Book Now: Grand Regal Hotel Davao

Very good
From 787 reviewsSee what guests said
7.3
/
10

Reviews of Grand Regal Hotel Davao Reviews from real guests

Provided by verified guests of Agoda
7.3
/
10
Very good
Cleanliness7.2
Facilities6.8
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality7.8
Service7.6
Value for money7.3
Rating
9+ Exceptional (68)
8-9 Excellent (70)
7-8 Very Good (131)
6-7 Good (57)
<6 Below Expectation (131)
Time of the year
Mar - May (110)
Jun - Aug (107)
Sep - Nov (122)
Dec - Feb (118)
All guests (787)
All room types
All languages

Show reviews that mention 

Showing 457 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
LUNA from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2019

Very good”

Staff was alert during an emergency (mag. 6.9 earthquake). Didn't see anyone panic. Good location--it's near the airport and malls. Breakfast buffet has a good choices, although food at the lobby restaurant was a bit overpriced and not that tasty. Good value for money.

Reviewed December 20, 2019
5.2
Winson from Singapore
Couple
Executive Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2019

Above average”

Had booked a function at the hotel. Junior Suite Room was ok, but air conditioning is bad. Requested for an Additional night prior the event, however room provided lacks basic amenities like slippers and bathrobes. Hotel was not even full.

Reviewed November 26, 2019
3.6
Ulrich from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2019

A disappointing stay”

An old hotel, it is sick in some corners. Annoying was that the pool was out of order, then an older room first, in the middle of the night with a lot of noise so we could not sleep. On request for another room there was the information not possible. Then after an hour (at 3.30 at night) we could then move on to the 11th floor in a very nice room. The breakfast buffet was lacking a lot of choice and the staff was a bit slow. For this price range, there are better hotels in Davao, so goodbye and not goodbye

Reviewed November 17, 2019
4.8
Ulrich from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in November 2019

A repetition does not have to be here”

Unfortunately very disappointing, we were there for two days since we were invited to a wedding. The hotel was a bit dated, so only one elevator was in operation and the swimming pool was also out of order. The room was large and clean, unfortunately a bit dated equipment. The staff at the front desk, in the cafe as well as at the bar was friendly. Disappointing, however, was the breakfast buffet that left a lot to be desired. If I have it z.Bsp. with the Marco Polo comparisons to classes worse. So all in all, I will not recommend a second stay in this hotel, as there are in Davao also in this price range comparable better hotels. The new Hotel Acacia will open on 22nd Nov., close to the SM Mall

Reviewed November 17, 2019
7.2
Very good
Celito from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2019

Bad Food”

Breakfast though free is terrible.

Reviewed November 13, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Jocelyn from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

Great Hotel :)”

had a comfortable stay, room was spacious and bed was the right size

Reviewed November 11, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Angelita from Philippines
Family with young children
Executive Room
Stayed 2 nights in September 2019

Excellent staff”

Nice place, friendly staff, there are selections of foods for breakfast and it's good

Reviewed October 03, 2019
8.4
Excellent
Sing from Singapore
Business traveler
Premier
Stayed 1 night in September 2019

Spacious and clean room ”

I travelled for business and stayed 2 nights. I arrived at 2am but the check in process was a breeze and the counter staff was already expecting my arrival. Room is simple but clean. This is my repeated stay.

Reviewed September 30, 2019
5.6
Joseph from Ireland
Couple
Premier
Stayed 2 nights in September 2019

Getting very dated, in need of renovation”

First room offered the electrics did not work. Replacement room adequate but wardrobe door fell off

Reviewed September 28, 2019
4.4
ANNALIZA from Philippines
Business traveler
Premier
Stayed 2 nights in September 2019

Acceptable”

We arrived in the hotel at 11:00 in the evening but still the room was not ready yet. I asked for an extra bed for my friend because its midnight but they told us that I need to pay first before setting up the extra bed and its already midnight. I have NO choice but to pay it first. Worst service I experienced and even the bedding need to change because of stain. The only person that I can commend is the male staff who changed by bed cover at that time. Very friendly and accommodating but other staff, no CSR at all.

Reviewed September 24, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Robert from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in September 2019

Nice hotel”

Our troom was very ncie the only thing is the WIFI is spotty in the room but works well in the hotel lobby. This is great except for the fact that5 when your on the 7th floor its a pain to have to go down to the lobby just to use your phone. parts of the hotel are clearly showing there age but the room I had was very nice.

Reviewed September 22, 2019
5.6
Ryan from Philippines
Business traveler
Premier
Stayed 3 nights in September 2019

Not that grand!”

The hotel being one of the oldest in Davao remains popular but is in dire need of renovation. Rooms and its fixture are very old and some of the lighting does not even work. I had to change rooms twice because of fault air conditioning and even in the 3rd room, it still wasn't working properly so the only solution was to insist for an electric fan to supplement whatever air that is coming out of the AC unit. Bed and pillows are hard and management should consider replacing them. Hotel did not inform me about the replacement of the elevators so you tend to spend longer minutes falling in line to use the one elevator left in service. Likewise, no advance notice that phones are not available so if you need something, you either use your mobile to call the lobby or use the phone along the hallway or go down to the lobby yourself. Food and breakfast service was okay but it tends to get crowded because of limited space. The only consolation are the friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed September 21, 2019
4.4
HOWARD from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in September 2019

very poor airconditioning”

We even requested to change rooms but still the airconditioning was terrible. even the lobby was colder than the rooms. the common areas in the floor levels had no aircon.

Reviewed September 20, 2019
6.0
Team from Canada
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in August 2019

Front desk staff are annoying”

If you are looking for Filipino hospitality best you go somewhere else because you won't find it here. The front desk staff don't act like regular Filipinos and are somewhat rude. and arrogant They seem to be ex-call center agents with a chip on their shoulder or former shopping mall staff, and they were not doing their jobs properly or listening to our needs or requests which were not that difficult. Like reserve the shuttle bus for us? Oh sorry sir the shuttle bus left already. Thanks for calling our room to let us know. I guess they just don't care. It's too bad because this hotel is actually not bad. I'm not sure if they act stupid on purpose to just annoy foreigners but they did a hell of a good job at it and I will never come back again. The management needs to hire older more experienced people at the front desk because these college kids don't know anything about hospitality. They don't deserve to work there. I am sure they are fooling the manager at their job interview

Reviewed August 13, 2019
7.2
Very good
John from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2019

Excellent location and decent hotel”

Location is great. The hotel is undergoing a renovation so there were several times during the day when noise is annoying. The room is huge and buffet breakfast is very good.

Reviewed August 12, 2019
4.8
Jeffery from United States
Couple
Premier
Stayed 1 night in July 2019

We stayed on the 9th floor and the entire floor smells of mold and meldew .no phone service. ”

I have stayed here about 4times before and this was the WORST.

Reviewed July 26, 2019
6.4
Good
Ranjie from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in July 2019

Good”

Everything was fine except there is no bidet in our toilet room. 😅

Reviewed July 11, 2019
7.6
Very good
Stephen from United States
Solo traveler
Premier
Stayed 27 nights in June 2019

Very good”

Understand but still disappointed that the phone never worked in my room and the pool was being renovated during my entire stay of nearly a month so it was not usable. The breakfast was wonderful and much improved from my stay 2 years ago. The bar was another disappointment as I had terrible service as the only customer their! I left after waiting for my second drink while the men talked and the women did their makeup. The actual Hotel Staff was exceptional both professional and personable! The maintenance staff was superb as was the staff who helped open the room safe twice!

Reviewed July 01, 2019
8.4
Excellent
John from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2019

Better than I expected”

The room is huge. The bathroom has a tub, clean and wide. Aside form size, the room is clean, neat, comfortable bed and wifi is unexpectedly fast. You have a Casino right beside the lobby where you can take a relaxing games to cashout :) The breakfast is so good. Definitely recommended.

Reviewed June 29, 2019
6.8
Good
Tan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2019

Not so good”

I booked a double room but was given 2 single beds. The room telephone was out of order and no one repaired it. Every time I need anythings, I have to go the the lift and used the telephone there.

Reviewed June 24, 2019
4.8
Jacqueline from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in June 2019

NOISY AIRCON MACHINE ”

Old Hotel, facilities needs total renovation. The AC sounds like a big construction 24/7 = no proper sleep.

Reviewed June 23, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
ALDRIDGE from Philippines
Business traveler
Premier
Stayed 2 nights in June 2019

Exceptional”

Free Airport Shuttle is added value , great location , near SM Lanang , Damosa and near the ferries going to Samal Island. Breakfast is ok , but could be improved on. I would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed June 22, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Nancy from Singapore
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in May 2019

Good service”

Staffs are all very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed June 12, 2019
3.6
Liza from Philippines
Group
Premier
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

Acceptable”

The staff were not accomadating and helpful to our needs just because the rooms for 3 days were paid up

Reviewed May 27, 2019
6.0
joop from Netherlands
Business traveler
Premier
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019

The hotel need some renovation”

The first important thing: the workers were very good and friendly. But the hotel itself needs some serious renovations. While we were there they were renovating the swimming pool. The telephone system did not work well. We could not make an internal call and if the reception called us the phone was ringing but no sound after picking it up. The sink in the bathroom was not really draining and more of these little things. All in all ... not the best stay in a hotel ever but it was also not expensive.

Reviewed May 27, 2019
3.2
Cherry from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe
Stayed 4 nights in April 2019

Grand Regal was used to be good.”

I booked hotel shuttle pick up. DID NOT ARRIVE! I booked additional room via direct email to the hotel. NO BOOKING MADE even though they said they will! Pool was out of order!

Reviewed May 04, 2019
6.0
Michael from Philippines
Solo traveler
Executive Room
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Above average”

Only one elevator operating Swimming pool closed

Reviewed May 02, 2019
5.2
peter from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

Above average”

Hotel is very old and dated. Nothing works Staff were very friendly and efficient though

Reviewed April 30, 2019
4.0
peter from United Kingdom
Couple
Premier
Stayed 1 night in March 2019

Avoid until cleaned up ”

Having just flown over 8500 miles from UK to Davao the hotel even after being given all flight details and being asked for airport pick up failed to arrive at the airport cab ride later get to hotel ask to speak to a manager to make compliant to be told no manager is on duty. Checked in and went to room which was ok clean but decor is worn out needs refurbish badly went to check the pool out only to find it closed under construction being refurbished sad no mention of this either when booking or on check-in sleep was good bed good size comfortable then breakfast ment to be a buffet very poor choice if any choice toaster had to be fixed before we could use it no breakfast basics bacon etc nothing to say could be requested overall poor standard of hotel in bad need to total overhaul including management staff and standards for the location it should be far better standard than it is and when bookings made make sure all information is correctly passed to people. Poor excuse for hotel.

Reviewed April 03, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Roschelle from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

Hotel for IM 703 Davao”

It's our second time to stay in this hotel and we still had a pleasant stay. All staff are courteous and helpful, checking in/out is a breeze, airport transfer is convenient and free, buffet breakfast is good, bed is big, and their room is spacious. Too bad that their pool is under renovation at the moment. Nevertheless, my son still enjoyed playing in the bathtub. Plus points that it is very near the Ironman 70.3 Davao venue.

Reviewed April 01, 2019
5.2
kevin from United Arab Emirates
Family with young children
Premier
Stayed 6 nights in March 2019

Poor facilities ”

Every thing is either broken or out of service. Light and power sockets are hanging out of the walls. Carpets are ancient and in need of cleaning. Ceiling is black in places from damp. Lift is often loaded past capacity and needs assistance to open or close the doors. Breakfast was awful. To be honest I will not use the Agoda service again after this. Sub standard hotel.

Reviewed March 14, 2019
5.2
Connie from Singapore
Solo traveler
Executive Room
Stayed 5 nights in February 2019

An over priced hotel ”

The hotel is old, wifi in the room wa slow, breakfast was boring! It’s probably catering to local group for seminars not suitable for tourists. The restaurant situated within a small old casino is mainly serving their gambling patrons who use their gaming points for their meals. All the tables in that restaurant were mostly reserved with food laid out and were pre-ordered by local patrons. Paying customers like myself don’t get good services there. If you are a tourist don’t take taxi waiting outside the hotel you better get it on the main road. Those taxi drivers knew you are staying in that hotel will take you on a longer route. I asked to be taken to the SM Shopping Mall which is 5-10 minutes ride but the the driver drove me to another SM Mall which is more than hour away. The driver told me that was what the hotel security guard told him! I later found out SM Lanang is 5 to 10 minutes ride but I was driven to SM Ecoland which is an hour away! Use your own Google map!

Reviewed March 10, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Chris from Philippines
Couple
Premier
Stayed 3 nights in February 2019

Last minute booking”

We were in Davao for a last minute Valentine weekend and we are glad to have found an available hotel. The hotel is well-located; just walking distance to local restaurants and pub. There's a casino by the ground floor but we never tried our luck. Maybe next time.

Reviewed March 05, 2019
5.2
simon from Philippines
Group
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

Not happy”

Rooms are need renovation more moulds in the shower room and no telephone in the room.

Reviewed February 24, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Jessa from Philippines
Family with young children
Premier
Stayed 1 night in August 2018

Excellent”

Good but unfortunately pool was under renovation.

Reviewed February 21, 2019
3.2
Emerson from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

Stay away at all cost”

Grand Regal may have seen its best days. The carpets on the room were worn out. The room has no lights but relies on 3 lampshades to light the room. Lights are controlled by worn out controller on the bed side. Shampoo is just a cut sachet. Staff is incompetent. Because they ran out of a twin bed, they want me to transfer room from one night to the other instead of just setting up another bed. I would rather recommend that you stay on two business hotel just a stone throw away from Grand Regal.

Reviewed February 05, 2019
6.8
Good
Rosette from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in January 2019

Good”

Spacious room and bathroom. Cons: there was no slipper provided and the floor is so cold.

Reviewed February 03, 2019
2.0
Von from Philippines
Group
Executive Room
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

WORST FRONT DESK STAFF!!!”

customer service is very, very, poor. we strongly discourage our friends and other guests to stay away from this hotel.

Reviewed January 31, 2019
4.4
Ryann from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Acceptable”

breakfast is good!

Reviewed January 14, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Evelyn from Philippines
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2018

Good value for money”

The room is clean and good location

Reviewed January 10, 2019
4.4
Gherian from Philippines
Family with young children
Premier
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Acceptable”

the electricity keeps on turning off. there was no telephone to call the reception area.

Reviewed January 07, 2019
4.8
Marlyn from Norway
Family with young children
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Acceptable”

we found cockroaches in the restaurant and ants, too bad did not bring my camera when we had our breakfast.

Reviewed December 23, 2018
6.0
Neneth from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in December 2018

Not so Grand!”

The only good thing about this hotel during my stay was the kindness of allowing me to stay a bit longer (check out 2pm) due to my flight was late in the afternoon and the hotel generator kept me awake all night, it was too loud. Also, breakfast was pretty ordinary and they run out some of the food. The only consolation was the restaurant staff being polite and nice. Unlike tonthe front desk staff who talks to themselves a lot and you kind of have to wait until they’re done giggling. The internet was down one day all day, which was disappointing especially if you’re booking flights and accommodation to your next destination. The room was big but a bit outdated.

Reviewed December 17, 2018
7.6
Very good
Charyl
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Very good”

The foods are good. The staffs are quick and accommodating. I like the place and would still like to stay again for another occasion. YET, we were not informed earlier that the pool and other amenities weren't available or on renovation during our stay. Hopefully next time, they would at least announce or inform cases like this. The rest of the reviews for the hotel are indeed good.

Reviewed December 17, 2018
7.6
Very good
Seungmo from South Korea
Solo traveler
Premier
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018

Nice place, good staffs and comfy bed but poor facilities”

It's located at nice place near SM Lanang and airport. And there are many professional and kind staffs to support you at any time. Most of all, the bed was really good for me. However, some facilities were bad and missing such as internal phone which was not working while I stayed, no coffee pot which I asked from the first day but couldn't get until checked out.

Reviewed December 14, 2018
3.6
Irene from Australia
Family with teens
Executive Room
Stayed 8 nights in November 2018

Hotel is old and smelly. Air con is not working sometimes and has a mould lime smell.”

Everything is not working with us from the moment we checked in. Bed is hard, swipes card not working we have to keep on going down to the reception tok have it program. No ph working in 8th floor thru our 9 days stay. My husband is complaining of the mould like smell possibly on the carpet or air con etc... will not recommend to any of my friends anymore.

Reviewed December 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Euna from Philippines
Couple
Premier
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Good place”

I like the accommodation bz the bed is super king sized n so comportable. Breakfast was also clean n gud.

Reviewed November 25, 2018
6.4
Good
Diana from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in November 2018

Good”

Staffs are like the owner. The bell man is arrogant..

Reviewed November 22, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Mary from Philippines
Couple
Deluxe
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018

Breakfast buffet is wonderful.The rooms need blanket. The Aircon works well. Service is fast and fri”

Please lower your menu in the cafe downstairs. Too pricey. Your chefs need to be replaced.

Reviewed November 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
roviel from Philippines
Business traveler
Deluxe
Stayed 1 night in October 2018

Great value for money”

Great food

Reviewed October 24, 2018