Book Now: Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square Reviews

Excellent
From 326 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
/
10
Recommended by 90% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (326)Booking.com Reviews (449)
8.2
/
10
Excellent
From 326 reviews
Cleanliness8.4
Facilities8.1
Location8.2
Room comfort and quality8.0
Service8.4
Value for money8.2
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (326)
All room types
Showing 274 verified guest comments
9.6
Exceptional
Serge from Canada
Couple
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
Exceptional”
Beautiful lobby and helpful staff who spoke English well. Breakfast facilities and food were very good. Observed lots of international tour groups here as opposed to Chinese travelers. The room was very spacious but a bit dated and the view was of a aged sports stadium which was uninteresting.
Reviewed October 09, 2018
8.4
Excellent
craig from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Superior King Room
Stayed 5 nights in July 2018
Excellent”
Good hotel. Location is good. Tiny lobby, not like the more grand hotels I've stayed in in China. Lighting was a bit dark in my room. Breakfast is good, with some local specialties. Staff are very accommodating.
Reviewed July 23, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Edward from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2016
Good value for money”
This hotel is in a good spot for exploring. Breakfast was decent. Most of the staff were very helpful - in particular the room service manager, who was lovely. Being able to use the beautiful pool at the Sofitel was a bonus, great for after a day of exploring (even though it was the middle of winter!).
Reviewed January 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Nicholas from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 8 nights in May 2016
A great hotel in the best of locations”
My wife and I had travelled to Xi'an in early May for an extended stay of 8 nights in order to visit the sights in and around this great city, and we considered ourselves very lucky to have chosen this hotel. We found the room to be very cosy and pleasant. It was well equipped with everything that you'd expect of a hotel of this standard, although the Wi-Fi was not that quick but it did prove reliable. My only concern was the bathroom where fittings were loose, and was in need of a general refurbishment, but saying that my wife pronounced the shower as the best that she'd ever had in a hotel anywhere, which means that it was hot & powerful! Breakfast was amazing with a truly huge array of food that was of excellent quality. I found the hotel staff really to be very efficient, amiable and helpful no matter to which department they were attached. Our room was cleaned to perfection each day, the waiting staff in the restaurant gave great service, the Bell Boys at the front door were always ready with a smile and helpful suggestions, and the Receptionists were super efficient in dealing with our requests; our request for a late check-out was deftly handled by the charming Ms. Serena Yang. The hotel is located within the walls of the ancient city and many sights that are worth visiting are within 20 to 25 minutes easy walk. We would definitely stay there again, and I would recommend without hesitation.
Reviewed May 16, 2016
8.7
Excellent
marc from France
Couple
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2014
Grand Mercure is a good value”
comfort, quality, and relaxation
Accor group had settled 3 hotels at the same place sharing the garden, the swimming pool, and all restaurants. Honestly it is a good place to stay. We were lucky and gota great sunny week end. making this place more enjoyable I do recommend this place
Reviewed October 27, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Jong from South Korea
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in August 2014
What a wonderful it is!”
1.very comfortable 2. very kind 3. very quiet
What a wonderful it was! My wife Sarah liked to sleep in a very comfortable bed. We had many chances to take a trip abroad. Among them, the bed of this hotel was better than that of any other hotel in the world. Especially, the breakfast buffet was fstastic. I would like to recommend this hotel to all my friends all over the world with all my heart. After checking out,when you go to Airport, You will be able to take a taxi with 120-150RMB. You don't have to go to Airport 90 minutes earlier than flight schedule because of its service. May God richly bless all in Grand Mercure Hotel staffs and travellers! Your bonus is that you can use all the facilities in Sofitel Hotel freely.
Reviewed September 03, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Richard from Australia
Couple
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Impressive surroundings coupled with good food”
Comfort, Cleanliness, excellent food
When arriving by taxi the entrance to the hotel complex was impressive, as the hotel shares the elegant, tree-lined site with Sofitel and other Accor hotels. The front of the hotel looked like a traditional classic style entrance, quite impressive. The reception was both quick and helpful, with good English, a plus in China. The room was of reasonable size and very clean and modern, absolutely no complaints. Breakfast was served in a restaurant in the hotel building. The food choice was really good with a mix of western and Chinese dishes, and the quality was very high. Unusually, this restaurant only served breakfast, any other meals were served in a number of other restaurants located in or near the Sofitel hotel. We decided to go for a buffet style meal which allowed us to try many different dishes. To our surprise the quality and range of food was amazing, and with a relatively low price tag it turned out to be excellent value for money as well! The free internet was rock solid at about 500 KB/sec which was another big plus. Overall this hotel was excellent and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Xi’an.
