Book Now: Golden Prince Hotel & Suites

Very good
From 1388 reviewsSee what guests said
7.9
Recommended by 81% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1388)Booking.com Reviews (1062)
7.9
Very good
From 1388 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness7.8
Facilities7.4
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.9
Value for money7.9
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
日本語
Deutsch
more
Room type
Deluxe Twin
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Room Only
Royal Suite 1-Bedroom
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1126 verified guest comments
6.0
Anapil from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017
need more comfortable chairs in the lobby”
but thank you for free upgrade and staff is accommodating thank you
Reviewed March 13, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
hussain from Saudi Arabia
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Very good”
Everything is good but they haven't Water house for cleaning in restroom
Reviewed March 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Cynthia from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Staff are courteous rooms are clean food is good”
Merienda was good but refill was slow with mangoes I told them it was not sweet & there were only two slices left no action done
Reviewed March 07, 2018
2.4
Michael from Philippines
Family with young children
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Dirty”
The bathroom is dirty. The room is old and never maintained. The staff in front desk is rude. will never come back to this hotel.
Reviewed March 07, 2018
6.4
Good
Evelyn from United States
Group
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Good”
Buffet Restaurant nice food selection
Reviewed February 28, 2018
7.6
Very good
Nyorle from Philippines
Couple
Double or Twin PRINCE STUDIO - BED AND BREAKFAST
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Nice Hotel”
No swimming pool. not sure if there was a gym. But if it is just for sleeping, it is a clean and nice hotel.
Reviewed February 19, 2018
7.2
Very good
Geoffrey from United States
Couple
DOUBLE SUPERIOR - ROOM ONLY
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Decent for a moderate priced property, but nothing outstanding. Recommended for short stays. ”
Front desk staff seemed to lack training and were so intent on the check-in process they tend to ignore the actual guest. I arrived early and was pleasantly surprised to be given a room key before 2:00, only to be told as I was about to leave the front desk that there would be a 1,000 php fee to check in early. I passed on early check-in and went shopping and out to dinner instead. Hotel provided the basic necessities. Room amenities were adequate (free coffee tea, water and room slippers ). Comfortable beds and pillows. Bathroom linens need an upgrade, small shabby bath towels not very absorbent, and no wash cloth provided. Bar located on 2'nd floor terrace poorly stocked, no red wine, no bar snacks, and Drinks are very expensive considering service, and really no ambience. Hotel Coffee shop offers extremely limited menu, and dining there was not pleasant due to strong odors from cleaning solutions both times I visited.
Reviewed February 18, 2018
6.8
Good
brian from China
Couple
Prince Studio
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Excellent but with one or two disappointments”
The main disappointment was the lack of hot water in the bathroom which should have been working, but obviously someone had been trying to fix it and hadn't succeeded! And the "double bed" was actually two singles fixed together, which meant that you found yourself sliding down between the mattresses which was highly uncomfortable and not a little annoying. Apart from that though the location is OK. And the breakfast is truly excellent with a huge choice of pretty good food in a buffet setting.
Reviewed February 16, 2018
2.8
Zenona from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Acceptable”
Hotel front desk personnel were not sincere. After making us wait for 30 minutes for our room, we were given a crap room. The shower was damaged. Shower did not work and the water overflew to the whole bathroom floor.
Reviewed February 16, 2018
2.8
rosemarie from Philippines
Couple
Prince Studio
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
no good to local .. not prioritized with good accomadation during peak season”
Rooms seen on line not exactly d the same. Booking Payment not refundable n paid as per booking.
Reviewed February 01, 2018
6.4
Good
Alexis from Philippines
Solo traveler
Prince Studio
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Good”
Accessible with warm staff. Buffet breakfast is a plus.
Reviewed February 01, 2018
6.8
Good
Zheng from Canada
Business traveler
Prince Studio
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
good location”
very good location close to green belt
Reviewed January 28, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ron from Philippines
Group
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Great stay in an awesome hotel”
I have visited Cebu 7 times now but never stayed at the Golden Prince as usually stay elsewhere. This time I decided to try this hotel. Really glad I did as the hotel was amazing. If you are looking for great value for money, a hotel in a safe and great location with easy access, brilliant and welcoming staff in all areas of the hotel, good food and a really great stay then pick the Golden Prince I will do every time now I visit Cebu! Ron from Manila
Reviewed January 26, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Terry from Canada
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in January 2018
Pleasant stay for Sinulog”
Price was good considering it was Sinulog. They didn't price gouge as much as other hotels. Clean, pleasant staff, good location. No complaints. Would stay again.
Reviewed January 24, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Eileen from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Was ok overall except for ...”
Location is good. Staff are friendly, accommodating & friendly. It’s just that the basic stuff are not there. Case in point -no toilet paper in bathroom. This was after the sinulog festival. They were waiting for supplier to deliver the tissue papers but none came during the day. We had to buy our own. Only 2 sets of bath towels were in the room. No hand towels. Their bath towels were yellowed in color.
Reviewed January 23, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Louie from Philippines
Couple
Prince Studio
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Unexpected guest”
I arrived the hotel a day earlier due to inevitable circumstances. The staff were kind enough to call other hotels for me to stay since the hotel was fully booked on that day at least that's what they say. The following day I went back to stay in the hotel. Unfortunately, it took a while since the room I booked and reserved was no longer available and they gave me instead a new accommodation. The staff didn't bother to inform me how much the room is or if the payment I made is appropriate. Anyway, I was accommodated and the room was exceptional. I just hope the staff would just explain to me. I probably would understand it :)
Reviewed January 22, 2018
5.2
riccardo from Italy
Couple
Prince Studio
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Above average”
At first they didn't accept my philipina drive license as i.d. asking only for passport. After my complains they accepted it. The shower was spreading water everywhere and liking. Liking also the bowl in c.r. The tv was broken and the one in charge was not able to fix it. what else?????
Reviewed January 21, 2018
7.2
Very good
Ozzie from Australia
Couple
DOUBLE SUPERIOR - ROOM ONLY
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Very good”
Nice hotel but security needs to be very careful how they talk to guests, we came to the hotel at night and was asked to wait outside hotel like a criminal till they found out if we were staying at the hotel, i showed them my swipe card but still they were trying to act like we were not welcome, i just by passed them and told them they were stupid and for them to stop interrogating people like criminals. I was so insulted especially being foreigner here i did not expect such stupidity. Overall nice hotel and good service, staff need to be better trained
Reviewed January 16, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Marco from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
Great staff, great food selection, housekeeping with opportunities to improve the service.”
The only area at the moment with opportunities to improve is the housekeeping. Front desk crew very efficient and kind. Great kid from the chef. If back in Cebu, this hotel will be one of our first choices.
Reviewed January 15, 2018
7.6
Very good
maurice from Netherlands
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
breakfast and dinner”
Breakfast & dinner is not up to standards. I was disappointed as there is many competition in Cebu regarding other hotels. I think they need to step it up if they want to continue.
Reviewed January 15, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Marco from Italy
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 7 nights in January 2018
Great all in all hotel”
Very impressed with the overall service of this hotel. Food services are really good, with selections to meet every tastes. Convenient location near to Ayala Mall. Very courteous staff. Internet working good in all common areas as well as in the room. Management present very visible. Little opportunities to imptove: quality of the bedding, bathroom towels worn-out needed for replace, some inappropriate behavior of the personnel in the dining room spotted (loud voices, singing and joking in front of the guests), housekeeping not always consistent with the service. Would we recommend this hotel? Would we come back? Definitely YES !
Reviewed January 11, 2018
6.0
Anapil from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
needs waiting area”
but thank you for the free upgrade
Reviewed January 08, 2018
7.6
Very good
Oliver from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Nice Hotel”
It has a very nice and clean room, complete with dental kit and shower kit, hotel ambiance is great and relaxing place. except no bathtub.
Reviewed January 05, 2018
6.4
Good
Keith from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Friendly, but ok compared to other area hotels for the price.”
I have no major complaints on the hotel. I feel management could better train the staff. The staff was friendly but seemed to not have great knowledge of their duties and although most were friendly, not all. At one point they put me in a cab without a meter, did not take the cabs # down, and the cab driver wanted 500 pesos for a 100 peso ride. It would be nice if this place had a hot tub, whirl pool, or pool, and if the owners would better train their staff. Because the staff was friendly and the location was good, I would try again, but the cab experience was unnecessary when the staff could have made sure the cab had a running meter before they put me in it. I would have reported the cab, but was more worried about obtaining all my valuables and getting out of it. There were other small challenges due to lack of training. I would not blame the friendly staff but the training process.
Reviewed January 02, 2018
7.6
Very good
Nigel from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Reasonably priced hotel close to Ayala Mall”
This very reasonably priced hotel is a short walk from Ayala Mall / Cebu Business Park. It’s a simple homely hotel with friendly staff and serves good buffet meals. Rooms are spacious/comfortable. The open air bar on the second floor has live music on some days of the week; otherwise there’s karaoke. One possible disadvantage is that there are currently two construction sites nearby which, at some times of the day, may be noisy. But this can be avoided if one asks the hotel for a room on the other side of the building.
Reviewed November 28, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Marie from Philippines
Solo traveler
Prince Studio
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Very Good.”
Good location. Clean rooms. Nice staff.
Reviewed November 25, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Joel from Canada
Group
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Surprise”
Was not expecting much but was quite surprised. Booked 2 rooms and was upgraded to a suite for the same price. Tub drain was initially stuck but Staff saw to it that it was fixed. Great jump off location for the next stage of your tour.
Reviewed November 25, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Edwin from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017
access”
Within the heart of cebu
Reviewed November 23, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jun from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Great hotel”
Price was good, location was good, kindly staff Fast feed back! Every thing was perfect!!
Reviewed November 22, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
SLAWOMIR from Poland
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Hotel is great but location not so much.”
Hotel very clean and modern but Cebu city is not very appiling (not the hotel fault) One plus of the location it is by the mall
Reviewed November 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
David from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017
This is an excellent quality hotel and very good value”
For those travellers seeking a very comfortable immaculate hotel room with more than adequate facilities and at a sensible price, this is definitely right up there. Always lovely friendly, helpful and professional staff.
Reviewed November 19, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
michael from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Definitely staying here again”
We loved our stay here that we decided to book again the week after. At our first stay, the booked us at a slightly larger room with 1 queen bed and 1 single. At our next stay, we were a bit disappointed because the room as a little smaller with 2 single beds. There was also no hair dryer than the first room we had. Still not bad, though. But always ask for a room away from the elevator as it can get really noisy.
Reviewed November 17, 2017
7.2
Very good
Marilith from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Nice Place To Stay!”
Staff are friendly. Although upon checked in, the receptionist gave us the wrong room, we were given a 4th floor room instead of a 7th floor room, which I requested upon booking. One of the staff informed us & helped us transfer to the room really assigned to us. The night view was great, downside was the construction in front of the hotel. Another one to take note, the air-condition unit is kind of old & not well-maintained. Its dusty which made us sneeze for a couple of times. Food is great. This is one of the reasons I chose this hotel and the staff are very helpful. They called me when I accidentally dropped an ID. All in all, its a thumbs up!
Reviewed November 17, 2017
7.2
Very good
Brian from Canada
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Good value”
Hotel is clean and loaction is good
Reviewed November 05, 2017
4.4
Marlaw
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Acceptable”
I have an old aunt with me. The room we were staying had bad airconditioning unit. I have called the maintenance for the 3 days I have been staying. They were not able to solve the issue. My point is I am staying with an old persons sweat can easily cause blisters and pneumonia. I have already called the attention of the staff but they did make any prompt actions. SO DISAPPOINTING
Reviewed November 04, 2017
7.2
Very good
Cinderela from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Worth spending and staying”
The place was good the lunch buffet was great the wifi was very slow in our room accomodation but it's all worth stayin
Reviewed October 31, 2017
7.6
Very good
Gloria from Philippines
Business traveler
Basic Studio
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Satisfied and would definitely go back to this jotel”
Location is very convenient there’s spa and restaurant with a very reasonable price
Reviewed October 25, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Maria from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
Excellent”
Please refer to my previous comments in the website
Reviewed October 22, 2017
7.6
Very good
Garry from Australia
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Very good”
If book through Agoda or other sites you get lower standard rooms then if book with the hotel,there is different buildings with new and old rooms
Reviewed October 17, 2017
6.8
Good
Ai from Japan
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Hotel was good.”
Shower was clogged.
Reviewed September 28, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Jassim from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Good overall experience, and value for money”
Helpful front desk staff
Reviewed September 25, 2017
7.2
Very good
Jesus from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Very good”
Good location, inconsistent reception service
Reviewed September 21, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Elaine from Philippines
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Keep it up!”
Staff should be more friendly and helpful.
Reviewed September 20, 2017
4.0
AB from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Not good ”
The place not so good for Muslim tour l am not happy to stay
Reviewed September 20, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Clydin from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Excellent”
no free breakfast for the price
Reviewed September 04, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Michael from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
Definitely recommend”
Great staff, always helpfull, efficient and friendly. Top buffet's and food too! And always improving facilities and service.
Reviewed September 03, 2017
2.8
Mehrdad from Sweden
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Minimal spot of bleeding on sheets cost me 60 dollars after discount otherwise 100 dollars”
I was staying in Golden Prince Hotel in Cebu. It was minimal with blood only on the sheets, and the hotel initially asked me to pay 100 dollars for the sheets as compensation for the property damage. The hotel knows that they do not have any authority to ask me this money and for this reason they asked me only pay cash and not with my MasterCard. The hotel called the police and the police right away start threatening me that this is Philippines and if I don't pay the amount they ask, police will arrest me and put hand coves on me and take me to the station. They said they will give me 30% discount and should pay 3336 PHP. I had 3000 PHP or 60-dollar cash and they accepted that as the payment. I paid and asked to see the police officer name and ID. The officer answered with that I should follow them to the police station to get their names.
Reviewed September 01, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Mubarak from Saudi Arabia
Solo traveler
Royal Suite 1-Bedroom
Stayed 21 nights in December 2016
Exceptional”
pool is the only one thing missing ... everything else is great
Reviewed August 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Christel from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
Great & affordable hotel”
Our 3-night stay was great. We went to Crown Regency for skywalk, 1-day trip in Bohol, Simala Shrine. This hotel has a good & accessible location. Taxi to ayala mall, SM city, Pier 3, Crown Regency will cost less than a P100. They have free wifi, 2 bottles of complimentary water daily, free toiletries too! What i love most about this hotel is that, they allow two young children to stay for free, which is WHY I LOVE THIS HOTEL SO MUCH! They have decent and clean room with digital AC that i like so much. Im not a morning person and i had no prob waking up at 5am to bath since i can set the timer to off an hour before our waking time. The bathroom is really big and spacious with shower rain that we all enjoyed. Now the prob is that there is no division between toilet & shower. You cant leave the shower on for a long time otherwise the bath and room will get flooded. I also encountered minor prob with their bathroom door. There is no way u can lock the door haha. Anyway, if you are on a budget and traveling with kids. I TOTALLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL coz they dont charge extra kids! I am hoping that they will add hair blower and division between toilet and bath.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
3.2
michinori from Japan
Couple
Deluxe Twin
Stayed 4 nights in August 2017
They leaked my personal information”
We strongly advice not to book here as they can put your safety into jeopardy Summary: - leaked our name and room# - we had to ask for police's help until they took this seriously - Unprofessional staff & manager - Lack of accountability On 6AM we received a call from a strange woman who pretended to be Japanese but only spoke 2 Japanese words with a strong Filipino accent and also spoke Tagalog and English. She knew my name, room# & Hotel despite these being information only the hotel would know and are required to keep private. I hadn't disclosed these information to anyone, not even my family.  My partner & I were frightend by this & reported it to the frontdesk immediately. The frontdesk did not to take it seriously &  simply offered to reject all the calls to our room. It wasn't until we further explained our concerns to another staff, that she promised us to retrieve the phone# by 8:00am. We asked if we could speak to the manager but on the phone call she said she's only available on 2PM. Her appointments were in higher priority than our safety. We immediately went to the police station & had to wait there until they were able to accompany us back to the hotel around 9:30am. We asked for the phone# which was promised to us but  they hadn't done anything about it. If we hadn't taken it to the police, they would not have taken our issue seriously. The police officer spoke to their executive security officer who seemed to not have a high educational attainment. About 1 hour later, we finally got the Phone#. Strangely it is from Manila.  We asked the frontdesk to cancel our advance bookings for the last 2 nights and we are just willing to stay for 1 more night in a different room. They told us they cannot guarantee the cancelation but they will do their best to communicate with Agoda to cancel our booking. About 1 hour later, on 11:34, the manager had a meeting with us. She was unaware about our request to cancel our booking, which they had made no progress on a
Reviewed August 12, 2017