Book Now: Galare Guest House

Excellent
From 872 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
/
10
Recommended by 96% of guests

Reviews of Galare Guest House Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (872)Booking.com Reviews (207)
8.2
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities7.8
Location8.7
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service8.4
Value for money8.5
All languages
All guests (872)

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 767 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Shirley from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 8 nights in April 2019

Consistently Wonderful”

We have stayed here for several years. The staff is friendly and helpful. The quiet location by the river is perfect for us -- close to wonderful restaurants and easy transportation to anywhere we want to visit.

Reviewed May 10, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
James from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Repeat stay”

I have a friend that lived here for years. Nice common areas. Restaurant on site. Right on the river. High marks for cleanliness and good staff. I rarely come back to any hotels. I come back here when I’m in town. Excellent location.

Reviewed April 01, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
PAULA from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 7 nights in March 2019

A great find!”

Great location - a quiet place on the river in a garden setting, but conveniently located to markets, short walk to old city. "Tu" from Lanna travel service does a great job planning excursions. I would definitely stay here again!

Reviewed March 14, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Claire
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Lovely guesthouse in a fun part of town”

Great time here and even came back multiple times. Very cheap when booked at the place , not online. Delicious breakfast with a good view. Laundry was very expensive (charged per item) but they did advise me of an alternative around the corner which was only 50thb per kilo.

Reviewed February 27, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Shirley from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 29 nights in January 2019

Wonderful Place!”

We have stayed here for years and will continue to do so. This year there is a new solar water-heating system and the showers were less than optimal. The water temperature varies drastically. A bit disappointing but environmentally more friendly. Everything else is so wonderful that I would never consider changing hotels!

Reviewed February 24, 2019
8.8
Excellent
sia from France
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 6 nights in February 2019

Quiet cute guesthouse”

One of the best place to stay close to the night bazaar. Quiet, peaceful with a nice small garden with lots of chairs and even hammocks! Makes you feel at home! The restaurant on site provide good meals too! The room size are quite okay. The personal are all very nice and friendly. Always welcome you with a smile! The location is really nice. Few minutes walk from Kalare night bazaar and also kad luan. Plus lots of restaurants and cafés close by. The only downside will be that there’s no convenience store close by. But I definitely will choose to stay again in the future.

Reviewed February 23, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Wanarat from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Very good location, quiet and clean. Good for a couple.”

Not my first time at this place and still impressed. Galare Guest House is clean, quiet, plus a lovely restaurant with Ping River view. Their staffs are lovely and helpful. It locates in a walking distance to night bazaar. Across the street from Galare is Ban Ho Mosque community which you'll enjoy Kao Soi, community market (on Friday) and roti!! Anyway, this place is not that huge, we appreciate the calm travelers with good social etiquette.

Reviewed January 11, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Miles from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 30 nights in December 2018

A very nice place to stay, staff very good they keep the rooms and guest house very clean, ”

I have enjoyed my stay here and would have no hesitation in staying here again and I fully give Galare Guest House a full recommendation as a place to stay in Chiang Mai, it’s location is 5 minutes to Night Bazzar and 10 minutes to Old City walking and it is right on the edge of the river👍

Reviewed January 09, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Huong from Vietnam
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Friendly & lovely guest house”

A very lovely place. The receptionist lady is very friendly and she is always smile to welcome us. I recommend you should try the restaurant here, the food is fresh or and taste ^^. You can both enjoin the food and the river view from the restaurant. The room facilities is not new one but clean and cute. The special thing is that it seems like every thing here is run by the lady, and they make me feel like they are my aunts ^^

Reviewed November 27, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Kathleen from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Quaint place on the river”

Such a quaint charming place Walking distance to the night market. Beds are harder than most Americans are use to but the room was very comfortable. An older German called us with our bags and he wad quite welcoming and friendly.

Reviewed March 12, 2019
8.8
Excellent
ARUN from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in February 2019

V good 4 day stay”

Nice riverside location V friendly helpful family run hotel. Visiting tour agent spoke good English and was v helpful.15 min walk into town not too bad.

Reviewed March 06, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Levent from Turkey
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Quite, river side, perfect garden”

Good rooms, nice bslcpny and garden, perfect to rest river side restaurant

Reviewed February 28, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Calum from Australia
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Awesome location. Great value.”

Beds are soft. Breakfast at Guesthouse is OK - bacon and eggs, plus some other choices, but for the same price, you can get nicer breakfasts and real coffee a block away. 5 mins walk to Riverfront and trendy bars including the Bus Bar. Really friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely return

Reviewed December 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Gregory from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Great Bargain Old Chiang Mai”

This is a great guest house. My favorite place to stay. I have been coming here for 15 years. Chiang Mai is changing, but if you want to see how the city used to be this is a great little guesthouse with a great location near the night market and the best Khao Soi restaurant.

Reviewed November 03, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Loo from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016

Nice clean warm place to stay ”

Staff are excellent , smiling face all time . Breakfast taste good . The only thing that there was no hair dryer ... We bought food from Warorot market as our dinner, staff offer plates & cutlery , it really feel like a home ..

Reviewed December 30, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Marc from Belgium
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Nice terrace with river view”

We were here with Loy Kraton. From the terrace we had a great view on the river with the thousands of Krathongs floating by, and the thousands of lampions being launched from and around the bridge. Room is clean. Bathroom quite small. Restaurant is good. Don't know about breakfast: had to leave to catch plane before breakfast.

Reviewed November 18, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Kristal from Malaysia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Lovely little place”

This was by far the best hotel I have stayed at while in Thailand. The hotel is built amongst nature with tall and lush greenery surrounding the place including the river which runs along just where the hotel restaurant is at. The restaurant also served delectable and authentic thai food. It was located all the way to the end of the soi (unlit at night) which made us feel a tad bit unsafe when returning form the local night market (which was really near). The room was of adequate size, the bed was nice, the bathroom and everything was clean too.

Reviewed August 15, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Elizabeth from Malaysia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2015

Great location, accommodating staff”

Staff, location, rooms

Loved it here. About a 10-min walk to the Old City but a mere stone's throw from the daily night market. Reached chiang mai at 7am and Galare had no qualms about checking us in early. Staff were really helpful and cheerful all the time. Rooms were clean and the hotel even left two soap bars and a birthday card for me. A 2- star hotel but 5-star treatment

Reviewed August 10, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
stephen from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

relaxed atmosphere great value..amazing”

staff is great....rooms are clean.....why pay more for less when Galare House offers the best value

Perfect...food is great and priced low. Have travel service at hotel at great pricing points. Staff friendly and very helpful. Saved 800.00 USD staying here vs. A botigue hotel with stuffy atmosphere and huge prices.

Reviewed May 15, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Joey from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

nice classic hotel next to ping river. fantastic!”

convenient, nice, friendly

It is definitely one of the hotel in Chiangmai that I am going back again especially If I go with my family or girlfriend. The place is located next to ping river which makes the place so romantic and it is also very convenient as it is located nearby Chiangmai night bazaar. For Muslim, the halal street is actually opposite of the hotel :)

Reviewed November 09, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Niklaus from Switzerland
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in May 2014

Very good stay in a very smart guesthouse”

Centrally, silence, relaxing, fiendly staff

Since 1988 we are visiting Chiangmai and since 1992 we stay always in Galare - Guesthouse. We think that is the best proof for the performance of that guest-house The staff working there is bound to it for many many years already. Galare guest - house is our second home

Reviewed May 07, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Stuart from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

Good value and central location”

Location, price and friendliness

Very good once again (I had styed there previously) and while it's located very close to a main road and the markets you wouldn't know as it's very quiet and relaxing. The only problem we had was the mattress was firm but apart from that it is great value for money and the staff were fantastic and helpful.

Reviewed February 01, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Ken from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

A wonderful hotel...we felt like family!”

Wonderful Staff, Value, Location

Right smack in the middle of where you want to stay in Chang Mai is this awesome guest house. It is hidden back against the river down an alley so it is really quiet and very quaint. Sort of reminded me of staying at a rustic lodge. The hotel is clean, comfortable, well laid out, and very inexpensive. Everything was perfect for us. The staff treats you like family and everyone is just wonderful. We even stayed an additional night we liked it so much! We booked all of our tours through Tu the women that runs the tour desk and she was even our driver one day. (This women can take care of all your tour needs for you, with no worries and great prices and service!) The location is perfect. About two blocks from the night market and the central city and surrounded by everything you need. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking at staying in Chang Mai and you want something different then a postage stamp lodging. Thank you so much everyone at Galare! Ken and Jeff

Reviewed October 15, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Azahar from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in September 2013

Excellent stay for the price paid.”

Location, peaceful at night and flexibility

Loving it! The location is superb. Easy to find traditional Thai street food. The guesthouse is also close to Tonlamyai flower market which sells blooms at dirt cheap prices. Imagine a tenth of what you'd pay for a fresh bouquet of roses back home? The red taxi songtheuw we took to Mae Sa cost 600BHT return and only 100BHT to the airport. Excellent stay, we love Chiang Mai even during the monsoon!

Reviewed September 26, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Shane from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013

A quaint looking hotel centrally located”

Asthetics, Location, Price

This is the second time I've stayed at Galare, and although it's a little more expensive than I normally look for as a budget traveller I like it's location and quaint setting enough to stay again, especially as I wanted something a little more romantic to enjoy with my partner.

Reviewed June 12, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
HU from China
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013

Great location handy to markets,transport.”

Staff great and place is comfortable

Our room was ready upon arrival and registration took very little time. The rooms were cleaned to a very high standard. The lobby staff were quite friendly and helped us arrange our tours and rides for departure

Reviewed February 21, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Shane from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012

Nice hotel at a lovely location”

Quaint hotel overlooking the river

a nice spacious room in a rustic looking guesthouse that is right by the river. you can enjoy a relaxing peaceful breakfast (or any other meals) overlooking the river. the hotel is modern and well kept, just a short walk from both the nightlife and the old town. if you don't want to venture out of the grounds there's a nice little garden where you can sit an enjoy the sun.

Reviewed January 07, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Wanarat from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

good hotel locates in a convenient location.”

Very convenient location.

It is our second time staying at this hotel. The hotel is clean, and decorated with local feeling. If you wish to spend time in town of Chiangmai then this place is recommended as you can walk to Night Bazar and not too far from the weekend walking street. The room is standard, though it is not luxurious, but with reasonable price. Staffs are very nice and helpful.

Reviewed December 26, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Christian from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

Great river-side location”

Quiet, convenient location, fabulous staff.

this is the second time i stayed at the galare. as before, the bed is a bit soft for me, but the room was otherwise well appointed and comfortable. free wifi is a real plus. they do provide a hot-pot with cups, but no coffee or tea, so bring your own. for the price, and for one staying away from the moat, this is a nice stay.

Reviewed July 25, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Scott from United States
Group
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in May 2012

great hospitality”

location, location, location

Very smooth, uncomplicated check-in. Friendly and informative staff. Nice clean room in the 'riverside' area just south of the Governor's Mansion and the Nawarat Bridge. Close to the Warwaroot Market and Flower/Veg. Markets, Post Office. Also close to the various night markets and the Anusarn Market area and its great Leena Seafood Restaurant. The Galare was was clean, safe, relatively quiet and very friendly.

Reviewed June 02, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Dustin from Canada
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2010

Wonderful place, with a great location.”

Very close to night market, Muay Thai. Also easy access to old city and temples. Very friendly staff, rooms were clean, and food was good.
N/A

The Galare hotel is very conveniently located in close proximity to many attractions in Chiang Mai. It has easy access to markets, old city, and temples. They offer tours,cooking classes, and many other things for travelers to the area. It is within walking distance to the night markets. They also offer motorbike rental for a reasonable price.

Reviewed January 18, 2011
9.3
Exceptional
Tim from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in December 2010

Nice quiet guest house in a good location”

Open air feel and nice gardens, friendly and helpful staff, on the river, close to the night bazaar and old city
You will need mosquito repellent to be outside in the gardens. Screened windows, but keep the door shut.

great location near to the night bazaar, anusan night market for food as well as the old city and the old market area. because it is on the river you are also close to the nice riverside area on the other side of the river. affordable accommodation with nice wifi. all things considered, this was the best location to stay in the city if you want to be near to everything and yet it is down a quiet alley and against the river making it also to be quiet and calm. i would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed January 04, 2011
9.2
Exceptional
Charles
Group
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018

Excellent value”

We arrived at night and were not overly impressed with what new saw. The room was basic but clean. Upon waking and going for breakfast, we saw the place in a different light. The staff was very nice and helpful. There is a wonderful view from the breakfast area overlooking the water. The location is excellent just a short walk from the night market. All and all, we spent a very pleasant 4 nights there

Reviewed November 05, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
leam from Canada
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Amazing and helpful staff!! ”

The woman at the front at the travel agency Dhoo absolutely made out trip! She was amazing! Got us tickets to Bangkok and helped us fix our booking error, was able to get us a refund. Great location, close to the night market! Loved the little restaurant on the water. Definitely bring bug spray but stay here!

Reviewed October 20, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Derek from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Get place in Central Chiang Mai”

Really nice spot on the river, walk to many attractions. This was my 2nd stay here, I'll go back for sure

Reviewed January 28, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
William from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Exceptional”

The location is great. Plenty of amazing places to eat. Within 2 blocks of the night market and the bus comes right by the street

Reviewed January 16, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Eileen from United States
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 6 nights in January 2019

Atmosphere, location and friendly helpful staff make up for somewhat dated rooms.”

You would appreciate the "quietness" of this place compared to other accommodations in the general area. Nice atmosphere for breakfast, overlooks the river.

Reviewed January 11, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
sybil from Australia
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Couple of nights up town”

Great happy stay.Near night market,Ping river all that area has to offer.

Reviewed April 18, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Kim from United States
Group
Standard
Stayed 6 nights in April 2018

A little rustic but good!”

Great location away from all the crazy during Songkran Festival but super close to night market and short taxi to town. The lady at the tourist desk was helpful and arranged a day trip for us (we don’t recommend going to White Temple). The Coffee Bug cafe at end of street was wonderful! I used water from faucet to brush my teeth and drank from water coolers in main areas and had no problem. Breakfast was simple but good. Water pressure good. Beds were a little hard for all of us (stayed in 3 rooms).

Reviewed April 21, 2018
7.2
Very good
Anders from Denmark
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

Nice guest house with atmosphere”

I like this guesthouse. It definetly is worth booking, close to night market. It overlooks the river and has a good atmosphere. The rooms are nice, however, not huge. It has a very nice garden, where you can sit.

Reviewed March 04, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Dennis from Canada
Couple
Standard
Stayed 12 nights in February 2018

Exceptional”

We stayed at the Galare Guest House for 12 nights in the middle of February, 2018. We found it to be a very enjoyable experience. The location is very close to the Night Market, looks out over the river, and is within walking distance of the Old Town. The staff and especially the tour operator, Doo, are very friendly and efficient. The small restaurant is open from 7:00 am to 4:30 pm and serves a limited menu of good quality food. The only down sides is that the room was fairly dark and the bathroom small.

Reviewed February 25, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Wayne from Canada
Couple
Standard
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018

Peace on the River”

Very well positioned boutique hotel on river Ping at reasonable price. Quiet. Once a hangout for missionaries on leave from converting hill tribes. River cafe with okay breakfast but nothing else except view and ambiance.

Reviewed January 18, 2018
6.8
Good
Jason from United States
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Breakfast, Play area, location, staff”

Four great things: The breakfast is actually quite tasty and reasonably priced. There is a small garden area for kids to run around. The location is pretty convienient as its' located near the night market; and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were a little worn down. Not super clean... hair on the floor, very stained towels. Bad smell from the bathroom. But it worked. It's not a bad place at all; but for the price there are newer, cleaner places around that are similar.

Reviewed January 11, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Mohammad from Malaysia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in January 2017

Chiang Mai Hospitality”

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife and a Thai-speaking bestfriend. It was my first time traveling to Thailand. Came here to meet my office interns from Chiang Mai University while traveling to tourist attractions around Chiang Mai. We arrived there in the evening. I'm surprised while I'm on my reaching to Reception , the lady boss know who I am. The check-in was smooth. The room is ok and comfortable. The garden is scenic, since it is situated in front of Ping river; a nice setting for your breakfast. The location is near to Night Bazaar, around 15 minutes of walking. On the last night at there, we reached the guest house around midnight and had requested for airport transfer on very last minute (hours before our flight back to Kuala Lumpur )with the night-shift caretaker uncle. He called the lady boss and he said the lady boss will ask her staff to transfer us to the airport at 3am in the morning. Hospitality at its best! Overall, we recommenced this place.

Reviewed November 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
sonja from New Zealand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

Quiet area close to the river”

A short walk to the night bazaar. The street running parallel has a great number of food, bar, spa options, etc. We didn't end up trying the restaurant at the guest house as we had too many other places on our list to eat. The guest house room was spacious and had a gorgeous interior, it was a great place to return to at the end of a tiring day. They had lots of pamphlets about tour and activity options if you're into that, and the staff seemed keen to help organise things - although we happily planned ourselves.

Reviewed November 24, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Thị from Vietnam
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017

Nice place with low price”

This guesthouse is Thai design. I love it. The staffs were so warm and friendly. It takes only 10' for walking to night market. The room is clean and I could hear Thai music slowly outside, not noise, it was relax. I will be back.

Reviewed October 24, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
David from Singapore
Group
Standard
Stayed 6 nights in September 2017

Peaceful and quiet stay at Galare”

A peaceful and quiet stay at Galare. Probably due to the low season. Our request for type of rooms was given. Appreciated. A faulty shower-head was taken care of immediately, with a new replacement. Excellent customer care. A short walk to the night bazaar area by cutting through the halal street just opposite Galare. Local convenience store, pharmacy and laundry shop just outside Galare on the main road and halal street.

Reviewed September 25, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
William from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017

Nice interaction with other guests”

Galare House is in a great location - an easy 20 minute walk to the old city but a quiet neighborhood with views of the Ping River. The option of eating onsite was convenient for breakfast and they were very accommodating to make special requests. However they were also within easy walking distance of a variety of nice restaurants. The small seating areas outside each room were conducive to connecting with other guests. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed was firm and comfortable.

Reviewed May 08, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Serena from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Exceptional”

Galare is comfortable and homey. The gardens are a relaxing oasis after a day of sightseeing. The staff is friendly and professional.We had a great time here, staying first for 6 days and then returning for 3 more. Talking to our fellow guests, who are quite and internationals group, we came to realize that there are many guests who come regularly and stay for weeks at a time. It's a great place!

Reviewed February 25, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
leslie from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in February 2017

Great Staff & Tour Service”

The rooms are simple, but clean, providing a great value for your money. The restaurant on site has good food (muesli was delicious) and great coffee. The tour operator (Lanna) was very helpful in planning our elephant and cooking class excursions - just be sure that you are getting what you paid them for when you show up!

Reviewed February 13, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Priya from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016

We enjoyed our stay!”

Wee bit late with this review but We were a family of three adults in room 104 on the ground floor for four nights in November 2016. Our room was a good size with a large double bed and proper single bed. Very comfortable. There were many little storage spaces in the room to store bits and pieces which was nice. The little fridge was great as was the A/C in such hot weather. In the cupboard the safe deposit box was unusual in that it was metal and required a padlock so make sure you carry extra with you as we did, however the staff and guests were lovely so we felt very safe where we were. Although the bathroom was tiny it was fine but could do with an extra hook on the door to hang clothes. The guest house is located in a nice quiet area with the only noise coming from neighbouring rooms. Continental breakfast was nice in the restaurant overlooking the river. It cost us 70 baht each but staff wanted us to pay at the end of breakfast not the end of our stay. We were allowed to use the computer and printer to checkin to our onward flights which was great. Careful not to mix Galare guest house with Rattana guest house which is on the same street. The location was amazing with the tourist office close to the roundabout, many laundry places (shop around for prices), fantastic night bazaar a couple of streets away and the Sunday walking market was fab. There is a lovely veg restaurant called Spice nearby. Had a great stay here and would return!

Reviewed January 03, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Margaret from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 6 nights in November 2016

Charming, elegant, good service, great staff ”

We were delighted to find such an elegant and well maintained guest house. Service and staff were excellent. Location couldn't be better and gardens delightful to sit in. Only improvement could be if they included 2 cups of coffee in their 'included breakfast rather than charging 20tbh for 2nd cup. But pretty minor really

Reviewed November 23, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Ashley from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Beautiful home with clean rooms and friendly staff. Great location for shopping and eating. ”

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the clean rooms and excellent customer service. Great food on Hallah street and close location to the night bizarre and Thai massage parlors. Galate guest house is charming, clean and the ceiling fans made sleeping nice and cool.

Reviewed October 08, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Rhona from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016

Friendly and good value for money”

The staff were incredibly friendly. We booked a tour through the hotel for Doi Inthanon National Park and the service was great. We also used them for our ride to the airport. The room was small but fully serviceable. There were a few ants in the bathroom but that didn't bother us too much! I'd definitely stay there again!

Reviewed October 06, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
John from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in August 2016

4th time I stayed here - Always a pleasant place”

We arrived late in the evening, so there was no English speaker at the desk, but it wasn't a problem as a smiling face and hand motions clearly let us know what to do. This is our fourth stay and have been pleased every time. Simple, basic rooms with working aircon, fans, hot water, hot water heaters for coffee, reasonably priced breakfast by the river front. Highly recommend for budget travelers or those who just prefer a smaller riverfront guest house to the mega-hotels. I give the facilities three stars because this is, after all, a basic guest house and not a 5 start hotel. I found no problems with any of the facilities.

Reviewed August 12, 2016
8.4
Excellent
sonam from India
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016

Good location plus clean guest house ”

We were there for 2 nights..it was located right opposite to the night bazar in old changmai city..if your looking for a decent medium budget accommodation then you should stay at galare guest house..the manager lady was very helpful.

Reviewed July 13, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Laurie from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

Quaint ”

I felt very safe. It was an easy walk to the night bazzar and the Sunday market. Breakfast was limited and simple but very good. Staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome, as well as knowledgable of the area.

Reviewed June 22, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Wendy from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 6 nights in February 2016

Warm and friendly ”

It was like staying at a Thai family's home. Tu,ladies and gents at desk always there to help guide anyway they could. Beds comfy,shower nice and warm Very charming Thai style guest house. I highly recommend Kab kun kaa🙏

Reviewed February 28, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
James from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2016

Quiet riverside location”

A block off main road so no street noise. Firm bed, smallish room, plenty of hot water, good wifi, riverside restaurant. Only had breakfast but had good selection of fresh fruit and juice and western entrees. 5 minute motor bike to town center, short walk to night market

Reviewed February 23, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Jacquie from United States
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016

Great Hotel for the Price”

The staff, the tour guide, the location.

It was a perfectly adequate hotel in a great location. The rooms were older and not fancy but clean. The TV had some channels in English. It was right by a river so breakfast was nice (not included) but very reasonable. It was near China Town and the Night Bazaar so we were able to walk everywhere. Although after seeing the City, we may have chosen to stay in the Old City where it seemed a bit more lively and hip.

Reviewed February 22, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Melody from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2016

I enjoyed my stay once again!”

The location is excellent; it has a lovely little restaurant right on the Ping River; & I liked the sitting area on the veranda just outside my door.

The shower was hot; the bed was comfortable enough; the rooms are simple but spacious enough; & the staff was friendly and even remembered me from previous visits. The Galare is a 5 minute walk to the Night Market, and about a 20 minute walk to the Tha Phae Gate. There are many restaurants in the area. The restaurant at the Galare serves inexpensive & tasty Thai dishes as well as Western breakfast options. The rooms have a pitcher of water (refillable at the water coolers), a kettle and cups and saucers, but you will need to bring your own tea and coffee supplies. On previous visits I used the travel agency on site and was very pleased with my trips. I will more than likely stay at the Galare if I am in Thailand once again.

Reviewed February 05, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
John from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016

Good location and value”

Location on River; Proximity to Shopping street; value

This is our second stay at the Galare and we were as pleased as our first stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We only had breakfast at their small cafe (where you can eat right alongside the river) and it was both good value and well prepared. The only downside to smaller venues in Chiang Mai are the night sounds - dogs and other city sounds are common in any of these places so if you are very sensitive to night noises then you may want to opt for a larger venue further from the city center. The Galare is not very noisy as it is a 5 minute walk from the main shopping (noise) area but it is still a consideration for any venue in Chiang Mai. The internet is very good and each room has multiple log-in usernames to handle multiple devices - a very good option I have not seen elsewhere. Also had CNN news.

Reviewed February 05, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Tasha from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015

Shabby chic”

Location, Cleanliness, Ambience

Enjoyed my stay. Had an upstairs room that was quiet. Consistent hot water and pressure. Relaxed seating in the garden and by the river. Restaurant food was okay, but location and proximity to other food options made up for it. Room phone didn't work and wireless instructions aren't the best, but once connected it's strong. I would stay again.

Reviewed January 06, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Hoonji from South Korea
Family with teens
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

a great place to stay!”

quiet, cozy, staff

It is not super close to night market, but it is within walking distance. The garden in the hotel area is lovely, and the room is cozy and clean even though it was built long time ago. My mom really liked this place especially about the quietness at night. The only thing I want to complain about is the matress of the bed, maybe it has been used for long, and it is time to be changed.

Reviewed December 19, 2015
8.7
Excellent
james from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in August 2015

At Bt890 it's a steal. Great room. Friendly.”

Great room. Cheap. Near to center. Friendly.

Big, charming room. Good AC. Friendly staff. Near to bar street, restaurants and night market area. Close enough to old town's busiest side. I was paying more for worse elsewhere. Moved here and was very happy. No breakfast included. Go to My Place for awesome brekkie or its possible to buy breakfast in Galare's charming riverside restaurant. Internet was easy access, but slow to worthless depending on time of day.

Reviewed August 24, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
John from Australia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015

Quiet and Pleasant”

Location, garden, staff

Set in a peaceful garden close to the river but still in the town centre. Staff were friendly and helpful. Down a quiet lane out of the hustle and bustle. Breakfast was very good and inexpensive. Rooms are plain but clean and spacious. Lovely stay.

Reviewed July 22, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Shawn from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Returning visitor for 30 years”

Close to the action, old world charm, family atmosphere.

Very pleasant. Since first coming to ChiangMai in 1985, Galare GH has been my home away from home for me and several friends from Canada. Friendly service, good breakfast and easy in-out with no attitude. This is not your slick hotel with all the door holders, but its a clean bed at the end of the day, with the Mae Ping River your company for breakfast. The gardens always smell lovely and always seem to be in flower. No miss, no fuss, simply a great place to stay in CM.

Reviewed April 20, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Vaida from Lithuania
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015

The best quality for this price, good stay!”

Envirpnment with noce gardesn, big and functional room, walking distance from the center

Everything was really good. The only disadvantage of rooms was thin walls, so you can hear neighbours a little too much. However, the rooms were big and clean, staff was friendly, and the location is in the right place. I would come back here during my next visit!

Reviewed March 05, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Melody from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Great location & helpful staff”

The Galare is very convenient to the night bazaar and other tourist sites; it has a relaxing atmosphere; & it has free wi-fi.

The staff were anticipating my arrival & checked me in extremely quickly even though I arrived early. I was able to use their free wi-fi in both my room & in the restaurant. The room has a fan, air conditioning, a small fridge, complimentary drinking water, comfortable beds, and a kettle and cups. Each room has a table and chairs just outside of the room on the porch. The restaurant has a decent selection of Thai and western food that is reasonably priced. The location can't be beat for access to the night bazaar area, Kalare Food Court, as well as the Tha Phae Gate area where the Sunday night market is located. The staff arranged for a taxi to take me to the airport. The only slight negative is that the rooms are a little overpriced compared to other hotels with the same or better amenities. I found booking on Agoda.ca cheaper than booking directly through the guesthouse. I have stayed at the Galare several times and would stay there again.

Reviewed February 03, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Emanouil from Australia
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

Relaxing feel in Thai style design ”

Location, hotel layout, value for money.

Great location for night bizarre, very relaxed feel to the hotel with Athai style design, small garden and restaurant next to river. Located in quite lane short walk to night bizarre. Rooms are large, clean and functional. Family of four stayed in one room with king and single beds. Staff all friendly and seen but not heard. They can assist with all your needs as they are well established. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed January 23, 2015