Book Now: Grand Palace Hotel

Excellent
From 2151 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10
Recommended by 97% of guests

Reviews of Grand Palace Hotel Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Agoda Reviews (2146)Booking.com Reviews (686)
8.1
/
10
Excellent
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities8.0
Location8.4
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service8.1
Value for money8.2
All languages
All guests (2146)
All room types
Showing 1108 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
GANANG from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019

Room 520”

Overall stay is satisfactory but parking space very limited and not enough.

Reviewed May 21, 2019
8.0
Excellent
HAJI from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Comfy as usual”

WiFi a bit slow that night.

Reviewed May 21, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Pang from Singapore
Business traveler
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Great Service”

The reception tried to help sort out the problem which Agoda rejected. When we book hotels on a business trip it is paid by our finance dept in Singapore using their credit card. I do my best to make sure it’s ‘Pay Now’ instead of ‘Pay at the hotel’. I don’t know what’s wrong with the Agoda software which mucks this up. This has happen to me and my colleagues and it’s really horrible for us. Please could Agoda have the Pay Now option for all business travelers.

Reviewed March 24, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
TWEE from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Good”

Old hotel. Limited private parking space. Public parking just next to the private parking space. So be careful if you have not park at the hotel parking as you need to put parking coupon. The receptionist did not informed me and I got a fine ticket. Great breakfast.

Reviewed March 21, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Pang from Singapore
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Great Service”

The hotel reception manager was holding up my room key for me as I arrived from the airport! Everything in the hotel room was excellent and the internet speed was fast. Hotel fridge worked too. The breakfast isn't showy but had lots of local cooked greens. The other local dishes with chicken and beef were definitely fresh.

Reviewed March 19, 2019
8.4
Excellent
nik from Malaysia
Family with young children
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Unfriendly duty manager”

I checked in at 3pm, Saturday 23rd February. The duty manager who was in charge did not smile and greet us at all. This is my second time staying at this hotel. Pls advise your staff to be more friendly and welcome the guests in more polite way.

Reviewed February 27, 2019
7.2
Very good
Sukaridi from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Greats”

Pro: 1. Facilities and room is very good. 2. Cleanliness is good. 3. Breakfast is not a lot of variety but food taste is good,if increase the food standard, it will be excellent. 4.Location was good which near shops and supermarket Cons: 1.Receptionist should be improve to greet and smile to customers better than the security 2.Limited parking spaces for in house guest specially at night

Reviewed April 28, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Shean from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Exceptional”

hotel is close fo everything. sometimes a little difficult to find a parking at night.

Reviewed May 11, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Sabrina
Family with teens
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

A Comfortable Stay”

(01) Returned guests, and still didn't disappoint me yet. (02) Staffs were friendly, helping us when we have any queries. (03) The breakfast was good. (04) Thank you to two security staffs working 09/02 night for their politeness and efficiency when there were insufficient guest parking (as there was a banquet going on that night). (04) Love the cold air-conditioned room at night.

Reviewed February 10, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Rissa from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Worth it!”

I love everything in the bedroom. There's a bath tub with working hot shower! toileteries including toothbrush, hot drinks set and water bottle were also given. one thing im not really happy about is the staff who work at the swimming pool & gym receiption. she's a bit rude, please greet you client nicely. i even smile and talk nicely to her eventho she kinda 'dont want to serve us' look like. using the whirl pool once only in my 3 days stay just because i dont want to see her face. but overall, my stay there is so amazing!!! will stay here again!

Reviewed January 18, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Shirantha from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Value for money with clean rooms”

Used to stay at Pullman in our previous visits, but this time around it was so expensive and thought trying a different options. Overall happy with the stay and our decision to look for alternatives. Staff was helpful and the breakfast was good especially considering the price. Rooms were clean and spacious for us with 2 children. Will definitely consider in my next visit to Miri.

Reviewed December 31, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
awang from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Affordable hotel”

The hotel is exceptionally affordable as the facilities provided is 4.5star quality. Location wise is quite strategic, I love the Jacuzzi, steam bath and sauna! Marvelous!