Reviewed August 30, 2014
8.3
Excellent
CHEAH from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in July 2014
Facilities”
Good location, clean and convenient
The only two setbacks were no internet and swimming pool in the hotel. No doubt there is free Wi-Fi but unfortunately, we will unable to access our emails therefore cannot receive nor send out. Swimming pool was located in Sofitel therefore not convenient to walk over for a swim.
Reviewed August 04, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Soong from Malaysia
Couple
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 6 nights in July 2014
Good location, Comfortable rooms, Friendly service”
Good location, Good breakfast, Friendly service
Enjoyable. Used as base to visit other parts of Henan with fast train to Luoyang, visit to Hua shan in addition to the other attractions of the ancient capital of Xian. The hotel provided a good respite from the heat during summer.
Reviewed August 04, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Gianfranco from Italy
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2014
great choice for a stay in xi'an”
good location, very quiet, efficient staff
the hotel is in an old style building inside a quite big garden area. rooms are very quiet and well furnished. it takes just 15 minutes walk to get to the main downtown attractions, but yet you are far away from the mess of the very central part of the city. overall a great choice for a stay in xi'an
Reviewed July 06, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Darcie from Canada
Family with young children
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
location, location ,location, ”
Location, quiet setting, near bell tower
We stayed here for 3 nights ( May day weekend ) it"s has a very quiet area with beautiful surroundings.Only 15 to 20 minute walk to the Bell Tower. I will definitely stay here when we visit Xi"an. The breakfast at Sofitel is pricey but well worth the money.
Reviewed May 05, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Steven from Australia
Family with teens
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Good location for Xian”
Good location, comfortable room, friendly staff, access to facilities next door
This is a good value quite luxurious hotel, it is located in a fairly quiet square as part of a complex of Accor hotels. The Grand Mecure is I expect the slightly cheaper brother of the Sofitel next door but it won't worry you as you get access to all the Sofitel facilities including gym and pool as part of your room price. We had two rooms, both very comfortable and quiet. It's a good base for seeing Xi'an.
Reviewed July 20, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Kevin from United States
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2011
small rooms but nice enough”
Beds and pillows were nice
for xi'an it seems to me a little pricey for what you get. the rooms are small, especially the bathrooms. the interiors are nice enough and the beds are good. for the price i'd expect internet to be included, but it is not. the breakfast buffet is a bit pricey as well but the spread is quite good. it's nice to be able to charge meals to the room throughout the square and sofitel properties. the location is nice too.
Reviewed March 21, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Kimberly from Vietnam
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Happy with our one night stay”
Didn’t really make use of services but room had everything we needed for our short stay, was clean, and reasonably priced.
Reviewed October 21, 2018
7.2
Very good
WONG from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Nice hotel”
Located in its own large compound, away from the restaurants. Breakfast spread is good. Room design is not outdated. It's typical Chinese hotel design like in many hotels in China. No need to request for non-smoking rooms. Hugh population of Chinese smokes, and they smoke almost everywhere, not to mention their own hotel rooms.
Reviewed January 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Rennell from United States
Family with teens
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Lovely older hotel within a complex of 5 hotels by same brand”
Lovely room in an elegant hotel. Very good value for your money. Breakfast buffet includes a very large selection of both Western and Chinese food and was very good. The dining room on the 4th floor has old world charm. The swimming pool and hot tub are in another of the hotels on the property and it was cold out, so we didn't use them.
Reviewed December 01, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Jason from Australia
Couple
Superior King Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Good Hotel in good location”
Stayed for 3 nights and had a very pleasant stay. Very good location with 10 minute walk to shopping and restaurants but still in a quiet area of town. Comfortable room, only complaint was the air conditioner was pretty ineffective. Fantastic buffet breakfast and the hotel complex has plenty of other good eating options. As part of a 4 hotel complex it also had a good little tour office and we were able to book a trip to the Terracotta Warriors at a very good price. Would definitely come back
Reviewed June 21, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Wong from Hong Kong
Group
Superior King Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Very helpful staff”
We went to Xian to a 4 - day self-guided tour and we required to book a car. The staff was very helpful in this aspect, giving us all the useful information on the sightseeing spots we wanted to visit and finally arranged an experienced driver and car for us. Room was clean though bathroom a bit dirty. Breakfast and wifi were satisfactory.
Reviewed December 02, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Sarah from United States
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2016
Great hotel- get the breakfast”
Staff was very helpful and courteous. Good English skills. Excellent breakfast buffet. Room quiet, soft sheets and comfy mattress. Location in grand old party building. Short walk to Bell tower area, 20 min walk to muslim area. Taxi, subway & bus easy to use. Rooms are same as appear on website.I would strongly recommend staying here.
Reviewed September 18, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Solon from Israel
Business traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in September 2016
Manager”
Excellent hotel, very well decorated, high standard clean rooms and nice environment. Lola and the rest of the stuff did a perfect job! The bathroom is very well equipped and the rooms are constructed considering every small detail. Breakfast not so plenty in variety for Western standards but rich enough for Chinese food lovers. To reach the center Bell Tower you need approx. a 20' walk
Reviewed September 06, 2016
4.0
Mario from Switzerland
Family with teens
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
At best a 3 star ”
Exterior and lobby are fine. Rooms a big disappointment! Run down, dirty, small and smelled like an ashtray. In urgent need of a renovation in rooms. Bath tubs so warned out that they look dirty. Electrical lights hanging, soiled carpet. Unbelievable how they can advertise this hotel as a five star, when rooms merit boarderline 3 stars. Big big disappointment.
Reviewed July 30, 2016
6.3
Good
William from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Too disappointing for a 5-star grand Mercury brand”
Location, price and friendly staff
Despite the good things about this hotel stated above, it's certainly not up to the standard of a 5-star grand mercure. The decor was old, toilet was smelly, breakfast was so so and one has to walk outside to use the pool or other facilities at Sofitel.
Reviewed January 06, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Jack from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 8 nights in October 2015
First visit to China ”
Breakfast Buffett , friendly staff, clean
We had a pleasant stay. However the deposit for the hotel was very excessive. Friends came over for breakfast ... they had to pay for parking. Otherwise good location taxis are always available to take you to places. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Reviewed October 14, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Vy from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 5 nights in April 2015
For the price, I am satisfied”
In a quiet square, near yet away feeling, near to Sofitel restaurants
We were quite satisfied with this establishment. What we liked most is the fact that it is situated in a private square or enclosed area with other establishments like the Sofitel and another more exclusive sister hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful enough. The rooms are big and bathrooms clean. The concierge's knowledge of the area, public transportation etc is spot on. The restaurants at the next door Sofitel are great, especially the churascco grill dinner. The breakfast at this hotel however is only so so. We had to carry our luggage up a flight of stairs as the hotel's main entrance is a flight of steps above road level. All in all, we are quite happy with this place, which was much quieter than the Sofitel.
Reviewed September 23, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Vibha from United States
Family with young children
Deluxe King Suite
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
GREAT FAMILY HOTEL”
CLOSE TO MUSLIM STREET, GREAT STAFF AND GOOD SIZE ROOMS
We had a wonderful stay and the staff was very friendly and helpful in figuring things out. WE had hired a tour guide for 2 days so there was not problem with transportation. Would definitely stay if we were to ever return to Xian.
Reviewed March 14, 2015
6.7
Good
Stefen from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Wrong booking, food poisoning”
spacious, hot water, location
We came in late at night, and they don't seem to have a twin bed room for us despite us prepaying for the room way in advance + having put in the special request of twin rooms. The reception gave us no other option, and it was rather convenient. Moreover, we went back to the rooms, ordered room service food, and my father was down with food poisoning the very next morning, and he is still sick after 4 days past. I remembered the food arrived looking delicious, though I wouldn't use 'extremely fresh' to describe the food that night. Beware!
Reviewed December 01, 2014
6.7
Good
Ignatius from Indonesia
Business traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
Very old Hotel need to refurnished”
Staff performance, garden, cleanliness
The hotel is in the Renmin Square complex which consists of Sofitel, Grand mercure and Mercure hotel. The location is relatively near to Moslem quarter, however very difficult to get taxi as the taxi in front of Renmin square refure to drive to close location. Very bad as it will to far to walk and to close to take taxi. The grand Mercure hotel we stay is old and need to recondition to achieve its big name standard. The breakfast also over priced.
Reviewed November 15, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Elizabeth from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Excellent ”
Location, Comfort, cleanliness
Well appointed rooms within a gated complex with the Sofitel & Grand Xi'an. Choice of 5 restaurants all with different crusines. Grounds surrounding Hotel kept immaculate. Excellent breakfast with a wide range of choice, highly recommend.
Reviewed October 07, 2014
9.3
Exceptional
Julie from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Lovely grounds”
The location was in walking distance to main shopping area. Hotel in lovely complex with other Accor hotels. Very comfortable rooms.
Enjoyable 2 night stay. The Room was a good size with good facilities. Very good breakfast selection. Just a point is that we were told breakfast was 6.30 to 10 am but when we got there at 9.45 we were told it closed at 10 and we were asked to go to another restaurant. Overall a very nice hotel and staff spoke good English and were friendly and helpful.
Reviewed September 11, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Manuel from India
Family with young children
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Very Good Location and Comfortable Stay”
Architecture, Location, Clean Room
We had a great stay at Renmin Square, the hotel is in a good location and there is a very good local restaurant near Renmin Square walking distance. The check in and all arrangements were fine, they even upgraded my room free. The breakfast spread is nice. One issue we faced was getting out and into the compound as there are 3 hotels these and its a bit confusing but it was fun though ! The landscaping is beautiful and we had a great time.
Reviewed August 29, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Stuart from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Xian Stay”
Breakfast, Bed and Linen
This review is for the Sofitel, as we were upgraded to that hotel on arrival. The room was smaller than expected, but clean and bright, the bed and linen are of a very good quality, and the bathroom was clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpul throughout. the hotel is in its own courtyard gorounds with some sister hotels, with security on the gates, but throughout our China visit we have never felt unsafe. We dined once at the on sight Cantonese Resteraunt, although we would have liked the lighting to be a bit less bright, the food was excellent, as were the staff and the prices were very reasonable, so very happy.
Reviewed August 28, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Chin from Indonesia
Family with teens
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
nice hotel and warm staff”
the receptions staff are helpful and warm and nice rooms
We have enjoyed staying in grand mercure xi an. The receptions staff are warm and helpful and they upgraded another 2 rooms to a better and bigger rooms withour our request and it really gives us a pleasant experience. the standard room even it is quite a small room, but it is clean and comfortable room. and my other family members enjoys superior/deluxe room which has spacious beds and rooms and alsovery comfortable rooms. the only thing that my brother complaining about is the pillows are too soft to sleep :) breakfast are also great
Reviewed August 04, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Bo from China
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in April 2014
Good value”
Good location, Great breakfast, Comfortable
Everything was great except for the location. It's location inside the "squre" togher with Sofia Hotel, so you have to tell the taxi driver to go to Sofia Hotel or Renmin Square instead. Check in was very slow. The staff was very slow and he was the only one there to check in so other customers were waiting behind us for a long time. It took him a long time to check our booking :( Otherwise, everything was great. Great breakfast. If you are going to the Terracota, you can take a taxi for 6 yuan and arrive at the train station, which is only 5 min drive from the hotel, from there take the tourist bus number 5 for 7 yuan (50 min).
Reviewed July 02, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Guillaume from France
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Well located, shared facilities with sofitel”
building architecture, quiet in the hear of Xian
A week-end to discover the main sightseeings of Xian, we decided to stay at this hotel. Everything is really great there, especially the building architecture (loved the lon long hall) and the fact it is quiet and peaceful in the heart of Xian. However I found the room quiet small and the international breakfast could have been a little bit upgraded to satisfy the range of the hotel. Very good experience overall, would come back there
Reviewed June 23, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Steven from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
Even better with upgrade!”
excellent facilities and wonderful service
I've been asked to leave a review on Grand Mercure Renmin Square because that is where I booked but we were upgraded to the Sofitel on the same Square (this is actually where the breakfast & pool, etc are located that Grand Mercure customers also access). The Grand Mercure seemed really nice when we arrived and the Sofitel even better! I'd be very happy to stay here again. The Renmin Square location is great - close to transport and local sights - and guests at all hotels on the Square are able to access shared facilities (restaurants, pool, gardens, etc.). Staff are really helpful and pleasant to deal with.
Reviewed June 22, 2014
8.7
Excellent
daria from Denmark
Group
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Very good experience”
Quiet, clean and comfortable
We really enjoyed our stay at Grand Mercure. Hotel is located a (very short) bus ride from the main sightseeing, but it is also possible to walk everywhere. Breakfast (buffet) was very good, staff was friendly and helpful. Room were spacious and very clean. Hotel surroundings were beautiful, and it felt very safe.
Reviewed June 20, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
John from Australia
Couple
Superior King Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Perfect base from which to explore Xian”
Staff were very helpful, location is excellent
We were upgraded to the Sofitel which is an excellent hotel. Staff organised a tour of the Terracotta Warriors which was excellent. My wife also wanted to see the Tomb of Emperor Jingdi, which has small terracotta warriors but there was not a tour and we were running out of time. The hotel suggested we hire a car to take us to the Tomb and hold our bags and then take us to the North Xian Railway Station. This worked out very well.
Reviewed June 09, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
EDDIE from United States
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Delightful But Far Too Brief Stay”
Convenient Location, Nice Spacious Rooms and Beautiful Architectural Building
It was very delightful stay. The hotel is conveniently located within the city walls of Xi'An and near all the major tourist attractions such as the Drum tower and Muslim quarter. The rooms are nice and spacious and housed in a beautiful Sino-Russian style building with a courtyard out in front. My only complaint is that besides the Xi'an 57 Café, many of its amenities are located in the East Wing of the Sofitel like the spa, business center, swimming pool and tour guide office. Which means you have to go outside the hotel in order to use any of these amenities. Overall, I liked this hotel and would recommend it to others. Quick tip: Tell the taxi driver you want to go to Sofitel instead of the Grand Mercure. They are more likely to know that name since it is posted outside in big letters than the name of hotel located within. Once you get here, it is very easy to direct the driver to the hotel entrance.
Reviewed May 12, 2014
4.7
Li from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in March 2014
Need improvement”
Outlooking of the hotel looks luxury, the garden is nice, the food at Azur is great.
Stayed 4 nights at this hotel but it was truly a nightmare to us for the first 2 night. I don't understand or there might be something wrong with their airconditioner.They sent their technician to fixed the faulty aircond in the room with all those crocky sound and climbing in and out from the manhole.The rooms are stuffy and unbreathable.Changed my room twice and it's worst,you can't believe that you and your kids have to stay in a room stuffy hot with cigarette smell.Until i emailed their hotel directly at late midnight and the manager approached me and upgraded my room to suite room or else i would have check out and go to another hotel.I will never get back to this hotel no matter how.I believe this hotel is far overrated. The only best things that my kids like are their swimming pool and facilities.
Reviewed April 01, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Mingming from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Not bad in every way”
Speedy check in and check out, great environment and location, excellent breakfast
This is a place to have a good night rest after a busy long day of sight seeing. Service was exellent, room was comfortable and clean. We booked a standard room at the beginning but we were given a free upgrade to a bigger room after the receptionist saw us travelling with a baby, which was very much appreciated. The thing we looked forward to the most at the hotel was their buffet breakfast! So don't miss it. Overall we are very happy with it!
