Book Now: GBW Hotel

Very good
From 6916 reviewsSee what guests said
7.4
Recommended by 81% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (6916)Booking.com Reviews (1937)
7.4
Very good
From 6916 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.3
Facilities7.0
Location7.6
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service7.4
Value for money7.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Bahasa Malaysia
日本語
한국어
more
Room type
Premier Suite
Deluxe Queen Room
Studio Queen Room
Executive Queen Room
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 5563 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Juin from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Value for money if you have transportation”
Great place to stay if you have your own transportation.
Reviewed June 10, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Toh from Singapore
Couple
Studio Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Great hotel for the price, definitely value for money”
Front desk staff were polite, and we were lucky enough to get a free upgrade. Suite was extremely spacious, with a nice view, and breakfast had a decent selection of food. Shuttle bus service provided was also a plus, considering that the hotel was about a 10-15 minute walk from the customs. Only downside was that there was that cleanliness could be improved, with a lizard and a couple of small flies in the room.
Reviewed June 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mohd from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Studio Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
nice stay”
overall, it was a pleasant and value for money. got lucky again, room was upgraded from what was booked thru agoda. check in and check out was superb fast.keep up!!
Reviewed June 06, 2018
6.0
See from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Above average”
convenient
Reviewed June 05, 2018
4.4
Chan from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Poor signage ”
requested for non smoking floor and confirmed with the front desk upon checked in the floor given is non smoking. Lift signage shown the floor is non smoking but when the lift door open u can felt the floor is smoking floor. Cigarette butt was just at the dustbin and the floor sign shown smoking floor.
Reviewed June 04, 2018
8.4
Excellent
PHILIP from Singapore
Couple
Studio Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
REASONABLE PRICED HOTEL”
Room decent size. Plenty of car park. Near enough to Singapore to be able to get Singtel signal. Good breakfast. Wifi sucks. Also allocate 2 device per room. Kitchenette in room has no cutlery or crockery. Shopping centre within walking distance. Given welcome drink coupons, but no bar with band. Seemed like this bar has no band for a couple of years.
Reviewed June 03, 2018
6.8
Good
LI from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Rundown hotel”
It was very spacious room but my dad found cockcroach in the toilet. Very rundown hotel and need to refurbish from time to time to keep the 4 star status. Very good location. Just near to jb ciq
Reviewed June 02, 2018
6.8
Good
SHAHRUL from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
need improvement”
need improvement
Reviewed May 31, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Mohd from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Nothing much to complaint”
overall ok for short stay
Reviewed May 30, 2018
6.8
Good
Soo from Singapore
Family with teens
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Spacious hotel room with sea view”
The room is spacious with a good sea view. However, housekeeping forgot our bath towels and though there were 3 of us, there was only a set of toiletries other than the toothbrush sets. One small tube of bath gel for an overnight stay for 3 wld still not be enough - luckily we brought our own. The staff were helpful, esp the Concierge personnel who helped us get cabs via their Grab app as cabs don't come in often and the hotel is not within walking distance from City Square or Woodlands checkpoint.
Reviewed May 30, 2018
3.6
Chong from Singapore
Couple
Executive Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
The hotel quite old ”
The facilities and the room pay out quite old
Reviewed May 28, 2018
6.0
Rohaida from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Nice”
Nice hotel and i will comeback.
Reviewed May 28, 2018
7.6
Very good
Gui from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Very good”
There were small stains on the bedsheets and the furniture were quite old. Not entirely soundproof too but overall its value for money
Reviewed May 27, 2018
5.6
Liana from Malaysia
Business traveler
Studio Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Was okay”
The room is a bit old but thankyou for the room upgrade from queen studio to executive suite. Everything functioning well including microwave.
Reviewed May 27, 2018
7.6
Very good
Akashah from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Good”
Upgrade baik
Reviewed May 27, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Mui from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Very good”
Overall, OK. Wifi is restricted to 2 devices - can be troublesome.
Reviewed May 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Elijah from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Good stay”
Got Free upgrade!
Reviewed May 23, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Diana from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Good Job, GBW”
Got a free upgrade to a bigger room. Overall, Satisfied and wouldn't mind to come again.
Reviewed May 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mhd from Singapore
Couple
Executive Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
excellent”
excellent
Reviewed May 22, 2018
5.6
Aizatul from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Above average”
Barang dah lama & agak kotor. Breakfast banyak pilihan.
Reviewed May 21, 2018
4.0
CHIN from Singapore
Couple
Studio Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Rundown and Bad food”
Given a free upgrade to a suite. Was greeted with a small and old TV and faulty phone. Sofa was badly stained and the bathtub was peeling. The sink stopper was missing and so was the TV remote in the room. Tried charging my phone but realised that the wall socket was faulty. Breakfast was equally bad. The chicken sausages were sour. Used to be a regular at this hotel but I am not returning again.
Reviewed May 21, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Denise from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Value for money ”
All was good, value for money.
Reviewed May 21, 2018
2.0
Muhammad from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
STAFF THREW OUT MY STUFF!”
THEY THREW OUT MY SOCKS AND FOOD INSIDE THE FRIDGE!
Reviewed May 20, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Emilia from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
classic star hotel”
worth of money, breakfast is good, clean, antique, classic, big room , staff are friendly, location is at the heart of the city.. definitely will come back for business trip or personel trip.. 💙💙 5 star classy hotel..
Reviewed May 17, 2018
8.0
Excellent
simon from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Value for Money”
All was good. Value for money.During my check our I overheard on of the customer complain about the house keeping didnt comply to their needs.
Reviewed May 16, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Amir from Singapore
Solo traveler
Studio Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Short break”
Hotel nice clean and comfortable shuttle service provided to near by shopping centre and also walking to near by shopping centre takes about 5 mins hotel buffet breakfast lunch and dinner quite reasonable there fitness centre swimming pool massage availabke
Reviewed May 15, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Kok from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Good and value for money”
Overall, it is clean and value for money.
Reviewed May 15, 2018
6.4
Good
Jason from Malaysia
Couple
Studio Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Hotel need a rennovation”
Pro: free upgrade to exec room, Con: Breakfast variety very limited, very disappointed. Wifi can only access 2 device per room Overall 3/5. Hotel looks rundown, needs an urgent upgrade. For breakfast variety still have to improve
Reviewed May 14, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Lee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Moderate hotel”
Statisfied and definately will visit again.
Reviewed May 14, 2018
6.8
Good
Siti from Malaysia
Couple
Studio Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Good”
Tunggu agak lama untuk dapat bilik. Supposed to stay in studio room tapi di upgraded stayed in executive room. Toilet agak berbau. Bilik agak suram
Reviewed May 14, 2018
5.2
Xiao from Malaysia
Couple
Executive Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Above average”
Room is spacious but definitely need refurbishment. everything looks very old. breakfast is disappointing.
Reviewed May 14, 2018
6.0
Debrah from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Spacious room. Great staff. ”
Staff was all very helpful. We got upgraded to a suite but the furnitures were quite old but it was a nice surprise as we requested for early check in and had to wait and did not have time and only return to the hotel at night to check in so I think that’s why we got an upgrade. Breakfast was not good at all. Overall the service was the main highlight.
Reviewed May 14, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Azah from Malaysia
Family with teens
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Excellent”
The furnitures were quite old and need to be replaced. Other than that, I'm happy with my stay.
Reviewed May 14, 2018
6.0
Idayu from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Good”
All is good
Reviewed May 11, 2018
6.4
Good
Michelle from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Rundown ”
Hotel is quite old and rundown, location is good however everything in the hotel just look very old and dirty.
Reviewed May 10, 2018
7.2
Very good
Affiruddin from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Very good”
Na
Reviewed May 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
shafiq from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Business trip stay”
Overall very happy with my stay & very comfortable. Hotel has it own parking & easy to get food at surrounding area
Reviewed May 10, 2018
7.6
Very good
Sin from Malaysia
Family with young children
Studio Twin Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Two nights at GBW hotel”
Pros: Location and hotel view are good. Can view of there is smooth traffic at the causeway. The Studio Twin room is big and the hotel staffs are friendly. Cons: The room aircon is not cold even 10 degC is set. We can hear the TV sound from the room beside us. WIFI access only allows 2pax at one time.
Reviewed May 09, 2018
4.0
Yian from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Acceptable”
Not clean..old furniture..got cockcroaks
Reviewed May 08, 2018
5.6
GANESH from Malaysia
Couple
Executive Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Above average”
We stayed from April 29 till May 3rd. Booked the Executive Queen room on the first night. Subsequent nights booked for the Studio Queen room but we asked to maintain in the Executive Queen room and the Front Desk graciously obliged which we are thankful for. However, apart from that, we had some issues with the TV on the first day where they has to take a few hours to fix it and on the next day the microwave was not working and we had to wait for sometime for replacement after few reminders. Also had issue with the hot water on the 3rd night which was fixed thereafter. Overall the room is spacious however the rooms are dated (old) and as mentioned had some issue with the room fixtures. The maintenance staff were good and did their best to resolve issues raised. Front Desk staff needs to be more welcoming and polite, not friendly. The concierge staff who assisted with check-in was very good (forgot his name).
Reviewed May 08, 2018
6.4
Good
AZILINAH from Singapore
Family with young children
Studio Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Good”
Room not ready when we arrived. Smelly fridge with terrible stench and blood . Housekeeping not good.
Reviewed May 08, 2018
6.0
Zulkarnain from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
chip”
food ok
Reviewed May 08, 2018
3.6
Noraini from Singapore
Couple
Studio Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Disappointing!”
We booked Studio Queen room but was not ready upon check in at 3.45 pm and were offered free upgrade to Executive Room. Upon seeing the room we rejected it and wanted back our Studio Room as the bed, furniture and the facilities in the exec room were all old and rundown. We checked in the Studio Room and disappointed too 1. Matress sink in the middle, very old and shakey 2. Chair for the dressing table not safe to sit - can break anytime 3. In the Studion Queen room - the cabinets, drinking cup and the sink dirty.
Reviewed May 08, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Angel from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Free Upgrade!”
I got a free upgrade! The staffs are friendly. However it is not really clean. Overall is good and it is value for money.
Reviewed May 08, 2018
7.2
Very good
Aini from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Value for money”
Good for an overnight stay.
Reviewed May 07, 2018
7.2
Very good
Hj from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Facility”
add iron in room. Hanger Tv channel need to improve
Reviewed May 06, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Rina from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Exceptional”
everything are good except no towel provided at the swimming pool
Reviewed May 06, 2018
2.0
Estee from Singapore
Couple
Double Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Book at your own risk! ”
Do not believe the good reviews of this hotel that is stated at agoda! Worst than you could ever imagine. It is an old, super old hotel which I believe is more than 20years . When we were given the key to my room, after opening the door, I was horrified! The whole flooring was carpeted and it was so dirty and smelly. The cushion on the chairs are all stained n filthy( if only i could attached pics), shower area was acceptable however the shower head coil was damaged thus is was dangling! The walls around the room was filled with marks and stains! Booked room stated non- smoking, however as I exit from the lift and walk to the room i could smell the cigg smell! Called the reception to request for change of room in the next day morning,9.30 am however till 2.30pm, after multiple calls to check if the room was ready, we finally got to the second room. However, the room is STILL THE SAME!!! I do not think that this hotel should be awarded 4 stars! And the price does not even justify the room’s condition!
Reviewed May 05, 2018
4.4
christian from Philippines
Group
Studio Twin Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
cheap but not good hotel”
cheap but not good hotel
Reviewed May 04, 2018
8.0
Excellent
siti from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin Room
Stayed 7 nights in April 2018
ok”
ok
Reviewed May 04, 2018