Book Now: Golden Sun Palace Hotel

Exceptional
From 415 reviewsSee what guests said
9.1
Recommended by 96% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (415)Booking.com Reviews (441)
9.1
Exceptional
From 415 reviews
Read reviews from:
Cleanliness9.2
Facilities8.5
Location9.2
Room comfort and quality9.0
Service9.4
Value for money9.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
한국어
日本語
Français
more
Room type
Superior King Bed
Deluxe King Or Twin Bed
Honeymoon
Family Suite
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 351 verified guest comments
10.0
Exceptional
Anthony from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Great little hotel, with a great location, staff and breakfast”
Great little hotel, with a great location, staff and breakfast
Reviewed May 20, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Calanthea from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Excellent”
Great stay at convenient location! The hotel staffs were the best ever :)
Reviewed May 12, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
ANTON from Indonesia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
good location”
very relaxing place to stay
Reviewed May 11, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Mira from South Korea
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Great place to stay”
Great location to hang out ( Beer street, famous lake, places for massage, cong cafe n etc. ) Very friendly staffs. Over all it was wonderful~! ;)
Reviewed May 10, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
I from Indonesia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2017
Awesome!”
All staff were very very friendly and helpful. Even the staff has booked the tickets for us. The room was spotless and comfortable. It was very easy to go everywhere. Highly recommend!
Reviewed April 21, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
sulhee from South Korea
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
everything is perfact !! ”
I stayed on this hotel during 2 days. All staff is very kind and nice. Every time take care me. It have good breakfast then i was chose three menu. (In my opinion noodle and fried rice are so delicious) I stayed in two types of rooms, all clean (I especially liked the spacious bathroom) Next time I go to VN I will surely visit again.
Reviewed April 18, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Matthias from Austria
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
everything as expected”
nothing more to say. It is exactly like you see it on the internet and especially the staff was very friendly, helpful and caring. We really recommend this Hotel!
Reviewed March 31, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Matthew from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Amazing base from which to explore Hanoi”
From the moment we arrived we were thoroughly spoilt by Justin, Kevin and the rest of the staff. They helped me to book a cruise to Ha long bay and organised for a taxi from the airport at a very reasonable price. They also recommended some excellent places to eat and organised a street food tour which I would recommend. The room was spotless, large and very comfortable. The location is perfect to explore the city. The included breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared to order. The staff went to great lengths to make sure that our every query was answered and every request was granted. They really work so hard and made our trip amazing. I would definitely stay here again.
Reviewed March 23, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Debbie from Singapore
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
The friendly and helpful staff makes all the difference”
The breakfast is great and I love the great smiles I see every time I step into the hotel.
Reviewed March 22, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Hwee from Singapore
Family with young children
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Very friendly staff who are prompt to reply my nagging questions.”
Friendly. Nice breakfast. Situated near shops. Very very clean. Cons are the noisy toilet doors and lack of soundproof which may be a disturbance to light sleepers. Level one guests may find it easier though they r next to the lobby as the hotel has considerately installed an additional soundproof door to keep noise out.
Reviewed March 17, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Monit from India
Family with young children
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in March 2017
Very good”
The team is brilliant. Its a 3 star hotel with small rooms but the staff is incredibly awesome.
Reviewed March 09, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Chee from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Exceptional”
Highly recommended for the price and what you get
Reviewed March 07, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
hanbyeol from South Korea
Group
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
so goood”
staff was nice, good breakfast, and comfy!
Reviewed March 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Tammy from Canada
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
I can not say enough good things! ”
This was the first place we arranged an airport pick up, that made the start very easy. It's a long distance from the airport to the main part of Hanoi. Cost was $18usd. When we arrived the staff were very helpful. The building is common for small boutique hotel, narrow and tall. Lobby and breakfast on the ground floor and only 4 rooms per floor. We had one of the rear facing rooms which was absolutely silent as the window is internal facing, they added some lanterns to make it feel less closed in. In the morning the sound from breakfast and other guests carried a bit but considering the bustle of the city it was minor. The room was very comfortable with a great shower - hot on demand. Breakfast is great, order from the menu so it's fresh. We arrived without an agenda and used Kelvin to make arrangements. He looked after Halong Bay and a sleeper train to get to Dong Hoi. They provided a map and some recommended walks and we were off. They staff were absolutely helpful and chatty so it gave us a great understanding of how the city life operates. We checked out to go to Halong Bay, but were being dropped back off at the hotel. When we came back even though we were checked out, they provided coffee, bag check and a shower. The funny part was the train arrangement, I kept asking for our ticket, and they finally got me to understand that the bellhop would follow us to the train station and ensure we got into our berth. That for me was just awesome as it was our first train travel in the country. By far the best service and accommodation for the price in our 3 week Vietnam tour. We were here 2 nights.
Reviewed February 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Carrie from United States
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Wonderful gem of a hotel!”
We loved our stay and would stay again if we ever return to Vietnam. Great location, lovely room and friendly, helpful staff.
Reviewed January 29, 2017
8.8
Excellent
David from United Kingdom
Group
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Great place in Old Hanoi”
Very clean and with very helpful staff. Use their offer of taxis - much cheaper.
Reviewed January 28, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jason from United States
Couple
Deluxe King Or Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2016
Great Hotel”
The hotel was very nice, and the amenities were great. The staff was very helpful. IT was in a quiet location but not far from anything. The room was very clean and a nice layout. I would certainly stay here again when I am back in town
Reviewed January 03, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Lay
Group
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
All in one stopover Hotel”
The rooms are great and the hotel is located at a prime location. If you have not planned for other tours, can consider the ones by the Hotel as they fully take care of the tour, from the day you leave and back. Friendly staff too.
Reviewed December 25, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Shyan from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Excellent!”
Great service staff, efficient and very accommodating to our requests as we had difficult time after one luggage was lost when we arrived from Kuala Lumpur. Clean sheets, powerful water heater, and complimentary fruits and bottled water. Breakfast was wonderful as everything was made-to-order, with a large variety covering continental and local breakfast foods. Location is in a relatively (relative being the keyword) quieter street in Hanoi Old Quarter, and offers a brief but welcome respite after a full day of exploring the crazy traffic within the Old Quarter. Great street food around, all within walking distance. Highly recommended!
Reviewed December 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Janith from Malaysia
Group
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Amazing Value for Money”
Although it looks like a small hotel.. tge stay was absoluetly awesome... Frankly better than the 5* Chain hotel we stayed in Hanoi afterwards. Freindly staff, clean and good facilities.. Impressed
Reviewed December 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
christopher from Malaysia
Family with teens
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
fantastic Song Hong 1/2 marathon accomodation”
staffs were friendly, helpful and accomodating. Location is strategic to night markets, scenic lake & other attractions. Highly recommended. Lookout for Justin...he's ever ready to help & friendly chat!!!
Reviewed December 13, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Michelle from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Nice Hotel”
The staffs are very friendly and helpful. We were given big glass juice as welcome drinks. Location is nearby to shops and night market. Very convenient. Hotel room is clean and breakfast is really good.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Kuan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Best Value Hotel”
The front staffs (Justin & Tracy) are friendly and helpful. Their friendliness and service are much better than 5 star hotel. Room are clean and breakfast is good. Location is within the central of Old Town. Walking distance to Beer Street. Will here again for my next Hanoi Visit
Reviewed November 24, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Natasha from Singapore
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Superb Service, very impressed ”
The staff here especially Jason were wonderful! When we came back from our Halong Bag cruise, they had fresh fruit juice and fresh food sent up to our room. Jason also always greeted us by name and was helpful in making restaurant reservations. Rooms were clean and spacious as well. Would definitely stay here again if I come back
Reviewed November 09, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Natasha from Singapore
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in November 2016
Excellent service ”
The staff at the hotel were really attentive and helpful, especially with bookings. The hotel is also conveniently located in the old quarter, within walking distance to many good food and the night market
Reviewed November 09, 2016
7.2
Very good
Linh from Vietnam
Business traveler
Deluxe King Or Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
Staffs are frdly”
Room is nice, clean. Staffs are helpful and so supportive. However the location sucks.
Reviewed October 28, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Frances from Philippines
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2016
Two thumbs up!”
By far the best accommodation we had during our recent trip to Vietnam. Kelvin, Justin and the other staff were very hospitable and attended to our inquiries with much enthusiasm! :) We were given welcome fruits and drinks once we got there while we waited for our rooms to be ready. As to the cleanliness of the rooms, I couldn't ask for more! There were toiletries, clean beddings, and polished rooms. The only problem we encountered, despite minor, was that the light switch at one time didn't work as expected, but the facilities person readily helped us for it to work properly. I would recommend! And will come back there for sure! PS: The breakfast was one of the best I've had.
Reviewed October 15, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Roshni from Netherlands
Group
Deluxe King Or Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Excellent!”
The hotel is the best hotel of my trip. Its in a very good location, the rooms are very clean. And they have the best staff! They arange everything the van for you! Absolute recommendation!
Reviewed October 14, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Paola from Philippines
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Highly Recommended”
We arrived in the wee hours, and yet the receptionist was very helpful and accommodating. The best part was, our room got upgraded to a family room, so we really had a great time staying here.
Reviewed October 10, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Colm from Ireland
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Hanoi trip”
Friendly staff here, room is tidy and food is also nice.
Reviewed October 10, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Stephen from Ireland
Group
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Amazing experience”
Best accomodation experience ive had - great staff who go above and beyond - beautiful and clean rooms - amazing location - good price - good breakfast
Reviewed October 08, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Shoshan from Israel
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Very good hotel”
Clean, quite, right in the center. The staff is very nice especially justin! He speaks english fluently and he helpt us with every quistion we had.
Reviewed October 05, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
thean from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
summary”
Highly recommended. Value for money.
Reviewed September 30, 2016
6.0
LIN from Singapore
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Good Location”
Good breakfast serve
Reviewed September 27, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Tom from Israel
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Fine hotel. Great location”
Located great Staff were incredibly nice Clean room and equiped Avaraged brakefast Could be cheaper
Reviewed September 23, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Janice from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Excellent staff”
The staff were absolutely fantastic which is very important when you are in a city where language can be a barrier. They helped with every little request, including even buying something from the market which we did not manage to get! Kudos to Ming, Peter, Tracy and the entire team which made the stay just lovely. The hotel room was great value for money and very central. The only thing you had to be careful with is that the elevator starts from the mezzanine floor, which can be difficult with older family. Highly recommended.
Reviewed September 17, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
MIK from Malaysia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
The best hotel im distric 1”
Great location , friendly & nice staffs. All their staffs are so friendly and helpful.
Reviewed September 17, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Trudy from New Zealand
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2016
Highly recommend”
The staff go above and beyond in friendliness and super helpful. The rooms are clean, good size and everything you need. Very good location, street noise not really a problem, just a bit of noise from the lift and lobby area. We stayed for 3 nights and then another 2 when we got back from a tour. They stored our luggage while we were away, nothing was a problem. Breakfast is ordered from a memo. Very fresh and a reasonable range of choice. Would highly recommend.
Reviewed September 16, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Meiyin from Malaysia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Five star service, value for mone”
Staff are very thoughtful, and went extra miles to deliver their best service without we even asking for. We will definitely will stay with golden sun palace again. The hotel room is new and Super clean , thanks for arranging airport transfer and the take away breakfast is just so sweet from the hotel when we left to airport at 530am :)
Reviewed September 14, 2016
2.0
Siew from Malaysia
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in August 2016
Room overbooked.”
We didnt manage to check in to this hotel. They told us there is a family from overseas need to extend their stay due to one of the family member broke his arm. So they moved us to another hotel, after they had photocopy and registered us. The other hotel are not so good although the review is 9.0 We dont mind to be moved, but why not telling us once we arrived. I think they had overbooked the reservations.
Reviewed September 05, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Elizabeth from New Zealand
Family with teens
Family Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Oasis in the city”
Great location, staff amazing and nothing is too much trouble. Very good value for money and I would thoroughly recommend to other travellers!
Reviewed August 29, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Edward from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
A delightful surprise ”
The best budget hotel I've stayed in, for a long time. Genuinely outstanding service from a well trained and managed team of young professionals. Clean, quiet, comfortable, great breakfast, superb value for money. Other hoteliers should come here to learn what good service is. Special mention to the doorman who came to my taxi in the rain on the other side of the street in the off chance I was a client. A small simple gesture that typified the service mentality of the hotel. Also Chin (?) on reception. Thank you all for a great stay.
Reviewed August 13, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
thomas from United States
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
Superb! ”
Couldn't be happier with the staff being supper welcoming and the cleanliness of the hotel. Perfect start to the holiday!
Reviewed July 20, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Tristan from Thailand
Group
Superior King Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Great Breakfast & Customer Service”
Kelvin is the best. The breakfast was phenomenal. Definitely recommend.
Reviewed July 09, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Ly from Singapore
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in June 2016
Very satisfied with the service”
The hotel is great! I love the room; everything was in white and very well equipped. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. Will definitely come back next time!
Reviewed June 12, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Rashmi from India
Family with young children
Family Suite
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Staff, Staff, Staff... Excellent!”
I would give all my points to the staff at this hotel!!! Excellent and the most hospitable people I have come across!!! The location is awesome as well!! Try and arrange for all the tours through the hotel.. They arrange for good ones and also ensure you have a good time!!! I wouldn't stay anywhere other than Old quarter in Hanoi!! It's close to all the great places in the city!!! Special shout out to Kelvin and Ming.. They really made out stay a memorable one!! Thanks guys!
Reviewed June 08, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
EUNYEON from South Korea
Couple
Superior King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in May 2016
Very very good”
Day stay from 5/27 to 6/1 days So frienbly and clean and there was no way worms If someone would travel to Hanoi Recommend this hotel Delicious breakfast This hotel is perfect
Reviewed June 01, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Gilbert from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in May 2016
An absolutely great Boutique hotel.”
I am very satisfied with Golden Sun Palace Hotel. The hospitality of the staff was impeccable. They really went out of their way to meet my needs. From finding a superb Bai Tu Long bay cruise for me to arranging a city tour that adjusted to own itinerary. The location is in the middle of Old Quarter where I was able to walk within 300 to 500 meters of the 2 of the best Pho restaurants in Hanoi namely Pho Gia Truyen and Pho 10 Ly Quoc Su. It is also situated within 300 meters from the lovely Hoan Liem Lake. They maintained my room spotless everyday which made going back at night to the hotel a very rewarding experience. I would definitely go back next year during my next vacation.
Reviewed May 31, 2016
7.6
Very good
Amos from Singapore
Business traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in May 2016
Good location and value for money”
Friendly and helpful staffs.
Reviewed May 19, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Pei from Taiwan
Business traveler
Superior King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in May 2016
Very good hotel with nice staff”
Good location with good service
Reviewed May 19, 2016