Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1899 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Room comfort and quality 8.3
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food and dining 7.1
Sort by

Yao from China
Business traveler
Classic Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Ethan 's review
location staff and facility
nice one
Reviewed November 27, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Yao from China
Business traveler
Classic Room
Stayed one night in November 2015
Ethan 's review
location staff and facility
nice hotel
Reviewed November 27, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

ying from China
Business traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed one night in September 2015
Not bad
cozy convenient location
Not bad, but the room space is narrow
Reviewed November 23, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
As good as always
location, room comfort, ambience
The Grand Mercure is my go to hotel in Shanghai as it is right next to the station, Mainline and Metro, which makes for a quick getaway in the morning. This is also near the main roads around Shanghai so it is very convenient. Which is a bonus as The rooms and staff are always of a high standard, in fact on this trip the staff were even better, check in was smooth, as was check out and the porters got taxis very quickly. Though the rooms are on the small side, but most would not stay there to stay in the rooms. The only down sides to this hotel is that it is a bit further away from some of the hot spots, but never more than a 20 min taxi (which is quick in Shanghai), but as i said before it is next to the train station so convenient for the morning when leaving Shanghai. They also put up their prices by about 20per cent a while ago with nothing in return, so that will have me looking at other hotels in the future as there are similar hotels around Shanghai for cheaper.
Reviewed November 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Sonia from Indonesia
Couple
Classic Room
Stayed one night in November 2015
A very comfortable city hotel to stay
Comfortable bed, location, amenities
A very good hotel, confortable bed and good amenities. Staffs at concierge should be English speaker, hard to get info if they don't speak English. As a 5 star hotel, doormen should greet good morning, afternoon, evening. No greetings at all from staffs. Bathroom roller blind should be changed because got molded already. Other than those above, we had a perfect stay. Will definitely stay there again when I go to Shanghai.
Reviewed November 15, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Kyung from South Korea
Business traveler
Classic Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
best cozy bed
Bed, cleaness, location
I enjoyed staying there for 5 days and will definitely stay here again in near future.
Reviewed November 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Kyung from South Korea
Business traveler
Classic Room
Stayed one night in November 2015
Good location and clean room
clean, easy to access, cozy bed
I enjoyed staying there for 5 days and will definitely stay here again in near future.
Reviewed November 14, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Kyung from South Korea
Business traveler
Classic Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
clean and neat hotel
Location, cleanness, bed
I enjoy staying there everytime I visit in Shanghai
Reviewed November 13, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Jay from Fiji
Business traveler
Superior Queen
Stayed one night in November 2015
Good stay but bad food
It has a good location close to the Shanghai Central Railway station, close to shoppijg areas and rooms are very clean and good.
The stay was very good. The only problem is the dinner buffet is usually same menu repeated everyday. We stayed for 4 nights and saw the same dish over and over. Hardly any dish was replaced. The cold raw seafood made me sick. The chef knows little English so he couldn't tell whether a meat was beef or lamb or even seafood. Otherwise, accomodation, location and service is superb. I stayed here in 2013 and now this time again. I would go and stay there again. Close by are good dining restaurants as well.
Reviewed November 12, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?

Yew from Singapore
Couple
Superior Queen
Stayed one night in November 2015
Nice stay
Clean room but relatively small
Staff was helpful & pleasant, clean room. Lobby was grand and presentable.
Reviewed November 12, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?


1

Select loyalty program

PointsMAX
Language
Loyalty Program A Loyalty Program A
Loyalty Program B

In the menu, click PointsMAX and select your favorite loyalty program.

2

Select a room that earns points

Hotel Room A
Room Info
This booking earns
5,000 points

Choose a room offer that comes with points, which are earned automatically with that booking.

3

Enter membership ID

Country of passport
Program Membership ID
1234

Fill in the membership number for you selected program when completing your reservation. The points will be added to your account after you check out.

Start here and select your preferred program: