2015
Very good 7.8
Based on 1357 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1357 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Room comfort and quality 7.8
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food and dining 7.8
Sort by

Kari from Norway
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
excellent
customer service, facilities and availability
Reviewed November 03, 2015

Sterling from Canada
Couples
Superior Room
Stayed one night in October 2015
Step back in time and have a sublime time.
Afternoon tea, the beautiful surroundings, classic and classy room
Wonderful place to stay. Great service, excellent value for afternoon tea and a wonderful breakfast buffet.
Reviewed October 26, 2015

Fiona from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2015
Lost some of its magic. Still excellent location!
Location is excellent, sea view and galle face view good especiallyat weekends when locals gather and fly kites etc. Swimming pool really nice.
A good place to acclimatise, shopping mall nearby with some good offers and a good money exchange rate. Staff generally helpful and aiming to please. The renovations are a mixed blessing, alot of the charm has gone and it is less individual, many similar room set ups elsewhere around the world, it used to be unique. Progress I suppose...Still v fond of the place, have stayed several times for 3/4 days. Love the sea view and galle face green
Reviewed October 23, 2015

Abdul from Pakistan
Business travelers
Superior Room
Stayed one night in October 2015
Murder of expectations
Cleanliness, Location and Reception area
highly disatisfied
Reviewed October 16, 2015

Linn from Sweden
Business travelers
Superior Room
Stayed one night in October 2015
Overprized, not super clean but good location
location, pillows and views
Like so many other places on Sri Lanka, Galle Face Hotel is overprized for what you get... The hotel business is slowly catching up.. Stayed two nights in two different rooms. Second night I payed for an upgrade to "superior ocean view", but then I lost the tub I had in the first room that was cheaper.. Weird. If I had to choose I would take the first room again.
Reviewed October 05, 2015

Jenifer from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Stayed one night in September 2015
Lovely historic building but ongoing pool work
The building, the breakfast, the location
Brief (we arrived late afternoon, left early the next morning to fly home) but good. The work going on around the pool is a bit disruptive but once that's finished I'm sure it will all be as amazing as the rest of the building.
Reviewed September 30, 2015

Nimal from Australia
Couples
Superior Room
Stayed one night in September 2015
Stay at Galle Face Hotel
Close to Galle Face green
Reviewed September 29, 2015

Anu from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Superior Room
Stayed one night in September 2015
Weekend at Galle Face
The view, the food and the decor
Fantastic stay. Very helpful staff. Amazing breakfast buffet on the terrace overlooking the ocean. Thoroughly recommend
Reviewed September 24, 2015

Stanley from Canada
Couples
Superior Room
Stayed one night in September 2015
Antique hotel with nice breakfast and superb view
Breakfast is nice. Very old style building. Superb ocean view.
The building is a very old English type of construction. The room is also old with noisy wood floor. It could have been furnished in a more stylish way. The outside was a reflection of the old English life style. We asked for high tea but the hotel said only available for more than five guests with advance booking. However it was a pleasant stay and we enjoyed.
Reviewed September 21, 2015

Beth from United States
Groups
Superior Room
Stayed one night in September 2015
Classic tranquility!
Location, Historic ambience, Staff courtesy
We stayed only one night, transitioning from travel in the island to airport departure. The stay was excellent in every way. Food was probably the least impressive - good, clean, well done, but not off the charts excellent. The staff were amazing, always professional and ready to help. The rooms were spotless, with a delightful historic feel - wood floors, antique furnishings, etc. Bathrooms were modernized and very nice. I'd stay here again without question.
Reviewed September 17, 2015


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: