Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 767 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 6.8
Sort by

Rachel from United Kingdom
Group
Superior City View
Stayed one night in May 2013
Disappointing stay for a hotel with such potential
Great location
Sadly our stay at the Gia Bao Grand was a disappointment.Upon arrival we were told that from 12am until 6pm the next day there would be no electricity in the hotel.They gave us two options.1.Stay at the Gia Bao Grand & they would provide us with a fan as there would be limited electricity from a generator.2.They would move us to their sister hotel the Gia Bao Palace.If we stayed they promised to upgrade us.Having read reviews which warned us about being moved to the lesser Gia Bao Palace we chose option 1. We were a group of 5, across 2 rooms so we were also promised 2 fans for the room of 3.On returning to the hotel around 11pm there were were no fans, one for each room eventually turned up but they refused to give us a 2nd.After much debate they miraculously found a second fan.We were happy with our decision until midnight until we discovered the generators did not work for the first 2 floors, where the room of 3 were staying.Noticing this at 2am we decided not to traipse downstairs in the pitch black to complain (the phone wasn’t working so we couldn’t contact reception).After a very uncomfortable 1st night we were much happier at this hotel when the electricity returned.Note the rooms were not upgrades.We then left Hanoi to return 2 days later.Again we were met with disappointment.We were informed that there would be no air conditioning due to maintenance work but again we could have a fan or move.We chose to move.This was also a disappointment.Arriving at the Gia Bao Palace (the staff spoke much better English) we expressed our disappointment with the service & they didn’t care & refused to call the hotel manager.They’d booked us into the lowest standard twin rooms, not doubles as per our booking.We refused them & eventually they conceded, providing us with 2 doubles & an extra room for our fifth member.From this point on the staff were very friendly & helpful.Despite our start at the Gia Bao Palace,if one was looking for a budget hotel I would recommend it.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

kent from United States
Couple
Deluxe City View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
below expectations and below normal standards
location to some sites
Having stayed over 3,000 nights in hotel in 50 countries, this was one of the least enjoyable rooms ever. Advertisement said hotel build in 2010-don't think so
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Joe from Ireland
Solo traveler
Superior City View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013
Great staff and central location
Upgraded to a suite on the 10th floor, friendly staff and great location
I had a great time at this hotel. It is ideally located, just a short walk from the northern end of Hoan Kiem Lake. I was upgraded from a superior room (which I believe is the standard room) to a suite which was great. The staff were very friendly.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Tim from United States
Business traveler
Superior City View
Stayed one night in May 2013
decently priced hotel in central location
centrally located, good restaurants in vicinity, close to attractions in old quarter
The hotel is centrally located in the old quarter within walking distance to all major sights. The old quarter can be a bit noisy and crowded with motorcycles everywhere. There's plenty of good restaurants close by. The hotel rooms are ok for the price. Internet can be sketchy at times but access from the business center is decent. Breakfast is good.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ling from Singapore
Group
Superior City View
Stayed one night in May 2013
simple nice hotel
location, clean room
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Catherine from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior City View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Value for money and great location
Comfortable, clean, friendly staff
We really enjoyed our stay here and the staff were really friendly. The only downside was that there was no social 'hub' as in a bar or restaurant but that wasn't really important to us as we were out all the time. Socialising within the hotel wasn't on our agenda. Our room was clean and in great condition. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

NGUYEN from Vietnam
Business traveler
Superior City View
Stayed one night in February 2013
Good as always
Location , staff and services
Happy with hotel as always : Friendly Staff , excellent location , 5 star hotel service
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Sheena from United Kingdom
Couple
Executive Suite City View
Stayed 7 nights in May 2013
Very friendly and helpful staff
location and helpfulness of staff
From the time we entered their airport pickup till the time we left everyone was extremely helpful and friendly The location is great for sightseeing and shopping as well as being close to many good resturants although the night we ate in the hotel the food was delicious. The Presidential suite was nicely decorated with jacuzie bath and steam shower, the room was attractive and had a very comfortable couch and balcony also plenty windows but the lift only goes to the 10th floor and we were in 1101 We certainly would recommend this hotel
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Olivia from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Superior City View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012
good location in the central of old city
location, friendly staff, airport pickup service
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Van from Australia
Couple
Superior City View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Clean & comfortable place for a short stay
Good location, clean room, friendly staff
Really enjoyed our stay. We did not experience any problems. Staff were very helpful. Overall, the hotel offered good value for money (at the discount rate that we paid via Agoda booking)
Reviewed May 22, 2013


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: