2015
Very good 7.8
Based on 1359 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1359 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Room comfort and quality 7.8
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food and dining 7.8
Sort by

Paul from United States
Family with young children
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Great Location, but not so great service
Location/Historic Building
For the expense this hotel does not offer the service that you would expect. Long waits for tables, drinks, and service at the front desk. When asking for simple things like a bottle of water upon arrival we were met with blank stares. Disappointing.
Reviewed January 07, 2013

Jo from United Kingdom
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Classic Colonial Colombo
Sea View and Sunset (with a beer)
We couldn't get a room in the new wing so stayed over Christmas in a Royal Suite in the Classic Wing. The suite was huge and full of historic furniture. Lovely to sit outside on the hotel terrace and watch the sunset. Only downsides were no Balcony (there are only a few in the hotel), not a very good shower and the noise from wedding receptions two floors below.
Reviewed January 07, 2013

Alistair from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Great classic hotel but quite dilapidated
Grand old hotel with lots of character - the poolside area is great
the hotel has a lot of obvious old world colonial charm but definitely had some challenges - we were unhappy with a room in the new wing and went back to the classic wing which seems to have much bigger rooms but the first one we were shown had beds that weren't assembled properly and we had to request another one. our friends had the royal scandinavian suite which was very grand but they suffered a lot of noise problems due to a function downstairs. the room categories and standards seem very haphazard and inconsistent. the selling point of the hotel is its old world colonial appearance.
Reviewed January 07, 2013

Julie from Canada
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Beautiful colonial hotel on the water
Location, the history, the ocean views from the veranda
there really isn't anywhere else worth staying in colombo if you want to get that old colonial feeling. it is a marvelous old hotel though it has certainly seen its better days behind it. the place is vaguely grimy with the carpets shorn and the service in the restaurants is pretty atrocious, but still worth every penny. i can't imagine staying anywhere else. the regency rooms are meant to be better and the bathrooms were very nice. the room was roomy enough too. when you actually get the food, it is pretty good.
Reviewed January 06, 2013

Nicola from Australia
Group
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Charming colonial chaos
Delightful grand old building in an excellent location. The staff were friendly and the public rooms and restaurants beautiful
We arrived late at night to find the hotel overbooked, so were offloaded to the nearby Ramada for the first night of our stay. When we checked in the next day we were given a free upgrade to the Regency wing. The room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The buffet breakfast is extensive and delicious although I never did get around to trying any of the curries in the morning
Reviewed January 05, 2013

Tracy from United States
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
true colombo: it doesn't get better
The oceanic suite is a spacious room, with an extremely comfortable bed,and a huge (!) jacuzzi, excellent shower. The room is nicely appointed, but it's the views from the tall windows that will blow you away. The Indian Ocean at its most beautiful, with the pool and famous 'checkerboard' patio below. We welcomed the New Year here, and it's not for those looking for peace and quiet on such a night...!
As usual in Sri Lanka, it's the people who make all the difference: From arrival, to dinner service, breakfast and all things in between, we were continually delighted by the smiles one often only reads about when traveling. The Galle Face Hotel has certainly attracted the best, in terms of service staff! While there, we met both the manager and the assistant manager, and perhaps most telling is that staff appeared to seek out their smiles and warmth, as well. The breakfast is not to be missed -- the best egg hoppers on the island!
Reviewed January 05, 2013

Jay from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Beautiful Classic hotel! Grand rooms, Sea view!
Sea-side location, grand rooms, architecture
Lovely place. We stayed in the Modern Wing which was HUGE and lovely. The bathroom itself was larger than many other hotel rooms! The location by the sea is also amazing. It's a great place to chill by the ocean. The buffet is great, you can eat and chill overlooking the sea. The service is good, and it's just wonderful being in such a beautiful historic hotel.
Reviewed January 04, 2013

Lorraine from United Kingdom
Family with older children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Wonderful old colonial hotel
Pool overlooking the sea.
great old style hotel running like a grandfather clock. many functions so great for weddings sri lankan style and traditional costume spotting.
Reviewed January 04, 2013

Rolf from Sweden
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Classical and central hotel
Classical and style
A classical and stylich hotel in the central part of Colombo, right on the sea side close to Galle Road and to Galle Face. The stay gives a taste of collonial times.
Reviewed January 04, 2013

Tina from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Fantastic location, rooms in need of upgrade
Location, swimming pool and grounds
Best location on the coast with a good pool and sunbathing area. It's worth it to recover from your long haul flight just lazing in the sun as there is not much to do in Columbo. The rooms are very dated. Look like they were last decorated in 1960 and have been constantly patched up ever since. A bit dusty and tardy really and very noisy as you can hear your neighbours walking around through the wooden floors. We stayed 2 seperate occasions and had the same problem with noise. It;s OK for 1 night stops on arrival/departure and can recommend the restaurants. The fine dinning was particualrly good value with 3 courses, wine & liquers fro arounf £40 per head for excellent quality food.
Reviewed January 03, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: