Excellent 8.2
Based on 222 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type

based on 222 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for money 7.9
  • Food and dining 7.4
Sort by

Mercedes from Spain
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Wonderful quiet spot
Great staff thanks to Gino and Scott, gorgeous quiet private location
located on a very quiet part of koh yao yai, this hotel is for those seeking quiet as there is literally no other adjacent resorts or town to speak of nearby. you have wonderful western facing sunset views over phuket and a more or less private beach. the rooms are fine, we stayed in a superior villa right next to the pool area and it was fine. you won't get 6 star service from most of the local staff, but gino the gm and scott the chief chef are incredibly friendly, helpful and service oriented to making your stay relaxing and enjoyable. the island is predominantly muslim so there is no beer or liquor for sale outside the hotel and there is very little of a town to speak of, so most all your meals are eaten at the hotel (thank goodness scott is there and customizing the menu). if you are expecting extremely new accomodations and a glitzy stay, this is probably not the spot, but it does feel incredibly comfortable and authentic. it's down a dirt road but has great ais mobile phone connection (don't think other carriers worked), somewhat ok wifi in the public areas ... no internet in rooms to speak of. chill, no frills, comfy spot with very few tourists around. have to take a speedboat from phuket to get there and on windy days there can be very big waves and can get quite choppy. we had two very small kids so i would suggest trying to get on a bigger boat if it feels windy and/or sit in the middle of the speedboat cabin. we caught the last boat out and they packed it probably far above capacity. didn't feel very safe with small kids and a very windy day. fortunately it was only about 25 minute trip. otherwise was no problem. going over on speedboat was not a windy day and didn't feel too bad. rent motorcycles from the shops outside the main entrance for 250 baht a day and you can cruise around the island and/or go over to koh yai noi which we didn't get to but apparently has restaurants or other things to see.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

eunjee from South Korea
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Lovely hotel and great relaxation with nature
Beautiful nature sorrounding and quiet place
i stayed there for 4 days and it was absolutely great! the beach is so amazingly beautiful . the place is very quiet not like partying place like phuket or patong... very good for people who looking for peaceful holiday with great nature .... i recommend for travellers with kids... the daily thai body massage near the pool was so nice every morning to start your day fresh or at the evening to relax staffs are friendly... but hotel foods are so so.... anyway it was one of the great relaxing place ive ever been....
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Chelsea from Australia
Superior Villa
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Beautiful, secluded and charming
Beach front
Glow elixir takes a while to get to but it's worth the trip! It's literally like a post card. It isn't 5 star luxury but it's beautiful. It's located on the best beach on the island, beautiful pool, and the food at the restaurant is great! They organise tours to nearby islands etc. the room was comfortable and clean with an awesome outdoor shower! If nature isn't your thing this probably isn't the place for you! We loved it here
Reviewed February 15, 2013

samantha from United States
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Best hotel I've ever stayed at
Seriously, not a bad thing about it
An absolute 10, staff was superb, the location is absolutely gorgeous, rooms are stunning and some of the best sunsets I've ever seen. I can't even begin to describe how wonderful our stay was. I'd only give food an 8 or 9 out of 10, but if that's your biggest problem in not booking this place you're crazy! I will definitely come back in a heartbeat. Ideal for couples, and solo travelers, but mostly couples. They definitely got the romance flowing!
Reviewed February 05, 2013

Sandro from Switzerland
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
nice and quiet
lovely quiet location
koh yao yai is very quiet and beautiful. the resort is located almost at the end of the island and has a nice beach. staff was always friendly and helpful. the hotel is not brand-new anymore, but nothing major was broken. nice place for a quiet getaway.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Christoph from Germany
Solo traveler
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Go before it's too late!!
Thailand as it used to be
Very charming and chilled bungalow resort on a really pretty beach. Guests are mainly decent European couples and families, very pleasant. Staff is friendly and helpful. On the downside, there are only few dining options outside the hotel and you need motorized transport to get there but the food at the hotel restaurant is better than its reputation (at least when you stick to the local fare that is).
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Nicholas from United Kingdom
Stayed 5 nights in January 2013
Quiet with stunning views and a few rough edges
For total relaxation away from the hubbub of Phuket
If you have found Koh Yao, you are probbly looking to kick back and relax with few added facilities and services. with Glow, you have found the right place. If your budget runs to it, the deluxe pool villas provide total privacy and you could never leave the room and have a great few days. The price probably warrants a better restaurant and higher se rvice levels, but on Koh Yao Yai, you are not comparing to the facilities on Phuket or mainland, so take some of the construction flaws and just enjoy
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Amanda from United Kingdom
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in January 2013
Lovely tranquil beach resort
Very relaxed. Chilled
Loved every minute. Would definitely go again. Enough things to keep you occupied if you want to do things other than sunbathing
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Callie from United States
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
Beautiful location and accomodating staff
Quiet and isolated!
We stayed at the Elixir for 4 nights, with our 4-year old son and our baby. The Elixir was very accomadating with our children, and they provided a twin bed for the older boy (they also offered a cot for the baby, which we declined). The villa was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed relaxing in our room when we weren't out at the beach. The beach is very nice, though some debris does wash up on the beach. My husband saw glass several times. The staff cleans the beach daily, so it is generally very clean. We were very impressed with the on-site dive staff, and the excursions they offered. Everyone in the dive shop was very helpful and friendly. The only downside we experienced was very slow service at the restaurant, regardless of what we ordered.
Reviewed January 09, 2013

CHRISTOPHE from France
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Very old hotel, need clearly to be fully refurbish
the staff and the manager Gino try to do their best for customers
We have book one superior room for 2 days on Koh Yao Yai, this island is really nice and just few tourist staying during the night on this island, the hotel logistic was ok for pick up us on the port and bring us at the hotel reception for 1800 ThB for 2 people charged by the hotel. But when we arrived in the room, deception, all the room stuffs was very old, the room size was 2 time less that advertised, the paint on the floor was cracked, the AC system did not work properly, the toilet wood door was previously broken and repair ''quickly''with one plastic piece, the TV was a 1995 model, the hot and cold water valves was not properly sealed, 1 of our towel was dirty, etc... for summarized, we paid for those 2 nights in this 4 stars hotel and definitively we have never spend this amount for this kind of services before...in the front of our deception, Gino, the Glow Elixir manager offer us one dinner on the beach...
Reviewed January 09, 2013


Select loyalty program

Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.


Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.


Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: