-Nino ruin part of that reefs. But that happens all over the Maldives. Very strongly recommend to visit Fihalhohi. Like to go again.

Reviewed September 04, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
lizcel from Philippines
Couple
Premium Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018

very satisfactory”

super friendly staff, very organize bec they assigned specific staff to the entire stay for the guest during meals time, the familiarity is important”nice and very private place, if you really want to be away from the city this place is highly recommended, can do snokeling in this island and can see clear water and nice fishes, well maintained rooms and facilities👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Reviewed August 10, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Zhaojie from Singapore
Family with teens
Comfort Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018

Great Resort”

Went in May and expected bad weather but it turned out fine. A couple of showers a day but sunshine and blue skies come right after. The only issue is the west wind, which can really whip up the waves, clouding underwater visibility, and so we snorkeled on the Eastern side. The coral sare resilient and are growing visibly, and the fishes are plentiful. It is unfortunate that some inconsiderate people dragged large pieces of live coral from the shallows and made a 'sculpture' on the beach; the staff should do more to protect their house reef and we would like to see such behaviours punished. Some rooms can have really poor wifi (around Rm 125). The buffet is adequate. What really shone through are the waters and reefs. Would definately consider returning during the drier months to snorkel on the Western side.

Reviewed May 28, 2018
4.4
Jeremy from United Kingdom
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 7 nights in November 2018

Needs refurbishment poor value for money”

Not cheap paid over £250 for a basic room per night. Very disappointed. Very tired looking although everything did work. Food - plenty of it but bland, uninspiring and repetitive. Hopeless selection of wine with cheapest bottle $40 incl. By the glass for house wine $11 incl. Also clueless offered heavy red as an alternative for a light white! Main restaurant has the atmosphere of a canteen and their concept of service is poor - collect the plates asap, literally as you are taking your last mouthful, no one topped up my wine despite paying a hefty service charge. Not their fault just poor management. On a positive note the house reef was very good; literally thousands of fish and saw several giant morays and two hawksbill turtles. From start to finish apart from one bar man no one showed any interest in whether we were having a good time or that everything was ok.

Reviewed December 04, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Liz from Australia
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 10 nights in March 2019

Don't let it be a bucket list destination - Do it!”

The most amazing and diverse house reef along with a wonderful spa, lovely staff and affordable over water bungalows with full board. A truly relaxing holiday .

Reviewed March 22, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ivan from Philippines
Solo traveler
Comfort Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Nice stay”

Good price for a luxury resort in Maldives. Room was great/

Reviewed February 25, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Maria from Philippines
Group
Comfort Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Staff were very friendly and helpful. ”

The resort was nice, staff were very friendly and helpful, food was great, but speedboat transfer is a bit expensive. Overall, I recommend this resort.

Reviewed September 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
clarissa from Qatar
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Exceptional”

would like to commend our server. love to say the he is one of the main reason why we loved staying at this resort. Ali, thank you!

Reviewed June 11, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Rizshel from Philippines
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

Beautiful location for honeymooners”

Very beautiful place. The cleaner was not so nice and the water at all faucets including the toilet was color orange when we first opened but it’s just a minor flaw. Food is good.

Reviewed June 06, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Princeton from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

True Island ”

Value of money beauty full island :) true nature:)

Reviewed June 05, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Ilonka from Bulgaria
Group
Comfort Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018

Amazing island”

We loved this island, so incredibly beautiful. Food was great, amazing reef and nice rooms. Service is good, but it would be nice if the management would employ more locals for the staff. Also no females in the staff(except for one welcoming manager), and since we were two female friends traveling, we did not appreciate that. Definitely amazing value for money and beautiful memories that will stay with us forever. Will return whenever possible!

Reviewed February 26, 2018
4.8
WILLESTER from Philippines
Group
Classic Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

Holiday turned DISASTER!!!”

staffs are unapproacheable esp the restaurant staff. We talked with the management because it was way out of hand and their staffs treatment was so bad that we tried to cancel our 2nd night but they say that we can't cancel it. TOO BAD! although the island is very beautiful. beach was fantastic but because of the staffs, it just ruined our holiday. Never coming back. Maybe try other resort.

Reviewed December 08, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Anastasiia from United Arab Emirates
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 7 nights in October 2017

Relaxing, clean and beautiful island”

The island is situated 45 minutes boat ride from the airport. Fihalhohi arranges to meet you in the airport. Once on the island you are offered a cocktail and a swift island tour. The staff is extremely helpful and attentive. The hotel is 35 years old, so you might feel that it is oldish but in reality it is extremely clean and neat. The retro style bars and restaurant's quietness gives you the unique feeling that you are far from the fuss of a big city. Since the Fihalhohi island is located on the outer part of atoll, the waves might feel strong but on the other side you can enjoy the beauty of a big home reef. We have opt for the HB and never regretted. Every evening hotel offers the food theme night. The improvement is required in WI-FI quality, as the WI-FI was slow, though included in price. The towels and linen are yellow and worn out. It was hard to find fresh milk on the island, as they use powder milk for pretty much every drink or meal that requires milk.

Reviewed October 19, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Thao from Vietnam
Group
Comfort Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Great place to relax”

The resort is quite clean and value of money. The lunch and dinner is various of choices. Ony one down thing is water excluded from meal plan. Have to order drink and pay for it. However, in total the service is great, nice location and beautiful In

Reviewed March 29, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Renee from United States
Family with teens
Classic Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2017

Great value, location, snorkeling ”

Great house reef. We snorkeled everyday, twice a day, for 5 days! Saw large schools of many varieties of fish. Saw sea turtles, eels, rays, shark, right at the house reef. Enjoyed the many hammocks around the island. Evenings on the deck over the water at Fisherman's bar was lovely. Watching the rays and sharks come for 9pm feeding, enjoying the stars and sounds of the waves. Lots of mosquito bites. Bring repellent!!! Had a room in the middle of the north side of the island. 60 second walk to the beach and snorkel spots.

Reviewed March 23, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Michael from Philippines
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

A true Maldives”

I booked for Half board but i was surprised when they offered a free lunch when we arrived. The island is great enough to experience a real Maldives. The cost is worth it considering the free breakfast, lunch and dinner. Facilities are great enough to relax. The wild life is around. Seeing baby sharks and sting rays on the shore made my stay in that island worthy. Staff are very professional. This place is best for couple and those with partner. Otherwise , it would be boring.

Reviewed March 20, 2017
6.0
Lewis from Hong Kong
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 7 nights in December 2016

House reef is very good but not convenient for arrival/departure at night”

First of all, the house reef of Fihalhohi is really one of the best we have visited in Maldives. The food in the restaurant is exceeded our expectation and quite good. Room is clean but quite a few items inside don't work and there is no TV and water kettle in classic room. Location of Fihalhohi is not really far away from airport (45min via speedboat) but the speedboat transfer provided by hotel is inconvenient for guests travel at night. My advice is to book one night hotel on airport island or Male if your flight arrived late at night (i.e. after 9:30pm). Guests are requested to leave Fihalhohi around mid afternoon for airport even their flight is 11pm at night. Another bad experience was at the restaurant: we have to share one table with another couple (who were on honeymoon!!!) because they don't have enough tables for every room in the island. This only happened in club med islands and for different purposes!!! We would like to visit Fihalhohi for their house reef but not for their services.

Reviewed January 07, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Shankar from India
Family with teens
Classic Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Good value for money”

This was our first visit to the Maldives. Everything seemed to be good about the resort. House reef was good. Food was ok. Staff were friendly. I hope they include ice cream in their dessert selection though.

Reviewed January 02, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Allen from Philippines
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Amazing Experience!”

One of the best vacations we had. The beach is awesome and the all inclusive was the highlight for us. I have nothing bad to say except for the supervisor at the restaurant. We totally understand that he is just doing his job of making sure everything is in order but he could do better when it comes to dealing/handling guests that are totally unaware of the restaurant policies (dress code / etc). All in all it was an amazing experience and will totally recommend the place to anyone.

Reviewed December 27, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Pierre from France
Couple
Premium Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

A paradise on Earth ”

Well, this place is magical. Upon arrival, you are treated well and everything is cared for you. Con: rooms are dated. For the price we pay, it is a bit annoying. You still feel alright, but it would be nice if they update some furniture.

Reviewed December 21, 2016
8.4
Excellent
ivan from Indonesia
Couple
Water Villa
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016

Facilities”

Mineral water should be provided in every type of room. Provide a by cycle or something for water bungalow because is to far if we want to go to restaurant by foot. If theres a swiming pool it must be complete.

Reviewed August 08, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Minh from Vietnam
Group
Comfort Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Highly recommend”

The only con is that the resort quite far, but this is not the problem. This place is wonderful with crystal clear beach, beautiful sunset and many species. The staff is helpful and nice with a smile on there face all the time. We booked a comfort room, and it was comfortable. Although it was a little bit small, it was decorated beautifully and clean. The food was more than we expected, love it. The whole island is small but it's like a real haven.

Reviewed July 14, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Jeff from United States
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014

what a great place!”

the beautiful beach, the staff, the location

I took my girlfried there, it happened that during our stay , it was her birthday. I did not tell the staff, but since we had to show them our passports, they noted it, and gave us a birthday cake, a nice surprise. The place is amazing, the best snorkling I have ever done, and I have been to many places. The whole island is just the hotel, beaches around the whole north and west part of the island, plenty for all of the guests. This is one of the best places I have ever stayed

Reviewed December 24, 2014
8.3
Excellent
HOI from Hong Kong
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2014

Nice experience in Maldive”

Ocean, Distance, Relax

It is relatively close to the airport (MALE CITY), so transfer cost it is not too expensive. The atmosphere around is relax enough, but they can have some more recreation activities. The room was clean and staff was friendly. NICE STAY!

Reviewed December 23, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Nejat from Ethiopia
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014

Best Hotel.”

Relaxing , good food,

We stayed for three days and it was really great, we had so romantic time. And the distance is 1hrs from the airport (MLE) by speed boat, Staff is very welcoming , the food is delicious and the sport activity the massage , There is a lot to do there.

Reviewed November 03, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Zeeshan from Pakistan
Family with young children
Comfort Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014

Nice beach, good place for snorkelling”

Cleanliness, Food and beach

Fihalohi is one of the best resorts among those whom we may rate within A category. Nice white sandy beaches and good place for snorkelling. We booked beach front Vila, only thing missing was a tv in your room! 10/10 for room service & cleanliness, internet/Wi-Fi was pretty costly to use!

Reviewed November 02, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
KM from Bangladesh
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014

BEST IN THE WORLD...”

Location, Food, Underwater....

We stayed here for 3 days. We reached at Island around 10 AM and just after check in they gave us our room (we were expecting to wait till noon as we reached early). We have booked half board and they upgraded it to Full Board, we were really happy for this offer. In Maldives everything is expensive where we got this offer and it was amazing. Food quality is speechless, so delicious and all meals were fantastic. belal and Farukh two person was very nice, actually they are cheff and remain inside the dinning hall. They always asked us to have more and more food. Staffs were always with a smiley face, Mahmudee used to work in our table . The island is small, it takes around 30 minutes to walk around the island. Rooms were large with nice big balcony. Toilet was nice with all toiletries. After dinner we used to enjoy wind and playing of fishes at jetty area. However, be very careful about bottle water, it cost $4.30. They provide only 2 bottle water (500ml) only at first day. So, better If you have time buy bottle water from Male/airport area. Same for sim card, Buy it from airport otherwise it will cost more. Transfer charge is $130 per person. Souvenir shop's price seems to be more but if you are not exploring local market at Male then purchase from here because it does not differ much with Airport area. Overall, the resort is wonderful with all facilities. We will be looking forward to come back again.

Reviewed October 17, 2014
7.3
Very good
Saadiah from Singapore
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014

Sun, Sea and Nature”

Accessible by speed boat distance about 75km form Male, its serenity and ambience & the beach is fantastic with crystal clear sea water.

Firstly , the island is small and you can walk the whole island within 20mins.The setting of the water chalet and amenities are really good as its along the reef. The comfort room which we booked has no seaview , toiletries set was not given in full set,the room was pretty wear out, wifi service is not accessible from the room ( note:wifi is chargeable) , no TV nor radio and the bats are really huge. We changed room on the second day as find it very inconvenience to stay for the rest of our vacation . We upgrade to water chalet and it was fabulous . We enjoyed it soo much and will come back again for our future retreat.

Reviewed August 16, 2014
7.7
Very good
wen from Singapore
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014

the most affordable water bungalow in maldives”

room, water bungalow, staff

My boyfriend and I were allocated the sea bungalow 150, the first bungalow on the right hand side nearest to the beach. The bungalow itself, though dated, was beautiful and spacious. shampoo, shower gel, toothbrush and toothpaste etc were all provided, as well as a hairdryer. The lack of TV didn’t bother us at all- we’d be out in the sun at the beach or in the water almost all the time, but I imagine this might be an issue for others. There was a separate shower and bathtub and also the toilet was in a separate room in the bathroom. In the bedroom there was a nice lounging sofa and a large bed (can easily fit 3-4 people). Air-conditioning worked well for us. Outside on the patio there was a small wooden table with 4 chairs, and also on the other end 2 sun loungers next to a large street lamp. walking down the wooden stairs gave us direct access to the water and house reef. Having direct access to the best parts of the house reef was amazing- we snorkelled 2 times during our stay and say more than 20 different kinds of fish, swam alongside a sea turtle and caught an octopus in hiding. we also spotted a manta ray swimming underneath the walkway connecting the water bungalows. Aside from snorkelling on your own at the reef, they have daily activities e.g. dolphin spotting, fishing trips, shopping tours, but we opted out of those as they were slightly pricey and also we had limited time.

Reviewed July 24, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Mary from Australia
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2014

Paradise, Beach, Sun”

Facilities, Food, Beach

Fihalhohi is a semi-luxurious beach resort on a magnificent island. Everywhere my eyes laid on was just stunning! Buffet was good and was actually the best in our entire stay - other resorts do not offer pork and beef because the country is a strict Muslim country.

Reviewed June 08, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Ben from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Classic Room
Stayed 7 nights in October 2013

A great find!”

The beach, the food and price

A great find, affordable trip to the Maldives. We loved it. The staff are a little strict with timing for the buffet and you are not allowed in 1 minute before they say! But the food was actually very good, much better than we expected and the island was amazing! A great dive shop attached and perfect reef just off the beach. Can't wait to come back.

Reviewed May 25, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Rishi from India
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014

One of the best stays I ever had”

Staff behaviour, food, location

We went there for our 'second' honeymoon - and we now feel that we had chosen the perfect place for that. Fihalhohi is around 45 mins from Male by speed boat. We received a very warm welcome and our checkin was really fast. The room was very comfortable and had a nice view of the sea. We had a half board (breakfast & dinner) deal - it was buffet with a very wide choice of food. Everyday they have a different theme for the dinner (e.g., mexican, maldivian, grills etc.). We got assigned to one particular table and we were to have food everyday in the same table - which I feel was convenient. Also, we never had to carry any cash - whatever you take (drinks / food etc.) got billed to our room, which you settle at the end. Overall, it was a great stay of 4 nights for us. I would definitely recommend it.

Reviewed April 30, 2014
8.3
Excellent
TENG from Singapore
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2014

Wonderful and fantastics.”

Nice surroundings and place to relax and unwind.

I had a marvellous times staying in this resort where I had the opportunity to see the beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Every day, the sunrises and sunsets are different and it is really great. The house reef is a bit disappointed with many dead corals. There is not much of a sesfoods for the evening buffet.

Reviewed April 07, 2014
8.7
Excellent
YONG from Singapore
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014

Great House Reef and clean beach and room”

Great House Reef; clean island and well maintain hotel, friendly staffs

Very satisfied with the classic room, very clean and spacious. Room seems clean all the time. Whenever we soiled the floor and upon our return is cleaned. Staffs are friendly. The beach is very clean. We can go barefooted on the whole island. The house reef is very rich and no rubbish found. There are variety of food for the buffet.

Reviewed April 04, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Robert from United Kingdom
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 6 nights in March 2014

Just Go”

House reef, the setting in general & somewhere to really relax

We had a week with half in the comfort room and the other half in a water bungalow. The comfort room was good, large and very clean but the water villa raised the stay to another level - we cannot recommend this highly enough. We were on half board and found the food to be very good a bit plain but far from the worst hotel food. the drinks price were a beer at US$ 5.00 and a carafe of wine at US$8.00 (although a bottle of wine started at US$32.00. However the setting is just superb -the house reef is amazing whilst on land we enjoyed watching the Storks, fruit bats and parrots. We must thank Salahuddin our waiter and Shahid who maintained the Water Villa. If you do go, do two things 1) Go to the west end of the island just after daybreak - look for the storks and watch what happens right at the waters edge and then 2)Go out onto the water villas and at the shade at the end look straight down and watch the patch of coral just left of centre at about 0800 hours -have patience it's worth it.

