Book Now: GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai

Excellent
From 344 reviewsSee what guests said
8.4
Recommended by 97% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (344)Booking.com Reviews (266)
8.4
Excellent
From 344 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness8.7
Facilities8.1
Location8.5
Room comfort and quality8.3
Service8.8
Value for money8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
Deutsch
Français
简体中文
more
Room type
Superior Villa
Deluxe Villa
Beachfront Pool Villa
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 303 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Brett from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Best location, beautiful bungalows”
Glow resort has thought of everything a traveler may need to enjoy a beautiful stay on Koh Yao Yai island. From the clean, comfortable, private and beautifully decorated bungalows to the well kept grounds and easy island transfers. The private beach is beautiful with light sand and clear water - it's not busy or crowded like other resorts on the island. The staff was very nice and helpful. The resort is in walking distance to great restaurants and cheap scooter rentals. It almost felt like a luxurious camp for us, walking with flashlights to rent movies in the main lodge at night! We hope to return soon.
Reviewed May 03, 2017
Dear Brett, It’s a pleasure for us to note your generous compliments of the services and facilities of our resort. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation for our team to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests. We once again thank you and look forward to seeing you soon at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai!
Responded December 26, 2017
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
8.8
Excellent
Laura-Jayne from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
The most incredible stay ”
This place was expensive, but worth it! We arrived to a cold drink and cool flannel, before being whisked to our room. The air con was great and the standards in the room were high. It was lovely having an outdoor shower, particularly at night when you can see the stars! The pool's a good size and temperature, although it could do with being spot cleaned in the mornings-a lot of flies lose their way over night and end up there! The beach is sensational-so picturesque! There are plenty of loungers and enough space. The good and drinks are a little expensive, but being a small and undeveloped island, things are shipped in so you expect to pay a premium. The staff are very attentive and even called us the night before our departure to see if they could help us organise onward transport. All in all, we left to go to Ao Nang, and wished we'd never left! I'd go back to Glow in a heartbeat! Thanks for a great stay!
Reviewed April 02, 2017
Dear Laura-Jayne, We are very happy to read your feedback about the property, The Team are very pleased to read about your amazing time you had with us. . It is with comment like yours that we can improve our service, thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcome you back at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai in a near future. Once again thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Show more
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
10.0
Exceptional
Mads from Denmark
Family with young children
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 6 nights in March 2017
Excellent place for families”
We had ind of the pool Villas (115) for six nights. It was airy and beautiful. The pool is big enough for the kids to swim and have fun, and the beach is right in front. Putting kids to sleep and having your dinner delivered to the villa's porch is highly recommended.
Reviewed March 14, 2017
Dear Mads, It’s a pleasure for us to note your generous compliments of the services and facilities of our resort. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation for our team to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests. We once again thank you and look forward to seeing you soon at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai!
Responded December 26, 2017
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
3.2
Richard from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Abysmal . Rude manager. Poor restaurant. Tired resort. The pictures must be very old!”
Words can't describe how disappointed I was with this hotel. We expected, and paid for, a luxury resort. What we got was a very tired resort, in need of comprehensive refurbishment, with inattentive / unmotivated staff, very poor food in the restaurant (which gave one of us brutal food poisoning), glass on the (very rocky!) beach, and dirty rooms. We had power cuts for 4 hours as the resort doesn't have a back up generator - quite remarkable when the electricity goes down every time it rains hard... The manager was rude when we complained. Wouldn't refund the meal that gave my partner food poisoning and laughed in my face when I suggested they remove the service charge. There'a a lot of great hotels in Thailand, and this isn't one of them. If you want to go to Yao Yai, stay at Santhiya which is incredible, or stay at Paradise on Yao Noi - don't waste your cash on this place, the description and dated pictures misrepresent it!
Reviewed March 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Milos from Canada
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 30 nights in January 2017
Glow Elixir Resort on Koh Yao Yai island is a real delight”
After a full month of real enjoyment in this sunny and picturesque paradise my wife and I want to share with potential vacationers our experience. It was early January when we arrived there and received a very warm welcome by the Resort’s staff and Resort Manager, Ms Kanthaboon. This was our third visit at Glow Elixir during past14 months. They remembered and knew our “pattern” of daily routines from previous visits, and took fantastic care about them at our every step, during wholesome breakfasts, candle light dinners at the beach restaurant, decorating our room, booking day trips, and many other things. We experienced unprecedented treatment throughout our stay. Their respect was equally and continuously demonstrated with all guests in the Resort, many of them returning guests like us, from Canada, Finland, Switzerland, Germany, just to mention a few. This Resort is both, adult/senior as well as children friendly paradise, accommodation and facilities wise. You do not need fancy attire while in this paradise because everything in the Resort is casual and steps from your beautifully designed villa, regardless if you are in the first or last row of beautifully designed villas. The Resort offers day trips to neighboring islands, Phi Phi, James Bond, and other attractions on Phuket Island, which is just minutes away from Koh Yao Yai. Glow Elixir does not only “glow”, Glow Elixir radiates and shines as best on Koh Yao Yai !
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Dear Milos, It’s a pleasure for us to note your generous compliments of the services and facilities of our resort. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation for our team to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests. We once again thank you and look forward to seeing you soon at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai!
Responded December 26, 2017
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
10.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017
Pristine beach, quite atmosphere, great food, rooms and staff”
Koh Yao Yai and Koh Yao No are very very quiet islands. They are not attached to each other but close, and this hotel on Koh Yao Yai has beautiful grounds with mostly European tourists who all seem to value quiet. During our 5 day stay even babies and small children were very quiet compared to USA kids. Most rooms have a pool or outside jacuzzi sized pool option attached to the room. The hotel has a large clean pool just off the beach, a workout room, massage at the pool area, restaurant on the beach for all 3 meals. You can get beer and alcohol at this resort but if you want to have your own, you need to bring it before arriving on this island, island is mostly Muslim, Both men and women drive and women are not in Burka just head covers, everyone seems friendly and welcoming. Not much to do outside hotel. If you rent a scooter you will just see undeveloped nature, a few local areas, few restaurants, local night market, that's about it. But there are a few restaurants down the road from the hotel you can walk to. The hotel can also arrange for you to rent kayaks or do a snorkel, diving trip to PhiPhi or elsewhere. I prefer to spend my time in the resort. My daily routine: Breakfast on the beach, enjoy the completely clean ocean water and sand, then lunch at my room at my outside pool area, later to the the large hotel pool, then dinner at ocean front to see the sunset. Very relaxed day. The staff are all lovely, helpful people. Sunset is so pretty every night. Hotel food is very very good. Most rooms you can enjoy the sunset from your room or come down to the large beach or restaurant area to watch it. You can order drinks and food to be served inside or outside at the restaurant , at the beach, pool or your room. Rooms are very nice, feel spacious, clean, inviting. If you can afford it, book the best room at the top, huge pool area and pretty private, but all rooms are nice. Hotel manager (her name is Gay) is just lovely, welcoming and very helpful. All of the
Reviewed February 07, 2017
Dear Jennifer, It’s a pleasure for us to note your generous compliments of the services and facilities of our resort. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation for our team to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests. We once again thank you and look forward to seeing you soon at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai!
Responded December 26, 2017
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
9.6
Exceptional
Hana from Czech Republic
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017
Very quiet place”
Breakfast only so so
Reviewed January 28, 2017
Dear Hana, It’s a pleasure for us to note your generous compliments of the services and facilities of our resort. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation for our team to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests. We have well noted your comment about our breakfast selection, rest assure that it have been share with the concern department so that corrective action can be taken.We once again thank you and look forward to seeing you soon at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai!
Show more
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
4.8
Paul from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Superior Villa
Stayed 5 nights in December 2016
What a shame, great location, very poorly maintained property..”
Noisey and leaking air con, untidy resort. Poor quality breakfast. Such a shame as its a first class location.
Reviewed December 31, 2016
8.8
Excellent
San from Singapore
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Relaxing villa stay”
Good facility condition, nice setting for dinner, good staff performance. Love the quiet tranquility and peaceful surroundings. Transport was a little messed up in the beginning when instructions given to us that there will be a person holding a Glow resort name plate to fetch us but there wasn't any. Too bad weather was bad as well and could be nicer, but the facilities made up for it. Would love to visit again, but so many other nice choices too...
Reviewed December 04, 2016
Dear San, We thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. The staff are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai. Rest assure that your feedback in regards to the transportation has been share with the concerned person so that we can improve the service. We are glad you enjoyed our food & the staff perfomance, it is with such feedback that we can strive for perfection. Once again thank you very much for taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us and we look forward to welcome you back at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai.
Show more
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
8.4
Excellent
Tsang from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
nice resort ! ”
All staff in there is nice and polite. amazing !
Reviewed December 01, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Jayne from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
Perefect Paradice”
Beautiful setting on spoilt island a 25 min boat ride from Bang rong pierplus a 45 min taxi ride from Phuket Int Airport. Charming little lodges some with private pools and various sizes, well furnished in traditional style. location just steeps from the most idealic beach trees for shade, rocks at one end jungle at the other and perfect white sand in the middle. Food varied and fresh, service with charm and a smile. Relaxed friendly place with quiet guest who have found a piece of paradise. Just loved it.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
Dear Jayne, It’s a pleasure for us to note your generous compliments of the services and facilities of our resort. Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation for our team to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests. We once again thank you and look forward to seeing you soon at GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai!
Responded December 26, 2017
GLOW Elixir Koh Yao Yai
9.2
Exceptional
Francisco from Germany
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Nice hotel with very nice staff”
The hitel was nice and in a good conditions. Rooms deifantely cute with an outdoor shower. The staff was very friendly. Unfortunately we couldnt use much the beach as it was low tight most of the day and therefore not possible to go to the water. Didnt look very nice either. They told us that happens during the while year. Therefore for having a relaxed beach stay next time we would choose another island. Only negative point about the hotel was that the restaurant was very overpriced therefore we were eating outside most of the times.
Reviewed November 08, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Pornravee from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016
A place for relaxing and pampering ”
Nice hotel, peaceful, good facilities and good service
Reviewed November 02, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Anver from Ireland
Solo traveler
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 7 nights in August 2016
Tranquillity”
Very relaxing
Reviewed September 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Fleur from United Kingdom
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 7 nights in July 2016
Exceptional”
A truly outstanding hotel on a breath taking island. Staff - amazing. Food - fantastic. Facilities - everything you need and then some. Could not recommend more, the perfect island getaway from the mundane western world.
Reviewed August 17, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Athit from Thailand
Group
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Peaceful gataway”
Very nice if you want a quiet peaceful vacation
Reviewed July 16, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Anu from Finland
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
Peaceful bliss”
We booked a private transportation. Car from the airport to the marina and long but cooling boat ride to the island and it was worth it. No hassle just enjoyed the service. Welcome drink and a cool towel when arrived and they let you sit when check-in. A staff member took time to show the room and amenities of it (this is a value because not all places do the same..). Room was clean. We had a beachfront private pool villa, it could have been privater. Hotel sunbeds were in front of our villa but luckily? it was a low season so not as many sunbathers. Loved the private pool so all the "negatives" changed to positive. Restaurant was awesome with excellent food and staff.
Reviewed June 11, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Alain from Canada
Family with teens
Superior Villa
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
Relaxing and quiet getaway.”
Quiet island with friendly locals. Yoa Yai is great to explore by scooter, additionally Glow offers a variety of off island day trips. The National park and surrounding island tours were fantastic, private longtail with friendly guides. Facilities at Glow were clean and resort is located on a beautiful private beach which is frequently visited by the local monkey troop. Meals are served ocean front and food is very tasty. Great place for a relaxing and quiet getaway.
Reviewed May 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Dean from United States
Family with teens
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Andaman dream”
We stayed here April 11-14, 2016. We had one beachfront pool villa and one villa without the pool. Both were lovely accommodations. The grounds were gorgeous and the meals were superb, including the free breakfast buffets. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The beach was rocky at low tide and lovely and swimmable at higher tides, and from what I hear, larger and deeper than most other resort beaches on the island. Snorkeling was OK, but not much life or color when I was there, and didn’t see the coral reefs that were reported to be there. The sunsets are awesome, with the coastline actually Glowing each night. It was great to have the Elixer Dive facility right next door for trips and rental of snorkel or diving gear, and some valuable island tips. Numerous motorbike rentals are available next to the resort, and this is a convenient and affordable way to explore the island and its wonderful vistas and private beaches, as well as getting to restaurants (a 30 min. ride to Ban Rim Nam restaurant is a must, for the best seafood on the island, and there are other great roadside restaurants a short walk up the road from GLOW). Most ameneties that one would like are also available, including massage, fitness, table tennis and billiards. When we had a problem with the AC unit in one of the rooms, we were moved to a larger poolside villa further up the hill for one night while they fixed it. This turned out to be a very quiet and picturesque area of the resort, which we were glad to experience, despite the presence of marauding monkeys, and this offset the slight inconvenience of the move. Although it is a 45 minute taxi trip (arranged by the resort) from Chong Lard Pier at the north end of the island, it turned out to be a great quiet location near the southern end of Koh Yao Yai. Overall, a perfect place to soak in the relaxed and beautiful aura of Koh Yao Yai and its restorative powers.
Reviewed April 26, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Marcia from United States
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 4 nights in April 2016
Wonderfully relaxing!”
We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the Glow Elixir. It was a little hard getting there from Krabi but well worth the trouble. It was one of the best times ever to just relax and enjoy the wonderful beach! There's not much to do on the island but that is just what we were looking for, after a hectic week in Bangkok! Also, the food at the restaurant was excellent! The wait staff was friendly and remembered what we liked to drink. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were nice and cool. I can't say enough good things about this resort. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for a time out!
Reviewed April 19, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Milos from Canada
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 14 nights in January 2016
Beautiful beach and villas just few steps from the beach”
Nature unspoiled. Birds singing high on beautiful coconut palms. Friendly monkeys in the forest next to the resort. Restaurant also next to the beach with very friendly staff throughout whole day. Cleaning staff hardworking to make the rooms and facilities exceptionally clean each and every day. Resort's Manager, Marcus and his team at Reception are very much guests' friendly and ready to act whenever need for help arises. We stayed 12 days, it was like a dream after our long trip from Toronto to this resort.
Reviewed February 05, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Leanne from China
Group
Superior Villa
Stayed 7 nights in December 2015
Relaxing group trip”
Private beach very calm waters and lovely white sand, resort is peaceful and the rooms are clean and comfortable
We spent a week at Glow with a group of friends. We luckily arrived during high tides so the transport from airport to resort was very convenient as we got dropped off at their private beach directly and everything took under an hour. We were quickly checked in and escorted to our rooms which we found very comfortable and clean. We stayed in room 131 which is next to the pool and 30 seconds from the beach and has the loveliest view at sunsets. The resort faces west which means it gets a lot of sun throughout the day and amazing sunsets every night over Phuket. The beach is a private white sand beach, very calm waters and quiet. We spent most afternoons relaxing by the pool and beach, which has plenty of shade if that's something you seek. The staff, especially Banana, was very helpful when booking day trips for us and scooters when we wanted to explore Yao Yai and Yao Noi. Elixir diving and recreational centre is also on site, which is convenient if you want to explore other islands. Our only complaint about the resort is that the food on site is overpriced and mediocre and bland compared to other restaurants on the island. We didn't try any of their western dishes; we stuck with Thai food which they never made spicy or sour enough to our liking. Their breakfast is basic with simple selection of eggs, fruits, juices, bread and thai stirfry of some sort. If you want iced coffee, ask for a cup of ice and make your own as this is free and just as good. We had breakfast at the resort but most nights found dinner in the surrounding village. There is one decent restaurant w/in walking distance, others you'll need to scoot to. Something to keep in mind, the majority of people on the island are Muslims hence pork and bacon are hard to come by. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at the resort and island. We were looking for a low key and relaxing holiday with a nice beach and got exactly that. If Glow improves their food, they would definitely get a higher rating.
Reviewed December 26, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Cheya from Thailand
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015
A serenity resort with style ”
peaceful location, relaxing atmosphere and beautiful resort
Absolutely Love this place, definitely recommended our family and friends and we would love to coming back again. Breakfast was great and staffs are friendly and very supportive. If the resorts provide more food options for dinner at the restaurent that would be helpful. Nice clean beach and stunning sunset, very relaxing staying here. Enjoy swimming and chilling in the pool aswell. The room we stayed was very comfortable bed & pillows, we like the outdoor shower too. The well kept garden and ancient Thai flowers around the resort make this place a very special one. Recommended to rent a motorbike to explore around the island. There is one pier close by to get to the Phuket town which is very handy. You can get the boat time table from the reception.
Reviewed October 25, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Anbarasu from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Fantastic!”
Beach, pool and service
We stayed 2 nights at this resort and had a wonderful time as it was low season and there was sparsely anyone around. The pool and the beach were great spots to just lay back and relax. The deluxe villa was spacious with a large balcony which includes a small plunge pool and the open-air toilet added to its charm. However, there should be a shelf near the rain shower to keep the soap and shampoo nearby when showering and also the water flow of the plunge pool could haave been better as it took forever to fill up. Also it would be nice to have a screen on the side of the balcony to block the view from the outside into the balcony. Overall it was a nice stay.
Reviewed September 08, 2015
8.7
Excellent
Anbarasu from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Another gem of an island”
Location, beach, food
We stayed 2 nights at this resort and had a wonderful time as it was low season and there was sparsely anyone around. The pool and the beach were great spots to just lay back and relax. The deluxe villa was spacious with a large balcony which includes a small plunge pool and the open-air toilet added to its charm. However, there should be a shelf near the rain shower to keep the soap and shampoo nearby when showering and also the water flow of the plunge pool could haave been better as it took forever to fill up. Also it would be nice to have a screen on the side of the balcony to block the view from the outside into the balcony. Overall it was a nice stay.
Reviewed September 01, 2015
7.7
Very good
Thiprampai from Thailand
Family with teens
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Away from the city”
Beach, Private, nice resort
I came back to stay here with my family for the second time. We really the accommodation here. The hotel was nice, clean and very well organised.
Reviewed August 03, 2015
7.0
Very good
Juanita from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
Central Location”
Location accessibility and friendly staff
Pleasant
Reviewed July 13, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Marie from Ireland
Group
Superior Villa
Stayed 4 nights in April 2015
Relaxing trip with the girls.... A slice of heaven”
Location, food and service
Resort was beautiful, service was great, staff were very accommodating nothing was a problem. We did a boat trip from the beach the snorkeling was amazing. The food was a high quality and reasonable loved the seafood and the steak.
Reviewed April 19, 2015
6.3
Good
ARVID from Norway
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in February 2015
The Good, the Bad and the Ugly”
Food, room and beach
Friendly transfer from ferry. Friendly reception. But roof inside reception like taken out of a horror movie with cob webs, birds nests and year old dirt hanging meters down from 10 meter high inside of roof. Good food, but extremely slow beverage servants. 15 minutes to carry one bottle of beer 15 meters. Although we always ordered for-drinks in good time before eating, food arrived first. Expensive wine like vinaigre. Dangerous decking around pool area with loose planks, holes and nails that could easily break your feet. That nobody wasn't damaged during our stay is a mystery. But the deck was so bad that people took great care walking there. Pool bar never opened - just as good since it was out of order like the pool with loose tiles. Nice and clean villas and nice and well maintained garden. This hotel is a mix of terrible and good hence we call it: The Good, the Bad & the Ugly. Avoid this hotel.
Reviewed March 02, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Carl from Sweden
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Great location”
Great location, a bit off-site from other tourist areas
Reviewed February 06, 2015
6.3
Good
claire from France
Family with young children
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014
nice place to stay outside of Phuket ”
location, scuba diving, quietness
the stay was great, in a very quiet island and still very preserved. Enjoyed very much the scenery, ideal for family with young kid.
Reviewed January 03, 2015
6.3
Good
Philipp from Germany
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 5 nights in December 2014
Good location; bad management; very bad breakfast”
Location; Remoteness/Silence
- Fantastic location - Bungalows are nice but not maintained properly - Service staff very friendly but the hotel is overall poorly managed - Breakfast a desaster
Reviewed December 24, 2014
5.7
Donna from United Kingdom
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 4 nights in December 2014
Great potential but needs some improvements”
Location, spacious rooms
Loved the location, needs improved maintence to improve the quality and enjoyment of the stay
Reviewed December 24, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Emily from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Relaxing stay on an isolated island!”
Friendly staff, beautiful outdoor shower, nice beach
This was a nice resort. I got a very good deal on Agoda. I went at the tail end of the rainy season - October - and it was beautiful. In the high season, this resort can go as high as $200 a night (not sure it's worth that). The pool is fine, although a bit small, the view from the beach is lovely, the staff are great, but the breakfast could be better. Overall, for the price of the deal I got on Agoda, it was fantastic!
Reviewed October 25, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Brianna from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Relaxing Getaway. Very Quite”
the bed, the room and the tub.
When we arrived it was pouring rain. Our driver dropped us off and we were greeted with a yummy hot lemongrass tea and some cool towels. The check in was easy and we waited in the lodge for a bit unit the rain slowed down. The hotel staff walked us up to our private bungalow which was amazing. We entered to a tranquil and beautiful bungalow. The room came with two huge cozy bathrobes, slippers, an amazing canopy bed. The bathroom was to die for. The outdoor shower was brilliant and outside on our deck was a sunken in jacuzzi. The private deck had two lounge chairs which unfortunately we didn't get to use as we picked the rainiest weekend to visit. Regardless, it was such a relaxing weekend away. My husband and I are teachers in Phuket so the long weekend was much needed. It was low season so it seemed as if it was only us and a few other couples staying there. The island of Koh Yao yai is very small. If your looking for a place where you can walk off the resort and check out local spots, then this isn't the place for you. Check out the neighboring island dog ooh yao noi. But if your looking for a peace quite getaway then this is it. The views are amazing and the bed was so comfortable. It was hard to leave. The food was great. Its pricey like all resorts are but their portions were huge and totally worth the money.
Reviewed October 19, 2014
5.7
amy from United States
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
MIDDLE OF NOWHERE!!!! Avoid this island!”
The restaurant and staff were wonderful
We wanted secluded but not this extreme. We rented a scooter so we could explore and find supplies, specifically adult beverages and road for about 20 minutes. This island is a village that is very spread out and seems predominately Muslim, thus barely any alcohol in the area. I've stayed on various islands and done the excursions but this had none of the same options. Regarding our room it was nice but we got the room with the private 2 person stone tub and if you want the water a temp that you can sit in it'll take hours and hours to fill!! We ran ours for about 2 hours and only had about an inch or 2 of water. Getting to this island is a hassle all on its own!! And very expensive! I wouldn't return if I got the room for free!!!!
Reviewed October 01, 2014
8.0
Excellent
jose from Portugal
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in September 2014
Very nice staff”
staff, quite, location
All staff is very nice, you can get the tours easily from the hotel, swimming pool is ok, and tranfers services work perfectly
Reviewed September 15, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
zhijian from China
Couple
Beachfront Pool Villa
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
a great experience”
environment,food,service
i have to say its a great hotel i'v ever seen,service is good,though its a little bit far from the hobour.
Reviewed September 11, 2014
3.7
Eugene from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
horrible stay”
Glow Elixir Koh Yao Yai Resort
when getting to glow elixir from phuket, i suggest that you try and take your own transport there instead of opting for airport transfer because it would be so so much cheaper. plus the pier is not far from the airport, so no point getting transport from the resort. upon reaching the resort, everything seemed beautiful until we started exploring our room. our room was not cleaned at all. the beach beds were ridiculously dirty and the beach umbrella was spoilt and could not be opened. the hot tub was very dirty too. furthermore, the shower is outdoors and you will not be able to bathe when it rains. when the wind blows, the leaves fall off the trees that surround the shower and choke up the drainage, leaving the shower flooded and very dirty. it is a nice concept but very impractical and not executed properly. the beach was very dirty too with lots of rubbish. in terms of room service, it was terrible. we ordered food in our room and upon finishing, we placed the plates (we wrapped the plates in plastic wrap) outside our room. we called reception to request for the plates to be cleared and after calling them for 3 times over 12 hours, they did not clear the plate. the next morning we found our doorstep to be swarmed with ants with the plates still uncleared. terrible.
Reviewed July 27, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Shelley from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Fabulous, luxury, friendly staff, great food”
Villa with private pool, view, staff
I booked this just for a relaxing time after travelling for so long. I originally booked the villa with the bath outside, when I arrived to check in I was given a free upgrade to the villa with its own private pool free of charge which I was very happy about as you would imagine. I was given a villa on the hillside which was amazing. The view I had of the resort and ocean was amazing and it was very private so no one could see you. I am glad they had me in this villa as the ones by the beach are very open and not private but they would be perfect for people with children. The room was very comfortable and the food was very nice and for the standard of the resort the food was not too over priced. The private beach is nice and big. I've got to say the staff were so friendly and most could speak and understand English. Overall I thought this resort was fabulous. I would recommend this to anyone and hopefully you will be as lucky as me with the upgrade. Great way to end my travelling trip.
Reviewed July 02, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Geri from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Relaxing place, not much to do ”
Clean, excellent food, nice surroundings
Very nice hotel, great staff and fantastic service
Reviewed June 08, 2014
7.7
Very good
Ilya from Russia
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
nice stay but overpriced”
wonderful beach, quite area, green
the resort is nice in a peaceful area, far from the pier, in the middle of nowhere with lots of greenery and life (we even saw a big lizard walking around!). good for honeymooners and yoga lovers. but don't expect yoga at the resort, everything is half closed, including the old pool bar that has seen better days. however, the beach is great, especiallya for koh yao area. it's quite clean and natural. food is ok but nothing spectacular. avoid their cocktails, there is nothing to talk about there, they are absolutely tasteless. very few options though and drinks are expensive, so take your wine or go to one of the local shops close to the resort. the eare is muslim, so expect no alcohol in the shops, only soft drinks and snacks. considering the price for the room, the buffet breakfast was really poor, and even unacceptable during the second day of our stay. they decided not to bother with the buffet breakfast and just gave us a menu made of 3-4 options. the design of the place is quite disputable and strange. in some places the resort look like some lost place, some villas are very poorly maintained, hope they don't sell them. our room was nice with a big terrace and an outdoor tub, which was amazing. it's a good alternative to the beach pool villa, which seems really overpriced for what you get.
Reviewed May 30, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Emma from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 6 nights in April 2014
Absolutely stunning place for couples to relax ”
Quiet, peaceful, romantic
Outstanding service and very friendly staff looked after us the whole week. Great hot tub in the garden, however make sure you ask for an enclosed fence for privacy. There is absolutely nothing else around, no bars, clubs, shops etc, so if you are looking for a very peaceful place to relax and unwind, then this is the place to holiday. Also great for us as no children around! I would strongly recommend Glow Elixir!
Reviewed May 11, 2014
7.3
Very good
LEUNG from Hong Kong
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014
Resort at remote island and nice beach”
Nice beach, comfortable environment, quiet
It is a nice resort located at a remote and raw Koh Yao Yai island. It has a comfortable private beach and very quiet. Food is acceptable but not as good as previous comment, seems due to Chef Scott left. There are too many insect in hotel restaurant or near buffet breakfast which is unacceptable. There is few restaurants 30-45 mins walking distance. There is another ferry going to there is Chianwanich pier (near phuket town) - Loh Jak pier (near resort 10mins drive time) which will cost you less travelling cost.
Reviewed April 24, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Devin from Canada
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Amazing beach”
Amazing beach, great rooms, quiet surroundings
We loved our stay at Glow Elixir. The beach is amazing and very quiet, and is a great place to watch the sunset. The hotel has beach loungers to use on the beach, and the rooms are large with awesome outdoor showers. The breakfast was very good too. The only negative I can say about our room was that the door to our room was not in good shape. The lock was really loose and hard to use. We felt safe however as the island is quite private and safe. Overall this is a great place to stay.
Reviewed March 21, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Tracy from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014
Amazing Place”
Villa, Beach & Staff
Brilliant, an absolutely beautiful place. The villa was very clean & spacious. Clean towels & sheets every day. The staff were very friendly and efficient - could not do enough for you. The Glow is right on the beach with beach dining very quiet and tranquil place. Could not fault the food, fairly large portions and spiced up the dish if asked. Perfect little resort will be returning.
Reviewed March 10, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Cyrill from Switzerland
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Quiet hotel in a pleasent surrounding ”
Friendly staff, Variety of activities available, delicious food
Reviewed March 08, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Ulrich from Germany
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
worth a stay”
helpful staff
+ cozy atmosphere, Beach is nice,Bungalows are clean and very well furnished ,very helpful staff,when our motorbike was broken - long way to the Ressort if you Miss the last Ferry to the Island at 13:00, breakfast nearly everyday the same,restaurant expensive
Reviewed March 05, 2014
7.7
Very good
David from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Superior Villa
Stayed 4 nights in February 2014
very relaxing”
beach room island
Very nice. 5 days of real relaxation. Our young son 10months loved the beach and pool.
Reviewed February 26, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Renata from Czech Republic
Couple
Superior Villa
Stayed 6 nights in February 2014
Nice, calm place, close beach, Sunset every day”
Restaurant, location, calm
Our stay was very romantic and fantastic because of the nice location. Our beach was very nice, also the swimming pool, everything only few steps from our Villa. Excellent restaurant with delicious meals. Of course without any pork meat, but we didn´t miss it. The only thing we were claiming on the place were pcs of glass in the sea in the morning. It wasn´t glass from our hotel, but probably the staff could check from time to time the seashore. Anyway, we enjoyed our staying a lot, we were relaxing on the chairs on the beach, listening only to the sea and birds. Enjoying the great meals in the restaurant and watching every day Sunsets. Realy beautiful!! We only missed the swimming pool bar, which was closed.
Reviewed February 24, 2014