Reviewed April 26, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
mohammad from Malaysia
Family with young children
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Grand palace facilities”

Overall I like this hotel... but their facilities like swimming pool is not for children and sauna room is having some problem at that moment.

Reviewed April 26, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Noorrul from Malaysia
Group
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Exceptional”

Excellent services by your staff within this period i had stayed there on 28/03/19 till 30/03/2019 I ask too many things but they serves me on time. Well done. The rooms was so clean. Looking forward to the next time.

Reviewed April 01, 2019
6.4
Good
Felicia from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Good location, but room is abit old. Good for short overnight in Miri. ”

Stayed in this hotel for so many times in so many years and they haven't make any refurbishment to their rooms. Location is good as you may find streets with eateries, bars, ktv and massage place around that area.

Reviewed March 27, 2019
5.6
Gent from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Room cleanliness getting poor over the time.”

I was the loyal customer of this Inn for nearly 2 years. I observed the cleanliness getting poor over the time compare to my previous stays. My room was not been housekept everyday like before. I observed the room's walls were dirty. Water heater was not working. I requested to move to another room upstair but my sleep was disturbed by the nearly open KTV shop oppsite the road. I was just being patient about it and decided to just stay in that room for the next few nights. I observed mold on the ceiling as well. If the owner is not serious in taking care of this property, sooner or later many of the customer like me will started to stay away of this Inn. Just my honest opinion. Thanks.

Reviewed March 08, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Gwendolyn from Malaysia
Group
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

One of the most comfortable beds I've ever had in all the hotels I've stayed but..”

Should have a better receptionist to welcome the customers. The one who attended to us definitely needs training in customer service. I shall call her A. First of all, she only gave us 1 access card and 1 power card when there were obviously two of us standing right at the counter. Normally, a room has 2 access key cards, right? The power card is optional. Hence, I thought the power card was the other access card, so I asked if it would work. She then asked another receptionist B to answer me, and because A was the one who processed our check in, I asked her if we could have another access card. Not only did she frown, she told B to handle it while SHE gestured to the next guest waiting in line and attended to him instead. Guess what, B was not happy too! Is this how you treat your guests? It's a shame because in all the times I have stayed in Grand Palace, this is the first time I have received such an attitude and such service.

Reviewed November 22, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Dr. from Brunei Darussalam
Business traveler
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

100% Satisfaction”

Pros: Excellent reception by security staff and bell boys who were proactively helpful in rendering a car parking space and protage. 2) The Reception was ready for my arrival and greeted me by name. 3) I believe my room was upgraded without being informed. My room was immaculately clean without a whiff of adour. All conveniences were provided including the morning papers. 4) Well located within 3 minutes walk to bank and restaurants. 5) Car park was well secured. 6) Breakfast was excellent. Cons : None My above comments are subjectively personal and based on the price I paid vis a vis the accommodation offered. In a nutshell the hotel is better t h an most 4-star hotels anywhere in the world. Thank you to the Management and Staff of Grand Palace Hotel Miri.

Reviewed October 23, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
TEH from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

reasonable price”

The front desk staff is friendly. The room is big and the washroom is attached with bathtub. Strong WiFi. Shops, coffee shops and supermarket nearby. Will definitely recommended friends to stay here.

Reviewed October 18, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Eddie from Malaysia
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Good for money. ”

Location is good, next to Supermarket, super easy to get food around hotel area. Swimming pool available but always full with hotel guest. Car park, once you got parking space, dont move your car, will not find anymore space at night, hotel car park always full at night.

Reviewed October 02, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Hee from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

A Pleasant Stay”

The hotel is clean. Upon check in, the front desk gave us a room that was still under cleaning. Housekeeping was able to give us a new room number and inform the front desk to update our card when we go down to the lobby. Air con is cold and we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed September 02, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
JOHAN from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

Nice hotel to stay in!”

Staff members are generally very pleasant and helpful. Although an aged hotel but generally well maintained and clean. Had to move room though because one of the toilet were not working properly. Other than that, everything is great! Breakfast selection is quite good with varieties of food to choose from. There are a lot of shops and eateries around as well as pubs and clubs nearby. Outdoor parking lots are available within and around the hotel compound. A great place to stay!

Reviewed August 26, 2018
8.4
Excellent
chrisanne from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018

Pleasantly surprised!”

Nothing pleases me more than a lovely room, clean, well equipped, topped with an excellent bed. They gave me a corner room that provided a huge scenic view. The hotel from the outside doesn't look impressive, but the room came above expectations. Everything felt clean and refurbished. Nice carpet with no dingy mouldy smells. Excellent WIFI. The passageway to my room was clean and well maintained. My booking came without breakfast, so I wasn't able to try out the offerings.

Reviewed August 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Pang from Singapore
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Best Hotel in Miri”

Excellent customer service and personal attention from the reception team and Sales Manager Jeffery. The rooms are very spacious, the AC was silent and always at a comfortable temperature, and the furniture leaves me relaxed the moment I enter the room.For this low price the mini-bar is stocked. My business partner had his own room and we both felt we've slept the best at the Grand Palace over all hotels in Miri. Breakfast was lovely (they had separate cooked vegetable dishes) and the waitress and chef do pay attention to the details and quality. The restaurant is really popular with the upper-class crowd in the evenings and weekends. Everyone here speaks excellent English and smile. If you would like a inexpensive taxi driver who speaks aEnglish and knows the place well (airport transfers, Miri-Brunei or Miri to Bintulu, short and long-distance tourist trips) I would suggest Mr Ting (+60 16 852 1379). Lots to see in Miri and lots of secret places such as Lambir National Park etc

Reviewed August 08, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Aj from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Superior Twins
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

Comfortable stay”

It was a nice stay with the rooms being spacious, the cleanliness of the rooms was at par with the price and the amenities were sufficient, the location is away from the malls but it serves the purpose being a tranquil place to stay at when with kids. Overall it was a pleasant and comfortable stay away from home.

Reviewed June 25, 2018
5.2
Pengiran from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

I've requested for extra stuff but the hotel staff ignore it”

The staff cleaners are very rude at the swimming pool. I've asked for extra toothbrush and soap for my kids but they said I have to request from the reception. Overall this will be my last time to stay in this Hotel.

Reviewed May 06, 2019
7.6
Very good
Dominic from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in April 2019

Very good”

Very old hotel like staying in the 80-s / 90-s

Reviewed May 02, 2019
6.0
SING from Malaysia
Business traveler
Superior Twins
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Good”

Clean however hot shower is not working at times

Reviewed April 27, 2019
7.6
Very good
DAYANG from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Deluxe Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

If imperial hotel and meritz hotel are 'sold out', u can try this hotel! Its great!”

Everything was great except my hubby was not happy with one of the security guard. My hubby said the security was not helping him find the parking but help the other guest after him to find the parking. The parking nearly full actually because of there was wedding ceremony at the hotel plus the parking also used by the customers of the nearby shopping complex...so made my hubby felt, he as a guest of the hotel was not equally prioritized..

Reviewed January 06, 2019
8.8
Excellent
abdul from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

a memorable stay”

this is a memorable stay for my family,clean and refreshing smell of the room (given room416).great tv channels selection for my kids.well guarded parking area that i can see from my room window upstair.love to come back next time

Reviewed January 02, 2019
6.8
Good
Khairul from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

spooky”

we stay at room 409, around 1.45 AM our door bell ringing by itself. i checked but no one outside. it ring again every 15 - 20 min until 5 AM. second, our light at hallway was on and off by itself also until 5 AM. when we checked out in the morning, we told the reception about the incident but they told us the switch was broken. But they face look like they hidden something about the room. remember room 409

Reviewed December 27, 2018
5.2
Lim from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Front desk issue ”

Was there to check in early and has been going this hotel for almost 4 month and every fortnight or even weekly. One of the reason we stay was because it convenience and we did not encounter any issue in checking in for the past 4 months until this last stay. We came back the second time after the discussion, and still not able to get our room. When i have to raise my voice and start questioning, they start to offer me a a higher rate room and pay a small amount of money which i do not want to pay. Making me more frustrated, I start to get angry and tell them, that i been staying there for the past 4 months and I know the cleaner can clean up the room some where around 20 min. In less than 5 minutes i have my room. What a miracle. I don understand why, i have to get angry, then have room. I am not trying to blame anyone but the two front desk personnel during that day are either being lazy or did not know how to do their work.

Reviewed November 25, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jay from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Value for Money”

Well maintained. Nice and clean carpets and rooms. Very good for the price paid.

Reviewed April 23, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Dean from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Good hotel”

Nice and comfy hotel to stay and worth the price. Great facility for guest

Reviewed April 19, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Nur from Malaysia
Business traveler
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in April 2019

Comfortable stay”

Paid a little for a comfortable stay. Love the food.

Reviewed April 11, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Yun from Brunei Darussalam
Family with teens
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Very good”

Good Location .

Reviewed April 09, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Yulia from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Nice accommodation ”

Strategic location.. nice stay., nice breakfast

Reviewed April 02, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Hwong from Brunei Darussalam
Solo traveler
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

CHEAP N NEAR SHOPPING AREA”

NICE HOTEL N GOOD LOCATION

Reviewed April 01, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Aun from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Excellent”

near to city centre

Reviewed March 26, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Noradilahyati from Brunei Darussalam
Group
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

With in law”

Peak of the trip: bed is comfy. Room is clean and a/c is working perfectly! Pit of the trip: Toilet flush is noisy and water slow filling up the tank, sauna not working.

Reviewed March 26, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Cayson from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2019

Great Short Stay ”

Great check in process with good room condition. Breakfast not much variety but good for express breakfasts. Overall value for money with the room and amenities provided.

Reviewed March 20, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Mohammad from Brunei Darussalam
Couple
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018

Nice Facilities”

Gym Swimming pool Location Perfect

Reviewed March 20, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
AZIZAH from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Worth the money”

The room was very spacious and clean. The locality was very strategic. Worth paying

Reviewed March 14, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Agnes from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2019

Good”

Classic

Reviewed February 28, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Abu from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Standard Twin Beds
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Exceptional”

Strategic location, good environment, nice & clean room, cheap and worth with the price, excellent place to stay.

Reviewed February 26, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Alia from Malaysia
Family with young children
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

quick trip to hometown for ge14”

not one of the newer hotel but located next to a supermarket which could be convenient. area can be really quiet at night. every room has a bathtub, which is not the case with newer hotels. it has the quality of what hotels were. switch buttons for all lights, tv and aircond at the bedside table. very friendly staff. unfortunately, while i was there, there was a power shortage which somehow only my room was affected (we took 2 rooms). they managed to rectify the problem within the hour. breakfast spread was simple but enough.

Reviewed May 18, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Gwendolyn from Brunei Darussalam
Group
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018

Comfortable Stay”

The rooms were big and the beds are pretty large and comfortable. The bathtub knobs were a bit confusing at first, but managed to figure it out. At least the drainage system worked. The breakfast buffet food was not bad, but the management should hire more staff for the morning session as the tables are not cleared and prepared fast enough for the next group of customers. We were lucky to witness a lion dance performance on the 18th. :)

Reviewed February 22, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Gladys from Malaysia
Family with young children
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Worth it”

Booked the room via agoda cost me rm135 per room got rm53 discount for both rooms. The staffs so friendly and very polite. 5 stars for them. Ladies sauna was not functioning well (not warm at all) yet the staff allowed us to use men sauna room since no other user too. Feels like private sauna room. 🤗 thumb up

Reviewed January 17, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Rose from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2018

Excellent”

If you are looking for a pub, 24 hours convenient store, eateries, supermarket, bookstore, gift shop this is one of the convenient hotels to stay in. My family and I had a pleasant stay and our young children appreciated the warm ambience of the hotel. Hotel staff were kind, polite and helpful. I had forgotten to pack my phone charger upon checking out only to realise that when I needed to charge my phone. I called the hotel and my charger was kept secured by the housekeeping team. This is not my first time staying in this hotel, and I will come back again in the near future.

Reviewed January 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
AWG from Malaysia
Couple
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017

Cozy & Large Room”

What i can say this is the best Old Skool style hotel for the room. Really fall in love with the cozyness and the space of the room. I really really really recommend this hotel if you are coming to Miri.

Reviewed December 08, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Rosyanti from Brunei Darussalam
Group
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Exceptional”

The parking is safe, large area of parking available for the guest with the security guard. The room is big and comfortable. have the swimming pool and the breakfast also have a lot of variety food. Very recommended

Reviewed November 07, 2017
8.8
Excellent
nixon from Malaysia
Family with young children
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2017

still the best. ”

I have checked into the hotel for the 2nd time and loving it every time. location of the hotel is close by food restaurant, toys store, foot massage and many more. Definitely will recommend to others for this hotel.

Reviewed September 26, 2017
8.0
Excellent
Richard from Singapore
Solo traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2017

Good value n very friendly staff”

I went to Mulu Pinnales n had to stopover at this hotel on the way n on return , very convenient location with big supermarket n food outlets nearby . Staff very helpful n friendly , would stay again next time

Reviewed July 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Shiuh from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2017

Great location with plenty of food”

Great location with plenty of hawker food within 5 minutes walking distance. Room was reasonable big. The breakfast provided was great. The food served in the Chinese restaurant was delicious. Staff are very friendly. Free parking with security guard. Will definitely come back and stay.

Reviewed April 16, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Waimun from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2016

Wonderful experience to stay even though just a night.”

I really have wonderful experience staying here even though just a night. From the beginning step into the hotel the bell boy to the receptionist all are friendly and helpful. The building a little old but mainly well and clean. Walking distance to all the food store to enjoy local delicacy. Thumbs up.

Reviewed December 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Dr. from Brunei Darussalam
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016

Smooth and Easy stay”

Staff members across the board are attentive to my expectations and courteous. Accomodation is roomy and clean and bed is comfortable. This was the 5th time I have returned within about two months. I can't hardly find a more accommodating hotel in Miri or anywhere else throughout Malaysia relative to the price and conveniences.. eateries surround the hotel within a 5-minutes walk and Maybank is just a stone throw away. Highly recommended!

Reviewed October 03, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Dr. from Brunei Darussalam
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2016

Indulgent accommodation”

I felt welcomed by all staff members but especially the counter staff who well anticipated my arrival by saying, " we are ready for you. Here's your key to your room. Please sign here". That was the quickest hotel check- in anywhere in the world... 30 seconds? The room was spectacularly clean and fresh. Great service and great value!

Reviewed August 24, 2016
8.0
Excellent
SIN from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Still A Good Stay”

I've stayed in this hotel several times over the years. Although it could use some minor refurbishment, the rooms are clean and spacious. The bed is comfy, and toiletries and in-room facilities are adequate. The reception staff were polite but could smile more. There is a supermarket next door, and a dedicated open air carpark for hotel guests.

Reviewed April 19, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Emily from Brunei Darussalam
Family with young children
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2016

Convenient”

Safe Parking, Conveniency, Clean and Comfortable

It was a pleasant stay, my kids enjoy themselves the most particularly at the pool and the hot tub. Convenient location for shopping at Serway which is just next to the hotel. Foodstalls are just a walk away. Overall, we have fun. TQ

Reviewed January 15, 2016
8.0
Excellent
SIN from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

“Good for a short business stay””

CLEAN ROOMS, NICE LOCATION & BIG ROOMS

Clean facilities. Most impressive is the quality of their wifi, an essential service for business travellers. Aircon actually works and responds to specific changes. The buffet breakfast is quite decent. However the surrounding shops are good if you don't want to eat in the hotel. Also a supermarket next door so thats useful.

Reviewed January 01, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Nelson from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2015

Cosy medium-size hotel ”

Ease of access. Not too crowded. Good Service.

This is my second stay at Grand Palace Hotel this year. Beautiful small hotel which is easily accessible from the Miri-Lutong Road. The rooms are clean and their bed linens looks fresh and clean. The only setback for me is that I prefer toilets which have attached bidet. I hope they install these at their next refurbishment exercise or as a special exercise.

Reviewed November 23, 2015
8.3
Excellent
Graham from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2015

Well-established hotel”

Bed comfort, restaurant, clean room

I visit Miri occasionally and after a few false starts with other hotels I always seem to end up at this place now. It offers good amenities, a clean and comfortable room, aircon which works, a bathroom which works, clean towels, coffee and tea making facilities, a minibar (no alcohol) an in-room safe and ironing board. Room has free wifi and a complimentary newspaper every morning. Room service until 11.30pm. Rooms on the upper floors are reasonably quiet. There is a western restaurant that provides classic well-prepared dishes in a fine dining ambiance with a piano playing in the background. A good Chinese restaurant too. The only niggles are the lack of English language channels on the TV (no BBC Worldwide, no ITV) and the breakfast buffet (served in the western restaurant) which is OK but a bit limited in scope. Its a classic hotel with no real bar or coffee shop facilities. But there are plenty of bars and burger joints nearby if thats your thing. Staff performance is reasonably good and they try to be helpful although there is no concierge so it can be a bit hit and miss. The health club and swimming pool are OK. Taxis are usually easy to find - the hotel is just outside the city centre but there are plenty of shops around. Good value for the price paid.

Reviewed October 19, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
wanchin from Malaysia
Family with young children
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in April 2015

Costly room”

Grand,clean,safety

The hotel looks really grand from the outside but the room that i had was not worth the price. They gave me a small room at the corner of the hotel. I just dont understand why customers are always being treated in such a way. Wherever i go,staffs gave me that kind of look as i booked through website. Am i not paying? its absolutely not value for money,not coming back to this hotel anymore.

Reviewed May 27, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Adam from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014

Nice Hotel in a nice area”

Room, Location and Food

This was my second time at the Grand Palace and it did not disappoint. The room was a good size and comfortable, and the food was great. Selection at breakfast is adequate, but the food from the restaurant is fantastic - great steaks. Location is decent with restaurants and bars only a stones throw away. I will more than likely be staying here again and would recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

Reviewed August 04, 2014
9.7
Exceptional
Adam from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Deluxe Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2014

Nice room and great food”

Restaurant, Room and Swimming Pool

The hotel was great value, in my opinion. The room was comfortable and a good size, along with a decent gym and very nice pool. The staff were friendly, and the restaurant / room service quality was superb. Would recommend and likely to use again in the future.

Reviewed March 09, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Annie from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2013

Centrally located”

Good location, clean room and spaces

The hotel is centrally located and convenient. It's just walking distance you can get your groceries and food dining. There are several pub and cafe nearby just walking distance. The room is spaces and I normally stay here everytime I visit Miri. The room service is good and just slightly dissappoint this time that water leaking from the air con. Luckily it was on the day I'm going to check out.

Reviewed February 10, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Benjamin from Malaysia
Solo traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 2 nights in June 2013

great room”

Location, Facitlities, Staff

My room was superb. Hotel is near to various dining places. Ample parking with security. The breakfast buffet however was below my expectations, have seen much better selection at hotels of similar and even lower class.

Reviewed January 20, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Umavathy from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2013

It was pleasant and comfortable one”

Cleanliness, customer service and dining

I had a pleasant and comfortable stay in Grand Palace Hotel. It is value for money. It has good transportation service as well as convenient to shopping area. The people are customer orientated and responds very quickly. Dining was good as well. Overall it was satisfactory.

Reviewed November 14, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Ginny from Singapore
Family with teens
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2013

pleasant stay”

central location, good food, clean

We are very happy with clean room and comfortable bed. I love the nice and very affordable minibar! Overall, the Hotel rate is very reasonable. Thanks to my future daughter in law's recommendation for us to choose this hotel.

Reviewed August 28, 2013
8.0
Excellent
MEE from Malaysia
Business traveler
Queen Bed Standard Room
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013

Great Location”

Location

a great hotel. staff are friendly and breakfast is good. getting around is convenient with a car. we are on business trip and the location is very near to my customer’s office, walking distance. night entertainment is just round the corner. gourmet and hawker food are a walking distance away and there’s a supermarket, 24-hour store. hotel serves good breakfast. overall i recommended this hotel for business and leisure.

Reviewed February 20, 2013