Book Now: Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow

Very good
From 1027 reviewsSee what guests said
7.3
/
10
Recommended by 89% of guests

Reviews of Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (1026)Booking.com Reviews (195)
7.3
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.3
Facilities7.0
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality7.3
Service7.3
Value for money7.3
All languages
All guests (1026)
All room types

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 890 verified guest comments
8.7
Excellent
Larry from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in January 2014

Great rooms with very comfortable beds!”

Beds, bathrooms, and location

I have stayed at this hotel before. The beds are extremely comfortable. When I was in Chengdu the hotel room bed at a different hotel was horrible, so I selected this hotel in order to rest up and recuperate from that experience. The only issue I have with this hotel is that when you order the American breakfast, they attempt to charge you for additional coffee versus it being part of the meal as stated. Each day I had to direct them to take this off. On some days, for the three of us, this was as much as $60 more they wanted that had to be taken off. Each day they did take off, yet it seems they should have improved their systems and stopped this after the first day.

Reviewed January 16, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Monthien from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2013

Good value hotel ”

good price / near shopping center & restaurants

Good location with many restaurants and shopping center around, good value of money. no Wifi in the room but you can request for the wifi router at the counter (free). The room are OK with a Japanese Toilet-seat as a PLUS. The only weak point is getting around in Shanghai from this hotel with taxi will cost more because of the location ( From Pudong airport by tax 240 rmb during rush hours)

Reviewed November 23, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Guan from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

Good hotel btw Shanghai City & HongQiao Airport”

Excellence customer service

An immediate surprise when arrived this hotel, received warm welcome by customer service staff who are Japanese. In contrast, the Shanghainese staff who handled front desk need to improve. Room condition is good, clean and comfortable. There is a pub at 30th storey previously called "Casablanca". The phillipino band plays good music and song.

Reviewed September 04, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
Sarah from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011

Great place to stay! ”

good location & friendly staffs!

This hotel has the perfect location, the best staffs, and they are very attentive to my needs. Their rates are reasonable given the perfect location, and the rooms are very modern and clean, which is a very good plus point. will definitely come back to this place again.

Reviewed October 11, 2011
8.8
Excellent
YUHAN from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

good value ”

good value for the price, and room facility is really nice. Overall is good, and I would certainly come back again. Just few suggestions: 1. the hotel lobby lighting is bit too bright, doesn't feel relax when entering. 2. the room door design - it's easily make the big noise when shutting down the door.

Reviewed October 29, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for this magnificent review of Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow. We are so sorry about any inconvenient causes. We appreciate your suggestions. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. General Manager: Peter Herweck

Responded October 30, 2018
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
9.6
Exceptional
Jake from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Great Value for Money”

Excellent hotel with all new interior and a great bar/seating area. I usually stay at U.S. chain hotels but this was better, and I found a great rate. Staff were excellent!

Reviewed January 12, 2019

Thank you for giving us a full score and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Meanwhile, we will continue to work hard to provide you with a better stay. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back.--General Manager: Peter Herweck

Responded January 16, 2019
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
9.2
Exceptional
Hanseo from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Exceptional”

Good location

Reviewed January 01, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for this review of Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow. And thank you for your suggestion and support. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. General Manager: Peter Herweck

Responded January 02, 2019
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
8.0
Excellent
JUNYA from Japan
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

location good. price cheap”

the location is good enough. the room is decent. price is really good. communication is ok to ask anything.

Reviewed December 13, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are most grateful for your appreciation of our service. And we glad we could help you. Thank you for your suggestion and support. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. General Manager: Peter Herweck

Responded December 17, 2018
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
10.0
Exceptional
amy from China
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018

Exceptional”

Good design, clean and friendly service. Food to be improved

Reviewed September 16, 2018

Thank you for giving us a full score and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We will pass your comments to the related department to enhance our food quality. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Responded September 19, 2018
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
8.0
Excellent
YAP from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018

Very good”

Overall, the room and facilities in the hotels are nice and new. However, if you rely on MRT as mode of transportation, this hotel may not be your best choice.

Reviewed September 12, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is located in the business hub of Hongqiao Development zone, adjacent to the International Trade Center & Shanghai Mart, close to the inner express way and Yan' an road express way. There are several traffic main roads and subway No.3/4/10 are nearby. It takes 20 minute to various destinations like Hongqiao airport, newly built National Exhibition and Convention Center and Huaihai road high-end commercial area by taxi. Many business office buildings, shopping centers, restaurants and entertainments are located in the area.Absolutely a good choice for business and sightseeing. We will continue our enthusiasm and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Show more
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
7.2
Very good
Chee from Singapore
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Slow, management need improvement ”

Inefficient check-in, small counter, long wait, more than 10min to register 1 guest. Cannot rest well as they permit 7am to start their renovation, drilling n hammering. Their security n staff at the front door are helpful.

Reviewed March 23, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I wish you had a better experience, as we work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it is apparent that, in this case, we fell short. So far the renovation project has been completed. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Responded September 05, 2018
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
4.0
Hyon from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016

Not recommended ”

It was hard to be called 4 star hotel. Location was only close to the airport, water drain was not working properly during my entire stay (I complained once, but no change) bathroom was not cleaned properly and sometimes smells. No Smoking room provided. Not recommended and money was a total waste.

Reviewed November 01, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Marcus from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2015

VPN Woes”

nil

unable to work fm VPN even Internet was available. Had to go out of hotel to a food outlet at shopping mall to hook up VPN through the food outlet's internet. Throughout my 2 night stay, I cannot access my emails. Although the hotel has provide the provision for VPN, it is not working. Better stay at another hotel cos the hotel staff will give you the same reasons that they have already provide the service. But in reality, it doesn't work

Reviewed April 26, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Sin from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 1 night in August 2014

Great place to stay, worth for what u pay foe”

Great customer service, great locations, high security

Great holiday , nice high security hotel, great customer service , but room service food is very bad, not worth the money, but they do have a lots of jap rest around so that's not a problem, close to the air port, and close to alots of shops, they also get taxi for u so U dun need to stand on the said of the road and try to get one urself.

Reviewed August 18, 2014
7.0
Very good
Christopher from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014

Near Intex, clean and convenient”

Near Intex, clean and convenient

I was pleased with our stay here. The hotel was clean, it was near Intex (purpose of our visit) and the staff were helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for value for money and if you want to be near the exhebition hall (intex). it is also a close walk away from the Sheraton (where a lot of the exhibitors) stay.

Reviewed April 22, 2014
4.7
Suhas from Singapore
Business traveler
Executive Club With Breakfast
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013

my first bad review”

not much to say and ok

The Hotel needs to upgrade their services badly. I was afraid to use the showering facility since there were fungus on the floor/tiles which really freak me out. other than that the hotel was ok and service was also ok...but not that great.

Reviewed October 28, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Mike from Australia
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013

Good location. Comfortable room and bed ”

Value for money. Comfortable room.

Some misgivings to start with, as Reception tried to muck us around with allocating us one set of rooms for one night, then a move into our allocated rooms for the next 3 nights. We booked well in advance and had no desire to come back in the middle of a sight-seeing day to pack our bags and move because they weren't organised. Eventually this was sorted out satisfactorily. Not a hitch after that. For a medium price hotel this is really good value for money - reasonable room size, good amenities, great bed and well-located, if you want to be in Hongqiao

Reviewed July 21, 2013
7.0
Very good
Thomas from United States
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013

Nice hotel for the price”

central, clean, staff

The staff at the Rainbow Hotel really stand out. They went above and beyond to provide a nice stay. I speak Chinese, but looking around at the other foreign travelers, the staff was always very friendly making sure their stay in China was safe and accessible. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone if you want to be in the Hongqiao area.

Reviewed July 16, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Hans from Switzerland
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe Twin
Stayed 6 nights in June 2013

Comfortable stay at reasonable cost”

Short walk to INTEX convention/exhibition centre, Shanghai Mart and many Consulates and Foreign Banks. Easy to find by taxi. Close to Metro line 10.

I'm frequently in Shanghai and prefer the Hongqiao area, as I used to live here. Usually I stay at one of the International hotels nearby, but decided to try Rainbow Hotel, because the Agoda offer was extremely attractive. All taxi drivers will find this hotel on Yanan Xi Lu (Yanan West Road) when you use the Chinese name, Hongqiao Bingwan. A short taxi drive from here, is the Laowai jia (Hongmei entertainment street) with many International restaurants, pubs and bars, a popular place for expats and locals. The Pearl Center with its many stalls, sells all kinds of goods, including copies/fakes of well known brands. Vendors start with up to 10 times the price it's worth, but there are some respectable shops in there too, e.g. for pearls and cashmere.

Reviewed June 18, 2013
7.3
Very good
Tony from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012

Friendly hotel”

Near to business centre and shoppings.

The hotel is within walking distance to some of the offices in Hongqiao and shopping malls. The hotel is cozy and has all the amenities and most of the staff are friendly. The only set back has always been the shower, the water pressure in this hotel is so low some times its a challenge to have a nice warm shower.

Reviewed December 24, 2012
6.7
Good
Ching from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Hotel value for its money!!”

Great Location, rooms decor a little old

One of the better hotel in Shanghai, rooms doesn't come with breakfast, would be sweeter if its included. Location is at the heart of the city, thus transportation is not a problem. A decent clean but not-so modernly-furnished rooms and ambience. Staff services are efficient and english-speaking to cater to my requests in everyway. Will recommend this hotel to all which is value for money. Wifi only in the hall, would be better if in-room as well!

Reviewed November 27, 2012
6.0
Ching from Singapore
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in November 2012

Reasonable price, good location”

Good value for money

one of the better hotel in shanghai, rooms doesn't come with breakfast, would be sweeter if its included. location is at the heart of the city, thus transportation is not a problem. a decent clean but not-so modernly-furnished rooms and ambience. staff services are efficient and english-speaking to cater to my requests in everyway. will recommend this hotel to all which is value for money. wifi only in the hall, would be better if in-room as well!

Reviewed November 27, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Marius from Romania
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012

Very good hotel and location”

awesome room on the 22nd floor; all-encompassing amenities; nearby metro stations

I had my doubts about Rainbow Hotel reading the reviews. However, my stay here was perfect, a very good room with king bed, plasma TV and few english spoken channels. Price wise,no breakfast though, which still I think it was a very good deal. Metro nearby..not close to the center..but very convenienently located to the airport and train station

Reviewed November 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Kong from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

Very Good”

Comfy Bed

After a horrible business trip in Beijing, bad food, bad hotel, extreme weather. I can finally got some sleep at Rainbow Hotel, four pillows yet firm not too hard mattress. Clean and tidy, friendly staff. With this price, quality is above what I paid for. Definitely recommend anyone who travel to use Agoda, what I saw on the Internet was exactly the same even better, this is what a traveller looking for.

Reviewed November 11, 2012
8.0
Excellent
MONTY from New Zealand
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012

please to return ”

nice hotel to stay at

locatin is central, great if you want to go around the city for shopping, food etc close to hongqiao airport, convenient not bad for the price i paid for will recommend to other business people friendly staff

Reviewed September 27, 2012
6.3
Good
Suvit from Thailand
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 5 nights in September 2012

Hotel for Business ”

Good location

The hotel is located near to Shanghai Exhibition Ceater only 7 minute walk distance. It is very convenient if you are doing business with the EXhibition. There is boardband high speed internet in the room.

Reviewed September 18, 2012
6.7
Good
Chia from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 1 night in August 2012

small rooms but clean”

room is clean, comfortable bed

Hotel has good japanese restaurant, room is clean with all necessary facility, internet was horrible and expensive. No smile from the front desk staff and no service from the bell men either. There are a few restaurants near by and a convenient store right next to the drive way. It's very old hotel but renovated a few years ago so the room is nice but they still use very old tv.

Reviewed August 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Tseng from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 9 nights in April 2012

Location good but room is a bit old”

Good location and good services

the hotel staff is friendly and very helpful whenever i need help in finding my direction. the location is very convenient and there are a few shopping malls nearby, very easy to find food. the only defect is the room i stay is a bit old, the wall seems a bit dirty and water leaks out when taking shower.

Reviewed April 21, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Ross from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 6 nights in March 2012

Good Hotel, comfortable rooms. pleasant service”

romms are clean adn comfortable, good in house restaurants, close to Hangquio

i have found the rainbow a very convenient hotel for inter china travel. close to hongquio airport and fast train station also convenient to road network for tavel around shanghai and near city suzhou. staff are pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed March 11, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Danny from Philippines
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010

My Stay At Shanghai Rainbow Hotel”

Well,location is great in Puxi area,thats were the popular spot are.Near to Yan-an subway station around 15 mins walk.Was given a nice view room fronting Yan-an road specially at nite.20 minutes walk to Shanghai exhibit center,and ten mins. walk to two shopping mall.Nice restaurant nearby with affordable price.At subway change subway train at ChungSan Garden and go Nanjing East road for the Pedestrian Lane.Overall it was excellent choice thru Agoda.
Oh it is still on renovation for the World Shanghai Expo 2010

Well overall was fantastic,its just the hotel free shuttle was only to bring you to Terminal 1,not Terminal 2 for domestic departure.No worry about that,like Beijing there are free Buses that can make transfer to Terminal 1 and vice versa.Front Desk personel was exceptional good.

Reviewed April 19, 2010
9.3
Exceptional
andy from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 11 nights in January 2010

Review of Rainbow Hotel”

fast service when requesting items like matches, chopsticks, room service, towels, plumber, food
sometimes there is too much room service/housekeeping visits

this is my second time staying at the Rainbow Hotel and they never cease to amaze me. They are always very helpful and provide the items you request quickly. I love their rates and their rooms are quite spacious and cozy. They also had events to coincide with the upcoming Lunar New Year and the taxi staff outside are always helpful with luggage, opening doors despite the cold weather, and speaking to the driver to inform the cab driver of your destination.

Reviewed January 23, 2010
10.0
Exceptional
Mami from Japan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 6 nights in June 2009

Very good value for money”

Very conveniently located Staff speak good English and are very helpful Japanese and Korean restaurants are very nice (didn't try the Chinese restaurant) Gym is great The room has a fridge Not noisy despite the location (vicinity of expressway)
Hair dryer is old-style and hard to use Bathroom is a bit small

Shanghai is a city where you'll find it very difficult to catch a cab at peak hours. Staying at this hotel doesn't make it any easier, but the hotel location is right across the street from Sheraton Hotel, Parkson, Friendship Mall, etc., and even from Gubei area, it's less than 30 minutes' walk. The staff understood and spoke English pretty well, were very willing to help and very helpful. I really liked this hotel, and will stay there again if I have next opportunity to visit Shanghai.

Reviewed July 07, 2009
6.4
Good
Robert from China
Family with young children
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018

Flatters to deceive”

Pluses: Lobby leisure facilities and Food and Beverage outlets newly refurbished and food choices were excellent. Garden is charming. Negatives: Unfortunately, the omnipresent dampness on the room floors that assaulted the senses on exiting the elevator was very unpleasant. Dry clothes became damp in the room. Additionally, housekeeping staff were incapable of communicating in English and irritatingly didn’t read ‘Do not disturb’ signs. Not a place to be if you’re jet-lagged - room service has limited hours. A good place to come for a meal and probably ok for domestic business travelers. Avoid with a family.

Reviewed August 21, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I wish you had a better experience, as we work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it is apparent that, in this case, we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Responded August 24, 2018
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
8.4
Excellent
Yick from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Great value 4-star experience”

Got a good deal from Agoda. It's a very decent experience

Reviewed January 30, 2019

Welcome to Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow! It is our great pleasure to welcome you and thanks very much for choosing our hotel as your “home away from home”,no matter it is for leisure or business. We are honored to have you as our guest and we will do our utmost to make your stay is not only pleasant, comfortable, but an Inspiring Stay. --General Manager: Peter Herweck

Responded January 31, 2019
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
8.4
Excellent
Justino from Philippines
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Very Satisfactory ”

Cleanliness Hospitabilty Cons Not all staffs are hospitable especially at reception.

Reviewed December 21, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for this feedback of Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow. We are so sorry about any inconvenient causes. We will improve our reception service as your comment. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. General Manager: Peter Herweck

Responded December 24, 2018
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
8.0
Excellent
Miyakawa from Japan
Couple
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2017

Very good”

Thank you

Reviewed April 30, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
SEUNGTAI from South Korea
Business traveler
Executive Club With Breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016

good”

good

Reviewed January 02, 2017
8.0
Excellent
SEUNGTAI from South Korea
Group
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 3 nights in November 2016

good”

not bad

Reviewed November 07, 2016
8.0
Excellent
TOMOYUKI from Japan
Business traveler
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016

rainbow hotel”

very convenience. near hongchao airport, japanese restaurant and chinese one in the hotel

Reviewed September 18, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Andi from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in March 2014

Nice hotel and surely will comeback someday”

clean, nice, strategic location
Reviewed April 01, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
LEE from Malaysia
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe Twin
Stayed 4 nights in June 2013

Great hotel and good price. Value for money.”

Convenience location, good price and convenience for dining.

Great. Did not encounter any unhappy incident.

Reviewed July 02, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Larry from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2012

Good hotel, no suitable bars”

Good, clean, and convenient to other locations

Room was in good shape, clean, and location was very convenient. Bar on top floor is a joke. Go elsewhere.

Reviewed December 27, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Mia from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2012

Great location and good hotel”

Location is close to restaurants and malls

I like the warm toilet seat and the soft bed and pillows that the hotel provided.

Reviewed November 22, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Giuseppe from Australia
Business traveler
Stayed 1 night in March 2011

great hotel for the price, freindly staff”

close to hongchou airport, plenty of restaurants and shops nearby

nice clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed April 02, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Rosalynn from Indonesia
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe Twin
Stayed 2 nights in February 2011

Great Location and good price.”

big hotel lobby

newly renovated room. they have good pillows and bed so can have a good sleep.

Reviewed March 06, 2011
8.3
Excellent
Marvin from Singapore
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in May 2008

Rainbow Hotel Shanghai”

The hotel is located around the "Japanese" district in Shanghai. You can find good Japanese restaurants in the area.

Reviewed June 06, 2008
8.0
Excellent
Patrick from India
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 5 nights in October 2018

.”

.

Reviewed October 22, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you very much. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. General Manager: Peter Herweck

Responded October 22, 2018
Golden Tulip Shanghai Rainbow
2.0
Anubhav from India
Business traveler
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016

Had the worst time in this hotel”

I urge you guys not to check in the hotel. They kept the central AC off throughout our stay. Even after complaining to the manager they did not turn the AC on. We got to stay in such heated rooms. Pathetic service

Reviewed April 24, 2016
2.0
YEA from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Totally disappointed ”

It was awful place to stay. I had been travel a lot for business travel and this is the worst experience ever. The shower didn't work and the staff so unfriendly. Please go somewhere else. I was so embarrassed to stay with colleague.

Reviewed October 19, 2015
4.7
mark from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 1 night in September 2015

Rainbow - I only see Zippy, George and Bungle”

Iternet connection, clean, use of umbrella

Thw location of the hotel was described by the staff as close to the subway, but this is way off the mark taking around 30 minutes to walk there on a busy dual carriageway. This could well be the reason for the discount price - Shanghai has so many new subway lines that it would be hard for a hotel not to be positioned near one. Upon entry, the staff at check in were arrogant and unresponsive to questions. It seemed ridiculous to them that we should ask where the lifts were. The room was pretty good but no real view other than roads and wastegound we were told that breakfast would be 185 yuan a pop even for our 7 year old. The swimming pool was nice enough apart from the other swimmer who was constantly spitting in the pool and talking loudly to the grinning teenager playing the part of lifeguard. It was only after the swimmer got out and relieved the grinner of his duty that we realised he was an employee too. The wireless connection was spot on and rooms were quiet. Wouldn't opt for it again though (should it still be around)

Reviewed October 07, 2015
7.0
Very good
Chen from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in May 2015

Nice Location!”

Nice Location, Clean and Quiet

The hotel is well located at the Hong Qiao area, close to the exhibition centre, however, not much dining places or activities near by, a total business hotel with sufficient facilities and comfort to let you rest after a day's work.. A rather aged hotel but still well kept with a convenience hotel and Bank of China next to it..

Reviewed May 19, 2015
5.0
PIYUSH from India
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

Just okay, nothing great”

big rooms, clean ambiance

It was business trip but we have to struggle a lot to communicate as nobody could really speak in English. The food choices were very limited and continental food was very limited on menue. Overall will not really repeat.

Reviewed June 08, 2014
7.0
Very good
JORGE from El Salvador
Family with teens
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014

Nice hotel with convenient location”

Ceanliness. Parking lot. Fast check-in/check-out.

The Rainbow hotel is a good value for money. It's a clean hotel, English speaking front desk staff, good wired internet in room and wireless in Lobbby. Parking was not hard to solve. It has a traditional hand crafted souvenirs, and we got some nice tea sets for a bargain price. Our stay was smooth, and without complains. It's not the most beautiful hotel we have stayed at, but it was pretty nice for its price. We didn't have the chance to try the swimming pool neither the gym, though.

Reviewed February 09, 2014
7.0
Very good
John from Canada
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in July 2013

enjoyable stay and would stay again”

clean room, quiet and close to shopping

I enjoyed my stay there. It was quiet and relaxing after a long flight. The room was clean and well designed with fast internet. Shopping and decent restaurants are close by and it is convenient to get to the airport. The breakfast was decent but expensive. I would look for another place to have breakfast

Reviewed July 13, 2013
7.7
Very good
Michelle from Canada
Business traveler
Grand Deluxe Twin
Stayed 1 night in May 2013

Value to money”

clean room, reasonable price, nice service

The room is nice and comfortable. The price is reasonable. So it'd be a good choice if you are looking for an affortable 4 star and nice stay. The only thing is that the guests in this hotels seemed to be noisy and many group travellers. There's a convenience store nearby which is pretty handy.

Reviewed May 28, 2013
6.3
Good
Sum from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2013

Hotel is a bit outdated but value for money”

Good location, attentive staff and close to many restaurants and spas

Stayed there for business for four days so did not spend too much time in the room. Room size was decent and room is clean although it was a non smoking room, one can somehow still smell tobacco on the floor and in the room. Hotel is good value for money but can do with installing wifi in the rooms.

Reviewed May 08, 2013
6.0
Ha from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

Nice but lacking”

bed, concierge

I stayed at Rainbow Hotel for 4 nights. The check in process was quick but the front desk staff were not very welcoming nor friendly. The first thing that they said to me was "Passport." But the other hotel staff (concierge, room service) were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is fairly big with 30 floors and there are also several restaurants. There is no wifi acess in the rooms which was a bit uncomfortable, but there was wifi available in the lobby. The room was okay, clean and spacious but it seems like the hotel needs a little renovation. I could tell the rooms were a little outdated. However, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very small and the showerhead was lacking as the water pressure was not very strong. The hotel is not very close to most of the city's site seeing places. I got to places by taxi and it cost about 30 rmb to get to Xin Tian Ti. There is a metro station about 10 minutes away by foot. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Rainbow Hotel but I would not say this is a four star hotel

Reviewed April 30, 2013
5.7
Ha from South Korea
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in April 2013

Nice but lacking”

bed, concierge,

I stayed at Rainbow Hotel for 4 nights. The check in process was quick but the front desk staff were not very welcoming nor friendly. The first thing that they said to me was "Passport." But the other hotel staff (concierge, room service) were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is fairly big with 30 floors and there are also several restaurants. There is no wifi acess in the rooms which was a bit uncomfortable, but there was wifi available in the lobby. The room was okay, clean and spacious but it seems like the hotel needs a little renovation. I could tell the rooms were a little outdated. However, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very small and the showerhead was lacking as the water pressure was not very strong. The hotel is not very close to most of the city's site seeing places. I got to places by taxi and it cost about 30 rmb to get to Xin Tian Ti. There is a metro station about 10 minutes away by foot. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Rainbow Hotel but I would not say this is a four star hotel

Reviewed April 30, 2013
7.7
Very good
mark from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in April 2013

It met my needs”

Near Intex, reasonably priced, clean

Well, some other places I was planning to stay were not available, to I decided to try a different Hotel. The Rainbow Hotel is run by the JinJiang hotel group in Shanghai. It is not a new hotel, but not an old hotel. It has a good, but not great quality feel. There was an interesting special offer on Noodles, which was good, but overall the food was not inspiring. I was a little dissapointed that my room faced the freeway. Windows were pretty effective, but there was a dull noise from the traffic.

Reviewed April 23, 2013
6.0
Ha from South Korea
Solo traveler
Grand Deluxe King
Stayed 1 night in March 2013

Comfortable room but need renovation”

Comfortable bed, nice staff, spacious room

I stayed at Rainbow Hotel for 4 nights. The check in process was quick but the front desk staff were not very welcoming nor friendly. The first thing that they said to me was "Passport." But the other hotel staff (concierge, room service) were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is fairly big with 30 floors and there are also several restaurants. There is no wifi acess in the rooms which was a bit uncomfortable, but there was wifi available in the lobby. The room was okay, clean and spacious but it seems like the hotel needs a little renovation. I could tell the rooms were a little outdated. However, the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very small and the showerhead was lacking as the water pressure was not very strong. The hotel is not very close to most of the city's site seeing places. I got to places by taxi and it cost about 30 rmb to get to Xin Tian Ti. There is a metro station about 10 minutes away by foot. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Rainbow Hotel but I would not say this is a four star hotel.

Reviewed April 14, 2013
7.0
Very good
Wong from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013

nice 4* hotel at economic cost”

room, city view, location

stayed on higher floor which could have a very nice city view of the elevated roads. big windows. it's an old 4* design but everything is as standard as an int'l 5* hotel. location is convenient, within 15mins taxi to all major areas.

Reviewed March 20, 2013
7.3
Very good
Toru from Japan
Group
Stayed 1 night in January 2013

Nice cost performance”

Service

Good service with Japanese because there is a Japanese staff at the front desk. Since the hotel is not new ( 25-30 years? ), room is not recent style. This time, I stayed at delux room with discount. I was happy to find a wash let. I think it is good for the price. Need improve for taxi reserve,taking much time!

Reviewed January 23, 2013
6.3
Good
WIL from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013

Decent hotel with great gym but modest rooms”

The gym was excellent

The hotel is easy to taxi in and out but the nearest metro is about a 15 minute walk away. The room is tastefully decorated but the bathroom is a bit tired. No breakfast is included nor is there free wifi in the rooms. When front-desk was asked about wifi in the room, the were somewhat rude and unhelpful, but housekeeping staff could accomodate through the use of a wifi modem. Checkin staff seem rather uninterested in making a positive impression but housekeeping staff were quite helpful.

Reviewed January 15, 2013
6.0
Armando from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012

Nice hotel and great for the exercise enthusiast ”

A 4 star feeling with a full gym and small pool

Nice rooms, nice gym. Plus it's about 10 min walk from everything which it will have exercise some more, unless you use a taxi all the time. Everything is good just stay away from Japanese restaurant below or at least make sure you read your tab or check. Twice I paid more than what I actually ate. I would walk about 5 to 10 min. outside depending own how fast you walk and have a better Jap restaurant. The last thing is that the desk staff is nice but they need to smile more, like the cleaning crew. I did love their pillows, the best I have ever used.

Reviewed November 04, 2012
4.3
Frans from Indonesia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012

hotel with nice lobby but small rooms”

Acceptably close to metro station

The hotel provided no breakfast and no free internet in the room. The room is old. Air conditioner in the room is not working properly. Shower head leaks. Very small bathroom. Only pro, it is acceptably close to metro station (walking distance is about 10 min away).

Reviewed November 02, 2012
7.7
Very good
Armando from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012

Good hotel, staff very helpful, but needs to smile”

Great price through Agoda

Hotel is a true 4 plus star. Very clean, great staff as I stated before but they need to smile. Thanks to Agoda I stayed at this nice hotel which is very popular and all taxi drivers know by heart because it is a very old establishment but of course remodeled to look and feel modern. If you are a Heath nut or just like to stay fit than this is the place for you, they a full gym just like the YMCA It has every machine, swimming pool, boxing ring etc. etc. you will feel like you are at an American gym, not just a few thread mill s and weights, the works, an entire floor dedicated to it. Try it ..

Reviewed October 31, 2012
7.7
Very good
Wolfram from Austria
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed
Stayed 6 nights in August 2012

Good hotel a little out of town”

The hotel is good for business visit and conferences

I stayed in the Rainbow for a 5 day conference. Very friendly and helpful staff. The Chinese restaurant is good and breakfast offered a good choice. The room are large enough and well equipped. The only downpoint is the area, which is not the best. The motorway is next to the hotel and a little bit noisy.

Reviewed September 16, 2012
6.7
Good
Nakamura from Japan
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012

location is good”

close to nice restaurants

Hotel itself was okay, not very good, not very bad. The room is normal as well. Didn't try a restaurant at hotel, but restaurants around this hotel are decent. Good Japanese restaurants. I didn't like to being offered from those massage people outside of the hotel. Just irritating.

Reviewed July 06, 2012
4.0
Daniel from Canada
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 4 nights in June 2011

unhappy customer ”

not happy

was not happy as your prices were way too high and ther should at list includ breakfast and internet the sam hotel was 25% lower prie from other including breakfast and internet ,so do not screw yourpotentialy long term customers

Reviewed June 15, 2011
3.3
KEIJI from Japan
Business traveler
Deluxe Room 2 Single Beds
Stayed 1 night in March 2011

No staffs knows a hospitality spirit at all”

air conditioning and ventilation is good

especially, the guide/receptionist in the breakfast hall is terrible in the attitude. she spoke/acted like a goverment official who never learned a hospitality spirit. the price of breakfast including tax, 10% service fee is overvalued compared with quality of service/foods/drinks.

Reviewed March 13, 2011