2015
Very good 7.8
Based on 1357 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1357 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.8
Sort by

Marianne from Norway
Family with young children
Superior Room
Stayed one night in December 2015
Beautiful hotel, slow service
Location, historic ambiance and breakfast
A lovely property with an historic ambiance. My only complaints are: 1) A foul smell of sewage by the pool. There is a pipe behind the wall at the end of the property spewing sewage – or something similarly disgusting – onto the beach below. The rooms with a splendid verandah with sea views, overlooking the pool – must be affected by the smell too. 2) Service was extremely slow. Upon arrival we were made to wait before we could check in. After 30 minutes, I asked what was holding them up. I was told that our room was not ready. I had to ask how much time they thought it would take to get it sorted, and was told it would take another 45 minutes. Waiting was no problem, but not being informed was. We were starving and could have gone to lunch right away. I was surprised such information was not automatically forwarded to us. The restaurant on the Verandah was also affected by the slow service. Waiters were milling around, but did not pay attention to the guests. I expect more from a hotel like Galle Face. However, all in all we had a great stay. The New Years Eve breakfast and evening buffets were amazing. Fantastic food and presentation. All staff were also kind and helpful, and we were allowed a late check-out and continued use of the pool through the day – as our flight in the wee hours of the morning, and we had to leave at midnight. Marianne
Reviewed January 03, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?

Al-sayeeda from Kenya
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed one night in December 2015
Comfortable and Ideal Location
Location, Food, Service
My stay was short but with the location and service of the hotel I was tempted dot extend my stay. Rooms are comfortable with Hot Showers. Breakfast is a variety and service is excellent!
Reviewed December 31, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Shammika from Sri Lanka
Couple
Superior Room
Stayed one night in December 2015
Great Location and atmosphere, but disappointing !
Location, good for relaxing, access to places in town
In a word the stay was disappointing, I expected more from the hotel, having known the standard. The staff performance was shockingly bad, there were many people (Staff) being busy fools, rather than being effective and efficient. We did not get the room that we booked and the instructions were not transferred by Aitken Spence who did the booking on behalf of Agoda. I will not stay here again and will not encourage any of my friends either.
Reviewed December 30, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Amy from United States
Family with older children
Superior Room
Stayed one night in December 2015
Review
Convenient location, seaside view
Reviewed December 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

GILBERT from France
Family with older children
Stayed one night in December 2015
In the heart of history facing the sea
Location, kindness of people, the hotel atmosphere
Perfect from all standpoints. quality of buffet might be slightly improved (just to say something)
Reviewed December 19, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

pia from Denmark
Family with young children
Superior Room
Stayed one night in December 2015
Wedding in colombo
Reception , rooms , dinning , pool , bar
Wunderfull hotel with a fantastic view
Reviewed December 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Manique from Sri Lanka
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Location
Food/Location and staff
Pleasant with a few hiccups
Reviewed December 07, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Sarah from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2015
A hotel that made a business trip into a holiday
colonial ambiance, public spaces, sunset by the pool
I chose the Galle Face because I was bringing my husband along on my business trip and wanted a nice place. Galle Face was the perfect choice. I had been hesitant based on reviews renovations: well THEY ARE OVER. It's fully open, fully restored and resplendent. We loved it. The ambiance of a bygone era seeps through every inch of the place and you just feel relaxed by being there. But it's got all the mod-cons necessary for a luxury hotel whether for business or pleasure. Plenty of plugs & good wifi for work. A myriad of public spaces incl. the library; the two lobbies; other small sitting rooms; the bar down by the seafront - fabulous for watching the sunset or enjoying a drink in the evening. The pool is large and clean. The main restaurant is a fabulous semi-open space next to the famous and beautiful tiled verandah - the meals there are all buffets. Good quality food; selection could be better. One negative - the "egg man" at breakfast really could do with a personality implant as he's pretty sour! But he was the only unfriendly member of staff we came across - most others were delightful. At breakfast you can watch the groundsman with the catapult scaring off the crows and watch the squirrels running around. There is a small (uneven) croquet lawn for a fun game (made more exciting by the lumps and bumps!). There is an average hotel gym; a spa; a business centre. The rooms are all different - I would recommend going for an ocean view more because the non-ocean views are closer to the busy Galle Face Road and the whole hotel is low rise so noise is more of an issue.
Reviewed December 06, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Mark from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior Room
Stayed one night in November 2015
An excellent experience from start to finish
Room, staff, breakfast
I couldn't fault anything. The staff couldn't do enough for me, the recently renovated room was excellent and the breakfast superb.
Reviewed November 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Klas from Sweden
Couple
Premier Ocean View Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
A good hotel with a miserable restaurant 1864!
Location, atmosphere, hotel staff.
Professional staff in the hotel, serviceminded and helpful. However, the "fine dining" restaurant 1864 was just a big disappointment. Unprofessional staff, food overcocked, inquires handled very poorly. When the wine arrived it turned out to be the wrong one, no action taken -we had to wait very long to alter our wine order; first came the entrees 15 minutes later the wine.. Several wines were sold out and so were several dishes. And so it went on! The medium/rare piece of meat came in as medium/well done. When I ask for a correction the Chef came in and started to argue heavily - after trying to convince the man to be reasonable I had to ask him to leave our table so that we at least could have some pleasure in our totally over priced dinner! (The Chef should Google what a normal medium/rare piece of meat looks like as that knowledge is obviously missing) We left the day after and will for sure avoid any dinner at restaurant 1864! The more so as no one has reacted on my inquire from the management, neither on my verbal inquire at check out or my inquire in writing!
Reviewed November 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: