Generator Copenhagen

Adelgade 5-7., City Center / Stroget, Copenhagen, Denmark, 1304 - See map
Free Wi-Fi
8.2
Excellent
/10
(9,180 reviews)See what guests said
Housekeeping29
Breakfast5
Food & Dining4
select your datePlease enter your stay dates to see price
Generator Copenhagen

"The staff were lovely and a little bemused when I checked out after about ten seconds."

Gavin - October 25, 2019

Superior King - Bed Generator Copenhagen
Lobby Generator Copenhagen
Interior view Generator Copenhagen
See all 40 photos
See map
Popular landmarks
Rundetaarn 430 m
Rosenborg Castle 480 m
Nyhavn 630 m
Christiansborg Slot 810 m
The National Museum of Denmark 1.02 km
Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek 1.27 km
Our Saviour's Church 1.33 km
Tivoli Gardens 1.34 km
Christiania 1.38 km
The Little Mermaid 1.55 km
Nearby landmarks
Davids Samling 120 m
Frydendahl Shop 140 m
Grill Bar 140 m
Tranquebar 140 m
Storm Shop 150 m
Rutzou Fashion Shop 160 m
Filippa K Shop 160 m
Casa Shop 170 m
The David Collection 180 m
Munthe Plus Simonsen Shop 210 m
9.0

Exceptional

Location rating score

590 meters from city center
Hygiene Plus
This property has self-selected and self-certified the following hygiene measures.Learn more
Safety Features
Daily disinfection in common areas
See all amenities
Preventative Equipment
Hand sanitizer
Sterilizing equipment
Health and Medical
Doctor/nurse on call
First aid kit
What guests are saying:Read all 9,180 reviews
Exceptional reputation
Recommended by 86% of guests
Excellent cleanliness
8.3 rating for cleanliness
Excellent service
8.2 rating for service
Excellent comfort
8.1 room quality and comfort

I'm visiting Copenhagen again this summer for a family trip and we may book here again, so I highly recommend it.

Frank | June 9, 2017

The bar area was nice, and the beer reasonably priced for Copenhagen.

Frank | June 9, 2017

  • 410 meters to public transportation

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Daily housekeeping

  • Bar

  • Nightclub

Cheaper than 99% of all properties in Copenhagen in the last 24 hoursCompared to 856 Copenhagen properties at Agoda for various dates
Value for money8.0
Distance to city center0.0 km
Location rating9.0
Nearest airportCopenhagen Airport (CPH)
Distance to airport7.4 km

Rooms available at Generator Copenhagen

8.1
Excellent
Room comfort & quality
Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 26 m²/280 ft²
  • Shower
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Deluxe King
Deluxe King
...
  • Room size: 13 m²/140 ft²
  • Shower
  • 1 queen bed
Enter dates to see prices
Family Room for 4
Family Room for 4
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Shower
  • 1 queen bed and 2 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
Superior Twin
Superior Twin
...
  • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
  • City view
  • 2 single beds
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory
Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory
...
  • Room size: 16 m²/172 ft²
  • Shower
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Private 4-Bunk Beds Room
Private 4-Bunk Beds Room
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • Room size: 28 m²/301 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Superior King
Superior King
...
  • Room size: 13 m²/140 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
...
  • Room size: 26 m²/280 ft²
  • City view
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Quadruple Room
Quadruple Room
...
  • Room size: 16 m²/172 ft²
Enter dates to see prices

Frequently asked questions

What time is check-in and check-out at Generator Copenhagen?

Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 10:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hostel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out. The front desk is always open, day or night.

How do I get to Generator Copenhagen?

For those who wish to drive their own cars, Generator Copenhagen has a car park available for guests. Parking is available for an additional charge. If you're looking for an easy way to get around Copenhagen with private transportation, the hostel can arrange taxi service.

What is the smoking policy at Generator Copenhagen?

Generator Copenhagen does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

See map
Explore the neighborhood

What people love about Generator Copenhagen

  • 7.6
    Very good
    Location

    "The location is great as it is near shopping street and harbour."

    Hoi

    |

    January 7, 2020

  • 8.0
    Very good
    Cleanliness

    "Beddings are clean as well as common area and comfort room."

    christine

    |

    January 30, 2019

  • 7.6
    Very good
    Location

    "Good location, nice beds in the 8-person room."

    Cas

    |

    February 17, 2020

Property ranking|Compared to 856 Copenhagen properties
See all rankings
Room comfort score
8.1/10
Cheapest price score
Location score
9.0/10
Review score - United States
8.2/10
Better than
99
%
of Copenhagen properties
Better than
99
%
of Copenhagen properties
Better than
98
%
of Copenhagen properties
Better than
98
%
of Copenhagen properties
Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
Overall rating:
8.2
Excellent
720 reviews
Cleanliness
8.3
Facilities
7.7
Location
9.0
Read all reviews >
What travelers say they love:
Very good room Much better value than hotel Would stay there...
Colin from Denmark
Group
More about Generator Copenhagen

More about Generator Copenhagen

Centrally located just off Kongens Nytorv, the largest square in the city, Generator Copenhagen is set in a superb location for those who want to explore the city on foot. Once you are tired, come back to the hotel to rest your feet or relax at a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and offers the best forms of entertainments one can ask for in the city. Not to mention that you will be living in one of Copenhagen’s stylish neighborhoods that offers authentic vibe. Pay a visit to the travel shops and allow the city experts to revise your travel itinerary so you can make the most out of the city. Copenhagen is a city worth visiting, while Generator Copenhagen is worth your stay.

Show less

Most talked about facilities

Housekeeping
39 mentions
Breakfast
14 mentions
Food & Dining
11 mentions
Internet
11 mentions

What they offer

9.6
Exceptional

"Love the comfortable and energetic common area in the hostel..."

Susan

|

May 3, 2018

View all reviews
Show less

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

Food and dining

Restaurants on site

Restaurant
Cuisine:International
Menu:Buffet

What's nearby

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show less

Property announcements

Show less

Reviews of Generator Copenhagen from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (720)Booking.com Reviews (8460)
8.2
/
10
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities7.7
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service8.2
Value for money8.0
High score for Copenhagen
Rating
9+ Exceptional (145)
8-9 Excellent (123)
7-8 Very Good (93)
6-7 Good (53)
<6 Below Expectation (57)
Time of the year
Mar - May (105)
Jun - Aug (148)
Sep - Nov (110)
Dec - Feb (108)
All guests (720)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 471 verified guest comments
12345
9.3
Exceptional
Chanunya from Australia
Business traveler
Superior Twin
Stayed 3 nights in July 2012

Trendy and clean hostel beyond expectation!”

Close to Storget shopping street and other attractions

Among other strategic area in the heart of Copenhagen, I would recommend the Generator hostel. This is more than hostel as they offer you clean room, everywhere in the building, it's totally clean! It's new and colorful with trendy building design and free WiFi. All in all it's offering with reasonable price. It's close to everything but you might need to walk about 10-15 minute from Metro train which that's not a problem. There's a bar which provide you lots of activities almost every night. I will go back to stay here again definitely if I have to go Copenhagen.

Reviewed July 25, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Hazel from Philippines
Family with teens
Family Room for 4
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018

Location is superb.”

Stayed there from May 26,2018 3 nights. Location near rosenberg castle, kings garden, nyhavn, stroget, norresport. 2 grocery near the hotel aldi and netto. From copenhagen airport ride M2 train to kongens Nytorv. Cost 36DKK per way, ticket can be purchase from the airport. Red bus hop on and hop off stop #21 - stop in front of the hotel There is no aircondition, but have electric fan They offer breakfast buffer

Reviewed June 02, 2018

Dear Hazel, thank you for your review and feedback. We are happy to hear you loved our central location in the middle of beautiful Copenhagen! Thank you for sharing your opinion about Generator Copenhagen, we appreciate it a lot. Thank you for visiting, Generator Copenhagen Management

Responded June 14, 2018
Generator Copenhagen
10.0
Exceptional
Frank from United States
Family with teens
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Just all around nice”

I stayed here with my high-school-senior son and one of his friends. We had separate rooms. Perhaps because of the generally high room rates in Copenhagen the clientele was not just young people. The bar area was nice, and the beer reasonably priced for Copenhagen. I'm visiting Copenhagen again this summer for a family trip and we may book here again, so I highly recommend it.

Reviewed June 09, 2017

Dear Frank, thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear you and your son had a nice stay with us and hope to see you again later this summer. Best regards, Team Generator Copenhagen

Responded June 24, 2017
Generator Copenhagen
8.0
Excellent
Bee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in March 2017

Budget accommodation with a convenient location in Copenhagen”

Easy connection from Copenhagen airport via Metro, M1 or M2, exit at Kongens Nytorv, walk towards the direction of Stroget, turn left at Gothersgade, walk further up, turn right at Adelgrade. Within 5-min walk from Kongens Nytorn metro station. Within 3-min walk to the King's garden and to Nyhavn. Remember to bring your padlock (a big one) to lock your luggage under the bed and your own towel, if you don't wish to buy. The fridge magnets and keychains are worth buying. Almost half the price of that at the souvenir shop.

Reviewed March 04, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Luka from Serbia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012

Affordable and nice”

great location, clean, friendly staff

the hostel is on a very good location, almost every sight in indry by is max 15 minutes away from it. the rooms are nice and clean and there's not much noise at night. bed linens are included in the price (not the towels) and you get free wi-fi. there is a lounge bar with different activities every night and drinks are reasonably priced. you can also get an open-buffet breakfast there which is very good and cheap comparing to other prices in copenhagen.

Reviewed February 16, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
hassan from Egypt
Business traveler
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Great to full word meaning”

I am a uaual business man traveller and usually in europe i book in hostels , generator copenhagen is excellent clean ,modern , location more than wonderful staff specially jou , great beakfast , fast wifi , space rooms , you got every thing

Reviewed November 01, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
james from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

Great value for money (by Danish standards)”

Everything about this place was great as long as you had realistic standards. Room was sparse but clean. Bathroom was basic but kept clean too. (These are hostels not the Ritz so did the job just fine). Staff were very friendly and gave advice although since we bought the Copenhagen card we mostly based our own itinerary off that. All our other boxes were ticked - WiFi was free, bar had events and 2 happy hours each day, near to supermarkets and takeaways for cheaper eats but also all the more upmarket places too. Lockers available to leave your luggage (50DKK for 6 hours use of large locker). Buffer breakfast basic but adequate (there's a hostel app for further discounts). Bar/recreation area is huge. Would not hesitate to stay again.

Reviewed December 24, 2018

Dear James, Thank you so so much for the review! We are really happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It seems like you got to some things during your stay, and got to explore most of our facilities as well at the hostel. We will look forward to see you again once day, either at our hostel or any of the other Generator Properties. All the best, Allan, Generator Copenhagen

Responded December 24, 2018
Generator Copenhagen
9.3
Exceptional
Aimee from Australia
Solo traveler
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 7 nights in July 2015

A great place to stay”

Friendly staff, convenient location, great atmosphere

I stayed at the generator for 7 nights in a mix 8 dorm bedroom. It had 2 shower rooms a toilet room and a separate sink. The layout felt like I was sharing the room with only 3 other people instead of 7. So it never felt crowded. There are lockers underneath the beds where you can lock up your things if you have your own lock. If you don't the reception sells locks too. I recommend bringing a lock that's a bit bigger because my small one struggled to get through the loop and lock properly sometimes. The shower was nice. There is a shower curtain so your items don't get wet. The shower I had was a bit temperamental sometimes with the temperature, but that's me being picky. You can adjust the temperature and the pressure of the shower easily. The room got really hot some nights and opening the windows hardly let in any air to the top bunk. Each bed got their own power point and light. I had a room which had its windows facing the front of the hostel. Currently there is construction going on on the opposite side of the street, I wasn't really bothered with it but it could be a bother for people who are light sleepers and want a sleep in. Staff were really friendly and helpful. They printed my documents for me without charge. The location was great. The generator is located between 2 station and in walking distance to many major attractions. Overall a great stay at the generator.

Reviewed July 15, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Kent from Norway
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in July 2012

Beautiful hotel in grat location”

Location, nice room at a good price.

this is a typical backpacker hostel except everything is brand new. it's location is in the very center of copenhagen with "kongens nytorv" metro station just a stone throw away. given it's location and regular clientel some noise ma occur at this hostel, although i have not been bothered by this in m two stays.

Reviewed July 29, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
HSIU-CHAN from Taiwan
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2015

perfect location, friendly staff, nice hostle”

the staff is really friendly and willing to help. Location is easy to find also near several main spots. Anyway this hostle is ideal choice for copenhagen city tour.

It was a good experience for me. The room was clean and the stuff gave me many suggestions which was helpful but it was pity that I could only stay there two days. Next time I visit Copenhagen, I'll live in Generator as well.

Reviewed April 05, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Samantha from Netherlands
Solo traveler
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 7 nights in May 2019

Great Hostel!”

Hostel is great! Rooms are cleaned daily and have comfy beds & shower, toilet inside the room (they do have some common showers/toilets on 6th floor too but I never had to wait for the ones in room). Location is perfect to get anywhere, close to metro and there is an Aldi 1min away where you can grab coffee & supplies! No kitchen but download the hostel app and you get 20% off food & drinks plus loads of good places nearby! Good vibe mix of all ages & styles of travellers. Would definitely recommend when staying in Copenhagen :)

Reviewed May 30, 2019

Hi Samantha, Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are happy to hear you loved our clean, spacious rooms, as well as our super central location and unique atmosphere. We are also happy that you took advantage of our in house discounts to have the full Generator experience, as we aim to provide our guests with the best offers and delicious food and drinks! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and thank you for choosing Generator for you stay in Copenhagen. We hope to see you again soon in one of our locations! Karla, Generator Copenhagen

Responded May 30, 2019
Generator Copenhagen
9.2
Exceptional
nahla from Qatar
Solo traveler
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

Great Hostel and location.”

I was checking for good hostels in Copenhagen and wanted a good location where I can just walk around the main tourist spots. Since it was my first time being in a hostel, I was a little bit anxious staying here. From the very moment I saw and entered this hostel, it gave me a good vibes and especially seeing the wonderful colors and artworks. I was fascinated with it. I even met 2 travelers as well and they became my friends. Great place, accessible to all, safe and one of the best location ever. I'll surely recommend my friends staying here and when I get back, I'll definitely stay here once again.

Reviewed July 29, 2018

Dear guest We are really pleased to hear that you had an amazing trip and you loved the hostel. Hope to see you again in the future. generator Copenhagen management

Responded July 30, 2018
Generator Copenhagen
9.0
Exceptional
Jojje from Sweden
Solo traveler
1 Person in 6-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2013

Cheap and reliable hostel”

Price, location, the bar

A great choice to get a dormitory bed for a single traveller in Copenhagen, really great value! Internet is fast, bar is great and the location is really great. I will definitely stay here again if I go back alone to Copenhagen. very clean and neat.

Reviewed September 16, 2013
7.3
Very good
TanYan from Singapore
Family with teens
Private 4-Bunk Beds Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

This is a warm hostel in the cold weather ”

The place is very clean and spacious ensuite bathroom. The room is warm and comfy especially so for the cold weather ...

We enjoyed our stay in Generator Hostel Copenhagen. It is a very pleasant place with very clean facilities. The room was spacious and the four of us have a cosy time there. Being an Asian family, our main concern is the room temperature especially at nights. To our surprise, the heating device was superb.It kept our room warm. We slept well and we could even take a bath every day !! Generator Hostel is also very closer to several attractions. Its proximity to these places of interest has made our stay in Copenhagen a very happy one. Thanks to Generator Hostel !

Reviewed March 11, 2013
9.6
Exceptional
Alisa from Estonia
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Wonderful staff, great amenities ”

My sister and I spent the weekend (one night) in Copenhagen and this hostel was a great place! The staff is very friendly, there is a great bar/restaurant with lots of games and a warm atmosphere. There are lockers to store luggage in if your flight leaves at night and hang out spots all over to charge your phone and figure out the next place to visit. Highly recommend.

Reviewed November 20, 2018

Hi Alisa, what excellent feedback! This makes us really pleased, as we aim to make your stay a fun, and memorable one, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. On behalf of the team, thank you! Generator Copenhagen Management

Responded November 27, 2018
Generator Copenhagen
9.2
Exceptional
Daniella from Israel
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Lovely communal areas”

It was rainy so didn’t get to sit at the patio that looked lovely. We got a room facing the street so a little noisy but not something terrible.. comfy beds and basic shower toilet facilities.. in total- expensive compared to the rest of the world but ok in comparison to Copenhagen

Reviewed February 11, 2019

Hi Daniella, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy to see you had a good stay with us. We agree that Copenhagen can be a bit expensive. Even though your experienced the city a bit expensive, we still hope you had a good time here and enjoyed the city. We are looking forward to see you again. Allan, Generator Copenhagen

Responded February 12, 2019
Generator Copenhagen
10.0
Exceptional
hongbai from China
Solo traveler
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in October 2014

best hostel ever”

location, environment

This is definitely the best hostel I've been to so far. The atmosphere is really nice. I made a few friends there. It is very near to most attractions. The room is very clean, and staff is really friendly. Definitely coming back here if I ever go to Copenhagen again.

Reviewed April 01, 2015
9.2
Exceptional
Ting from Taiwan
Solo traveler
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016

Great experience in Copenhagen”

I stayed in a 8 mixed dorm for 2 nights, but I don't feel crowded at all! The staffs are helpful and the common area is always clean. It's a bit expensive (well, it's Copenhagen! :P) and you need to pay if you want to put your luggage in the hostel (before check-in or after check-out). But I still enjoy my stay here!

Reviewed September 12, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Ulyses from Singapore
Solo traveler
1 Person in 8-Bed Dormitory - Mixed
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

Perfect Beds for expensive Copenhagen”

Location, cleanliness, price

Copenhagen is expensive so this hostel was in one of the best location in the small city. Its price is reasonable.

Reviewed December 18, 2015
9.6
Exceptional
Susan from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Twin
Stayed 1 night in April 2018

Great location and common area”

This is my 2nd time to stay here at Copenhagen. Good value in expensive town. The location is great and fee minutes to reach the Nyrahn. Love the comfortable and energetic common area in the hostel. Great food and drinks. Recommend everything to stay here.

Reviewed May 03, 2018

Hi Susan! Thank you for your review - we love it! We are happy to see you liked the stay and also the atmosphere here :) All the best, Allan Generator Copenhagen

Responded December 11, 2018
Generator Copenhagen
12345
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss

Generator Copenhagen
|Excellent 8.2
×
Check in. Step out.
Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.

  • Exceptional location
  • Rundetaarn
  • Kongens Nytorv Metro Station is within 0.41 km
null