Reviewed March 30, 2014
6.3
Good
Maurina from Brunei Darussalam
Group
Comfort Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

Relaxation and tanning in Maldives with friends”

Beautiful beach, relaxing environment

Fihalhohi Island is so beautiful! All villas are crawl distance from the pristine blue water! The villas a bit run down and you get a sense that they havent really changed a thing since the 80s-90s. But it's good value as u only need a 40minute boat ride from the Airport. Staff were ok, not super friendly but I think they're just a bit reserved. Spa was ok, not fantastic but it's Maldives! Enjoy your day outside and join in the activities they organised! Anyway, if u have a bit more money to spend, recommend going all out to the more expensive resorts. Here, it's more for budget travellers who wants a slice of paradise. :)

Reviewed March 19, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
SAID from United States
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

Amazing, the resort island is fantastic”

water sports, opportunity to go fishing and diving, the overall stay

We loved it. My wife and I stayed one night in Male and then went back to the airport to take the speed boat which belongs to the hotel. It is about an hours ride to the island. When we got there we recieved a warm welcome. The cool thing about the place is that you can sign up for different activities like fishing which I really like. Also the water sports are fantastic. The staff are really nice and responsive - we staying in one of the bungalows which was an amazing experience. I wouuld totally go back there again.

Reviewed March 03, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Emma from Canada
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014

realxing, great reef, good food”

same as above

- the room was large and clean however not very welcoming - the price to rent snorkel and fins $10 and were excellent condition - the reef is great - especially in the morning - prices were western but nothing outrageous - we had half board and that was nice as we got to eat lunch whenever we wanted at the two other restaurants - not much night life on this island - it's really for relaxation only - buffet meals had great choice and good food Only con is they determine when you leave the island to catch your plane .... as the airport is small it takes only 1/2 to go through customs etc so we spent over 2 hours waiting around when we could have been at the beach.

Reviewed January 20, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Vikas from India
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013

fun and romantic”

location, crystal clear water n adventure sports

pleasant stay. We enjoyed the water sports available at fihalohi. Bt we couldnt go for scuba diving, as i didnt know swimming. I dont know why one needs to know swimming to drown!! hope they remove this restriction by next time :). Other than that, its a thumbs-up.

Reviewed December 28, 2013
8.0
Excellent
LIAN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Comfort Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013

Great house reef resort”

Great house reef and fishes, nice beaches and good water sports

Fihalhohi is a good resort with good food, water sports and staffs are good and polite. Lots of different kind of fishes are just by the beach or the jetty and great house reef. During evening, the tide is so low that it is just 3-4 ft high and nice house reef could be seen clearly. I think it is worth staying because I don't have to visit other island or join other snorkelling excursions. Sunset is beautiful and facilities wise is also convenient indeed. Food taste nice too. I tried on the catch of the day with USD14 and it was good. Water sports staffs were very attentive and helpful on the excursions questions and request.

Reviewed December 14, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Jozsef from Bahrain
Family with teens
Comfort Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013

Pleasant stay and cool gateway”

Clean room, superb house reef

I read the reviews before we traveled so I knew what to expect. It was exactly as we anticipated. House reef is outstanding, the beach is great, staff is good, food quality is average, selection is acceptable. Choose this hotel if prefer water sports over anything else.

Reviewed October 21, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Daniel from Czech Republic
Family with teens
Classic Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013

Nice beach, nice reef, average resort”

beautiful beach, snorkling at house reef, rooms close to beach

As an island it is a beautiful place with white sand beach, house reef with lots of fish which are seen just by snorkeling. The resort and its facilities are the only things on the island. Accomodation is available in standard room - a small villa, or deluxe room - 2 storeys villa, or water villa. We stayed in standard room which was quite spacious with large bathroom and a storage room with wardrobe. Breakfast and dinner (as H/B) in a form of buffet with very strict timing so if you miss breakfast (till 9:30!) you have to buy food in one of the bars. Choice and food was average. Since there is no way you can go shopping outside everything in the resort was overpriced (Pringles 6$) and every item was + 10% service charge + 8% GST. Reception staff was quite helpful, otherwise the rest of the waiters + cashier seemed like they worked there as a punishment. The atmosphere of the place was not too relaxed and it was more fun with the fish in the sea then with people around. Also WiFi was not free and i better did not ask for the price. Overall not a place we wish to return to.

Reviewed August 25, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Romillie from Philippines
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013

Romantic”

House reef, friendly english speaking staff, great view

It was amazing! Stayed at the water bungalow & it was the perfect location for our honeymoon. I highly suggest to bring your own snorkeling kit because the water is so clean and the house reef are amazing in this island. Fyi: no television in the rooms so it's really the perfect location for honeymooners.

Reviewed August 23, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Janardan from Nepal
Group
Classic Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Good value for money!”

Location, Location and Location

We had a comfortable stay, just wished they provided airport transfers free (or, cheaper). And, everyone needs an internet connection these days, it was too pricy. Overall, it was beautiful especially when you had the whole island at your disposal to explore.

Reviewed August 23, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Christinn from Philippines
Group
Classic Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013

Nice rooms/island, low cost resort”

Nice room, beauful resort, low cost

Upon arriving to Male Airport, you have to go the counter (forgot the counter number, you can ask anyone who's working there). If you're arriving early you have to wait for some passengers that's why we waited for 2 hours or more (you can take a picture or eat there while waiting). The speed boat will take around 45 minutes - 1 hour to reach the resort. For the food it's better to have half board/full board package and for us food are okay (They have wide variety of foods to eat, for vegetarians also). The island/beach is beautiful as well as the rooms but for the wifi you have to pay for it. Going back, our flight is around 9am and we departed at 6:am. What is nice about them is they still served us breakfast even though it's not included on half/full board package.

Reviewed August 21, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Yantao from China
Family with young children
Comfort Room
Stayed 6 nights in July 2013

Nice Resort with Low Budget”

Swimming and Snorkelling, Good Food, Sunset View on Beach

Fihalhohi is about 45 minutes from Male Airport by speedboat. The island is good for swimming and snorkelling, even diving is ok. There is nothing special but just like everywhere around. Food is not as good as other five stars resort, but still quite enough for a comfortable stay. Half board is okay, there is snack available during lunch at the restaurant on beach. Staff is friendly. Beverages are quite expensive but there is no other option on the island.

Reviewed August 12, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Fazal from China
Family with young children
Comfort Room
Stayed 5 nights in May 2013

A great and comfortable stay in this resort hotel”

comfortable room. nice reef. overall good staff

The stay was good overall and a nice reef for swimming. We got a nice comfortable beach access room which was quite spacious. Spacious washroom and hot water with a very good shower pressure. But not all rooms have a seaview so better to call hotel and request for a room with a good view. One thing i dislike very much is the absence of TV in the room. Internet is not free and quite expensive but i took a dhiraagu mobile sim with internet package when we landed at airport so i personally did not had any issues for internet and i advice all travellers to take a local sim with internet which is very reasonably priced in Maldives and very fast internet, so its very useful during travel anywhere in Maldives. Breakfast lunch and dinner does not have many choices and one gets bored after 2-3 days. No other complains and overall a nice stay. One tip is to take atleast a half board package in this hotel as they don't have many restaurant choices. Your tables in the restaurant are fixed for your entire stay which is good

Reviewed May 31, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Comfort Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013

Paradise, perfect place to unwind”

Snorkelling, beaches, surroundings

We did several weeks research and decided based on pictures, reviews, the house reef and relative good value compared to other Maldives islands, that we'd choose Fihalhohi. It was paradise. You could find your own secluded part of the island to chill out and there was enough to do to keep you entertained, for us it was mainly the snorkelling. The food was good and the rooms clean.

Reviewed April 21, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Yanan from China
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

a pleasant stay experience”

Quiet,Soft Sand,Clean

It is fortunate to choose this Resort. After gone to another Resort in Maldives, we found we like this Island more than another. The island is very quiet, the sand is soft, we can walk barefoot on the whole island.

Reviewed April 07, 2013