2015
Very good 7.8
Based on 1357 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1357 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

David from Australia
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Lovely heritage hotel
Its position right on the waterfront, its age and charm
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Creswell from France
Business traveler
Stayed one night in March 2013
Perfect location to do business
location, ocean view, superb hotel
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Catherine from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
disappointing
history, architecture, location
This is a beautiful old hotel with a lot of history. However, except for the desk staff who were good enough, the hotel has terrible dining staff. We ordered lunch at the outside restaurant near the pool, it was not over busy, but it took so long(over an hour) that we had to cancel. Not only that but the people at the next table were angry for the same reason. The wait staff and manager did not seem to care a hoot.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Chris from Australia
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Public areas great! Rooms disappointing!
Location, atmosphere and pool
The real enjoyment if staying here is the location and the atmosphere of the old style building. Our room in the old wing was large but very dated. The a/c was either flat out or off! The bathroom had been painted so many times the floor waste was blocked! As the cost was reasonable the experience was passable. We did particularly enjoy the breakfasts and our time by the pool. YMMV
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Katharina from Germany
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Fantastic heritage property oozing with atmosphere
colonial charme, fantastic location, superb food
The property, location and meals under the arcades with that perfect view onto the sea could not have been better. Only downside for us: internet/wifi was not free, and the deals inadequate which appeared somewhat petty. Otherwise we loved our memorable stay there.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Sriram from India
Solo traveler
Stayed one night in March 2013
Nice hotel at a great location
Close to the sea, Great dining area, Close to the arterial road leading to shops and restaurants
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Suzanne from Australia
Couple
Stayed one night in February 2013
Fabulous Room in a great location
Location is brilliant, lovely old building, great breakfasts, close to everything, good service
We were at Galle Face Hotel for 5 days, 4 in the old wing in a very large room as we were travelling with our daughter. She left to go home and we had upgraded our room for one night into a beach view room with a balcony. That room was spectacular! Huge, comfortable, well appointed, the balcony had its own hot tub, outdoor shower and sun lounges. It was fabulous! The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Galle Face Hotel is in a great location on the sea front, next to Galle Face Green where a lot of the local action takes place and close to everything you would want to do.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Gavin from United States
Couple
Stayed one night in March 2013
Classic and Charming, but with a couple minuses
Classic feeling, clean rooms
What can I say about the Galle Face? Service is hit and miss for sure. Sometimes you have to track down a waiter to take your drink order. Other times you have a very professional and compassionate representative, like the staff member at the front desk in the classic wing, who, after I told him about a medical emergency I was having, extended my check out time 3 hours. That meant a lot to my partner and I. Didnt sample any of the food at the hotel, but the buffets looked nice. As for the room: it was huge with a classic feel, without being musty. Our suite however, was a little too close to the road. Noise can be a problem there. I am told to avoid the raod noise it is better to book a room in the new wing of the hotel. Overall I was satisfied with my stay, simply because of the no hassle extension I received.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

AUSHWIN from Nepal
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
poor front office staff
location pool building
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Toh from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Peaceful Beach
Relax under sunshine
Better not to hire taxi from outside as the hotel provided the useful information and secure destination with reasonable charge.
Reviewed March 09, 2013


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: