"The staff were lovely and a little bemused when I checked out after about ten seconds."
Gavin - October 25, 2019
Location rating score
I'm visiting Copenhagen again this summer for a family trip and we may book here again, so I highly recommend it.
Frank | June 9, 2017
The bar area was nice, and the beer reasonably priced for Copenhagen.
Frank | June 9, 2017
410 meters to public transportation
Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
|Value for money||8.0|
|Distance to city center||0.0 km|
|Nearest airport||Copenhagen Airport (CPH)|
|Distance to airport||7.4 km|
Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 10:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hostel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out. The front desk is always open, day or night.
For those who wish to drive their own cars, Generator Copenhagen has a car park available for guests. Parking is available for an additional charge. If you're looking for an easy way to get around Copenhagen with private transportation, the hostel can arrange taxi service.
Generator Copenhagen does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.
"The location is great as it is near shopping street and harbour."
January 7, 2020
"Beddings are clean as well as common area and comfort room."
January 30, 2019
"Good location, nice beds in the 8-person room."
February 17, 2020
Centrally located just off Kongens Nytorv, the largest square in the city, Generator Copenhagen is set in a superb location for those who want to explore the city on foot. Once you are tired, come back to the hotel to rest your feet or relax at a bar and lounge that serves the best drinks and offers the best forms of entertainments one can ask for in the city. Not to mention that you will be living in one of Copenhagen’s stylish neighborhoods that offers authentic vibe. Pay a visit to the travel shops and allow the city experts to revise your travel itinerary so you can make the most out of the city. Copenhagen is a city worth visiting, while Generator Copenhagen is worth your stay.
"Love the comfortable and energetic common area in the hostel..."
May 3, 2018
Children and extra beds
All children are welcome.
|Guest's age||Extra bed|
Children 0-1 year(s)
Must use an extra bed
Extra beds may be requested directly from the property; additional charges may apply
Guests 2 years and older are considered as adults
Extra beds may be requested directly from the property; additional charges may apply
Extra beds, if available, are dependent on the room you choose. Please ask the property for more details.
City Center / Stroget
Show reviews that mention
Trendy and clean hostel beyond expectation!”
Among other strategic area in the heart of Copenhagen, I would recommend the Generator hostel. This is more than hostel as they offer you clean room, everywhere in the building, it's totally clean! It's new and colorful with trendy building design and free WiFi. All in all it's offering with reasonable price. It's close to everything but you might need to walk about 10-15 minute from Metro train which that's not a problem. There's a bar which provide you lots of activities almost every night. I will go back to stay here again definitely if I have to go Copenhagen.
Location is superb.”
Stayed there from May 26,2018 3 nights. Location near rosenberg castle, kings garden, nyhavn, stroget, norresport. 2 grocery near the hotel aldi and netto. From copenhagen airport ride M2 train to kongens Nytorv. Cost 36DKK per way, ticket can be purchase from the airport. Red bus hop on and hop off stop #21 - stop in front of the hotel There is no aircondition, but have electric fan They offer breakfast buffer
Dear Hazel, thank you for your review and feedback. We are happy to hear you loved our central location in the middle of beautiful Copenhagen! Thank you for sharing your opinion about Generator Copenhagen, we appreciate it a lot. Thank you for visiting, Generator Copenhagen Management
Just all around nice”
I stayed here with my high-school-senior son and one of his friends. We had separate rooms. Perhaps because of the generally high room rates in Copenhagen the clientele was not just young people. The bar area was nice, and the beer reasonably priced for Copenhagen. I'm visiting Copenhagen again this summer for a family trip and we may book here again, so I highly recommend it.
Dear Frank, thank you for your kind review. We are very happy to hear you and your son had a nice stay with us and hope to see you again later this summer. Best regards, Team Generator Copenhagen
Budget accommodation with a convenient location in Copenhagen”
Easy connection from Copenhagen airport via Metro, M1 or M2, exit at Kongens Nytorv, walk towards the direction of Stroget, turn left at Gothersgade, walk further up, turn right at Adelgrade. Within 5-min walk from Kongens Nytorn metro station. Within 3-min walk to the King's garden and to Nyhavn. Remember to bring your padlock (a big one) to lock your luggage under the bed and your own towel, if you don't wish to buy. The fridge magnets and keychains are worth buying. Almost half the price of that at the souvenir shop.
Affordable and nice”
the hostel is on a very good location, almost every sight in indry by is max 15 minutes away from it. the rooms are nice and clean and there's not much noise at night. bed linens are included in the price (not the towels) and you get free wi-fi. there is a lounge bar with different activities every night and drinks are reasonably priced. you can also get an open-buffet breakfast there which is very good and cheap comparing to other prices in copenhagen.
Great to full word meaning”
I am a uaual business man traveller and usually in europe i book in hostels , generator copenhagen is excellent clean ,modern , location more than wonderful staff specially jou , great beakfast , fast wifi , space rooms , you got every thing
Great value for money (by Danish standards)”
Everything about this place was great as long as you had realistic standards. Room was sparse but clean. Bathroom was basic but kept clean too. (These are hostels not the Ritz so did the job just fine). Staff were very friendly and gave advice although since we bought the Copenhagen card we mostly based our own itinerary off that. All our other boxes were ticked - WiFi was free, bar had events and 2 happy hours each day, near to supermarkets and takeaways for cheaper eats but also all the more upmarket places too. Lockers available to leave your luggage (50DKK for 6 hours use of large locker). Buffer breakfast basic but adequate (there's a hostel app for further discounts). Bar/recreation area is huge. Would not hesitate to stay again.
Dear James, Thank you so so much for the review! We are really happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It seems like you got to some things during your stay, and got to explore most of our facilities as well at the hostel. We will look forward to see you again once day, either at our hostel or any of the other Generator Properties. All the best, Allan, Generator Copenhagen
A great place to stay”
I stayed at the generator for 7 nights in a mix 8 dorm bedroom. It had 2 shower rooms a toilet room and a separate sink. The layout felt like I was sharing the room with only 3 other people instead of 7. So it never felt crowded. There are lockers underneath the beds where you can lock up your things if you have your own lock. If you don't the reception sells locks too. I recommend bringing a lock that's a bit bigger because my small one struggled to get through the loop and lock properly sometimes. The shower was nice. There is a shower curtain so your items don't get wet. The shower I had was a bit temperamental sometimes with the temperature, but that's me being picky. You can adjust the temperature and the pressure of the shower easily. The room got really hot some nights and opening the windows hardly let in any air to the top bunk. Each bed got their own power point and light. I had a room which had its windows facing the front of the hostel. Currently there is construction going on on the opposite side of the street, I wasn't really bothered with it but it could be a bother for people who are light sleepers and want a sleep in. Staff were really friendly and helpful. They printed my documents for me without charge. The location was great. The generator is located between 2 station and in walking distance to many major attractions. Overall a great stay at the generator.
Beautiful hotel in grat location”
this is a typical backpacker hostel except everything is brand new. it's location is in the very center of copenhagen with "kongens nytorv" metro station just a stone throw away. given it's location and regular clientel some noise ma occur at this hostel, although i have not been bothered by this in m two stays.
perfect location, friendly staff, nice hostle”
It was a good experience for me. The room was clean and the stuff gave me many suggestions which was helpful but it was pity that I could only stay there two days. Next time I visit Copenhagen, I'll live in Generator as well.
Hostel is great! Rooms are cleaned daily and have comfy beds & shower, toilet inside the room (they do have some common showers/toilets on 6th floor too but I never had to wait for the ones in room). Location is perfect to get anywhere, close to metro and there is an Aldi 1min away where you can grab coffee & supplies! No kitchen but download the hostel app and you get 20% off food & drinks plus loads of good places nearby! Good vibe mix of all ages & styles of travellers. Would definitely recommend when staying in Copenhagen :)
Hi Samantha, Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are happy to hear you loved our clean, spacious rooms, as well as our super central location and unique atmosphere. We are also happy that you took advantage of our in house discounts to have the full Generator experience, as we aim to provide our guests with the best offers and delicious food and drinks! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and thank you for choosing Generator for you stay in Copenhagen. We hope to see you again soon in one of our locations! Karla, Generator Copenhagen
Great Hostel and location.”
I was checking for good hostels in Copenhagen and wanted a good location where I can just walk around the main tourist spots. Since it was my first time being in a hostel, I was a little bit anxious staying here. From the very moment I saw and entered this hostel, it gave me a good vibes and especially seeing the wonderful colors and artworks. I was fascinated with it. I even met 2 travelers as well and they became my friends. Great place, accessible to all, safe and one of the best location ever. I'll surely recommend my friends staying here and when I get back, I'll definitely stay here once again.
Dear guest We are really pleased to hear that you had an amazing trip and you loved the hostel. Hope to see you again in the future. generator Copenhagen management
Cheap and reliable hostel”
A great choice to get a dormitory bed for a single traveller in Copenhagen, really great value! Internet is fast, bar is great and the location is really great. I will definitely stay here again if I go back alone to Copenhagen. very clean and neat.
This is a warm hostel in the cold weather ”
We enjoyed our stay in Generator Hostel Copenhagen. It is a very pleasant place with very clean facilities. The room was spacious and the four of us have a cosy time there. Being an Asian family, our main concern is the room temperature especially at nights. To our surprise, the heating device was superb.It kept our room warm. We slept well and we could even take a bath every day !! Generator Hostel is also very closer to several attractions. Its proximity to these places of interest has made our stay in Copenhagen a very happy one. Thanks to Generator Hostel !
Wonderful staff, great amenities ”
My sister and I spent the weekend (one night) in Copenhagen and this hostel was a great place! The staff is very friendly, there is a great bar/restaurant with lots of games and a warm atmosphere. There are lockers to store luggage in if your flight leaves at night and hang out spots all over to charge your phone and figure out the next place to visit. Highly recommend.
Hi Alisa, what excellent feedback! This makes us really pleased, as we aim to make your stay a fun, and memorable one, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. On behalf of the team, thank you! Generator Copenhagen Management
Lovely communal areas”
It was rainy so didn’t get to sit at the patio that looked lovely. We got a room facing the street so a little noisy but not something terrible.. comfy beds and basic shower toilet facilities.. in total- expensive compared to the rest of the world but ok in comparison to Copenhagen
Hi Daniella, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy to see you had a good stay with us. We agree that Copenhagen can be a bit expensive. Even though your experienced the city a bit expensive, we still hope you had a good time here and enjoyed the city. We are looking forward to see you again. Allan, Generator Copenhagen
best hostel ever”
This is definitely the best hostel I've been to so far. The atmosphere is really nice. I made a few friends there. It is very near to most attractions. The room is very clean, and staff is really friendly. Definitely coming back here if I ever go to Copenhagen again.
Great experience in Copenhagen”
I stayed in a 8 mixed dorm for 2 nights, but I don't feel crowded at all! The staffs are helpful and the common area is always clean. It's a bit expensive (well, it's Copenhagen! :P) and you need to pay if you want to put your luggage in the hostel (before check-in or after check-out). But I still enjoy my stay here!
Perfect Beds for expensive Copenhagen”
Copenhagen is expensive so this hostel was in one of the best location in the small city. Its price is reasonable.
Great location and common area”
This is my 2nd time to stay here at Copenhagen. Good value in expensive town. The location is great and fee minutes to reach the Nyrahn. Love the comfortable and energetic common area in the hostel. Great food and drinks. Recommend everything to stay here.
Hi Susan! Thank you for your review - we love it! We are happy to see you liked the stay and also the atmosphere here :) All the best, Allan Generator Copenhagen