Book Now: Grand Men Seng Hotel

Very good
From 210 reviewsSee what guests said
7.5
/
10
Recommended by 90% of guests

Reviews of Grand Men Seng Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
7.5
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.5
Facilities7.2
Location7.9
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.7
Value for money7.4
Rating
9+ Exceptional (32)
8-9 Excellent (23)
7-8 Very Good (37)
6-7 Good (19)
<6 Below Expectation (32)
Time of the year
Mar - May (37)
Jun - Aug (41)
Sep - Nov (32)
Dec - Feb (33)
All guests (210)
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 143 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Bierbrauer from Germany
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Very good”

good

Reviewed December 11, 2018
7.6
Very good
Ana from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Very good”

Nice location, big rooms with bath tub.. pool is good, my kid enjoyed it

Reviewed December 03, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Marianita from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

Excellent”

Nice location and good customer service.

Reviewed November 27, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Criselda from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Excellent service!”

Price is good! Customer service is excellent.

Reviewed September 24, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Rhio from Philippines
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017

Good Place”

Good place.

Reviewed August 20, 2018
3.2
Farooque from Canada
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2018

I felt a great embarrassment when the front desk told me you have to wait we are checking the towels”

This is the first time in my life isaw a hotel how are holding the guest for the reason of checking small face towels. According to my assessment those are not more then 50cents each. I will never visit such type of cheap hotel again and I will suggest to my community also accordingly. Wifi is also terrible only working in the room. keep disconnecting again and again.

Reviewed June 30, 2018
7.6
Very good
Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 14 nights in April 2018

A little bit tired, but still reasonable ”

Pros: Decent sized room. Enormous bed. Good location for the city centre. Very friendly staff. Jeepneys stop right outside the door. Airport transfers a bonus (as long as you don't arrive/depart in the early hours of the day) Cons: Showing its age on the inside. Musty smell in the room (air con filters need cleaning?) WiFi a bit hit and miss, plus it's a pain having to get a new login every day. 3 stars given for amenities, as the pool area was closed for maintenance (never actually saw anything being done)

Reviewed May 06, 2018
6.8
Good
Tarcela from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018

Grand Menseng not Grand ”

The shower was leaking at the base of the hand held shower. Keeps the bathroom wet.. The sink is clogged. Very slow drain. The sheets are rough. The pillows are hard as a rock. When I asked for a softer pillow the housekeeping said they have none.The staff is nice and accommodating. When I ask for an ice pack they brought it right away. Laundry did a great job with my clothes.

Reviewed April 15, 2018
5.6
Jonathan from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2018

Old & average”

Nothing too much wrong with this place but nothing to get excited about either. Central location, spacious rooms which are now showing their age. Pool is okay. Hotel restaurant probably best avoided.

Reviewed February 16, 2018
5.2
Elena from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2017

Old hotel ”

We were a big group with children. The hotel rooms are old And has a strong moldy smell. No air purifier, wifi not working, sheets are old. They are very sti ky in the buffet that 2 yr olds who barely eat anything must pay

Reviewed January 01, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Alfredo from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2014

Short Stay for Business”

Hotel was ok, clean facilities and attentive staff with very good location.

Reviewed November 01, 2017
7.2
Very good
Mylene from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2017

Good”

Too dim room, Useless wifi but breakfast is ok and i feel safe

Reviewed September 18, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Naomi from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

Exceptional”

Nice place to stay...very accommodating

Reviewed August 18, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Alether from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Old but VERY GOOD!!!”

Despite the age of the hotel, the facilities are very clean, well lit, good food, fast service, spacious rooms and interiors and accessible to the transportation and the city proper

Reviewed April 07, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
James from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Outstanding ”

Looking forward to studying again.

Reviewed February 28, 2017
4.8
Jylene from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

Acceptable”

no hot shower intemitent wifi connection

Reviewed February 22, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Sultan from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Nice place”

Nice plafe

Reviewed February 05, 2017
6.0
Anacleta from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Good but linens & towels needs upgrade ”

Central location, big rooms, linens & towels showed years & years of service already aside from that still a good hotel with simple buffet + a good size 🎱 for those who 😍 to 🏊

Reviewed December 06, 2016
8.8
Excellent
rolando from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Very satisfactory”

Wifi password should be posted in the room

Reviewed December 05, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
christopher from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016

Friendly staff.huge & relaxing room.”

My 21 months old daughter enjoyed the place. Stayed for two nights. We tried to book again but it was fully booked. Would love to stay there again :)

Reviewed November 16, 2016
8.8
Excellent
Christlen from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2016

Just Good”

The staffs are friendly. Good internet signal. Great breakfast buffet. Pool not suitable for kids.

Reviewed November 11, 2016
7.6
Very good
Rhea from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Surprising”

I am so surprise that not every room have a kettle..fully booked is the hotel and all rooms in the 3rd flr comes with no kettle..i need a boiling water to clean my son milk bottle.When i requestes for a hot water it takes almost an hour for me wait and when i called back the house keeping the reason for the delay is that they have forgotten my room no.huh what a reason..

Reviewed September 02, 2016
7.2
Very good
liezle from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Great value for money”

The hotel is very accessible to transportation as it is located in the busy district of magallanes st. Food is good and great service. I think they would need to update their menu and provide more variety.

Reviewed August 26, 2016
7.6
Very good
Lea from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2015

Nice hotel in the center of the city”

The hotel is good. Although it looks like old outside, rooms are well-maintained. I am a solo traveller and they give me a huge bed (the biggest bed I have ever slept on, so far). The buffet breakfast was good too. Friendly staffs.. You can flag PUJ and taxis just in front of the hotel. Highly recommended.

Reviewed August 16, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Darren from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2016

Exelaint hotel to stay. ”

I've stay here 4 times now. One of the best hotels I've stayed in. And will highly recommended this hotel.

Reviewed July 18, 2016
7.6
Very good
Midelene from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016

It was all A-okay!!!”

The Hotel was very good. eventhough it was old but facilities were new. the room was big. I was surprised they put 2 extra beds aside from 2 double beds. the best part was the buffet breakfast which u dont get from other hotels. there was also a swimming pool where my daughter loves to swim. the downside is that there are lesser shops outside, like cafes or convenience stores where u can run some errands.

Reviewed June 07, 2016
9.3
Exceptional
Baudouin from Belgium
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016

Good hotel”

Good location, friendly personnel, swimming pool

I have stayed in this hotel more than five times. Each time I have been satisfied.

Reviewed February 20, 2016
9.7
Exceptional
Dal from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2015

GRAND Men Seng”

comfort,excellent front desk personnel, fantastic value for money ...... hoel is well-above a 3 free rating. Thank you

My stay was short but extaordinarily comfortable. The staff could not have been better and are a bonus for the management of this premises.

Reviewed December 28, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Steven from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015

A must stay”

Service, price, location

I love this hotel in the heart of the city. Very large pool, and clean.

Reviewed September 29, 2015
4.3
Charlemagne from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in September 2015

Very Old Hotel”

It's near the city center, huge room, big lobby

Stay wasn't so nice. The bed was not comfortable to sleep at. The sitcom doesn't work so well. The shower heater makes the water boiling hot and can't be used in taking a shower.

Reviewed September 22, 2015
6.7
Good
Catherine from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2015

My Davao stay”

Clean, comfort and value

Relaxing

Reviewed August 25, 2015
6.3
Good
Jee from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2015

Just a place to spend overnight. Nothing to talk a”

Good location, large room and large lobby

No proper sit in the lobby. Chase you out of restaurant if you wear share even is proper one. Staff zero innovation.

Reviewed July 06, 2015
8.3
Excellent
May from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015

Good”

Staffs, location and cleanliness

It was good;)

Reviewed June 24, 2015
4.0
Princess from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Old hotel”

Grand Men Seng Hotel

the room is smelly. Need to renovate and change carpet

Reviewed June 02, 2015
5.7
Antonio from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015

Ok-ish Hotel, for the price”

Cheap

Its an ok hotel. Room Feedback: 1. Clean. 2. Air conditioning is working properly -- which is a good thing as this is the Philippines, where its 34C everyday. 3. Hot water working fine. 3. Very weak Wi-Fi. Food Review: is quite so-so. But thats what i have noticed in that area of Davao anyway. Facilities are quite old but it still works. We went there for an event and the airconditioning couldn't hold up, but it is a large event with nerly 400 people. Price: Very cheap. Overall, i still think this is a good hotel. The main facilities (A/C, good bed, good shower, clean) are all in working condition and the staff is very nice. Sure there are some bits where it falls short like food and wifi but with the price, really can't complain.

Reviewed May 17, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
anna from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.”

Spacious and Clean Room, Great Food, Helpful Staff

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room is big and clean. The bathroom is okay. The pool is okay but can be renovated or needs re-design to attract more travellers. Even the front and side view of the Hotel exterior needs renovation and re-design. The buffet breakfast is great. And the hotel staff even the guards are all helpful and polite. Although I think we paid a little higher than the average prices of the hotels in Davao, I think it's worth it and I will recommend this to my friends, and even go back to this hotel in the future :)

Reviewed April 06, 2015
5.3
Rene from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

Falling apart...nice people but no upkeep”

Nice staff...ok location...good food for a reasonable price

Very friendly staff, good restaurant for reasonable price but the management is not taking care of the place....this last time I went there, this is the last time I will be there...no hot water / cold shower, the elevator did not work, the wifi did not work (never worked well in the past, even in the restaurant), and coffee latte was off the menu because the milk steamer did not work. Everything in poor condition! Go some where else before the roof falls down on someone!