Reviewed March 14, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Elizabeth from Australia
Family with teens
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
food, perfect, relaxing”
great friendly staff, great food, fast internet service,
fantastic stay, fast internet, wonderful, helpful staff, great international breakfast
Reviewed January 17, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Alfred
Couple
Deluxe King Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013
Impeccable Quality”
Staff, decor, location, grounds
As seasoned travellers in the Asia Pacific Zone, we have come to expect and appreciate quality and hospitality in our selected lodging. We would like you to know that your hotel and staff have exceeded our expectations in every way. From the moment we entered the Grand Mercure on December 22, we were impressed. From the cordial welcome at reception desk to the elegant, classic Chinese décor of our specious suite, you establishment excelled. The competent and friendly staff (Caroline, Selina and Jim) went to great lengths to accommodate and ensure us a memorable visit to Xian. We thank you all for our efforts on our behalf. In the future we will remember this trip fondly and tell our friends and associates about your marvellous property.
Reviewed December 28, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Michele from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Good quality hotel for the price”
Location, room and helpful staff
The stay was very good. The room was comfortable and good standard for the price. The location in a hotel precinct with garden surrounding was a happy respite from the air pollution in Xian. The staff were very helpful arranging taxis for travel around the city and to the airport.
Reviewed September 09, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Susan from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in July 2013
Too brief but very comfortable”
Location,price and cleanliness
We enjoyed our stay, wish we had stayed longer. Caught the subway from North Xian Station and then a taxi - less than AUD$20.00.Easy to get around. Short walk to loads of shopping plazas. Great location. Inside the Xian wall, very cultural area.
Reviewed July 21, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
li from Canada
Family with young children
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in July 2013
An affordable lexury hotel”
Good location, friendly staff, nice rooms
Only stayed one night for the touring of the city. It's a nice hotel with multiple buildings located near the center of the city. Had some issue due to mistakes by the booking agency, but the friendly hotel staff helped resolve it. It's quite affordable, too.
Reviewed July 15, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Craig from Australia
Family with young children
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013
Throughly enjoyed our stay, would go back again !”
Staff were exemplry, great customer service, great size rooms
This hotel is one of about 7, in this international area, which has great restaurants, park like surroundings, and good security. Our stay was really comfortable, the staff were wonderful, and it made our stay in Xian very memorable. Would stay here again anytime. Xian has bad traffic, so make sure you leave yourself plenty of time to get to places.
Reviewed July 05, 2013
8.3
Excellent
ricky from Australia
Couple
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Excellent”
In a complex with other hotels, security at the gate and the gardens
We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Mecure Xian. Easy walking distance to Muslim street and Xian gates. It was nice to come back after a busy day filled with sight seeing and to be able to relax. The staff at the reception where extremely helpful, especially when we spoke no chinese and where able to guide us appropriately.
Reviewed March 26, 2013
6.3
Good
Greg from France
Solo traveler
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in March 2013
Could do better”
Good facilities and on site entertainement
I asked for a pick up at the airport but no one showed up. We arrived quite late at the hotel and no one took us to our room. The reception gave us wrong directions (wrong floor) we ended up wandering in the long corridors. Kind of scary- overlook hotel feeling. On the day of our departure the electronic lock ran out of battery. No one could enter the room. it took them one hour to solve the issue. The rooms are nice and the staff helpful but these are small things that ruined a little bit the feeling.
Reviewed March 06, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
Anisa from Canada
Family with young children
Superior King Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Great location, clean and warm”
location, great bathroom
We were two families traveling and they gave us two adjacent rooms with a hallway sitting area. the rooms were small but adequate, the bed was huge and the bathroom large with a great tub. The sitting area was well used by us. The hotel was connected to two other hotels in the square with many expensive restaurants to choose from. There is a large Ren Ren Le food store just a block and a half away beside the KFC.
Reviewed January 06, 2013
9.7
Exceptional
David from United States
Family with young children
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
Great Service”
Great service, good rooms and lovely grounds
Staff were excellent. gave us a free upgrade when they saw we had three little ones. They were always quite helpful after that with advice and assistance. The grounds are very nice with a little yard out in front
Reviewed August 02, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Krzysztof from Poland
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
friendly helpful staff, very comfortable rooms”
central location, lovely helpful staff, quiet
very lovely design overall... like a little village with a separate facility building. the swimming pool looked lovely (however was closed for cleaning while we were there) and we wouldn't describe it as outdoors, however there was a small area for sunbathing. very quiet, peaceful atmosphere. about 10 minutes walking distance from the main street. enjoyable, helpful staff with good english speaking skills. easy location if you take the bus from the airport and then a motorcycle taxi.
Reviewed June 22, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Mary from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Great place, they really seemed to care. ”
Very quiet, well located
One of the group we were with was sick, the hotel staff went out of their way to help us. They were marvelous. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. The shower leeked but that did not matter.
Reviewed May 23, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Peter from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in April 2012
Nice place to stay”
Quite, nice setting, good restaurants close,good staff, good nights sleep
Founf the staff happy and helpful. Good location and liked the setting the hotel is located in. Decor is a little dark in part due to the trees in front of the window, however wouldn't want to see the trees gone, they are nice break away from the smog
Reviewed May 15, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Simon from Australia
Group
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
Reasonably good hotel but difficult to access”
Good service and facilities (located in the nearby Sofitel)
the hotel has a small, unimpressive foyer, which initially gave a poor impression. however, although the rooms are rather dated, we found them to be clean and adequate. for one of our rooms we were given a free upgrade to a suite. service was very good. the hotel itself has very limited facilities (a single restaurant, which seemed to be closed a lot of the time), but guests are invited to use the facilities at the nearby sofitel which is part of the same complex. in this respect, guests have access to a good gym, pool, and a range of restaurants.
Reviewed April 13, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Jennie from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Nice hotel, staff extremely friendly and helpful. ”
Location inside wall. Friendly staff who spoke some English.
The hotel was in a very good locations for what we wanted to do. The staff were very friendly and happy and made us feel welcome they also spoke English which was great. The room was clean and tidy and suited our needs. We would stay there again it they have the breakfast in the hotel itself and not nearby.
Reviewed March 13, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Avron from United States
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Truly "grand" in the 1950s Soviet style”
Architecture; comfortable bed, nicely-appointed room
I remembered the building from my first visit to Xi'an in 1984, so I chose the hotel partly out of nostalgia. This was originally a joint venture of the PRC and Soviet Union in the 1950s, built in that monumental Communist style. More recently, the whole complex has obviously undergone a major renovation and modernization, and all rooms/facilities are very up-to-date, including climate control in the rooms, very important in Xi'an! Service was excellent. I speak Chinese but for those who don't, English is no problem at this hotel. Location is excellent for tourists and business travelers.
Reviewed March 11, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Charlotte from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Great facilities”
Lovely swimming pool and a number of restaurants to choose from
We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is a little out of the town centre but still within walking distance to the town and the railway station. The hotel allows guests to use the facilities of the adjoining sofitel, which has a nice swimming pool/spa and a number of restaurants and bars.
Reviewed February 09, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Johannes from Austria
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
great architecture and great service”
architecture
If you want to feel like a state guest in the 50s the Grand Mercure is the perfect choice, situated in a compound of great stalinist 50s architecture the building itself is worth the stay. Though the rooms are a little outdated, everything is in place. the front desk staff is excellent and a request to change to a room facing south in the garden was immediately taken care of and resulted in an upgrade to a bigger room with a huge king size bed.
Reviewed February 03, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Mark from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2011
massive hotel, very comfortable”
lots of places to eat within the hotel/s nice room clean.
Lots of interesting things to do close by. Breakfast was nice and the buffet dinner in the resturant was amazing! Something for everyone. Short walk from bell tower and shopping centres. Hotel exchanged AUD for RMB free of charge.
Reviewed October 11, 2011
8.0
Excellent
Edric from Australia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2010
Lovely hotel, nice location, great service”
Hotel's ambience, outside area,
Great hotel! I must say the service is second to none. The bellboys are very helpful and every staff is extremely friendly with the ability to speak enough english for non-chinese speaking foreigners to survive.
Reviewed March 30, 2011
8.7
Excellent
David from United States
Couple
Stayed 5 nights in December 2009
A Grand Stay at the Grand Mercure”
*The staff speaks English quite well. *Everyone is very helpful and pleasant. *The rooms are clean for a hotel in China, and they do a good job cleaning the rooms. *It's located centrally so you can visit a lot of different areas of Xian. *The Sofitel nearby has some good Westernized restaurants for when you get tired of street food or if you're too afraid to eat at a local place.
*Overzealous and possibly deaf cleaning staff sometimes like to barge in. Be sure to keep the Do Not Disturb light on.
It's a pleasant hotel located at the back of a large block of hotels and restaurants in central Xian. The staff is very good at making you feel welcome and they like to speak English even if you may look Chinese. The room was carpeted, the bathroom spacious, and overall I was very pleased with their continental breakfast (which even had American style crispy bacon). I would definitely recommend a stay there if you're going to visit Xian. If you only speak English, the Grand Mercure is a very pleasant place to come back to at night.
Reviewed January 02, 2010
8.7
Excellent
andre from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2009
great stay ”
located in the central, walking distance to bell tower, muslim street and drum tower....the staff are very attentive and polite....
more variety for the breakfast
I would say it was a memorable stay in a small city like Xian, all staff speak decent english, at least they try their best to ensure that the guests understand what they wanted to say.....the location is quite good.. walking distance to some attraction like bell tower, drum tower, muslim street. the hotel is nicely decorated...the bed is soft ... it is reasonably priced....
Reviewed December 30, 2009
8.7
Excellent
Andrew from United States
Couple
Stayed 1 night in May 2009
Nice location”
Close, but not too close
Quality of rooms
Upon arrival we were upgraded to the deluxe sweet, very nice. Came with a entertaining room, the bed room, and two bathrooms. Very luxurious feeling but the true quality of the rooms was only average. The shampoos and conditioners had been obviously refilled and were not new. The service from staff was good, and helpful. Overall, it was an enjoyable stay.
Reviewed May 13, 2009
8.0
Excellent
Gemini from United States
Group
Stayed 3 nights in October 2008
Classic Hotel”
Ideally situated, service was great, staff very helpful.
Difficult to communicate due to language barrier. Needs to accomodate the handicap. The beds are hard.
This hotel is a classic/historical hotel as to compared with the newer hotels. But it is not built to accomodate the handicap. It is the perfect setting, close to all the sites/points of interest. Great place to take pictues. The hotel staff is very helpful. The rooms are nice sized but bathrooms are small. The toilet seat needs to be taller. The toilets were built for short people. We had no problems getting to the points of interest. The main hotel dining needs a better chef, perhaps we were just not used to the cooking style. The restaurants available close to the hotel were not very appetizing either.
Reviewed May 11, 2009
9.3
Exceptional
James from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in April 2009
Great Hotel in Xian”
Good location Great breakfast good staff
some acticities are in its sister hotel
Great location at a fantastic price, this well located hotel is perfect for a stay in Xian. Hotel staff are particulary good, great size rooms and good breakfast. Customer Services Manager was on hand to sort out any day trip etc
Reviewed April 22, 2009
9.0
Exceptional
Lisa from United States
Group
Stayed 1 night in August 2008
A great surprise”
Location...Renmin Square is a collection of several hotels, and they share services. The room was very nicely appointed.
The beds are a bit hard -- more like box springs.
The Grand Mercure does a great job of handling short-term stays (like our...just to see the terra cotta warriors) at a GREAT price. Because they share the amenities at The Sofitel (much more expensive), you still feel like you're a part of a very upscale environment. The Mediterranean dinner buffet at the Sofitel was really outstanding, and a highlight. The buffet breakfast at the Grand Mercure was also very well done. Overall, it was a great value.
Reviewed September 04, 2008
10.0
Exceptional
rebecca from Australia
Couple
Superior Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
Awesome hotel!”
Awesome hotel, close to everything, staff friendly, spoke little English. Buffet breakfast good.
Reviewed September 09, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Jean from Canada
Couple
Superior King Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2017
Centrally located and pleasant”
A very nice hotel in the center of Xi'an. Only a five minute walk from the metro and night snacks, it also had a very nice pool and hot tub facility. Will definitely stay again.
Reviewed December 28, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
gary
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
Excellent hotel”
A very grand hotel in excellent condition. We have really enjoyed Xi’an much more because of this great location and beautiful hotel.
Reviewed November 07, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Narumol from Thailand
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
Nice hotel”
All staff speak English fluently. The hotel is clean with all amenities.
Reviewed October 15, 2017