2015
Very good 7.8
Based on 1359 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1359 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Rosalind from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
A colonial Type
Father stayed here in the 1950's. The old Tradition has gone with the genteel decay. Staff very professional IN the hotel NOT the outside bar. Location has always been superb...on the maiden.
Why oh why was I not told hotel being renovated so half of it closed. Sho king surprise. Pool in building site. Crows and vermin at outside bar eating off my table. Trust renovation completed in Sinhalese style and not thai.
Reviewed June 15, 2015

Law from Hong Kong
Couples
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Historical hotel in nice location.
Staff very nice and attentive
Very good n hotel value for money.
Reviewed June 02, 2015

Danielle from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2015
Beautiful hotel but currently being renovated
The location, food and history
We had a great stay, the food and service were exceptional. However, the hotel is undergoing some pretty big renovations which means areas like the pool and outdoor bar are a construction zone and not the nicest places to relax.
Reviewed May 22, 2015

Santosh from India
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
HERITAGE HOTEL
ARCHITECTURE, LOCATION, STAFF
Reviewed May 16, 2015

Mudrikath from Maldives
Business travelers
Superior Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2013
Good
Location and view
Reviewed April 27, 2015

Mudrikath from Maldives
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Good
Good location and view
Reviewed April 27, 2015

James from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Stayed 1 night in April 2015
Wonderful
staff, ambience, location
A wonderful change from the usual characterless corporate hotels that dominate these days. I just dont understand the less positive reviews on here about 'creaky floors' and old lifts. This place is like stepping back in time. Service, rooms, location, ambience - all are just perfect. We have also stayed in a very highly rated chain hotel in Colombo, and the Galle Face wins hands down. We will definitely return. It feels like a real luxury to be here, and it is no more expensive that the plastic chain hotels. Highly recommended.
Reviewed April 24, 2015

adam from United Kingdom
Couples
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Great stay
Beautiful hotel with great views and good staff
Couldn't have asked for anything more
Reviewed April 17, 2015

Richard from United States
Couples
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
One of my favorite hotels. A slice of history.
Ambiance, pool, rooms
Truely an amazing and regal hotel. Old and colonial but the upkeep is excellent. The Hotel breaths a sence of pride and history. The salt water pool overlooking the Indian oceanbis special. I really love this hotel. The last time I stayed here was 17 years ago. I will always stay there if I come to Sri Lanka.
Reviewed April 14, 2015

Julie from United Kingdom
Families with older children
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
A peaceful,characterful hotel in a lovely location
The architecture, Swimming pool, location,
Lovely relaxing stay. Very nice spa. Biggest pool we've ever had outdoors and deep too. Food a bit limited and expensive. Mostly excellent service just a bit slow around the pool dining area. Wonderful rooms with beautiful colonial style wood and marble but still very comfortable and luxurious.
Reviewed April 13, 2015


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: