Book Now: Gecko Lipe Resort

Very good
From 496 reviewsSee what guests said
7.7
/
10
Recommended by 88% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (496)Booking.com Reviews (619)
7.7
/
10
Very good
From 496 reviews
Cleanliness8.1
Facilities7.6
Location8.3
Room comfort and quality7.5
Service8.1
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (496)
All room types
Showing 434 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
AZZAH from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
Exceptional”
We stayed for 4 nights in Gecko Lipe. At first I was quite skeptical of this place, but upon arrival I was in awe. The place is located just behind the shop rows in Walking Street but the ambiance is so serene and peaceful. The room is simple but clean. The staffs were friendly and caring. They cleaned our room everyday and they will put mosquito repellent in front of your door every evening. They also provide bananas, tea/coffee/water, books in the common space. Would definitely come back to this place.
Reviewed January 15, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Francesca from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018
Lovely!”
Had a great stay here, the bungalow was very comfortable and clean. We even got to sit outside and enjoy our decking because of the mosquito repellent incense they put out, which is an added bonus. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great because it’s right in the middle of the island just off walking street. Great for exploring!
Reviewed July 06, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Rebecca from United States
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Exceptional”
We stayed one night before going over to Koh Adang and wished it hadn’t been booked for the rest of our stay on Koh Lipe! The host was incredibly nice and helpful. We really liked the common area and the porch on our bungalow. Great location near walking street too!
Reviewed April 27, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Michael from Canada
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Nice isolated standard bungalows. Staff was helpful and gave good recommendations. ”
Only downside was the wifi. Very spotty and slow most of the time. While you’re not there to browse the net all the time, it’s nice not having to wait 4 minutes to load a page to book a ferry or trip.
Reviewed March 11, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Karen from Thailand
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Pleasant hut in a garden close to the city centre ”
Pros: The resort gives you a refillable water bottle and the water is for free. It is very close to walking street and not far from Pattaya beach. There is a mosquito net. There are shelves for your clothes and stuff. They make up your bed every day. Cons: You might hear the music from nearby pubs. I used earplugs and it was ok. The walls are paper thin. You can hear what other people are doing. Overall it's a good place to stay if you get a good price
Reviewed March 06, 2018
7.6
Very good
Magali from France
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Very good”
Very nice basic bungalow with everything you need. Only cold shower but it’s ok bc it’s warm and sunny :) Also the place is very close to the Main Street but normally pretty quiet (except if there is a big party - in that case you can clearly hear everything’s happening in the village). We loved it and would definitely go there if I’m back on the island one day !
Reviewed October 22, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Mizfarah from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
A good one night stay.”
Location was ok, 5-10 minutes walk from the beach. Stayed in a deluxe room, had hot shower. Room only had a fan but it was ok. Room was small but acceptable cos only needed a place to sleep. Toilet was ok but water pressure not too strong. Water, coffee and tea provided in the common area which was good. Price was ok as well. Would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed December 10, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Sabrina from Argentina
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
A mini-jungle retreat”
We loved staying here, if you're a nature lover you will enjoy this place too! Their focus on sustainability is such a great thing, with their great idea of providing re usable water bottles and free water. The common area is very comfortable, and the WIFI works well. The deluxe bamboo bungalows are very comfortable and unique, and listening to the crickets and frogs at night is lovely.
Reviewed July 23, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Mohd from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Satisfied”
Very good! I and my wife spent there 3d2n. Its value for money. Gecko very near to walking street which is the heart of the koh lipe. Of cource there are some mosquitos since the place near to the jungle but the safety is there. Staff very friendly. Will go there again. Recommended!
Reviewed May 26, 2017
9.0
Exceptional
OGUZ from Turkey
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in December 2015
Perfect location,cool place under trees but noisy”
Perfect location,cleanness and kind staff
We booked standard bungalow for 6 nights,our bungalow was nearby walking street and music from nearby bar was disturbing.The staff was very kind and they offered deluxe bungalow without extra charge after spending 3 nights.Bungalows and sheets are clean.There were too many mosquitos but it is general problem in Lipe.Location is perfect, 10 min to Pataya and Sunrise beaches.If you look for cool place under trees, this place is the best you can find.Highly recommended
Reviewed December 20, 2015
8.7
Excellent
IRENE from Singapore
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in February 2015
secret grden”
location, cleanliness, nature
Nestled in the middle of walking street, you enter a quiet and somewhat peaceful space into Gecko. Where our room was we could hear faint music at night, but it was okay as it wasnt thumping loud. The only thing that really bothered me were the mozzies! even with the net, it still isnt 100% mosquito-proof. So really you need to be equipped with a good anti-mosquito spray or be prepared for the mozzies to feed on you. Weather gets pretty cool at night so it's still do-able without the a/c. I have to add that the bed was surprisingly comfortable. Sheets and towels all smell clean- definitely a plus point. Overall a good experience at Gecko.
Reviewed March 06, 2015
8.0
Excellent
CHIN from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Relaxed stay, great staff, beautiful environment”
Quiet, clean, awesome
the room is just basic - a bed and bathroom, that is just what you need. no luxurious deco and everything back to nature. it is located next to walking street and easily access to restaurants and beaches.
Reviewed May 04, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Kristine from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Close to nature”
Cozy room, homey feel, clean
I love this hotel! It's very relaxing and you have your own cottage. I love that the bed has a mosquito net and has a thick mattress. The bathroom is modern but still makes you feel like you're in a jungle. Shower area has no roof. One time while I was taking a shower, a frog jumped off to my face, literally. Every morning, you'll hear birds chirping loudly. This hotel is very close to restos, travel agencies and spas. I'm already missing it as I'm writing. Beaches are walking distance. Wifi is really poor. I had to go to a coffee shop just to do my business online.
Reviewed August 12, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Grete from Estonia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in April 2013
fantastic island”
location, quiet, style
I am happy, recomend this hotel to others and go back. Nice location, nice staff, quit rooms/bungalows. take Delux Bungalow, very new, nery clean and fresh, nice bed with mosquitonet, nice big open showe and big balcony
Reviewed April 14, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Maksim from Estonia
Family with young children
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Bungalow Resort”
new, clean bungalows, very friendly owners
This place is recommended for those, who wish to stay near the main walking street and enjoy the natural bamboo-bungalow-style. The bungalows are new, clean and smell well. The owners are young, enthusiastic, very friendly and welcoming. Gecko Lipe is located in the center of the island, close to the shops and restaurants, but still offers you a guiet sleep-time in the night. Some mosquitos are present. Due to the building process in this resort, the restaurant does not exist yet, therefore for your breakfast&lunch&dinner you will be going to the main street nearby.
Reviewed March 03, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Nicolas from France
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Quiet in the jungle and close to walking street”
Quiet in the jungle and close to walking street.
Close to the action of walking street (restaurants, bar...) and 5 to 10 mins walk to Pattaya beach. Bungalows are located in the jungle so it's very quiet and relaxing. They were still building when we were there but bungalows are nice. Very nice staff.
Reviewed December 31, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Lucy from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Beautiful resort & great little added extras”
Beautiful setting. Nice bamboo hut with very comfortable bed, good mosquito net. Cleaned daily. Free toiletries provided were lovely & also the free tea, coffee & water in the common room was great. The staff light a mosquito coil each night which is a lovely touch. Great location to explore the island, in the middle of everything. Slightly temperamental WiFi but once reset, it works again.
Reviewed May 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Lukas from Czech Republic
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
Great value/price”
We really enjoyed our stay there. We had good sleep with fan and mosquitto nety Charismatic owner lady with other staff was really helpful and friendly. We get for free: water, beach towels, special mosquitto smoke repellent. Also there is fridge with full of beverages - you just take what you want and write it on paper. Bungalows are situated in the center of Lipe but noise from the walking street is not really hearable. Thank you again. Would recommend to everybody.
Reviewed March 25, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Marc from France
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Exceptional”
quiet. clean. kind. helpful. they lend me snorkeling gear for free!
Reviewed October 24, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Karim from Austria
Group
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
overall nice stay”
nice stay, enjoyed the free tea and quiet location a lot
Reviewed March 19, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Chui from Malaysia
Group
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
value for money”
we were greeted by a Poland lady in the reception. Not to mention the welcoming smile of hers n good converse in English n good service. Room was simple. Surrounding was cool n shady. Strategic location in the walking street, between Pattaya Beach n Sunrise Beach.
Reviewed October 25, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
JUMANI from Thailand
Group
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Wonderfull Experince”
It was wonderful. We just have one request that is about fan, the fan should be somewhere inside the mosquito net. Fan was out of net and its air flow was not traveling inside the net. Rest all things were very very good and very well served. We were suggested by one of our friend and we will also suggest others.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
ryan from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Great hospitality!!”
Perfect location, right in the middle of 2 beaches and walking street. Really peaceful environment. The lady of reception was so nice and friendly. After reading reviews about the Mosquitos, well can expect??? Can't complain about mosquitos because they every where in Thailand, that's not the hotels fault
Reviewed May 26, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Marianne from Estonia
Family with young children
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
True Bungalow experience in a perfect central location!”
We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to stay for longer. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The bungalow was tidy and cleaned every day. We were given also water containers in order to save the nature from plastic bottles. The mosquito net above the bed works well against any bugs. Wifi is available only in the common area. The location is basically at the main walking street but allowing enough privacy from the street noise. Definitely an excellent accommodation and we would choose it again when visiting Koh Lipe.
Reviewed April 16, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Max from Netherlands
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Good location on koh lipe”
Very Nice employees which are sometimes rare runned niet foreigners So they talk better english than most locals. Had a cabin with only cold shower But that was really Nice because the weather was very hot.
Reviewed January 27, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Raquel from Spain
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
An oasis in the middle of Walking Stret”
The staff is fabulous and helpful, The room is spotless with a good matress, a thick mosquito net and room service every day if you require so. The common area is cozy and very well taken care of. There is barely any noise considering the location. I will definitely recommend it and come back myself whenever posssible.
Reviewed November 21, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Petra from Czech Republic
Family with young children
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in April 2016
gecko”
Gecko is eco friendly resort. We were there just one night. It was very small bungalow. But in the bathroom were shampoo,shower gel and conditioner. They are support program "trash heroes" and give you bottle (not plastic) for water and you have cold drink water for all stay free. Good idea,good for ocean.well done:)
Reviewed April 20, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Sze from Malaysia
Group
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in March 2016
Great experience staying in a resort in jungle”
Located in walking street of pattaya beach, so can easily take a walk at the street. This resort is special for me, its design and the facilities. A great experience when u chatting with friends in front of your room and sitting on the sofa chair provided in the hot afternoon time. However, too many mosquitoes around but the room has mosquito net. And, I think a conditioner room is better than the fan one, as it was very hot at koh lipe, even at night.
Reviewed March 19, 2016
5.0
Per from Denmark
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in January 2016
Not worth the price”
Forest like environment
We booked one month prior to our arrival, based on all the positive reviews, and paid for a standard bungalow. This "standard" bungalow was really a very simple "budget" bungalow with no hot water and it's not worth the price (seen on the photos with the white walls) Right now they offer the deluxe bungalow at same price so perhaps they found out it was not competitive. If you go to Lipe for the beach and nice water Gecko is in the middle of the island and as far away from any beach as you can get. Luckily we only booked one night so we moved to a beach resort with a much better quality fan bungalow only 150m from Pattaya beach. We cannot recommend Gecko based on the current price level.
Reviewed January 19, 2016
7.7
Very good
Lucie from Czech Republic
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Ok but horrible next door live music!!”
nice surroundings, jungle-feel
we really liked Gecko Lipe, the jungle-garden is beautiful and you can hear interesting noises sometimes. But it was very simple standard bamboo bungalow (not much space anywhere), so I guess it could be cheaper, but Lipe is a small island and everything is more expensive. What we really hated though, was a horrible next door band who played every evening!! It completely ruined lovely evenings in the jungle. The first day they even played until 3am!! But the receptionist said this never happened before and other days they actually stopped around 10, but even then, it was annoying (very!!).
Reviewed January 02, 2016
8.0
Excellent
GILLES from France
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in December 2015
COME AS YOU ARE”
price, free water, near restaurant
hi this hotel is the best value for money of Koh lipe Near restaurant, sea, shop everything. Just a room for sleep, not so much but its ok, staff friendly and take care very good before come back with boat
Reviewed December 11, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Weng from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Great place to stay”
great location, friendly staff, value for money
we booked a standard chalet for 3 nights and it is a great place to stay. the resort located in the middle of walking street; is very convenient to get food, shops and walk to both pattaya and sunrise beach.
Reviewed November 11, 2015
6.0
Laura from Portugal
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Nice-looking, but overpriced”
Garden, Cleanliness, Location
Very pleasant, although the Russian lady at the frontdesk is really unfriendly and did not make us feel welcome at all - despite the fact we actually paid to stay there. The room is very small, but nicely built, within the context of the island. Highly overpriced, but then again, the whole island is anyway
Reviewed August 02, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Kenneth from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in April 2015
Three day gettaway”
The owners. The rooms. The location.
You have to be able to deal with a few mosquitos. For me no problema. Also mosquito netting on beds and mosquito coils lit every evening by staff make This OK. Loved the natural feeling of the place. Good location. I would stay there again and again.
Reviewed May 04, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Kaori from Japan
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015
Just like stay in a quiet forest”
quietness, helpful staff, cost
It's just 50 steps from main street but pretty quiet. Feels like staying in the middle of rainforest. Mosquito are very annoying but could be avoided repellent and incense which would be provided every night. Staffs are very helpful, and you can use a water bottle which can be refill at many bars and restaurants all over the island. I'd be back here!
Reviewed April 24, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Nina from Austria
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in April 2015
Great place to stay”
Location, staff, italian restaurant
The location is perfect - right next to walking street yet secluded. The resorts own restaurant Capriccio serves great food, the staff are very nice and helpful. All in all a great place to stay! Best regards to Marco, Xenia and the local chicken ;)
Reviewed April 10, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Samantha from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
Excellent place to stay!”
The room was extremely comfortable, I felt right at home and the location was really good!
I left my phone, watch and a lot of money in the room thinking there wasn't any house keeping but I came back to a clean room and my things were untocuhed. I couldn't believe how the staff were so trustworthy. I especially love how the hotel made me feel right at home. I definitely do not regret a single cent.
Reviewed March 30, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Nha from Vietnam
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
Green resort”
Location, flexibility, environment
My bungalow is among many trees so although it was sunny day and very hot when I arrived, it was quite cool in the room. In fact, there are not many facilities in the bungalow like TV or AC but I don't need them anyway so it's OK for me.
Reviewed March 10, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Pornnarin from Thailand
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Great location and nature:-) ”
Very clean staff are friendly and and the place more relaxing
I love this place great location nice restuarant up there more expensive but fantastic taste:-) staff they are was very nice and kindly I and my friend will back there and stay this please again very nice resort ,nature of course beach here very nice clean and wonderful weather see you soon And happy new year 2015 wish this resort going well :-) well done :-) 🎉🎉🎉
Reviewed December 31, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Suchada from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
The most nature resort in Lipe”
Location, Environment, staff
I really like the resort. It's located next to a walking street but has itself forest. You could stay in your house the whole day because it's cool and a lot of big trees make the weather comfortable. Not recommend for anyone who's afraid of wild bug and some reptile because there're a lot of uninvited neighbors visited you. But I'm happy to see them :) The staff is very nice, she gave me a lot of useful info to walk around the island.
Reviewed December 09, 2014
7.0
Very good
Chong from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Near to Walking Street ”
Location, cleanliness, relax
This resort is near to walking street where you can find everything in Lipe. Surrounding by tree and gardens. If you prefer beach front or sea view, please avoid this resort. However Pattaya beach can be reach in 3mins walk , Sunrise beach is about 5mins walk. Overall is still recommended unless you must have a sea view.
Reviewed August 07, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Roman from Russia
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
good location, friendly staff, lousy fans”
good location, friendly staff, value for money
The hotel's location is great - close to both major beaches (sunrise and pattaya). The room is tiny, but on the island like Koh Lipe you don't want to be stuck in the room anyway. There are lots of mosquito and insects, but hotel provides the net around the bed that somewhat helps to stop them. However the major problem for me was to try to get to sleep in 28-29C environment, the room fan was blowing somewhere else, it was not possible to fix it.
Reviewed May 05, 2014
7.7
Very good
Koon from Malaysia
Group
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
just what you need ”
wonderful environment
the room is just basic - a bed and bathroom, that is just what you need. no luxurious deco and everything back to nature. it is located next to walking street and easily access to restaurants and beaches.
Reviewed April 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Frida from Sweden
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
needed hotel for one night”
location, cheap and the bathroom
Our stay on Gecko lipe Resort was very short and for one night this hotel are perfect. For a longer stay I had chose another one. The rooms was very small, the bed took the most of the space and it was very dark inside. The bathroom was at the other hand both light and really nice. It felt like you took a shower outside when you actually was inside. Hotwater was good. The internet sucks btw and the fan didn't really reach us when we laying in the bed, so it was a little hot. The mosquito-net was fresch and clean. Good value for your money!
Reviewed April 02, 2014
6.7
Good
Kevin from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Clean bungalows with good bathrooms”
bathrooms, balcony
We enjoyed our 3 nights here. The bungalows are very small without air con but feature a nice bathroom and a balcony. They are very clean and for us the positioning of the resort was perfect as it was situated just off walking street and equidistant to the 2 main beaches on Lipe
Reviewed March 18, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Myrte from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Relaxed stay, great staff, beautiful environment”
staff, location, clean
Stay was very comfortable thanks the nice staff and to a simple but clean bamboo bungalow with a comfortable bed, a good musquito net and fan. I could borrow some gear for snorkeling, without any additional costs. Very kind.
Reviewed March 13, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Kimberly from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Clean and Relatively Quiet Bungalows”
Central on the island, Away from the loud nightlife, Close to restaurants and tour bookings.
We enjoyed our stay. The way to either side of the island is only a 5-10 min walk and all food/shopping/tours are in between. Bungalows are clean and well kept. We booked one night in a Deluxe Bungalow and decided to stay another acquiring a Standard Bungalow (their last one available). Koh Lipe was very crowded and near to capacity in early Feb which was not to our liking but the snorkel tour nearby was quite nice. I would recommend Gecko Lipe Resort to stay if you go to Lipe!
Reviewed March 07, 2014
7.0
Very good
Phillip from Australia
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 7 nights in February 2014
Expensive for what you get, but this is Ko Lipe!”
Beds, gardens, dog & cats
Positives: - The bed & pillows: One of the best beds we've slept in in a 'budget' room in Thailand - Gardens: Lush & well kept. The communal hammocks are a nice touch too - Location: Close to either side of island beaches + walking street without the noise of walking street Negatives: - Staff: Aside from one or two female Thai staff, as a previous Agoda member mentioned..well, let's just say, I just wonder why some people work in hospitality. A smile would not go astray - plus the random western men - (friends? Not sure..) sitting behind the reception desk, on the internet, who dare not look at you when you have a question, are off putting to say the least. - Room Cleaning: We had to ask if it was going to be done at about 5pm on 2 separate evenings. We think it was just skipped one day & apparently all the cleaners were ill the other occasion. We are normally pretty lax about cleaning (every second day ok with us really), but when you have to throw your used toilet paper in the bin, you kinda want that bin emptied daily. We normally wouldn't bother adding negatives such as the ones above but given the room rate, on this occasion, we think it's fair to mention both things that made an impact on our stay. - Otherwise, yes there is construction work near by but that can't be helped. Nor does the WIFI reach most rooms.. Didn't bother us. Light sleepers should bring earplugs, mostly incase you have chatty neighbours. I could even hear someone snoring (but that's life in a bungalow!) ps: disregard our food/beverage rating as we didn't eat there.
Reviewed February 24, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Jirapa from Thailand
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Quiet, clean, awesome ”
Clean, friendly, and close to nature
it was very cool while i stayed here for just one night. This resort is perfectly for the couple and family. Its so quiet and among the garden. You will enjoy for reading books in the garden with the cradle.
Reviewed February 22, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Siobhan from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Loved it!!”
The room, The location The atomsphere
As backpackers we don't usually stay in places such as this, but we had to book somewhere over Chinese new year and this was one of the only ones left to book. When we arrived we were so glad we did!! On arrival the receptionist took our bags straight to our room even though we were early. The bungalow was large and clean as was the bathroom. The mosquito net was huge and made the bed even more cozy than it already was. The bungalow has a lovely porch area to relax on too. It's a good location, in between both beaches, plenty of resturants nearby as it's in the middle of walking street. Considering the location you don't hear any noise from the walking street. It's very quiet and we got a good nights sleep. There are a lot of stray dogs that chase eachother round the resort but the staff do all they can to stop it, the dogs are harmless to humans though.. friendly if anything. I only rated the food as 1 as I didn't have any there so cannot rate it fairly. Overall I would be more than happy to stay here again if I ever visit this beautiful island again!!
Reviewed February 10, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Juliette from Belgium
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014
Highly recommended hotel on Koh Lipe ”
Very nice and quiet surrounding, very good location between Pataya and sunrise beach
Very nice, cozy and clean rooms. The surrounding of the hotel is amazing, hidden in the jungle. The location is perfect, one street up from the walking street and 5min walking from Pataya and sunrise beach. The staff is very friendly. During on stay on the island we saw a lot of places that were much more expensive and not comparable with gecko lipe. Only minus point is that the wifi doesn't work in the rooms and very bad connection in the reception.
Reviewed January 29, 2014
7.0
Very good
diane from United States
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 6 nights in January 2014
Just off walking street but in a quiet locationloc”
location, if you want to be near the walking streetThe warm
The room is adequate....the bed takes up most of the room and there isn't much space to move.There is an outside porch which is useful. The room could use better lighting, it was very dim inside. The property is well maintained and mosquito coils were brought around each night.It is only a 10 minute walk to the beaches. Good area if you are not staying on the beach, close to lots of restaurants.
Reviewed January 26, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Noel from Malaysia
Group
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in January 2014
Thouroughly satisfying”
Peacefulness, cleanliness, central location
I would recommend Gecko Lipe to any traveller who is not hung up on energy intensive modern trappings such as air-conditioning, tv, radio etc. The room was basic, but very clean, and therefore extremely good value for money. The food at the restaurant is of good quality and quantity, however it is marginally expensive than the shops in the high-street. The setting of the rooms within a mature and well tendered forest garden is fabulous, and the dreaded mosquito problem never materialised thanks to mosquito coils. I love this place and will be staying here the next time I am in Lipe.
Reviewed January 21, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Jay from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
awesome bungalows in the jungle”
clean, comfortable an close to shops
excellent little retreat just of walking st, easy access to everything on the island. amazing gardens with awesome wildlife. didn't eat at the restaurant as the food was a bit pricey and the wifi didn't work.
Reviewed December 07, 2013
8.3
Excellent
DEAN from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in November 2013
affordable charactorful resort”
room,
gecko resort was really good except for one thing...mosquitos.even though the beds have a mosquito net the mosquitos still got inside the net and i ended up with about 50 bites over my legs which made my ankles swell up quite bad.so i would recommend for sure mosquito repellent.apart from that gecko was so good to stay and a would stay again.but..my main complaint is with lipe island itself.dirty beaches and packs of loose dogs numbering 20 or so just roamimg free all over the beaches.to fly 8000 miles to have this is unacceptable.pattaya beach is also too busy with boats,people and dogs,so its not a place to relax on at all.and because of all these issues i wont be coming back to lipe island again.but gecko resort is perfectly good.
Reviewed November 16, 2013
8.3
Excellent
debbie from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Comfortable, friendly basic accomodation, clean”
friendly staff, comfortable bed, quiet
From what I could see, this is definitely the best budget accommodation you will get in Koh Lipe. Lipe is a bit more expensive than some places but definitely worth it. It really is paradise. There was maybe one place cheaper but apparently this place is budget standard to go with the price unlike gecko which is very comfortable and quite charming in fact. Thanks
Reviewed November 07, 2013
8.7
Excellent
debbie from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013
Comfortable, friendly basic accomodation, clean”
comfortable bed, nice surroundings, friendly staff
koh lipe is an expensive island so not as cheap as other islands for budget accommodation but as soon as you get there and see the place this will go out the window, it really is paradise. There is one place cheaper I think but from what I heard, gecko is 5 star in comparison. Really comfy bed, definitely recommended.
Reviewed November 06, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
yupin from Thailand
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
centre of walking street”
good staff + location + bamboo style
Great budget accommodation located at the top of walking street in the centre of activity on the island...Great budget accommodation ..... Staff friendly ...bamboo huts with mosceto net and good bathroom
Reviewed November 01, 2013
7.3
Very good
Jimmi from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Back to nature”
Central located, good staff services and nice experience
I spent a really good time at this reort. If you find a luxury resort, this is not. But i really enjoy my stay on this Gecko Lipe. This resort is own by expat from Argentina and all of cleanliness and omirt is provided. Recommend for stay for nature eperience.
Reviewed August 27, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Carlo from Philippines
Group
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Friends loved it as well!”
Location, staff, surroundings
Booked this one for my friends and they loved the atmosphere. We were here off season so most of the beaches were just to ourselves. We enjoyed how the staff provided us with map and info for snorkeling.
Reviewed August 08, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Carlo from Philippines
Group
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Amazing, one with nature”
Location, staff, nature
It was great spending few days in Gecko. The staff was very helpful and attentive with our needs. No worries about mosquitoes in Koh Lipe, the staff efficiently provide coils and other needs. The place is virtually next to Sunset beach so it was great!
Reviewed August 08, 2013
8.7
Excellent
abdullah from Sweden
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
best beaches in thailand”
clean new and nice staff
The bungalow was newly built and very fresh but if you choose without AC be sure to use a lot of mosquito spray. The room is small but very pleasant. You get a big high bed with mosquito net . A brand new fan that is actually very cooling. The bed was comfortable and you had like your own little terass with a little table where they have put cushions and mosquito candle. Very cosyand close to the beach
Reviewed August 07, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
Unya from Thailand
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in May 2013
cheaper and not far from beaches”
Cheape cost, many trees and close to natural and Thai local Bangalow style, staff are great.
read many reviews from tour list how were stayed at Gecko Lipe Resort, they were enjoy about place is very nice, cheaper cost, room is clean and safe. helpfully from staff, they are very friendly and they gave a gift is small gecko key ring
Reviewed May 19, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Brent from United States
Couple
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in March 2013
Good value for money”
cost, staff, costt
My girlfriend and I both liked our room. It was a basic bungalow, but it was clean and near plenty of bars and restaurants. And it was only about a ten minute walk to the beach. My only complaint was the heat. The room has one small fan which really didn't do much if you put down the mosquito net.
Reviewed April 09, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Pablo from Chile
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Fantastic resort, great service”
Friendly service; easy access to both main beaches; quiet and relaxed
We just can't be more satisfied on our decision of booking at Gecko Lipe. We originally booked here for 1 night to freely explore alternatives once in the island, but once there and doing a little research, we didn't think twice and stayed all our time (9 nights) there! The resort is located roughly in the center of the walking street, and from here is a truly short 5 min walk to either Sunrise Beach or Pattaya Beach - important since this allow you to freely explore both "sides" of the island at will, plus having all restaurants and stores at hand. Sunset beach is also easily accessed, 10-15 min walk. The resort opened last Dec so the facilities are brand new. They have just made a TERRIFIC work in the ambiance and decoration of this resort, with well maintained gardens and trees that provide a nice and refreshing spot when the sun hits. We noticed several guests that, just like us, stayed in their bungalow terraces after beach time, to enjoy the tranquility this resort offers. We upgraded to a Deluxe Bungalow; it had a really good mattress, a very large bathroom size plus a really nice terrace overlooking the garden with hammocks. I checked also the standard ones; they are very reasonable, and located (perhaps) in the more secluded and nicer half of the resort - so don't get fooled by their standard status! People at the front desk were really friendly and smiling, and took care of providing you the best time while at their resort. There is beer garden being built at the entrance of the resort as well as the expansion of the "main building" where a nice bar and terrace is projected. I also appreciated much that owners engaged their local workers in English classes and cared a lot about their living conditions, something doesn't occur frequently. I would not hesitate a minute to refer this resort to my friends and anyone. Thanks for making our stay at Gecko Lipe a marvelous time!!
Reviewed March 09, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Florin from Switzerland
Group
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
lovely place all in wood!”
nice staff, cosy bungalows, relaxed atmosphere
Located next to Main walking street, about 5-10min from the beach. Bungalows are all under the trees. They are pretty and clean, with mosquitonet. Nice Terrasse with relaxing cussains. No hot water and clean toilets.
Reviewed February 26, 2013
7.7
Very good
kenneth from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
closer to the nature..”
the room and location
the room is built with bamboo and coconut fiber kind of material..it is as if you are back to the nature.. room is small but it's good enough for 2 .comfy bed and pillows. near to the famous walking street and pattaya beach. quiet and dark at night which i like..
Reviewed February 26, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Hendrik from Netherlands
Group
Deluxe Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in February 2013
Great Resort, Great Service, Great Surroundings”
good easy going service, near walking street, beautiful decoration
having gone around the island i would say this is definitely one of the best value resorts. its beautifully designed, with a forest feeling even though its near all the fun and its at very good price compared to similar resorts. staff and management is also very friendly and always willing to help. i lost my iphone there below one of the bungalows and it was returned to me the by cleaning staff as soon as they found it.
Reviewed February 20, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Radoslaw from Poland
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
Great place and service with a big smile!”
Great location with perfect conditions!
The place is brand new! Everything is very clean and done with a good taste. Houses are so romantic! Owners are very kind and helpful. Location is great - close to "Walking street" but at the same time very quiet. We higly recommend it!
Reviewed February 13, 2013
9.0
Exceptional
Alan from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Bungalow
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Great little place...”
Great Hosts, secluded spot, clean rooms.
The Gecko Lipe Resort is a great little place and the owners are really friendly and accommodating. 5 minute walk to the beach, perfect distance to escape the noise but within easy reach of bars/food/party when you want it. We stayed in the standard bungalow, it was clean and cute. It is basic though, no flushing toilet etc, gotta use the bucket... but that's standard practice. The price is great and the beach is beautiful. Highly recommended!
Reviewed January 28, 2013