Reviewed March 29, 2015
6.3
Good
Daniel from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2014

Nice place, nice experience..”

Location. Size. Room.

Ok, it's been a year since I stayed there, but the room was really large and very nice. Didn't spend too much time in it except to get ready for our wedding ceremony, but it was nice. What I didn't like was the room service waiter thinking for us. I ordered a plate of something and he took it upon himself to order two servings of it. I told him I only ordered one serving but he said "I took the liberty to give you two servings" of which I still had to pay for both servings. I thought it was a free serving, but alas, it wasn't. I probably won't be staying here again.

Reviewed March 25, 2015
8.7
Excellent
brian from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in March 2015

This is a quiet reasonably priced hotel”

pool restaurant room

I had a nice stay at the hotel

Reviewed March 21, 2015
9.7
Exceptional
Vergie from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2015

excelent hotel”

foods, accomodation, facilities and transfort.

Excellent

Reviewed January 28, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Baudouin from Belgium
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2014

Centrally located nice hotel”

Centrally located, swimming pool, friendly service

I have been staying around 6 time in Grand Men Seng hotel. I will most likely stay there again at my next visit. It is entrally located, there is a swimming pool and the service is friendly.

Reviewed December 26, 2014
3.3
Emily from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014

Not so good stay experience.”

Grill rest in the pool area.Free shuttle from hotel to airport.Apo ni Lola - durian products in the lobby

The parking lot is terrible.The lobby is so crowded and not enough waiting area.the elevator is not good.Avery old hotel,needs a renovation-big time.The carpet is so old and very dirty,smells like moldy.We had allergies n w cough and itchy throat started on our first stay.I have to ask for a air fresher or that sort w/c they provided.local calls not free from our room.no wifi in the room.the A/C doesn't work as it should.We do not intend to come back to this hotel

Reviewed September 11, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Herman from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 29 nights in July 2014

1st Davao Trip”

Location, food, staff

They stay was great!

Reviewed September 10, 2014
8.7
Excellent
christine from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014

Great Hotel :)”

Food here are indeed very tasty. Staffs were really accommodating especially when I need to access the net via LAN in our room. Location is near public transport, convenience store, etc.

We had a pleasant stay! Food was great and all the staffs were very mindful of our needs and courteous as well. We just hope that internet connection in the room will be fixed by next year. We will be back in July 2015 :)

Reviewed September 01, 2014
6.7
Good
Pieter from Netherlands
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 10 nights in July 2014

10 nights GRAND Meng Seng Hotel”

friendly and helpfull staff in the hotel and a good location top walk aroiund , close the peoples park for nice stroling around

our stay was ok ! the room was clean and of a good size with view over the swimming pool , beds slept very well, food in the dining room downstairs was good, as well at the swimming pool area, the only problem we encountered that in the rooms is no wifi internet and also the internet via the cable which cable is provided by the staff is more NOT working then working , according staff maybe next year the internet is upgraded , the (free) wifi in the restaurant was working perfect

Reviewed July 30, 2014
6.0
Eric from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2014

Friendly staff but hotel needs renovation”

close to shopping

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. However, the wifi in the lobby and the wired LAN connection in the room only worked the first few hours I was there.

Reviewed July 01, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Mary from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 10 nights in May 2014

Wonderful stay. Very friendly staff. Food is great”

Food , staff, cleanliness.

Perfect stay. Stayed 2 weeks in the hotel. We loved the hotel.

Reviewed June 08, 2014
4.3
manfred from Germany
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in May 2014

the hotel was grand a long time ago may be”

location

the hotel looks very old. all the room need renovation. be care full at the breakfast to order tee you have to pay it even if the breakfast is inculded. for the reception this is normal. wifi is not working at all. but it should be inculded also. the swimming pool has many local kids. they sell this seperate. so dont go there!

Reviewed May 12, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 5 nights in March 2014

Great staff. Good breakfast buffet included.”

Great staff. Good buffett breakfast included with room price. Located in city center.

Great stay at the hotel.

Reviewed April 15, 2014
6.3
Good
James from Australia
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014

OK Hotel”

Good location, that's about it.

Not all bad. I'm sure this hotel was once Grand, however, it has now seen better days and needs some serious modernisation. No Wi-Fi in the rooms, the bath room needed a serious makeover. It was however a large room. The pool is small and old, and they have kids swimming lessons there between 4 and 6pm, so when it is ideal to swim the pool is full of screaming kids with mums using up all the seating. The buffet dinner is overpriced, with the selection barely adequate. Same goes for breakfast. I'm sure you could pick a better hotel than this for the money. l would not stay here again. Keep looking.

Reviewed April 03, 2014